Ballyntine

In my opinion Ballantyne is blocking his opponent in a marking contest. They are both looking for the ball to arrive. Looks pretty much in the rules, and commonplace in any game. Can't see any intention at all to do more than that.
agree with you 100% on this one, ballantyne has done NO WRONG.
:rolleyes:
I also think Freo will make top 4,
Ross Lyon is an attacking coach with a high scoreing game plan,
Mundy will win the brownlow and
:rolleyes:Chris Newman should be cited for staging.

For sure it is different. You acknowledge that they are competing for position, so he should be expecting contact. It is a contact sport. Players get crunched all the time. They get run down from behind. I am not in favour of asking umpires to make decisions based on if a player is "expeting" contact. I bet Ballantyne was expecting contact.

The only real issue is that the contact got his opponent low. I am not sure how intentional that is, and happy for the MRP to ajudicate. Hit him in the chest and there is no discussion to be had.

competing for position, jostling for body position, crunching tackles, hip and shoulders(or it used to be), crashing the pack with legitimate flies for marks are part of rules which permit body on body contact.

striking is not. anyway you cut it he struck him and should be suspended.stop using samantics to obscure the fact.

I haven't stated that. I said if that is where Ballantyne got him then there wouldn't be any issue. He is blocking an opponent to protect the ball drop as you had described. If the ball is not 5 metres away that photo does not show it.

Your photo shows that they are in a contest, and that Ballantyne is clearly trying to get rid of an opponent??? Every player in that contest should expect some sort of contact. Anything illegal gets dealt with pretty ruthlessly.

Exactly, thats why he'll get weeks. You're just arguing for the sake of it.

I am sure that Ballantyne will be looked at un-favourably for the rest of his career, so have no doubt that if he has gone outside the rules he will cop it. Unlike many other players. But if he goes, I won't complain.

good but the question is do you think he did anything wrong. i think your answer is no.if jake king did it i would say he gone.

Ok, so going by this photo. Can you not see where Ballantyne's elbow is.. I am staggered that you have stated he hit him in the chest!
Also, Everyone in this contest is looking at the ball (which going by the look on the players faces is still pretty far away from the contest) but Ballantyne only has eyes for where Newman's footsteps would be had he of not hit him.

Like i said, Newman was down by the time the ball had reached the contest.

That explains it. It looks like Newman is doing something to Balla's Neck.

It was a cheap shot and nobody likes to see that type of cowardly stuff. Ballantyne is developing a reputation for cheap shots and there'll come a time when he's found out.

I hope he gets plenty of weeks for it.

Congratulations Freo - you're the best rugby team in the afl! I feel sorry for your supporters that will have to watch that rubbish over the next 5+ years.

You did what you had to do yesterday to get the points, and that ugly brand of footy may win you some games like yesterday - but it won't win you a flag or any long term respect. Total garbage.

Go Tigers - Eat 'em Alive.

Didn't they say the same about Sydney in '05 (played in next 2 GF's) and the Saints (played in 2 GF's). How's the ninthmond method been working for you guys so far?

As far as Ballas goes he'll prolly get a couple of weeks, we'll all move on. Thanks for your concern though.;)

I comprehend just fine...you referred to the hit being in the lower region...which stomach is clearly not...then mentioned serious testicle injury implying that this was a non serious testicle injury.

Additionally I can't see how anyone in a standing position can hit another in the testicles with a loose elbow unless it is Ashton Hams on Sandilands. So with your response you're clutching at straws to try and backup your initially flawed post.

Happy to discuss the stupidity of ballantyne throwing elbows but no need to use hysterics as well. Suggest you check facts before posting next time.

Bet you went and checked the video before responding didn't you.
You clearly didn't comprehend the OP properly at all champ.

Ballantyne is a disgrace and one he will cop it big time, just a shame Barry Hall has retired...

The MRP will not share your standard anti-Tiger view, but then again they let that little princess Jetta off so anything is possible...

Huh? He probably will cop a week for that, am I saying otherwise? I'm saying there was **** all in it and the OP's hysteria makes me think he should take up netball.

LOL, its a cycle. My player belts your player...it was in the context of the game/ball in the area/self defence/retaliation/it was a love tap your player is a diver/etc.

your player belts my player...HE IS THE SPAWN OF SATAN AND EATS BABIES STRANGLES KITTENS AND RELIEVES HIMSELF TO THE TARGET CHILDREN'S CATALOGUE AND MUST BE JAILED FOR HIS CRIMES AGAINST HUMANITY..

2 weeks for ballantyne, maybe a 3rd for being a drongo.

What theme? People like punching Richmond people? Been around for years mate.:)

Freo particularly enjoys it, from Medhurst to Headcase to Grover. Sensed an opportunity yesterday against a side barely older than Gold Coast. Didn't surprise me.

good but the question is do you think he did anything wrong. i think your answer is no.if jake king did it i would say he gone.

Looking at the video I think for sure he will go. No problems with that at all. But it is so far off sniping that it isn't funny. He may get some kind of rough play charge. I don't have a problem with that. But the hysteria is amusing and soft.

Freo particularly enjoys it, from Medhurst to Headcase to Grover. Sensed an opportunity yesterday against a side barely older than Gold Coast. Didn't surprise me.
Newman's five years older than Ballantyne. Who whacked Cotchin? The youth argument doesn't really stand up.

We certainly played a contested brand of footy. That's why we won the free kick count. Aside from Ballantyne, what was dirty about the way Freo played yesterday?

Ballantyne plays his best football whens he's under the skin of his opponents.

I thought that it was interesting that he played meek, soft footy after coming back from the Scarlett suspensions. If he gets rubbed out again can we expect the same as he battles to curtail his fire?

Looking at the video I think for sure he will go. No problems with that at all. But it is so far off sniping that it isn't funny. He may get some kind of rough play charge. I don't have a problem with that. But the hysteria is amusing and soft.
You can spin it as much as you feel the need but it was a dog act from a dog turd. Makes Milne seem like a fantastic bloke. Fremantle supporters' definition of sniping appears to be entirely different to everyone elses.

Newman's five years older than Ballantyne. Who whacked Cotchin? The youth argument doesn't really stand up.

We certainly played a contested brand of footy. That's why we won the free kick count. Aside from Ballantyne, what was dirty about the way Freo played yesterday?

Couldn't tell. Last quarter, was caught by the cameras in close-up.

Yesterday would've been an eye-opener to a few of the kids. We don't have many players to do the squaring up. King would've been hard to hold back yesterday if he wasn't already suspended.

But Freo did what they had to do and won on merit. That's not at issue.

LOL, its a cycle. My player belts your player...it was in the context of the game/ball in the area/self defence/retaliation/it was a love tap your player is a diver/etc.

your player belts my player...HE IS THE SPAWN OF SATAN AND EATS BABIES STRANGLES KITTENS AND RELIEVES HIMSELF TO THE TARGET CHILDREN'S CATALOGUE AND MUST BE JAILED FOR HIS CRIMES AGAINST HUMANITY..

2 weeks for ballantyne, maybe a 3rd for being a drongo.

Similar to a cycle that goes;

My team gets beaten in a game everyone expected us to win.

The umpires robbed us.

OR

Eyebrows is ruining the game.

OR

Your players were too rough.

You may be right. I can't tell how far away the ball is and clearly both players are focused on the coming contest. Ballantyne is making position and is keeping his opponent away. I think he is focused on winning the ball by out-positioning his opponent. Don't see that as behind play at all.

So far in this thread I haven't actually seen the rules about what he did illegally cited, apart from your post. Your first 2 points indicate a free kick, and are debatable. Your third point looks like "rough play" or something along those lines. But again, if he got him in the chest it would be a non-issue.
Wow just wow, you are so biased it goes beyond backing your team yo just blatant stupidity

Barely anything in it, lot of hysteria for nothing. 1 week, probably bumped up to 2 because of his record.

Intentional is a given. Let's be charitable and say medium impact. Body shot as opposed to groin. That's two weeks.

High impact (a further "severe" category exists) or groin contact makes it three weeks. Both means five weeks, pending a guilty plea. Any carryover from Chapman?

Spin that wheel...

Was in the marking contest, nothing to see here.

Also any Richmond fan at the ground who cheered Sandis injury should be banned for life. I bet theres a few of you on here. Gutless Richmond ferals.

The puntroadend forum match thread is a very funny read atm. Blaming umpires in every single post lol.

Also any Richmond fan at the ground who cheered Sandis injury should be banned for life. I bet theres a few of you on here. Gutless Richmond ferals.

I heard the cheers when it came up on the scoreboard that he'd been subbed out. It's not like they cheered as he was coming off the ground injured. Nobody noticed it.