Bendigo FL discussion 2024

A few items for my wish list for 2024 is:

1. The teams in the Advertiser to be published on Friday nights as the present Thursday night publications are clearly meaningless. (Just last week's teams for the sake of putting something in).

2. The same teams to show 'Ins and outs' as was done years ago.

3. Crowd numbers at games shown in the final match details so we can see which clubs/games are drawing the biggest crowds.

4. Live scores on play HQ to be regularly updated. (Perhaps by whoever maintains the scoreboard at the games).

We got better information on all of the above in the 1960's without today's technology. For example, the scoreboard at the QEO used to show the quarter time scores from the other BFL games.

Doesn’t matter. Have some respect and speak to the bloke rather than posting on here

I don’t have a lot of respect for him and quite enjoy poking fun at him on here.

I get that you want to defend him and that’s fine. Hopefully he outs himself and tells me to go forth and multiply, then we can really get some discussions going!

1. The teams in the Advertiser to be published on Friday nights as the present Thursday night publications are clearly meaningless. (Just last week's teams for the sake of putting something in).

3. Crowd numbers at games shown in the final match details so we can see which clubs/games are drawing the biggest crowds.

4. Live scores on play HQ to be regularly updated. (Perhaps by whoever maintains the scoreboard at the games).

We got better information on all of the above in the 1960's without today's technology. For example, the scoreboard at the QEO used to show the quarter time scores from the other BFL games.

Absolutely agree but here are the issues I see.

1. Problem here is AFL Victoria have made a deal with Play HQ that could easily be described as being corrupt. And because of that the platform has weaknesses that haven’t been addressed. Clearances being public is one, teams is another.
The clubs were fed the usual line that this will cut down your work and as usual the opposite occurred so the clubs are pissed. They aren’t going to cop being asked to add another job just to help the addy. A lot of clubs publish their own teams on socials now.

3. I don’t think anyone counts attendance, gates might be possible.

4. 100%, another failing of AFLCV. Same clubs live scores don’t work every week, why doesn’t AFLCV follow up the first time and make sure it is sorted the next week? Send staff out to make sure it is all going and they know what to do.

I don't know that much about goat1969, aka westy, it's a bit unfair to have a go at an addy journo, he can only write what the addy allows him too.

Back in the mid to late 90s Maryborough, maine and kyenton were powerhouses of the league, no bendigo club could get close, what's happened in 25 years?

I don't know that much about goat1969, aka westy, it's a bit unfair to have a go at an addy journo, he can only write what the addy allows him too.

Back in the mid to late 90s Maryborough, maine and kyenton were powerhouses of the league, no bendigo club could get close, what's happened in 25 years?
The demographics Trent1 both Castlemaine and Kyneton have become gentrified to some extent. Younger people want more opportunities, thus move to bigger places. Maryborough really doesn't offer much in terms of employment and consistently has high figures of unemployent.

The world has changed. In the nineties Castlemaine had three factories operating and at least half our guys worked at them.

Now two remain, one has bugger all workforce and the other is full of automation and overseas workers.

There was no Sunday trading back then and barely anyone worked after 12 on a Saturday.

In the 2021 census Castlemaine, Campbells Creek, Harcourt, Newstead and Maldon had 897 people aged between 20-29 living there.

If half were men, that’s 450 odd to fill 10 open age footy teams. Even if you said you need 50 blokes for a seniors and twos squad you’d need half of them playing footy to have a core list.

The Ausplay football state of play report has participation rates from 18-24 in males at 8% and 25-34 at 3%.

That means those clubs would need to attract people at between 8 and 16 times the national average to get teams together.

Just attract the locals, yeah right.

I think your Crowd request would be pure guess work they could put forward the Gate takings but that doesn't include Members so not a true indication either.

How many maine kids move away and don't come back? Filo, rees, Stevens, plus many more I'd think, why was that forrest? And if they don't make finals under Hartley in the next 2 years, do they drop to the central highlands ?

Some blasts from the past there old mate!

Lots of different reasons for moving on though, I think if there was a similar theme you’d be concerned but I’m sure all clubs have their share of people who jump ship for personal reasons.

I’d say the better question is if in two years or whenever the path they are on proves unsustainable (my tip) then what next?

Hopefully AFL Vic has done its job and come up with a regional strategy with divisions etc but failing that who knows?

Could be Central Highlands, joining Kyneton in Riddell might even have appeal or perhaps even the Maryborough Castlemaine comp, especially if Campbells Creek have gone under in that time. I’d see all of them as better options currently.

I know night games in the middle of winter were never popular, but I reckon a grand final reply between Sandhurst and Golden Square at the QEO early in the season (April) would attract a good crowd. When this happened in the early 2000's their early season night games drew bumper finals like crowds.

A lot of of money must have gone into infrastructure that is never used for football these days. (Not sure if the lights are used for anything). Sunday games are also not popular with players, but again one or two selected games over the entire season would surely be worth a go.

I know night games in the middle of winter were never popular, but I reckon a grand final reply between Sandhurst and Golden Square at the QEO early in the season (April) would attract a good crowd. When this happened in the early 2000's their early season night games drew bumper finals like crowds.

A lot of of money must have gone into infrastructure that is never used for football these days. (Not sure if the lights are used for anything). Sunday games are also not popular with players, but again one or two selected games over the entire season would surely be worth a go.
That’s far too sensible an idea to grow any legs.
That said, it might be a bit of a lacklustre GF replay this year given Square might be lucky to have 5 players remaining from their flag side.

That said, it might be a bit of a lacklustre GF replay this year given Square might be lucky to have 5 players remaining from their flag side.sandhurst
That said, it might be a bit of a lacklustre GF replay this year given Square might be lucky to have 5 players remaining from their flag side.
Sandhurst will have them covered but square will still be their abouts. Toma, Monti, Hickman, coe and Burke is still a very solid core

Maybe the first 3 rounds, after that it's dewy conditions and 5 degrees in Bendigo forrest. Not sure you get s crowd there. Maybe a preliminary final would be good, to get more spectators as the hdfl grand final is usually rhe week before

If you put good games on people turn up and without the usual clashes sometimes even more.

I wouldn’t do it somewhere like Strathfieldsaye but the grounds with good covered areas work well.

Women’s footy plays a lot of Friday nights and for one game events the crowds are very good.

Early season or late season only due to the conditions during mid winter.

Bendigo League tried night finals for many years but didn’t really work and clubs and players hated it

Players hate night games, Sunday games and holiday games.

Guess which games clubs make the most money out of?

If players want to get paid the amount they do they need to accept it. Tougher on the other grades but that’s life.

There should be a Sunday game every round and a night game most rounds.

With only four games if they got creative they could have them majority stand alone. Bigger crowds, better media coverage, and actually claim back the major league status.

Players hate night games, Sunday games and holiday games.

Guess which games clubs make the most money out of?

If players want to get paid the amount they do they need to accept it. Tougher on the other grades but that’s life.

There should be a Sunday game every round and a night game most rounds.

With only four games if they got creative they could have them majority stand alone. Bigger crowds, better media coverage, and actually claim back the major league status.

How does it work for clubs who all have full days of Junior footy on Sundays? Women’s footy etc

Even better, play a full day of matches, finish by 6:30 or 7 under lights. 10 or 11 hours of non stop footy and netball.

Imagine Sandhurst v Strath as the only game in Bendigo on. Sunday at the QEO.

Full book of junior games, followed by normal program and women play after men and finish at 6:30.

If they promoted them well and used some initiative they could be huge days.

Can't see anyone turning up for a night game at the qeo in the middle of Jun July. Add to the fact the standard of footy drops after dark.

Afl vic are better off doing a deal with st kilda, north or rhe blues to play 3 sunday games at the qeo, rather then sunday bfl games

Players definitely hold the whip hand in so many aspects of the game. They want Saturday only games and push back at Sunday or night games. They dictate when pre season starts. Club officials wary at pushing back because they are fearful of players leaving and going to clubs where their wishes, demands, etc be met. But at same time clubs looking at ways to bring $$$ in door to pay same players ruling the roost.

Bendigo FL discussion 2024