- Sep 27, 2014
- AFL Club
- Essendon
Wut?
I dunno, isn't it just good to know a decent pub will always have the game on or flick it on if you ask? There's a lot of situations where you sort of want to watch a game (mates, it's not on free to air) but there's also something good about just wanting to go down the pub and the footy's on. You're not going out of your way to do it, but it's fun sitting there watching Suns v Port with your mate and taking the piss out of the whole thing, laughing about some prick's haircut or bitching about some coach you hate.
Plus even if I really do want to watch a particular game, the idea of missing out on Derm or Basil isn't really a make or break... they're more visual gags at this point...
wtf? It's on the TV. No one is forcing you to watch it. It's an option. And how precious are you about watching footy that you'd rather sit at home and do it and take it all in because like, your mates'll make you laugh too much that you don't see a minute of a rolling maul. And this idea it excludes people? The joke is most people sit down the pub and spend an inordinate amount of time on their phone's answering texts, the footy isn't some invasive thing. It's just something on to look up at, and to have in the background, and there's a lot to be said for knowing this pub will always have the game on.
Never thought I'd have to justify that a pub that regularly shows the footy is a good thing. On a footy forum. On a page about pubs. To a bunch of 22-30 year old blokes. Am I pissed already?
I wouldn't specifically go to a pub to watch Freo but I wouldn't specifically do anything to watch those campaigners. But even if it was a big game, dunno, the idea that I'd potentially lose track for a few minutes because I was yarnin' doesn't seem a negative.
Plenty of good pubs used to hate putting the footy on in Melbourne because there was this association that it'd get bogans in and denigrate the vibe or something ludicrous. It used to shit me that if you wouldn't mind watching a bit of it, you'd have to go somewhere way worse.
Basically you like the status quo because you're not watching the game anyway.