Bendigo FL discussion 2023

Definitely nothing!

Whilst I know we need to avoid 'bagging' umpires I am sorry to say we see officiating of this standard regularly in games where the Bendigo Umpires are involved at the moment. The quality of umpiring is not good.

I know there are challenges with numbers and quality but what frustrates me is that I regularly see individual umpires that are not up to senior football standard doing big important games. They are often not fit enough and get caught well behind play and their interpretation of the laws of the game at times is mystifying.

I am not sure what can be done other than keep sticking with some of the younger and less experienced umpires in order to develop more depth and capability. Unfortunately umpiring groups suffer from significant yearly turn over, especially with younger umpires moving away for work and study which then results in the same issues recurring, poor numbers and quality.

A very challenging situation and we spend not enough time trying to improve umpiring and make it attractive to prospective recruits.
Tuesday and Thursday 5.30 at Weeroona Oval.

They'll gladly take you on as a new member.

If the Castlemaine guy got a week what should this Strath guy get? 12.47 mark of the video. In what universe does the pony tailed kid not pay a 50 there? Dangerous tackle is reportable as is smashing his head into the ground again after the tackle. Ordinary

Why wouldn't they get Crameri, adcock or Chaplin to help them instead of Reid, doesn't make much sense to meNe must have a
If the Castlemaine guy got a week what should this Strath guy get? 12.47 mark of the video. In what universe does the pony tailed kid not pay a 50 there? Dangerous tackle is reportable as is smashing his head into the ground again after the tackle. Ordinary

Go and have a look at Reaper charge the bloke on the ground and hit him in the head.

There was a lot of unsavoury stuff go on

Didn't mean you. My point - just because there was lots going on does that mean they don't report anyone? The frustrating part is some guys get a week for not much and then there's not even a 50 for something far worse.

I get the frustration mate I really do. Some of the stuff that has been let go this season has been horrible. The inconsistencies are disgusting

Go and have a look at Reaper charge the bloke on the ground and hit him in the head.

There was a lot of unsavoury stuff go on
I just had a look at that tackle I reckon the Strath bloke might be in some trouble for both the tackle and the next action that’s assuming the league review the games does that happen these days?
Roota what quarter and rough time in the quarter was the Reaper incident you refer to?

I just had a look at that tackle I reckon the Strath bloke might be in some trouble for both the tackle and the next action that’s assuming the league review the games does that happen these days?
Roota what quarter and rough time in the quarter was the Reaper incident you refer to?

I think incidents only get reviewed if a club specifically request it.

What annoys me about the umpiring is this woe is me attitude they perpetuate on the footy public.

Yes volunteer umpires and junior umpires need to be treated appropriately by the footy community but these guys are doing senior footy and are well paid to do so. So well paid that I hear it’s not exactly an open shop when it comes to someone getting a run at the higher level and positions are jealously guarded. They aren’t volunteers and should be held accountable for meeting standards of performance.

I think incidents only get reviewed if a club specifically request it.

What annoys me about the umpiring is this woe is me attitude they perpetuate on the footy public.

Yes volunteer umpires and junior umpires need to be treated appropriately by the footy community but these guys are doing senior footy and are well paid to do so. So well paid that I hear it’s not exactly an open shop when it comes to someone getting a run at the higher level and positions are jealously guarded. They aren’t volunteers and should be held accountable for meeting standards of performance.
How much do you think they're getting paid?

Reckon it is north of 160 a senior game these days, plus travel when required.

No suggesting it’s a fortune but it’s also not bad money for people who have undergone no training or qualifications and it’s tax free as well. A hell of a lot of jobs don’t clear 40 odd an hour.

Most people get paid double time on a Saturday, to umpire a game of one's, you get to the game at 12 and leave probably 6, most players are getting paid more than the umpires, who would want to do it? Should be 600 a game of senior footy

Not really comparing like for like, most jobs don’t have a recreational component to them either. Compare the pay to other community sport umpires and it is far superior.

Ridiculous if umpires arrive 2 and a half hours before the game, especially in today’s era of paperwork being done online.

Not really comparing like for like, most jobs don’t have a recreational component to them either. Compare the pay to other community sport umpires and it is far superior.

Ridiculous if umpires arrive 2 and a half hours before the game, especially in today’s era of paperwork being done online.

I’ve said before if the AFL are serious about supporting local footy they should be paying our umpires and giving them an increase

It's a semi professional comp for a senior comp, I'd think most umpires like players get there at 12-1230 for a game, they've still gotta warm up, when you've got guys earning up 70k in the region to play, you want decent umpires, the only way to attract them is with decent pay

No suggesting it’s a fortune but it’s also not bad money for people who have undergone no training or qualifications and it’s tax free as well. A hell of a lot of jobs don’t clear 40 odd an hour.
Red Onion pays about 150 to film and you can wear warmer clothes😀

No training? That's blatantly false, and an insult to the blokes who give up their time learning all the shit the AFL send their way.

$160 to be abused for 2 hours by people who don't understand the rules are different to the game they grew up with. And then you throw in the training etc, be lucky to end up being $30 an hour. It's borderline passable money.

Our cricket umpires get more than that to stand still all day and not give my lbw appeals out!
I asked the question of what we should be offering someone to umpire the twos and was told $140.
Senior boundary $120 for 1/2 the ground.
Might be a bit off but that sort of ball park figure.
Do BFL pay differnt to ncfl/hdfl etc🤷‍♂️

Bendigo FL discussion 2023