balmey leaving

Jesus, do you EVER have anything good to say about Richmond? You’re always so critical and negative. I bet you’re really an oppo supporter pretending to be Richmond so you can come on here and pick s**t at everything we do.
Hahaha Is that Fruit Loop rjk or whatever his name is back?

Sounds to me like the AFL have put the hard word on the club to oust him as they can’t handle him telling them they are ******* useless .
With umpiring against us continually getting worst you could imagine Balmey has been regularly pointing out to them their blantant cheating.
Has the AFL fingerprints on it and Benny is a head office man now

It's no sacking lol his had a limited role due tp health reasons. Sacking is on the spot like pies knifed him his got till the end of year. We treat a people with respect not like in the past.

For me the most important signing end of 2016 revamped our footy department and went out him no success so instrumental.
in a cafe tho?

What a legend of the club. I absolutely love him. However, pragmatically looking at it. 73, health issues, he’s had a bloody good run at it. Thanks for everything Balmey, i do hope you get the respectful send off at the years end. Enjoy your time now with the grand kids etc.

Mate he's been cruising into retirement for 3 years. Was deliberately not involved in the Yze appointment and isn't involved in football dept decisions anymore. All he's been doing lately is topping up his super. The money can be better spent elsewhere. Time to cut the cord.
my comment was on the location as well, what did you think of that?

Never had the experience to watch him as a player. Will always be a tiger man, He was one of the main reasons for 17,19 & 20. All the best Neil and all the best with your health.
He’s a legend and a brilliant people manager. Equal to Benny , Peggy , Dimma and the team . A sad end of era.

Players refuse walk with him between punt road and the G , not because they don’t want to, but that he always stops to chat to anyone (and it’s hard to explain why they’re late).

When I was a kid a did a paper round and the only perk was getting a ‘free’ copy of inside football. I won a footy jumper picking him out in their weekly comp. Never forgot it.

Always lives in my heart for his services to this 12yo boy in 1973 who would have been shattered beyond repair had Carlton beaten us in a GF again. Balmey and his cohorts made sure that would never happen.

Loved watching him play for Richmond. Made his team mates walk taller.

His more recent return and his part in 3 glorious recent premierships has only cemented my love for the man.

Just like I'm now a 63yo, time and tide wait for no man. Everyone has to move on sooner or later.

Good luck Balmey.

Balmey has some health issues.
Let the man rest and sit back and reflect on a magnificent life.

He helped us get Tommy Lynch and others to the club.

He instilled a positive relaxed mindset to the club which was what this very passionate club needed.

Farewell Balmey and thanks for all you have done.

Just listening to him for a small time on an interview,his positive attitude when media were out to get the club made you feel safe in the knowledge the big man held our club in the best interests.

We will miss him terribly but father time eventually catches up.

Eat Em Alive Balmey!

And they came to this conclusion regarding his health the same week its reported Benny accepted the Tassie job. Literally within 48 hours of Caro's article. amazing.

You sound like the dad taking the pet cat to the vet for the last time, lol
His departure has been in the works for a while. Even the downgrade of his role over the years. His health issues aren’t new.

I feel like Richmond has turned a corner in the treatment of its legends, even look at the phasing out of premiership players.

Balme is still being paid well for his service. As a poster above said, sometimes people have to look at for you even when you can’t look out for yourself.

The biggest challenge for Balme is moving on now and finding peace.

And they came to this conclusion regarding his health the same week its reported Benny accepted the Tassie job. Literally within 48 hours of Caro's article. amazing.

You sound like the dad taking the pet cat to the vet for the last time, lol

They came to the conclusion months ago.

It was at a casual pre-season lunch hosted by Brendon Gale where Neil Balme, another key player from the Richmond premiership epoch, learned that his time at the club was about to come to an end.”

Tricky getting football dept staff transition correct ... it felt like Gale wanted Dimma around but he left.

Benny didn't want Balme around, Balmy gets upset cos he wants to stay.

In my ignorant opinion Gale was the messiah.

he's probably done all he can for the club....probably as good a time as ever to move on.

He'd be an asset wherever he goes.

What a magnificent stabilising figure he’s been !! The big off field 3 - Peggy, Benny and Balmy , no way we have 3 cups in the cabinet without them, and none will be here in 25

Not exactly sure what his title was, but we need another people person in the role. I hope we make a play for Leon Cameron, who while not a like for like replacement for Balmey, was highly regarded around the club during his playing days and would bring a lot to the Club.

Tricky getting football dept staff transition correct ... it felt like Gale wanted Dimma around but he left.

Benny didn't want Balme around, Balmy gets upset cos he wants to stay.

In my ignorant opinion Gale was the messiah.

he's probably done all he can for the club....probably as good a time as ever to move on.

He'd be an asset wherever he goes.
AFL didnt give him CEO job cos they want him in charge of the Tassie Team.

What a legend of the club. I absolutely love him. However, pragmatically looking at it. 73, health issues, he’s had a bloody good run at it. Thanks for everything Balmey, i do hope you get the respectful send off at the years end. Enjoy your time now with the grand kids etc.
1710670032780.png

#PutYourMonteCarlosOut

balmey leaving