Ballarat Football League

Had other commitments on today so was after a brief report on the games. How did the Lightning Premiership go?
Who took it out/who played well/ who was dissapointing etc?
Surprise, surprise it was as boring as hell. Darley played Ballarat in Final, Ballarat 3 goals something defeated Darley zip.
Most clubs fielded sides that would be lucky to have one senior player in them.
For the Marsh's sake I hope they were missing their whole senior side, because they were definetely worst there, and I am including Gordon. I know they played a praccy on Saturday, but I think they got smacked up in that as well, Venom or Lica see much of that? Who was missing?

Surprise, surprise it was as boring as hell. Darley played Ballarat in Final, Ballarat 3 goals something defeated Darley zip.
For the Marsh's sake I hope they were missing their whole senior side, because they were definetely worst there, and I am including Gordon. I know they played a praccy on Saturday, but I think they got smacked up in that as well, Venom or Lica see much of that? Who was missing?

They were down at 1/2 time against a Geelong Div 3 side on sat (GDFL), but I think they got up by a couple of goals in the end. I only saw the 1st half, not much impressed me.

Yeah mate the marsh had in a team of mixed 2nds and u/18's players. i dont believe that they had any of their new recruits playing in the 2nd game against sunbury and only had one of them playing in the 1st game against Ballarat. The praccy match on saturday against Bell Post Hill was a really good hit out for the new look side. they looked to be very promising in that game. They seem to be the fittest cobra outfit for quite a number of years. Dion seems to be working them pretty hard. The Marsh beat BPH by around 10 goals in the Seniors, i believe, whether it was that much or not im not too sure (no scoreboard) and in the 2's they got done after taking most of the decent players off after half time. All in all i think the cobras may surprise a few teams this year. HOPEFULLY!!!

They were down at 1/2 time against a Geelong Div 3 side on sat (GDFL), but I think they got up by a couple of goals in the end. I only saw the 1st half, not much impressed me.
well u missed a hell of a lot in the 2nd half 19th!! Dion gave the boys a pretty big spray at half time, they played a much better 2nd half. but yes i do agree with you, the 1st half was not very impressive.

Does anyone know if Ballarat had a full strength side in for the Lightning prem? from what i saw of them they looked almost at full strength bar Nunn.

Yeah mate the marsh had in a team of mixed 2nds and u/18's players. i dont believe that they had any of their new recruits playing in the 2nd game against sunbury and only had one of them playing in the 1st game against Ballarat. The praccy match on saturday against Bell Post Hill was a really good hit out for the new look side. they looked to be very promising in that game. They seem to be the fittest cobra outfit for quite a number of years. Dion seems to be working them pretty hard. The Marsh beat BPH by around 10 goals in the Seniors, i believe, whether it was that much or not im not too sure (no scoreboard) and in the 2's they got done after taking most of the decent players off after half time. All in all i think the cobras may surprise a few teams this year. HOPEFULLY!!!

A very scrappy game i must say.. Marsh won by 4 goals as the other side kept score. Bell Post were up by 1 point at 3 quater time. Marsh although fitter than the other side were not overly impressive, got smashed in the ruck department and on ball... A few of the new blokes did show a little number 11 and 2 of the backman, but they are no where as fit as they are bragging about.... Still a lot of un fit blokes sucking in the big ones. A few of the players played in the lighting prem like saunders, connors and rocky but very few from the previous game.

Ballarat Were just too quick for Darley, And the Rat did almost look full strength with Darley missing 8-10 seniors and none of the new recruits played. Again Just a waste of $500 bucks for entry for clubs! And whats the go with players having to pay to get in???

A very scrappy game i must say.. Marsh won by 4 goals as the other side kept score. Bell Post were up by 1 point at 3 quater time. Marsh although fitter than the other side were not overly impressive, got smashed in the ruck department and on ball... A few of the new blokes did show a little number 11 and 2 of the backman, but they are no where as fit as they are bragging about.... Still a lot of un fit blokes sucking in the big ones. A few of the players played in the lighting prem like saunders, connors and rocky but very few from the previous game.

Ballarat Were just too quick for Darley, And the Rat did almost look full strength with Darley missing 8-10 seniors and none of the new recruits played. Again Just a waste of $500 bucks for entry for clubs! And whats the go with players having to pay to get in???
Although the day was a good result for Ballarat, just how boring was it! Anyone know how East Point went on satdy?

Talkin to a few Ballarat boys yesterday and they said they still had a pos 5-6 or maybe more to prob get a start in there 1st 18, good luck to them great club goin the right way about getting to the top....

with the marsh still having a few out of the team on saturday that was there first real hit out for the year look it was scrappy in the first half but after that they played direct footy footy and ran over the top of the opporsition to win by 8 goals 4

a lot of work to do though and only a matter of less than 2 weeks to do it but eveything is going to plan for round 1

I missed both the marsh praccy and lightening prem because of work commitments. Spoke to a player and he said the team played 'OK' (didn't sound like it was their best effort) and he thought they got over the line by three or four goals. I asked how the team went during the lightening prem and he just laughed. They didn't rate it at all and hence put in a team that reflected that obviously.

Talkin to a few Ballarat boys yesterday and they said they still had a pos 5-6 or maybe more to prob get a start in there 1st 18, good luck to them great club goin the right way about getting to the top....

I wasnt at the thing, its a perfect day to pick up an injury coz some games are 2 hrs apart.... joke of a thing that is laughed at by other leagues as well as players in the ballarat league. These bfl administrators think they should be running the afl... bunch of tossers.

Speaking of ballarat, did their assistant coach danny finn play?? I've posted on here before about him and can play apparently

Went to lightning Premiership, saw a few games. Whats the go with having to pay $8 to watch that rubbish, never go again. Not reading too much into each side obviously some teams were depleted and a few closer to full strength:
Bacchus Marsh: not able to rate.
Melton South: not able to rate.Only saw one game v Darley, they lost, no senior players playing although Melton Football Club guys I spoke to said to expect significant improvement.
Lakers: Lacking height and quality runners. Some good kids though.
Redan: Another team with nothing in. Murrihy better for the run and field, the quality of the player and club will ensure they are thereabouts.
Sebas: Impressed with how they moved the ball, coach is very impressive with voice and enthusiasm. Interesting to see how hart goes, big wraps on him.
Ballarat: Very impressive, close to full strength minus Nunn. New CHF looked very good and their pace is super impressive.
Sunbury: Played many of their name players I am told. Some very heavy boys, looked to be quite a big team less pace which is a change, do have quality across the park no doubt, Houlihan and beattie did not play, so bit unsure where they are at.
Melton: Looked like a lot of enthusiasm, plenty of good young kids, young guy number 2 in record, acquilina was impressive. Big reliance on button.
Darley: Similar to Melton, young team looked like some good young ones, number 18 herring looks ok. Miller all class, Darley guys can confirm Cape with knee brace on?, if so and if he misses weeks, huge loss to cover going into the season. He is a jet. Good to see Trav Stephenson still playing.
May take a while for all clubs to hit best form given limited preperation with water restrictions, I know the redanies struggle to do all their training.

Overall crap day, rip off, could not gauge any form from any sides, what is its value?

It sounds like a complete waste of time and just money oriented.

On sebastapol, why have so many players lodged clearances over the last week about 16, you would have thought with the new coach and stars like Adam Williamson from Melbourne going there to play they would be able to keep all players, they look like breaking the record for clearances in & out, the last tally was 12 in 26 out?

Went to lightning Premiership, saw a few games. Whats the go with having to pay $8 to watch that rubbish, never go again. Not reading too much into each side obviously some teams were depleted and a few closer to full strength:
Bacchus Marsh: not able to rate.
Melton South: not able to rate.Only saw one game v Darley, they lost, no senior players playing although Melton Football Club guys I spoke to said to expect significant improvement.
Lakers: Lacking height and quality runners. Some good kids though.
Redan: Another team with nothing in. Murrihy better for the run and field, the quality of the player and club will ensure they are thereabouts.
Sebas: Impressed with how they moved the ball, coach is very impressive with voice and enthusiasm. Interesting to see how hart goes, big wraps on him.
Ballarat: Very impressive, close to full strength minus Nunn. New CHF looked very good and their pace is super impressive.
Sunbury: Played many of their name players I am told. Some very heavy boys, looked to be quite a big team less pace which is a change, do have quality across the park no doubt, Houlihan and beattie did not play, so bit unsure where they are at.
Melton: Looked like a lot of enthusiasm, plenty of good young kids, young guy number 2 in record, acquilina was impressive. Big reliance on button.
Darley: Similar to Melton, young team looked like some good young ones, number 18 herring looks ok. Miller all class, Darley guys can confirm Cape with knee brace on?, if so and if he misses weeks, huge loss to cover going into the season. He is a jet. Good to see Trav Stephenson still playing.
May take a while for all clubs to hit best form given limited preperation with water restrictions, I know the redanies struggle to do all their training.

Overall crap day, rip off, could not gauge any form from any sides, what is its value?

Great tournament report Premiership. Thanks. I know its not much to go on with the ridiculous shortened games and numerous players opting to sit it out, but good for teams to have a glimpse at some of the 2nd teir players.
Bring on the rain and lets get ready to rumble for 2007!

Good one Fat.... but no it was none of the above. And for the record, dole, as in the centrelink payment is spelt with an E, as opposed to the blow up variety DOLL you no doubt keep under your bed. :thumbsu:

It's not at all suprising that someone as stupid as you can spell the word 'dole', after all I am sure you have to use the word quite a lot when filling out your employment details section of the application form for an urgent loan from Cash Converters when you need to buy cigarettes on your non-payment week.