Vic Best nightspots to go in Melbourne

What's the consensus on Holey Moley?

Expensive and crowded. Be prepared to spend a lot of time waiting for the group in front of you to finish the hole.

Some of the pop culture references are cool but some of the holes are annoying to play. It's worth checking out once, but once is enough to get the gist of it.

Went to Workers Club in Fitzroy last Thursday for a gig and did not like it at all. Unsure what sort of reputation it has but I found the staff to be real stuck up and shitty, and the layout of the place made for a weird vibe.

The staff are probably jaded from putting up with the cheap Monday nights.

It's not a bar, or a pub or... it's a really weird venue. I like it because I used to live very close by but it's just not that well designed. On Mondays they sell cheap alcohol and then kick everyone out... they'd be better off turning it into a club sort of thing as they have a very late night licence (I did a few shifts there). The band room is like your parents half-built house and the rest is just odd. Also weird beer selection, so fair call.

It's unfortunate Melbourne and probably Australia doesn't really do sportsbars, a TV with ******* horse racing. Why not stay home and drink toilet cleaner instead?

you know what else to worse than watching horses race?
People that place bets on trackside or Virtual Dogs at the TAB. :drunk::thumbsdown::poo:

It's unfortunate Melbourne and probably Australia doesn't really do sportsbars. A big **** off FOXTEL sign and the sound off is how it goes for 98% of "live sport" places. And a TV with ******* horse racing. Why not stay home and drink toilet cleaner instead?
what would a good 'sports bar' even look like? all you want is a normally good pub with a screen showing footy/whatever with the volume off.

on that note, i've heard they're trying to make some kind of quasi-trendy sport-pub with the royal oak on nicholoson st. it obviously was that horrible old regulars pub where chronic gamblers would gamble on the dapto dogs while drinking guiness until close, infact, from a guy who works there i heard some of the regulars literally have their name on a schooner glass and only drink from that one. anyhow, it's now owned by the guy who runs a stack of good northside pubs (i.e. wesley anne, charles weston, eddy castle) and they have visions of pushing it as their less-music-more-sport based pub. not a bad idea if you ask me as some wanky dolewave band every friday night is only interesting for so long.

lot to be said for 'hey you guys gonna show the a-league tonight?' and the girl behind the bar find the remote, flicks it on, and goes 'what channel?' ya feel?

Australia doesn't do sports bars because we had pubs. You worked all day, went down the pub, you put your $50 on the bar and even if you went to the toilet no one touched it. My dad regaled many stories about that and it sounds optimum. Feel 90s Australian pub culture was like our Britpop or grunge.

Sadly, not huge on watching the footy at a pub. Not having sound is a big isssue for me. The viewing experience is always likely to be slightly off in some respect no matter where you go. Would happily watch a game I’m not particularly invested in, but then why are you watching the footy at all?
Wut?

I dunno, isn't it just good to know a decent pub will always have the game on or flick it on if you ask? There's a lot of situations where you sort of want to watch a game (mates, it's not on free to air) but there's also something good about just wanting to go down the pub and the footy's on. You're not going out of your way to do it, but it's fun sitting there watching Suns v Port with your mate and taking the piss out of the whole thing, laughing about some prick's haircut or bitching about some coach you hate.

Plus even if I really do want to watch a particular game, the idea of missing out on Derm or Basil isn't really a make or break... they're more visual gags at this point...

Wut?

I dunno, isn't it just good to know a decent pub will always have the game on or flick it on if you ask? There's a lot of situations where you sort of want to watch a game (mates, it's not on free to air) but there's also something good about just wanting to go down the pub and the footy's on. You're not going out of your way to do it, but it's fun sitting there watching Suns v Port with your mate and taking the piss out of the whole thing, laughing about some prick's haircut or bitching about some coach you hate.

Plus even if I really do want to watch a particular game, the idea of missing out on Derm or Basil isn't really a make or break... they're more visual gags at this point...

Yeah I see your point I guess. I haven't done it for a while so probably forget how good it is.

However - if you're with a couple of mates or some girls who don't like footy - it kind of ruins things. They shouldn't be excluded from a pub session just because you want to talk shit about some worthless AFL game. I'm big these days on ****ing off all forms of technology when you're having a yarn with mates. In reality there should be no need for an AFL game to aid a few beers and a chat.

It has its place though with a few select mates who love footy and have mastered the knack of zoning in and out with giving too much of a shit.

I maintain watching a Tiges game is shit unless the sound is on or the overall vibe of the pub makes up for the deficiencies in the viewing experience.

what would a good 'sports bar' even look like? all you want is a normally good pub with a screen showing footy/whatever with the volume off.

I want multiple screens with the volume on. You should be able to see a screen whatever way your chair is facing. And in high definition.

wtf? It's on the TV. No one is forcing you to watch it. It's an option. And how precious are you about watching footy that you'd rather sit at home and do it and take it all in because like, your mates'll make you laugh too much that you don't see a minute of a rolling maul. And this idea it excludes people? The joke is most people sit down the pub and spend an inordinate amount of time on their phone's answering texts, the footy isn't some invasive thing. It's just something on to look up at, and to have in the background, and there's a lot to be said for knowing this pub will always have the game on.

Never thought I'd have to justify that a pub that regularly shows the footy is a good thing. On a footy forum. On a page about pubs. To a bunch of 22-30 year old blokes. Am I pissed already?

Just a preference from my experience mate that's all. It's not the worst but my melted brain struggles to pay attention to the footy when I'm with people.

It's good that it's on, I'd much prefer the pub to have the football on than not if I'm there incidentally. But if I wanna watch my team I'd rather just watch the game alone at home.

I wouldn't specifically go to a pub to watch Freo but I wouldn't specifically do anything to watch those campaigners. But even if it was a big game, dunno, the idea that I'd potentially lose track for a few minutes because I was yarnin' doesn't seem a negative.

Plenty of good pubs used to hate putting the footy on in Melbourne because there was this association that it'd get bogans in and denigrate the vibe or something ludicrous. It used to shit me that if you wouldn't mind watching a bit of it, you'd have to go somewhere way worse.

I typically go to Carlton games or watch them with the old man at home but I have watched a few at pubs.

If I have an early footy game on a Saturday I sometimes go and watch some footy early at a pub/bar. Always found it reasonably enjoyable. Don’t understand how it could get in the way of a drinking session? My mates and I would typically just glance at the game every once in a while unless it’s a really good contest.

I find drinking sessions where there’s no sport on the most boring thing in the world. Find the few months right after footy season really dull because of this. Much more fun if there’s something on to watch in the background.

Countries like England and the USA literally revolve their drinking sessions around sports.

Vic Best nightspots to go in Melbourne