Ballarat Football League

Oh thats absolute gold!
I fear for my sh_t do I?
Last time I checked it came out my a_se and I never fear for it I'm actually glad to get rid of it. Saving it up can cause some major health problems. Yours my friend comes out your mouth. Or should I say in this case through your fingers and onto a computer keyboard. hahahahaha :D

That post is as funny as Brett Burton's possible career ending knee injury. (Not humerous at all)

Stick to drinking UDL's from your back pack at 16 y.o house parties.

Bye for now.

YNH

This thread is quite entertaining-i enjoy getting on here weekly.Keep up the good work boys:thumbsu::thumbsu:Is a mate of mine Gary "Learsa" Learmonth back playing yet?He shouldn't be far away and may be the extra Darley need in their quest in 08.

He would be better off staying in the stands, and marshalling the troops from the boundary line. To come into the side at this stage of the season, and take a young bloke's spot, would be dissapointing.

not a bad win by the devils over the smelly little wogs team, lead by there captain MILLER.

all you knockers are w***ers..............

DEVILS O8:D

Maybe with Seight, J & S Lobb, and McCabe (all in the best for Moama), who bagged 8 today for a total of 65, retained in their side, it could have been different.
Having said that, great to see Trav (chief, one of) Minns bag 4, in a powerful display I'm sure.

Maybe with Seight, J & S Lobb, and McCabe (all in the best for Moama), who bagged 8 today for a total of 65, retained in their side, it could have been different.
Having said that, great to see Trav (chief, one of) Minns bag 4, in a powerful display I'm sure.

it's all maybe's. minns best small forward in the comp..... DEVILS 08

Good win by the Darley boys in terrible condtions. Miller and Minna dominated all day. Would like to see both teams at full strength just to see where were really at Sunbury missing jordan baird and a few others while darley had only 1 fit player on the bench with injuries sustained to Deck and King, and hutchy missed again after kicking 10 agianst redan.

The old dogs in Dimma and Jose didn't really have an impact on the game they just took some young kids spot andf pushed them back to the 2s which caused a few rumblings in the camp, and they still couldn't get choclates in the magoos anyway!

2008 rise of the devils

Ballarat lets chance slip, East Point seals its place

14/07/2008 12:23:00 AM
BALLARAT had a chance yesterday to close the gap to the top four, and let it slip. East Point had a chance to cement its place in the top four, and took it.
That could ultimately prove the difference between the two teams in season 2008.
Percentage is all that separates the Ballarat Football League's second-to-fourth teams. The gap back to Ballarat and Lake Wendouree in fifth and sixth respectively is now two matches.
For that reason Ballarat coach John Northey said yesterday's match was a missed opportunity.
``It (the opportunity to move above East Point on the ladder) was supposed to be a motivator for the match,'' Northey said.
``Now we need to beat Redan to stay in the finals race. When it is so close every game is important, but particularly those against teams underneath on the ladder. We can't afford to drop that match.''
Lake Wendouree, meanwhile, has gone a long way towards playing finals football, even if its win against Sebastopol was less than emphatic. With Matt Battistello and Daniel Weymouth missing and
a fair proportion of players suffering the ill effects of a virus, though, any win was acceptable for the Lakers.
Lake Wendouree's destiny now remains very much in its own hands against Bacchus Marsh next Saturday, while the Ballarat-Redan match will not hurt the Lakers' chances regardless of which way
the result in that match goes. After 12 rounds there are still two places up for grabs in the six, but positions five and six are still there for the Swans and Lakers to lose as they are for a team like Redan to win.

javascript:changeFontSize('story',-1);

Chatting to a few blokes on the weekend. They reckon the general standard of the competition may have dropped since last year, and that _ even though Sunbury is in much the same place on the ladder as last year _ the 2007-model Sunbury would beat the 2008-model by 10 goals. Same with East Point.
Do folk here:
(a) agree with that view?
and if so
(b) have thoughts as to why that is case?

Chatting to a few blokes on the weekend. They reckon the general standard of the competition may have dropped since last year, and that _ even though Sunbury is in much the same place on the ladder as last year _ the 2007-model Sunbury would beat the 2008-model by 10 goals. Same with East Point.
Do folk here:
(a) agree with that view?
and if so
(b) have thoughts as to why that is case?
It has definitely dropped in standard. There are guys playing senior football this year that have played 2nd's their whole careers.
Even though Darley are clear on top, this season is wide open. The ability to cover injuries will be the key this year.

Ballarat lets chance slip, East Point seals its place

14/07/2008 12:23:00 AM
BALLARAT had a chance yesterday to close the gap to the top four, and let it slip. East Point had a chance to cement its place in the top four, and took it.
That could ultimately prove the difference between the two teams in season 2008.
Percentage is all that separates the Ballarat Football League's second-to-fourth teams. The gap back to Ballarat and Lake Wendouree in fifth and sixth respectively is now two matches.
For that reason Ballarat coach John Northey said yesterday's match was a missed opportunity.
``It (the opportunity to move above East Point on the ladder) was supposed to be a motivator for the match,'' Northey said.
``Now we need to beat Redan to stay in the finals race. When it is so close every game is important, but particularly those against teams underneath on the ladder. We can't afford to drop that match.''
Lake Wendouree, meanwhile, has gone a long way towards playing finals football, even if its win against Sebastopol was less than emphatic. With Matt Battistello and Daniel Weymouth missing and
a fair proportion of players suffering the ill effects of a virus, though, any win was acceptable for the Lakers.
Lake Wendouree's destiny now remains very much in its own hands against Bacchus Marsh next Saturday, while the Ballarat-Redan match will not hurt the Lakers' chances regardless of which way
the result in that match goes. After 12 rounds there are still two places up for grabs in the six, but positions five and six are still there for the Swans and Lakers to lose as they are for a team like Redan to win.

All the action is at the top of the ladder. Once the Devils get hold of South this week by the scruff of the neck, then the statement will be made who the side to beat is in 2008. To best the Lions at Clarke Oval without Newman is worth 2 wins anywhere else. Even fat Minns kicked 4, that's how good the Lions were. Even the mafia (Romero and Dimattina) couldn't get them over the line. Too much of mama's pasta.

ORACLE hello hello, ORACLE are you there....Hello??

mmm, maybe hiding with the President who was cckahoot all week and strutting at the ground, with a smaile like David Smorgan.

I guess when you belt all the sides below you and not beat anyone above you on the ladder, we shouldnt believe the crap you put on here. the fear is you are believing your own bullsh.t.
The arrogance that you and your club muster is amazing, you have achieved nothing and in fact Ballarat are further away now, than ever to having success.

Whlst you are probably safe toplay finals due to the Soft Draw, it would be fair to say that you could plan your footy trip for start of september.:D

Is it any wonder the standard of football has dropped.... listen to the bullsh*t that goes along with footy!!Doesnt anyone respect a persons football abilities these days?
Being a return supporter to the BFL i would respect clubs like darley and sunbury for their postion on the ladder etc, but reading the constant idiocracy on this thread, i simply cant!
How things have changed over the years
The BFL would be better off with hepburn buninyong and maybe learmonth than these west melb sides... and i never thought i would ever say that.
EVERY single person on this site is hiding behind a computer, that statement makes me laugh the most.
Surely the mills and boon writing abilities could be put to better use else where??
give the thuggery a rest, it is ruining football

Oops i said that out loud, best i boot off now... :D

ORACLE hello hello, ORACLE are you there....Hello??

mmm, maybe hiding with the President who was cckahoot all week and strutting at the ground, with a smaile like David Smorgan.

I guess when you belt all the sides below you and not beat anyone above you on the ladder, we shouldnt believe the crap you put on here. the fear is you are believing your own bullsh.t.
The arrogance that you and your club muster is amazing, you have achieved nothing and in fact Ballarat are further away now, than ever to having success.

Whlst you are probably safe toplay finals due to the Soft Draw, it would be fair to say that you could plan your footy trip for start of september.:D

Hello boys! Criticism is justified we were disappointing. You don't win a race in the first 50 metres though and we will still play finals so we can be judged then.

Yes I love potting you fruit pickers but on a serious note what's wrong with newman?

Since there are so many comedians around here i figured i should make sure u all put it to good use and enter this competition
www.toyota.com.au/afl
At the end of the day if any BFL team wins it will stay in the league, so get typing.

Luke Beattie in the clear on striking

14/07/2008 12:35:00 AM
SUNBURY forward Luke Beattie was cleared of striking Darley defender Drew Edwards by the Ballarat Football League tribunal last night.
After hearing evidence from both players, along with that of the reporting goal umpire Danny Graham, the tribunal took less than five minutes to deliberate on the charge before dismissing it.
While Graham insisted he saw Beattie punch Edwards with a clenched fist to the stomach, Beattie said he merely pushed his opponent, a view backed by Edwards.
"I have been playing senior football for 12 years and have never been reported. I am a leader at the club and in no way condone violence on the football field," Beattie said while giving his evidence. "In fact I feel embarrassed to be here.
"I was side-on (to the umpire) and I can understand that it might have looked like that." Edwards said was surprised when told of the report, insisting he did not think there was anything in the incident."

WOULD HATE TO THINK OF THE RESULT IF THIS WAS THE OTHER WAY AROUND

Hello boys! Criticism is justified we were disappointing. You don't win a race in the first 50 metres though and we will still play finals so we can be judged then.

Yes I love potting you fruit pickers but on a serious note what's wrong with newman?

"You don't win a race in the first 50 metres though"
I Think you'll find thats what I was trying to say.
Yet you still persist with being judged in finals.
You havent beaten a side above you and with the soft draw you will only play Darley to test that theory before finals.
Like most teams you probably have a few injuries, but besides Otto who can play and is pretty hard at it also. I cant see too many more coming into the side from the last weekend.
By the way is Mark Nunn injured or does he always look disinterested, he's only kicked just over 20 goals this year?

So Oracle, do you agree that you are further away this year than last year?

I believe last years side would go close to winning the lot....but not the current side. The loss of many GOOD players has been replaced by just average players.

Rubba all clubs have lost players and if all sides had the same sides as last year they would be on top. We will continue to develop. I keep mentioning finals as these are the only games throughout the year that count. Rubba the higher you climb the pole the more it becomes slippery.

Chief has newman got a headache from listening to all the Darley dribble or is he that overpaid he is confused on where to spend his money. They reckon he is more overpaid than chumpy at the marsh!

It will be a good game between darley and east point. For all you fruitpickers out there east point were impressive last week so they will be looking to atone for the last time they played. The VCFL reject Miller and figjam blanchfield will be a good contest. After playing darley, melton south and east point I think melton south and east point are better sides.

Rubba all clubs have lost players and if all sides had the same sides as last year they would be on top. We will continue to develop. I keep mentioning finals as these are the only games throughout the year that count. Rubba the higher you climb the pole the more it becomes slippery.

Chief has newman got a headache from listening to all the Darley dribble or is he that overpaid he is confused on where to spend his money. They reckon he is more overpaid than chumpy at the marsh!

It will be a good game between darley and east point. For all you fruitpickers out there east point were impressive last week so they will be looking to atone for the last time they played. The VCFL reject Miller and figjam blanchfield will be a good contest. After playing darley, melton south and east point I think melton south and east point are better sides.
You are quite simple arnt you Oral. The Chump is a Darley lad.

Ballarat = Smellarat meh..

All the action is at the top of the ladder. Once the Devils get hold of South this week by the scruff of the neck, then the statement will be made who the side to beat is in 2008. To best the Lions at Clarke Oval without Newman is worth 2 wins anywhere else. Even fat Minns kicked 4, that's how good the Lions were. Even the mafia (Romero and Dimattina) couldn't get them over the line. Too much of mama's pasta.

I reckon some action might be on at the snake pit (Maddingley Park) this weekend. Replay of the spiteful game earlier in the year.

Massive clash for the cobras. Lose and their finals hopes are over for another year. Win and they are still alive.

[FONT=&quot]A feature of this week’s Darley v East Point game will be the battle between Kangaroo Toby Boyle and Devils’ Travis Minns. Minns has been in good form and stitched up Boyle early in the year, but Boyle has let everyone know that he is keen to make Minns pay Saturday, so it will be a battle worth the Admission Fee. [/FONT]

"figjam blanchfield" not sure what your message is here, I believe East smashed you last week and then you want to call someone figjam, your arrogance again. Ballarat could be called "Cottees", as they are club full of Figjam's and need i remind..nah...oh yeah..I will you have yet to achieve anything.
By the way you didnt respond about Mark "Boiled Lollies" Nunn, is he injured, why hasnt he kicked many goals this year, he doesnt look interested.

You're a glutten for punishment, having a crack at Newman.
Oracle,Oracle,Oracle last time I looked he was leading the goal kicking I wouldnt be worried how much they pay him, work out how to stop him. It's no different to DJ, you wont question how much he gets cause he'll smash you also, I dont think you'd get in his way or ask him how much he's getting paid.
I also forgot... I'm sure everyone is on basic payments at Ballarat given the way they are playing, only Otto should put his hand out for more.
As for your later post, I think Darley and South are the teams to beat.

BFL: Lakers bring big guns back

17/07/2008 12:20:00 AM
LAKE WENDOUREE has brought back three big guns for tomorrow's season-defining Ballarat Football League clash against Bacchus Marsh.
Coach Matt Batti-stello, full forward Daniel Weymouth and centre half forward Tim Madden are inclusions for the Lakers as they aim to lock away a place in the RegionalOne BFL top six.
And East Point also welcomes back key players in Shane Hutchinson, Simon Geljon and Matthew Sheedy, as the Kangaroos work to retain a top three position against ladder leader Darley.
Lakers coach Matt Battistello was keen to play down the high stakes match although he acknowledged outsiders might see it as a particularly important match for the club.
"The general Ballarat football public is under the assumption that if we win we make it (into the finals) but we don't want to put that much pressure on us," Battistello said.
"It's a long way out to be making those assumptions. Our goal over the last six games of the season is to win four of them.
"That's what I feel we need to look at. Six weeks out of finals you can fall into trap of thinking you've made it.
"But my view is there is no point in just making finals unless you make an impact, and we need to build some consistency to make an impact."
Battistello's opposite number at Bacchus Marsh, Dion Miles, was more direct, however.
"This is possibly the most important match for the club since I've been here," Miles said. "It's probably the most important since the team was off the bottom of the ladder several years ago.
"If win this then we can say we've beaten five different teams this year."
"And if it happens then I feel we only need to win three more to make the finals, and we have a couple of games against the bottom teams.
"We will need to win one against a Darley, East Point or Melton South. I think to make it but, if we can't, we probably don't deserve to make it."
Two of the four BFL matches this weekend, the Lake Wendouree versus Bacchus Marsh clash and the Ballarat derby between the Ballarat Swans and Redan, have a direct bearing on which teams are likely to play finals football. The Darley versus East Point match will also shape the top six in the lead up to the finals series.