Vic Best nightspots to go in Melbourne

such as? all beaches are good and with crowds there is still a thing of isolation and everyone just people watches each other and that sucks

I know st Kilda has things like beach volleyball ect but there's still an isolation thing for the masses
I associate this thread more with venues/bars so was thinking some of those city & stkilda joints.

Renovate somewhere like the Union and you will absolutely ******* print money.

All there is are wine bars. Which are okay but you get sick of it quick, and as a young man you want a nice beer garden or somewhere you can duck in for a decent countery. The Penny Young isn't bad actually but it's still a bar behind a Woolworths car park at the end of it. And this is all Moonee Ponds too which isn't far but yeah.

The area has heaps of kids still at home who have to go to Brunswick, so many single women in their 40s, young professional couples.

I can't believe someone hasn't stepped in. Done up a nice old facade, had your $10 Furphys and Coopers and a few good crafties, have a simple but well done menu, don't have stainless steel everywhere but paint the ******* joint and clean it up. Have two or three but only have them on when people actually want them. Don't play shit Gold FM music. Beer garden, nice and open and breezy feeling in summer and cosy in winter. So many people who operate pubs are idiots and have no taste, but the good ones still get punters. If you chuck that in an area completely ******* devoid of pubs – with a thirsty, good populace – you'll do well. Flemington, Ascot Vale, Maribyrnong, Moonee Ponds, Essendon, Aberfeldie... that's a ****in catchment.

You are describing the Anglers essentially.

Isn't Anglers sort of like the Raffles or even the Left Bank in East Freo? AKA you go there with your parents and nanna for a cheap steak on Wednesday or its full of everyone you went to school with for a big 10-dollar-jug night on Monday evenings. It's not a great venue, bit old aye?

Sorry missed this reply.

No.

I'm not from the area but work in the area.

The anglers outdoor deck can get huge crowds of 20-40's in summer.

Describe yourself and maybe I can point you in the direction of a suitable venue :)

Nothing alcohol or night club related to start with, those days are over and I’m only in my 30’s ! Something outdoors and active to indoors being food and entertainment , everything just seems same old same old to me, possibly a 70 year old in a 30’s body

Spoilers ticks all your boxes - it's not alcohol or nightclub related, active indoors, highly entertaining and I'm sure food options could be arranged at an additional cost.

Gonna check out the new Espy this week
Really massive joint, didn't realise how big it is. Can't remember how much the beer was. I think roughly in line with similar places like the Village Belle.

Still has that heritage building feel but with some polish. Really looking forward to catching some gigs there.

The most bizarre thing is there's a podcast/radio studio and booths next to it with headphones where you can listen to what's been recorded while you drink. Just weird but I guess you gotta fill that space somehow.

Really massive joint, didn't realise how big it is. Can't remember how much the beer was. I think roughly in line with similar places like the Village Belle.

Still has that heritage building feel but with some polish. Really looking forward to catching some gigs there.

The most bizarre thing is there's a podcast/radio studio and booths next to it with headphones where you can listen to what's been recorded while you drink. Just weird but I guess you gotta fill that space somehow.
What's on each level? What kind of beers? CUB/Lion fit out or a decent selection?

And how many bandrooms, did you peek inside? It'll be interesting to see what sort of acts they go after. It'd be great if there was a competitor to the Corner. I used to like occasionally get a tram down to St Kilda to see someone at the Prince, so it'd be a nicer, more romantic experience than the joints everyone goes to four times a year.

What's on each level? What kind of beers? CUB/Lion fit out or a decent selection?

And how many bandrooms, did you peek inside? It'll be interesting to see what sort of acts they go after. It'd be great if there was a competitor to the Corner. I used to like occasionally get a tram down to St Kilda to see someone at the Prince, so it'd be a nicer, more romantic experience than the joints everyone goes to four times a year.
Some of it was cut off I think the real public grand opening is today but a sizeable part of the first floor was open. Only got to see one of the band rooms, tiny one down stairs where the stage is half a foot off the ground with a bar next to it. Not really sure what was new there other than the bar since I never got to see the place before it shut. Couldn't go upstairs but apparently there's another bar there and a restaurant. There's also a restaurant on the first level past the recording studio. Such a deep building. I'm more curious to see it on a busy hot day to see if it fills out because there's so much of it but loads of space is taken up by chairs and tables and benches.

Beer was standard CUB what I can recall MB, draught tanks, pirate life etc. Loads of taps but all the beers were written on the wall next to the taps so there was no logos to identify them.

Checking my bank account yeah pints will set you back 12-13 bucks. Something of a standard now unfortunately.

I just moved into Essendon and there's seemingly nothing around. Feelsbatman
The Linconshire Arms is alright for a few beers and sport
The sporting globe ditto
Valley cedar door wine bar in Hall street

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

ABC definitely has gone downhill the last few years ., walked in and the joint smelt like one of those inscence candle shops . No where to sit after like 6-7.

I just want to find a bar that has music playing , not too loud, and plenty of space to sit around and chill out?

https://www.residentadvisor.net/news/42931

Lounge closing. There you go. It was half-obvious by charging borderline 12 bucks for a schooner of Furphy, but it's still a pretty noted venue and there aren't many RMIT students or young office workers who wouldn't have ended up there longer than they anticipated. What's that about impermanence?

Just sounded like the owners of the joint want to build something. Whoever runs Lounge will be back somewhere you would think.

What is interesting is the immense decline in value the business cops from the non-renewal of the lease. Almost all of the goodwill would attach to the location, you would think.

Just sounded like the owners of the joint want to build something. Whoever runs Lounge will be back somewhere you would think.

What is interesting is the immense decline in value the business cops from the non-renewal of the lease. Almost all of the goodwill would attach to the location, you would think.
So many places try to uproot and carry on the name somewhere else but a venue is mostly about the location. A footy club can move from the inner city to a sprawled suburb and it's fine, but you go there through custom. It's like if somewhere else moved into say the Curtin – it just wouldn't be the same.

Pretty cool venue though I guess, had some nice history. Hosted Jeff Buckley's first Aussie show and he apparently ended up loving Melbourne. Plenty of good bands and DJs have been there... about ten times as many shit ones too, though...

Vic Best nightspots to go in Melbourne