Bay 13 Poms cheated thread

Oct 15, 2007
PCO
Brisbane Lions
Only a couple of days until we take on the Poms in the Ashes. For me, the Ashes are the most important cricket series there is. Reasonably close seconds are when we tour India and when we tour South Africa, and the World Cup is probably just ahead of those two, but the Ashes is number 1.

Now, these stinking, weasley, measley, one eyed dogs are pretty confident about their chances of knocking the Aussies off. They note that there is no McGrath, Warne for the first time in a million years, and of course we've been beaten at home by South Af.

Apparently, in England all the press is concentrating on is how they won the 2005 Ashes. They were all holidaying on Mars when we thumped them 5-0 in the return series a couple of years ago, and hence have not been mentioning that. According to them, that never happened.

So, Bay 13 needs an Ashes thread, where we can discuss the goings on as they happen, theorise on who should and should not be playing, and basically sledge the f**k out of the Poms.

Go Aussies.... esp Pete Siddle who I've backed heavily at $6.25 to take the most Aussie wickets. :thumbsu:

(Edit: I've also taken $13 about Pete getting the most series wickets overall, but not as big a result)

Re: Bay 13 Ashes thread

So a couple of weeks ago in Tassie... not so pleasurable I take it?

Derail some other thread shotta, this is about cricket for the Bay.

Well piss off to the cricket board then.

This is not the Fitzroy board where cricket season starts in round 14.

• Banned

Well piss off to the cricket board then.

This is not the Fitzroy board where cricket season starts in round 14.

I would've thought you'd be glad for a cricket thread, given your team of fat addicts are out of finals contention already...

Anyway, Bay 13 is bigger than the cricket board, and there's plenty of people who go to the Bay who do not go to the cricket board (the vast majority, in fact). Yet most of those Bay 13'ers will be watching & taking an interest in the Ashes. Hence, a thread for them all (me being one) to discuss it on here, amongst the Bay 13 community, is more than necessary.

You, being a negative piece of dog sh1t, don't have to contribute, you can stick to spewing your rubbish on other threads, if you have no interest in cricket.

I would've thought you'd be glad for a cricket thread, given your team of fat addicts are out of finals contention already...

Anyway, Bay 13 is bigger than the cricket board, and there's plenty of people who go to the Bay who do not go to the cricket board (the vast majority, in fact). Yet most of those Bay 13'ers will be watching & taking an interest in the Ashes. Hence, a thread for them all (me being one) to discuss it on here, amongst the Bay 13 community, is more than necessary.

You, being a negative piece of dog sh1t, don't have to contribute, you can stick to spewing your rubbish on other threads, if you have no interest in cricket.

Overwhelming interest so far.

I am worried about B Lee being picked.

Hmmm. I'm not sure Hilf will offer much with the rock once it gets 15 overs old though.

I think there's legit concern for a few in the top order, R.Ponting certainly being one of them. Before Hussey made his ton the other day there was definitely a cloud over him, too. I not at all convinced on Ponting as a captain, either (same as many others, not a new call by any stretch there)... those things worry me for our chances of success in this tour.

RE Lee - I am certainly not a Lee fan by any stretch, and his English form is poor... the only reason I think he should be picked is he seems to have got some reverse swing going. I have no confidence in him with the new ball, but he may take wickets as the ball gets older.

For mine, Mitch and Siddle are our biggest wicket taking hopes.

Don't underestimate SR Clark. Can build up the pressure and have it seaming it around beautifully.

Any idea what to expect from the wicket in Cardiff?

Don't know about Cardiff brother, but by judging the location it should be a swinging wicket. Like most pitches in the UK.

Hughes is having a tough time with the short ball lately and North is coming along nicely. Don't know what to make of Lee, his experience should get him in for the first test.

Don't underestimate SR Clark. Can build up the pressure and have it seaming it around beautifully.

Any idea what to expect from the wicket in Cardiff?

I heard dry/spin friendly which means they might play horrowitz.

I think the attack should be

Johnson, Siddle, Clark, Horror but in reality Lee will probably get picked before Clark. (I agree on your Hilfy comments)

I heard dry/spin friendly which means they might play horrowitz.

I think the attack should be

Johnson, Siddle, Clark, Horror but in reality Lee will probably get picked before Clark. (I agree on your Hilfy comments)

Hmm interesting stuff.

I just think Katich and Hughes really need to have solid starts because at the moment if RT Ponting strides to the wicket a 1/20 odd, I have a terrible feeling it could be 2 for not much more soon after.

Hmm interesting stuff.

I just think Katich and Hughes really need to have solid starts because at the moment if RT Ponting strides to the wicket a 1/20 odd, I have a terrible feeling it could be 2 for not much more soon after.

Freddie Flintoff will be targeting the skipper.

I'm hoping they don't play Hauritz. M.Clarke and North could do just as much as him imo.

Brett Lee shouldn't get the new ball. In the prac match just gone he didn't get a wicket with the new ball but got plenty with the older ball.

P.s Awesome work from sbs showing the series live. I don't have foxtel so I don't see us play much overseas. :thumbsu:

Freddie Flintoff will be targeting the skipper.

Don't worry brother. Our man PM Siddle will be all over KP like Nick Stevens on a loose ball across half back.

Agree Lee with the new ball... there's a case to be made for bowling Mitch/Hilf opening (as Hilf needs it red) then BPS (Big Pete Siddle) first change with Lee, and Lee coming back later when it's older. That is, if they play four quicks.

The thing about this Cardiff pitch is it's supposed to be a turner. Apparently after it settles down it gets really slow, and will turn. Hauritz will play I'd suspect, though I have no faith in him either.

Agree with L2M4G's comments re Clarke, am a big fan of his with the ball... would prefer him in the team to Hilfy, esp as Clarke will have more improvement over the series as he gets fitter and gets his rhythm back, etc.

I used to be a cricket tragic but lately I've found my interest waning, mainly due to the w***ers who now represent Australia.

Simon Katich - A Grade pole smoker. Yes he's been in decent form but we all know he's only an innings away from being the useless prick he was 3 seasons ago.

Michael Clarke - Seems more interested in getting tatts and banging Lara Bingle (Fev's sloppy seconds, eww) than in playing cricket. Probably the most over-rated player I've ever seen.

Brett Lee - A serious, serious threat to us winning this series. Bowling fast is nice but do something with the ball, FFS. I can see him getting spanked.

Ricky Ponting - Gets on his high horse over Andy Symonds obviously forgetting the time he got smashed by a transvestite in Kings Cross. Here's an idea, Ricky - make a ****ing run.

Phil Hughes - The new Michael Bevan. Being a New South Welshman makes me hate him even more.

Shane Watson - Has this man ever been fit? More injuries, sprains and pulls than Les Twentyman at a contortionist's convention. A huge liability right there.

Mike Hussey - I used to love this man but he's turned into a shadow of his former self. Called Mr. Cricket - no chance of ever being Mr Personality - which I actually believe has been sucked out of his arse by Tim "What the **** am I doing" Neilson.

Tim Neilson - A Pom who chooses to live in South Australia is obviously insane. Judging by his coaching techniques I'd say his brain is in a bank vault somewhere...

Andrew Hilditch - How does this pinhead get to be Chairman of Selectors? No wonder we're struggling with this clown running the show. Couldn't pick his own arse, let alone a decent cricket side.

BTW, does anyone else feel Andrew Symonds was hard done by given Merv Hughes and David Boon are Australian selectors? What a joke that was. :thumbsdown:

I'll probably still watch it, though... :D

Safraz is a must. He is really our only "stopper" and the best exponent of seam movement in the aussie side. Anyone that saw Lee's spell against the lions with the reversing ball would not be questioning his selection. MJ has looked ordinary in the warm up games.. hoping he is holding something back for the main event (inswing to the right handers). Hauritz would be 100/1 to get picked in the first test. Our spin options will be used for over rate and hopefully snag a wicket or 2.

Cardiff is supposed to be dry, reverse swing and spin should come to the fore. I wouldn't be surprised if the poms make it pretty dead in terms of bounce and pace. They will be relying on reverse swing and spin and a slow wicket will nulify Siddle, Safraz and Johnson in terms of their wicket taking ability.

Good to see Hussey and North get amongst the runs. If we get contributions out of our top 7 batsman over the course of the series we will win.

PJ Hughes I hope you are in the nets sorting out your issues with the short ball!!!!!

Aussies 3-1
Aussies 3-2

I used to be a cricket tragic but lately I've found my interest waning, mainly due to the w***ers who now represent Australia.

Simon Katich - A Grade pole smoker. Yes he's been in decent form but we all know he's only an innings away from being the useless prick he was 3 seasons ago.

Michael Clarke - Seems more interested in getting tatts and banging Lara Bingle (Fev's sloppy seconds, eww) than in playing cricket. Probably the most over-rated player I've ever seen.

Brett Lee - A serious, serious threat to us winning this series. Bowling fast is nice but do something with the ball, FFS. I can see him getting spanked.

Ricky Ponting - Gets on his high horse over Andy Symonds obviously forgetting the time he got smashed by a transvestite in Kings Cross. Here's an idea, Ricky - make a ****ing run.

Phil Hughes - The new Michael Bevan. Being a New South Welshman makes me hate him even more.

Shane Watson - Has this man ever been fit? More injuries, sprains and pulls than Les Twentyman at a contortionist's convention. A huge liability right there.

Mike Hussey - I used to love this man but he's turned into a shadow of his former self. Called Mr. Cricket - no chance of ever being Mr Personality - which I actually believe has been sucked out of his arse by Tim "What the **** am I doing" Neilson.

Tim Neilson - A Pom who chooses to live in South Australia is obviously insane. Judging by his coaching techniques I'd say his brain is in a bank vault somewhere...

Andrew Hilditch - How does this pinhead get to be Chairman of Selectors? No wonder we're struggling with this clown running the show. Couldn't pick his own arse, let alone a decent cricket side.

BTW, does anyone else feel Andrew Symonds was hard done by given Merv Hughes and David Boon are Australian selectors? What a joke that was. :thumbsdown:

I'll probably still watch it, though... :D

Come on Franger, we've been represented by w***ers for years, doesnt mean you dont follow them! Craig McDermott, Ian Healy, Steve Waugh (brilliant player & captain but major w***er imo), Hayden, Warnie (i love the man but he's still a w***er), Symo (the king of w***ers) etc :D

I'm hoping they don't play Hauritz. M.Clarke and North could do just as much as him imo.

Brett Lee shouldn't get the new ball. In the prac match just gone he didn't get a wicket with the new ball but got plenty with the older ball.

P.s Awesome work from sbs showing the series live. I don't have foxtel so I don't see us play much overseas. :thumbsu:

I would give Lee 3-4 overs with the new rock... If he hasn't taken a wicket, make the change... and just save him for sharp 4-5 over bursts with the reversing ball. Shame Bing doesn't seem to be able to reverse it away from the right hander. Looking forward to seeing Siddle rip into the poms.. great attitude from the country lad!!

Come on Franger, we've been represented by w***ers for years, doesnt mean you dont follow them! Craig McDermott, Ian Healy, Steve Waugh (brilliant player & captain but major w***er imo), Hayden, Warnie (i love the man but he's still a w***er), Symo (the king of w***ers) etc :D

Craig McDermott - Any man who videos his missus taking a few balls is alright by me.

Ian Healy - This man once played an entire Test Match with 11 broken fingers. Champion cricketer, w***er of a commentator.

Steve Waugh - "You just dropped the World Cup" will go down as the greatest sledge ever. I reckon he would be as dry as a witch's tit. Mark was more of a w***er than Steve.

Matt Hayden - Drinkin', shootin', fishin', drinkin' Queenslander who makes metro's like one M.Clarke look like an even bigger w***er. Haydo's is a man's man and probably uses Bundy as aftershave - not the latest designer scent from Tommy Hilfiger.

Shane Warne - The greatest skipper to never skipper the side. Another typical Aussie male who liked a good time. So what if he's a root rat? The man could play and it's a tragedy that he was overlooked in favour of someone who sucks up to the establishment.

Andrew Symonds - This guy is an ANZAC. Get's the arse for being a binge drinker - shit, ask Lillee, Marsh, Chappell, Boon, Walters, Hughes and Thommo what they did after a game in their day. It wasn't ****ing crochet. It was getting hammered.

Keith Miller would be rolling in his grave...

Bay 13 Poms cheated thread