BFL Bellarine Football League 2018

Right on Gibbs, mixed him up with measures!

They've been told they won't be playing against some of the lower teams to maximise salary cap room, not sure if other clubs have followed this also, but it's an interesting way to go about the season

Hey Doug, surely not, as the player himself will be out of pocket if on match payments.

First time to the forum.
Points system is interesting. Teams like ammos and Torquay would be pushing the limit. What if a player from out of town comes to training and just wants a game but can't because would make the team over the points? I guess that would just push them to another club which in turn would in a little way even up the Comp.
I personally dont like the system. It will disadvantage sides that work really hard to get new players to the club. And in that scenario the player might go to another league, which surely you want the the best players you can get in your league. The points system doesn't let leagues and teams through hard work build up the enterprise.
I know everyone thinks oh this club just throws money and so forth so **** em, but it's usually the clubs who work hard to get funding for the club to do such things.
the reason I bring up this point is this scenario has already happened at a club just recently..
You can't have some clubs having more points than other clubs either. That's ridiculous. It's a kick in the ass for clubs who have worked tirelessly to build there club up.

First time to the forum.
Points system is interesting. Teams like ammos and Torquay would be pushing the limit. What if a player from out of town comes to training and just wants a game but can't because would make the team over the points? I guess that would just push them to another club which in turn would in a little way even up the Comp.
I personally dont like the system. It will disadvantage sides that work really hard to get new players to the club. And in that scenario the player might go to another league, which surely you want the the best players you can get in your league. The points system doesn't let leagues and teams through hard work build up the enterprise.
I know everyone thinks oh this club just throws money and so forth so **** em, but it's usually the clubs who work hard to get funding for the club to do such things.
the reason I bring up this point is this scenario has already happened at a club just recently..
You can't have some clubs having more points than other clubs either. That's ridiculous. It's a kick in the ass for clubs who have worked tirelessly to build there club up.

So you'd prefer the law of the jungle? The weaker clubs just wither and eventually die? Why can't the clubs you feel sorry for work just as hard to develop their own juniors instead of scavenging off the hard work of others by cheque book recruiting? There is still scope to recruit players mate, just not a dozen at a time. What's your alternative? Or don't you have one? Or don't you believe there is a problem?

I don't think I follow.. You're telling me some recruits or high paying players won't play some games to fit in salary cap? Or do you mean points? And are you talking about Queenscliff? I don't think many teams could do that, wouldn't want to slip up and lose to a team you should beat
So you'd prefer the law of the jungle? The weaker clubs just wither and eventually die? Why can't the clubs you feel sorry for work just as hard to develop their own juniors instead of scavenging off the hard work of others by cheque book recruiting? There is still scope to recruit players mate, just not a dozen at a time. What's your alternative? Or don't you have one? Or don't you believe there is a problem?
There is still scope to recruit players mate, just not a dozen at a time - unless you are Queenscliff who can recruit at least 9 players and get an extra couple of points to fit them all in!!!

Pretty sure Gibbs played all juniors for Queenscliff and is from Queenscliff... The other two have played there for at least three years each... Anyway, the point I was making is they haven't gone out and recruited 'huge' names and paid out big $$, unlike some other clubs...
And the point I am making is why does a team that has played finals 6 out of the last 7 years, won 3 flags, missed finals this year by a game and fields teams in all junior age groups, qualify for an additional 2 points? I reckon a club like Barwon Heads who has played finals twice in the same period and has to play with 40 points would struggle to see the fairness in that.

Spot on and terrific call Fabuloso.

Would the AFL Barwon Operations Manager have any say on the allocation of points...?

Law of the jungle makes the world go round.
I would hate to see clubs wither and die. But it's up to those clubs to do something about it. It's all a game, on and off the field, always has been always will be.
Nah look the system might help, time will tell. I hope it does. Country footy over the last 150 years has had imbalance between teams. And I would say every club has had its ups and downs.
But to answer your other question yeah I don't think anything was wrong with the system.

Yeah I don't know where or how they're getting an extra two points from either mate, it's not like they've been struggling so I agree with you on that.

I don't think I follow.. You're telling me some recruits or high paying players won't play some games to fit in salary cap? Or do you mean points? And are you talking about Queenscliff? I don't think many teams could do that, wouldn't want to slip up and lose to a team you should beat.
Surely no team wouldn't consider playing someone like Gibbs or De Gois in the ressies or not at all just to save some dough or points? Isn't that just another form of tanking?

I think it takes into consideration how your juniors are doing as well and I'm guessing the coutas u18's must have struggled recently. I could be wrong though.
I don't think you'd leave blokes out just to save money - maybe resting them against Newcomb which every club has done recently but wont admit to.

I think more important than the points and salary cap is how the salary cap is policed. Everyone knows the clubs paying over the odds yet there's nothing done about it.

It's an absolute farce that clubs like Q'cliff and Drysdale who have won back to back or 3 peated over the last 10 years get extra points. No matter how you slice and dice it, doesnt make sense.

Sent from my GT-I9506 using Tapatalk

It's an absolute farce that clubs like Q'cliff and Drysdale who have won back to back or 3 peated over the last 10 years get extra points. No matter how you slice and dice it, doesnt make sense.

Fair point. Same has happened with one of the most successful regional clubs in the Ballarat area, their claim being that they need to recruit because they have been hit by a lot of retirements. They have also been successful in u18s over recent years so it is a fairly dodgy claim. While the system is in its early years there will probably be some anomalies like these but the onus will fall on clubs to manage their lists and all clubs will hopefully be on the same points unless there are exceptional circumstances. Give it 5 years and make a judgement then.

After what's happened to Forrest FC today in the CDFL, sad news, but shows that money can only take a club so far anyway.

I am hearing that Drysdale didn't apply for an increase in points. Surely they weren't handed a nice little bonus so the Queenscliff decision wouldn't stand out so much??Can anyone from Drysdale clarify?

You are joking right?

AFL Barwon MUST investigate this league, 2 teams in particular are just taking the piss
Don't hold your breath. There's been at least 2 clubs question the points allocation to AFL Barwon prior to Xmas and both are yet to receive even an acknowledgement of their requests let alone a response to their questions.

You are joking right?

AFL Barwon MUST investigate this league, 2 teams in particular are just taking the piss
AFL Barwon are as soft as butter, anyone who has dealt with Mr Hartman knows that. How can they not know what's going on in the BFL, with 2 teams in particular (and this isn't a new issue, as everyone here on this forum knows). Having said that, is Kelly going to Torquay really? A lot of baseless stuff gets put on here also.

I was told by a very reliable source that its a done deal. I would be totally surprised if Torquay spent under 100k last season and they are still adding players that would be on great coin.

I heard that Kelly was approached to help out with some coaching and mentor a couple of the juniors but there was no mention of playing. Would be a great get though.

I wouldn't be surprised if Essendon was sniffing around and offered him a one year contract as a top up player anyway... I'd be happy if he was still playing at Geelong because I think he deserved 1 more year although he did have a bit of a quieter year than his usual standards in 2015.

Mate, give it as rest. You want something done about this, then present your evidence to AFL Barwon.
I'm not the only one saying this. Check other peoples posts also, and have a go at them as well please. Eg David Bain, Douglas 86??

What's the problem with the discussion auckmel?

This is a serious issue in our league

Fair point and I don't mind the discussion as such as it's something which effects leagues right around the state, but the constant cheap shots at two clubs end now.