Ben Cousins

I reckon it would be sad if Cuz doesn't grace the field again in the AFL.

On the bright side, I'm sure the Mighty Perth Demons could find a place for him. Now that I think about it, if Cuz could lift the Dees to a flag (their first for 30 years) it would be a great way to end his career. Any chance of this happening or am I kidding myself?

And at least we dont need to watch him run around for another team:D
Seeing that would kill me:(
at first i was like that, but after a lot of thinking i've decided i'd rather see him play football again.

from a football fans persepctive he is just a superstar. People talk about guys form his era like Voss, Buckley, Hird and co. and most people would rank those three above Cuz (which is fair enough because they too are great footballers), but Benny certainly isn't out of his depth in any company. He really was a magnificent footballer, and moreso than anything one of the most stylish footballers to watch.

It would be great to see him play footy again, even though if it does happen it won't be in a west coast jumper...

What is truly amazing about the whole Cousins thing, is that it hasn't change or altered the issue of drug use in the AFL at all. There has been no change to the three-strike policy. There has been no discussion to the potential of early 20 something players who are currently using drugs turning into late 20 players with major drug addictions e.g. Cousins.

And what happens if another player's addiction does not get pick up by the testers, has anyone ask AFL what they will do if it happens again.

Basically in the end, the saga sold a lot of papers and one football career was destroyed drugs.

Word is that the Tigers will take Cousins. After lengthy talks and massive support from the fan base the tigers may just give him a home.

I hope they do and its a credit to their supporters for having the guts to come out and say take the risk and I hope their club follows suit.

I know its political why we could not take him back but it makes me sick still and I am very angry at our club for wiping our greatest player.
Something our club will have to live with forever. Not an issue right now for our club but one day there might be a time when they ask Ben back to do something or present something, I hope Ben gives us the bird and declines. Yes the club is always bigger than the individual and must be that way.
But we are a young club and Ben Cousins is a huge part of where they are now with membership and being on the football map.
You just don't kick those people to the curb in my view.
This is an act I will never forgive our club for.

Herald Sun reckons Tigers will take him at PSD pick 6...

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,24806112-661,00.html

RICHMOND appears to have headed off a fan revolt after late last night deciding to give Ben Cousins a second chance.
After a series of meetings and phone calls between Richmond directors, coaches and officials, the club decided to use its only selection in today's pre-season draft to take the fallen champ.

The Herald Sun was told the club finalised its decision after 10pm and some key Richmond players were immediately told.

But he wont be getting any more than $120,000...

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,24805759-19742,00.html

So that's it! This issue is finally put to rest for us. Best of luck to him and the Tigers in years to come. Go Eagles in '09! :thumbsu:
Not quite it would seem.. A bit of a sensationalist headline again..

HUN said:
RICHMOND appears to have headed off a fan revolt after late last night deciding to give Ben Cousins a second chance.
After a series of meetings and phone calls between Richmond directors, coaches and officials, the club decided to use its only selection in today's pre-season draft to take the fallen champ.

The Herald Sun was told the club finalised its decision after 10pm and some key Richmond players were immediately told.

Richmond football operations manager Craig Cameron last night kept hopes alive of securing Cousins.

"It is not absolutely impossible,'' he told the Herald Sun.

The club would not decide until close to the 10am starting time for the draft.

It will be put to bed in 3 1/2 hours though :) Hopefully melbourne grabs cuz for one final twist in the tale.

Massive cheer mate hopefully he doesnt play too well though! Its a shame that we will have to wait till the end of the year to play him!!!
I think it will be bigger than the Judd Carlton vs WC battle and hopefully we can get up this time, If we are to make the 8 next year rd22 vs you guys might also be a battle for a spot in the 8!

Fantastic news for Ben, I bet there is massive relief for him and especially his manager! Shout out to the tigers for having the guts to take him on.

Ben Cousins