BF ages and years of support

23, Collingwood for as long as I can remember. Only became a member in 2011. First time I was taken to a game was in '94 against Carlton. Unfortunately too young to remember Mick Mcguane's goal.

44, Born, Bred & Raised Collingwood.

Taken to first match in B&W pram with B&W ribbons on it when I was two.

First season going to most matches was 1976.:(

Garage doors where painted B&W when growing up (not an accident)

Grandfather & his six sons all Pies, Dad was a member for over 30 yrs.

Mom & Bro & two sisters all Pies. One did say she changed to Saints for about 10 yrs but that was only because she had an argument with the old man. Not risking yelling or swearing at him she decided to "hurt him" by saying, "that's it, I'm barracking for StKilda!". No it wasn't a joke.

Member for around 23yrs.

Grand Final attendance record 0-7-2, don't ask!

45 - been following the Pies since we migrated to Aust in 1976. I still don't know why but I fell in love with the Pies even though they won their first wooden spoon in the year I discovered Aussie Rules. Dad had decided to follow North and only took me to those games (had no Foxtel then). All my school friends were into Richmond or Hawthorn.
Even though the odds were stacked against an 8 year old I still chose to follow the Pies.
BTW my 2 first favourite Pie players were Billy Picken and Peter McCormack.

44, Born, Bred & Raised Collingwood.

Taken to first match in B&W pram with B&W ribbons on it when I was two.

First season going to most matches was 1976.:(

Garage doors where painted B&W when growing up (not an accident)

Grandfather & his six sons all Pies, Dad was a member for over 30 yrs.

Mom & Bro & two sisters all Pies. One did say she changed to Saints for about 10 yrs but that was only because she had an argument with the old man. Not risking yelling or swearing at him she decided to "hurt him" by saying, "that's it, I'm barracking for StKilda!". No it wasn't a joke.

Member for around 23yrs.

Grand Final attendance record 0-7-2, don't ask!
You are hereby banned from ever attending another Grand Final as long as you live.

Great thread.

45, Pies fan since '77. I can remember the '76 GF but only got going with footy the next year. Dad was a 10 Pound Pom and had adopted Collingwood after he went to the '58 GF, so there was no question about who it would be. I loved Ronnie Wearmouth, Billy Picken (glad we've got another Billy in the side again) and had Ricky Barham's No.1 on the Yakka guernsey.

'90 was the best one, '10 was just so satisfying because we played the best footy that year. Not sure what the future is going to bring us, but can't wait for the ride to start again in '14.

Great thread.

45, Pies fan since '77. I can remember the '76 GF but only got going with footy the next year. Dad was a 10 Pound Pom and had adopted Collingwood after he went to the '58 GF, so there was no question about who it would be. I loved Ronnie Wearmouth, Billy Picken (glad we've got another Billy in the side again) and had Ricky Barham's No.1 on the Yakka guernsey.

'90 was the best one, '10 was just so satisfying because we played the best footy that year. Not sure what the future is going to bring us, but can't wait for the ride to start again in '14.

Loved Picken, Barham but most of all Doug Barwick, despite his brief tenure.

Mods, if you'd like to make a poll out of this or redirect please feel free.

With all our topics and replies have always wanted to know our BF supporters demographic. I'm a very young 45 and have been a Pies supporter for 39 years. Anyone else like to put their stats forward be you 12 or 82?

46 and 40 years, so just watch your attitude their young fella, now go and clean your room:)

Loving the trip down memory lane guys. Keep it up. Just to keep the nostalgia happening I thought I'd add a few best and worst memories (not necessarily in order of preference) and others might like to do the same.

Best memories:
  1. By a street... 1990. Nothing else gets remotely close. I could list about a half a dozen other great memories here all related to that premiership including the collywobbles burial but will leave them as included here.
  2. 2010 Derrrrrr! Always going to rate highly when you've seen only 2 in 54 years of life.
  3. The entire 2011 season apart from the GF. As a mate once said to me, you get your value from your club by winning week in and week out and for most of my life Collingwood have delivered on that score. 2011 was a special. It's not often that you realistically expect to win every game you play for an entire season.
  4. John Greenings's comeback. Still cry at what might have been but for that mongrel O'Dea.
  5. Taking my son to Vic Park when he was about 5 just before it became defunct. One of my proudest because I was determined to get him there before they retired it and he can now always say he saw us play at the spiritual home. Bucks ran rampant that day against Freo and the crowd were counting out loud every possession. My son didn't last the whole game but I was totally satisfied that I had got him there and proud of the Pies supporters that pushed us close to the fence so he could see.
  6. Watching Barry Price slam the ball onto the chest of Peter McKenna more times than you can count. It was poetry in motion.
  7. The appointment of Eddie McGuire because of what he's done for us. I've said it before and I'll say it again, there will one day be a statue of him out front of the Westpac Centre. Bookmark it! Younger supporters won't understand that but in the years preceding his appointment there were some very dark days.
  8. Too many others to list.

Worst memories:
  1. 1970 GF. I will say no more!
  2. 1976 Something I never believed I would see. I can't even say it.
  3. 1977 Grand Final replay. I was with mates at a BBQ and unashamedly cried like a baby. Fate can be so damned cruel.
  4. The abomination that is that version of the Collingwood club song that removes the words "OH, the premiership's a cakewalk" in favour of "There is one team that we favour" Favour? WTF? Whoever came up with that idea should hang his head in shame!

46 years old and a supporter from the first minutes can remember. Born in to a staunch Magpie family dating back to it's inception. Went to all the drawn and losing grand finals from 1977 onwards until that greatest of days in 1990.

I never thought I would have to wait enough 20 years for another one but should have known better I guess.

I will be there to see the next. I hope I am still of sound enough mind to enjoy it!!!

Loving the trip down memory lane guys. Keep it up. Just to keep the nostalgia happening I thought I'd add a few best and worst memories (not necessarily in order of preference) and others might like to do the same.

Best memories:
  1. By a street... 1990. Nothing else gets remotely close. I could list about a half a dozen other great memories here all related to that premiership including the collywobbles burial but will leave them as included here.
  2. 2010 Derrrrrr! Always going to rate highly when you've seen only 2 in 54 years of life.
  3. The entire 2011 season apart from the GF. As a mate once said to me, you get your value from your club by winning week in and week out and for most of my life Collingwood have delivered on that score. 2011 was a special. It's not often that you realistically expect to win every game you play for an entire season.
  4. John Greenings's comeback. Still cry at what might have been but for that mongrel O'Dea.
  5. Taking my son to Vic Park when he was about 5 just before it became defunct. One of my proudest because I was determined to get him there before they retired it and he can now always say he saw us play at the spiritual home. Bucks ran rampant that day against Freo and the crowd were counting out loud every possession. My son didn't last the whole game but I was totally satisfied that I had got him there and proud of the Pies supporters that pushed us close to the fence so he could see.
  6. Watching Barry Price slam the ball onto the chest of Peter McKenna more times than you can count. It was poetry in motion.
  7. The appointment of Eddie McGuire because of what he's done for us. I've said it before and I'll say it again, there will one day be a statue of him out front of the Westpac Centre. Bookmark it! Younger supporters won't understand that but in the years preceding his appointment there were some very dark days.
  8. Too many others to list.

Worst memories:
  1. 1970 GF. I will say no more!
  2. 1976 Something I never believed I would see. I can't even say it.
  3. 1977 Grand Final replay. I was with mates at a BBQ and unashamedly cried like a baby. Fate can be so damned cruel.
  4. The abomination that is that version of the Collingwood club song that removes the words "OH, the premiership's a cakewalk" in favour of "There is one team that we favour" Favour? WTF? Whoever came up with that idea should hang his head in shame!

PieNSauce, you mention the cooperative crowd at Vic Park. My mum (not a footy person) was terrified of me going to games there as a young girl, because of the bad reputation of our supporters. I can say that I never had a bad moment, that the crowd looked out for kids, helped us get to the front, made way for us to walk through the crowded Rush Stand terraces. And watch out for any supporters of other clubs who behaved badly!

At the 2002 GF, some Brisbane teenagers had a go at my then 16 year old daughter for standing to cheer a Pies goal. Almost as one, other Pies fans around us defended her, and put the Lions fans back in their place. I know the 'side by side' motto is marketing speak, but I always appreciate the collaborative nature of Pies fans, the camaraderie, etc. And it began in the fortress of Vic Park.

37. Been on the bandwagon since 2003. But a serious pie since about 2006. I came to Australia to do higher education & never seen Aussie rules in my life. I started following North Melbourne initially as Wayne Carey was a famous footballer back then. But I was never that involved and didn't go to any games until 2001, a game between north and collingwood.
I was sitting with Collingwood supporters from work and Eddie McGuire was sitting behind us.

I don't remember the game much but I remember the passion of the supporters and Eddie, that was the first sign that I should be supporting Collingwood as I'm a very passionate person myself. Then I started working at a place where the majority of guys in the team were collingwood and that was final straw. I was branded for life. It's now in the DNA.

Been a member since 2006 & will support them until I go to heaven ;)...

Im 30, social drinker, enjoy watching sport, I like long walks on the beach...........woops sorry-wrong thread

Probably why you're looking for love I guess!
collingwood-supporter.jpg

36 for me. Come from a long line of pies.

Living in the country and not being very wealthy i didn't get to many games as a kid. My dads boss was a Saints member so he took us to waverley whenever Collingwood played them. Funnily enough my strongest memories are the shocking car park and the Cunningham? brothers from St Kilda.

Did get to Vic Park a couple of times, again my memories are odd. The lasting image i have is Daicos playing on Brad Hardie and remembering how short both their legs were.

Had an unhealthy love of Gavin Brown as a teenager which meant i couldn't enjoy 1990 as much as i should have on the day as he was Ko'd. The day after was amazing though. The drive to Vic Park was unreal. Random strangers tooting horns, waving, hugging. It was so good i can't describe.

Mum had no choice, if she was going I was going ;)

She must've channelled some serious mojo through your umbilical chord for you to love the Pies & hate the Blew Boys whilst still being a zygote.

Sounds like an impressive woman.:thumbsu:

PS: Shouldn't that be "YOU had no choice...."

She must've channelled some serious mojo through your umbilical chord for you to love the Pies & hate the Blew Boys whilst still being a zygote.

Sounds like an impressive woman.:thumbsu:

PS: Shouldn't that be "YOU had no choice...."

Well I don't know Smoky's real identity but I think it goes without saying he didn't have a choice in regards to me being there.

Recently turned 29 and was brought up in a staunch Collingwood family.

BF ages and years of support