Being a Collingwood supporter living in Adelaide this week

Give me a break. I work in the city and the weirdest thing I've seen is a bloke sitting with about 50 pigeons on him, and that was only a few days ago.

I was in adelaide cbd for all of 10 minutes and i had some feral bogan run into me with a pram and then tell me to get the **** out of the way or he would stab me

he had a kid in the pram, while downing a bottle of west end

Now bag Adelaide all you want, but surely you can't believe this garbage.
You should though, because it happened. You cant yell lies and slander all you like its the truth
Which means your opinion really means nothing.

I've lived here most of my life and I've never seen anything close to what you've described. Yes there are a few w***ers in the city, just like in any other CBD around Australia, but 99% of the people I come across are normal people.
normal for you maybe

Actually Adelaide is an unbearable place fullstop.

heehee :) the best thing about adelaide is that pricks like you think it sucks and don't come over.

good luck on saturday guys... at least your team plays fair footy, unlike essendon snipers and carlton ninjas

heehee :) the best thing about adelaide is that pricks like you think it sucks and don't come over.

good luck on saturday guys... at least your team plays fair footy, unlike essendon snipers and carlton ninjas
clearly never been to melbourne

Enjoy radelaide mate, none of us do

clearly you know what you're talking about. been to melbourne many many times.. nice place for a visit :thumbsu:
and you can drink the tap water here

thats a major novelty for you yet a given for everyone else not in the 3rd world

i'll pay that :D but with such nice water u still make shithouse beer :p
we had this conversation

West end is shitful, even melbourne bitter (which is hobo's piss in a can) is a better beer

I parachuted into Port Augusta for my sisters wedding a few years ago and made haste after that back to Melbourne.

It's like Canberra, a city where anything could happen...but never does (sorry Pie Eyed). Barbarianism is licking the CBD.

I parachuted into Port Augusta for my sisters wedding a few years ago and made haste after that back to Melbourne.

It's like Canberra, a city where anything could happen...but never does (sorry Pie Eyed). Barbarianism is licking the CBD.

This thread has amused, but this post has to take the cake. OS, you do realise that Port Augusta is about as far from Adelaide as West Wyalong is from Melbourne? Did you miss your target by 300 kms? :eek:

Mind you, I like Port Augusta. Melbourne and Adelaide are pretty neat too. Sh!t, We even enjoyed our stay in West Wyalong.

Typical inhabitants of cities enjoy their high spots, and respect other's values, too. Unfortunately it seems that all the arrogant, dis-respectful, "want to find some way to be hurtful" hoons are Collingwood fans - surely not all Collingwood fans can be like this?

So why should I be surprised when I find this on the Pie's site? Been spoiled, I think - but when a Collingwood Mod is the most disrespectful poster of all I AM surprised. Maybe he/she is really a nice person when they don't have to put up a front?

Good luck in the game. I think we'll win by a lot, but if we don't I'll post Gratz. Hope ALL you do the same.

Macjoe which mod was most disrespectful

I thought i would win that award and for those getting really antsy this is all in fun

Although Melbourne is better then adelaide thats not an argument

Where we have the F1, the GF, the tennis heaps of other major events, the best economy, best nightlife

Interesting post. Victoria just announced today as having the highest unemployment rate in australia

From ABC website

"Victoria's unemployment rate surged by the most of any state during August to reach 6.3 per cent"

I agree about some of the preceeding posts about how bad it must be to be a Collingwood fan in Adelaide, however being an Adelaide fan in Melbourne is no better.

In my experience Collingwood fans are the least gracious fans in victory or defeat so take a look in the mirror before you start whingeing about Adelaide fans. Take a look at the thread on the main page for the view of fans from other clubs and have a look at the view of collingwood from the fans of all clubs. The overwhelming view is that it's not the club, it's the fans that are the problem (and yes there are some good and bad fans for all clubs)

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=630234&page=1

Herald sun 2009 footy fans survey showed Collingwood as the most hated team, interestingly hated by almost 12 times the number of fans as Adelaide. I couldn't find the Sth Australian Advertiser survey results (just had a quick look) but I'd imagine Adelaide would feature high on the list.

That being said I hate the baised SA media coverage and reaction of Adelaide fans as much as pro collingwood melbourne media and reaction of Collingwood fans.

I didn't come on here to bait Collingwood fans just to point out that it's a 2 way street :D

Macjoe which mod was most disrespectful

I thought i would win that award and for those getting really antsy this is all in fun

Although Melbourne is better then adelaide thats not an argument

Optimax, you win hands down!

(Yes, for me this is all in fun. Until the siren goes, then it's serious. :p)

Optimax, you win hands down!

(Yes, for me this is all in fun. Until the siren goes, then it's serious. :p)
Pretty much

until the siren goes i just like shit stirring, good too see ive sucked another in too (not you MJ)

I will say that Adelaide fans are good sorts and total respectez vous to NC and his team - one of the teams I respect along with Sydney.

Their mods are also generous, when I posted on the Crows site post round 1 asserting that their hair-cuts were a barometer of social development, I was carded, but given a reprieve by a fairly minded mod.

Still, a shite city.

I will say that Adelaide fans are good sorts and total respectez vous to NC and his team - one of the teams I respect along with Sydney.

Their mods are also generous, when I posted on the Crows site post round 1 asserting that their hair-cuts were a barometer of social development, I was carded, but given a reprieve by a fairly minded mod.

Still, a shite city.
I agree with all of this

I'm another Pies supporter who lives in Adelaide. If we win this week, I'm wearing my scarf everywhere I go for the whole week (I usually just wear it on the Monday after a win), just to rub it in :p

I've got a good mate who is an Adelaide supporter, and he thinks the Pies "a bunch of soft frontrunners with no heart", so it'll be great to change his mind and knock them out of the finals again if we can :D

I've lived in Adelaide all my life, and I enjoy it. It might not be the most exciting place, but I have friends here and am I'm comfortable here, so I'm fine with it. The tap water at my place is perfectly clear and fine to drink too :p There's some idiots here, and some ridiculous stuff does happen here, but certainly no more than anywhere else I'd imagine, and it's hardly anywhere near as bad as people make it out to be. I'm often out amongst the nightlife in Adelaide, and we don't have nearly as much of a street violence problem as Melbourne or Sydney apparently do either. That being said, Melbourne was interesting the one time I was there back in 2003, and I'd like to visit there again sometime and see a bit more than I did last time.

adelaideman said:
lol when i smacked leon with a pie i couldnt tell if i hit him or not

Racial jokes? That's a bit low, isn't it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by adelaideman
lol when i smacked leon with a pie i couldnt tell if i hit him or not

Racial jokes? That's a bit low, isn't it?

It certainly is if that's what he meant. No place for that kind of talk and I'm sure there's not much tolerance for that in Adelaide either given their indigenous champs. Poison to the game and our society.

Im in Vietnam at the moment, and last night at some bar i ran into a pies fan. We had a good laugh rippin into each other for awhile, then some pommy showed up and tried to get into us about the cricket. Me and the pies fan turned around and together laid a heap on him. I ****in love being aussie :thumbsu:

ps. re: before about the beer.. of course west end is shite! its even worse than VB. but coopers is the best beer on the planet, ask the international panel of judges who put 2 or 3 in the top 10 every year

I have to laugh at Adelaide people telling us what a great place it is and by and large it is.

I guess my original point is that my biggest gripe about the joint is that everybody tells me what a great place it is and if anyone has the audacity to question why the f**k frog cakes and stobie poles are such state icons and held in such high regard you get told that if you don't like it go somewhere else.

The thing I found coming from Victoria is that we didn't need sh*t like that to make us feel special.

But since I've come here all I hear is friggin Keith Conlan talking to local "celebrities" about their favourite SA holiday destination like nobody in Adelaide knows where Glenelg is? I read an article by Chris McDermott ranking a Showdown as being as equal to a Grand Final, that the Oakbank races is better than the Melbourne Cup etc and Graham Cornes writing an article wondering what the big deal is about the Boxing Day test and warning locals not to bother going. All I see are ads telling me what a great place it is - I don't get it, if you already live here why do you need convincing to stay? Is it because the powers that be are afraid you may go somewhere else and like it too? Are they worried you may find a bigger, better world out there and that's why they themselves do the travelling and go to the big events and then tell you that you should stay home "We've been everybody, and it's not that good, don't bother".

The thing to me about why I enjoy bagging SA and it's stupid icons is that the local population are such easy targets - they always have to set me straight and tell me all the good things about the place like Mormons try to convince people to join their flock. There's a huge insecurity and I reckon it's fed by the constant media barrage treating their own people like idiots who know nothing of the wider world. I never used to bag South Australia until I moved here.

But don't worry everybody - SA is Heaps Good, just like the ad says.

Go Pies - for f***k's sake!

Being a Collingwood supporter living in Adelaide this week