BF ages and years of support

27 here.
Family have followed Collingwood ever since my great uncle, Alan Wickes played a few years there.

Back row - Harry Sullivan, John Henderson, Kevin Pay, Mick Twomey, Graeme Fellowes, Kevin Rose, Peter Rosenbrock, Alan Wickes
Middle row - Ray Gabelich, Ron Reeves, Bill Serong, Murray Weideman, Thorold Merrett, Brian Beers, Bill Thripp, Bert Chapman
Front row - Ken Turner, John Carmody, Brian Gray, Des Field

tiki-download_file.php

http://stats.rleague.com/afl/stats/players/A/Alan_Wickes.html

Kevin Rose still looks like Kevin Rose, suspect he did when he was born too.

Just like Syd James always looked the same, when he was 20 or 70.:)

27 here.
Family have followed Collingwood ever since my great uncle, Alan Wickes played a few years there.

Back row - Harry Sullivan, John Henderson, Kevin Pay, Mick Twomey, Graeme Fellowes, Kevin Rose, Peter Rosenbrock, Alan Wickes
Middle row - Ray Gabelich, Ron Reeves, Bill Serong, Murray Weideman, Thorold Merrett, Brian Beers, Bill Thripp, Bert Chapman

tiki-download_file.php

Wicksy seems to be busy inspecting Bill Thripps head.
What's up with that?
nb not too many supporters could post a photo with a relative in the Collingwood team. :thumbsu:

Have to confess, I spent most of my life hating footy. My dad was a mad keen Swans supporter, he went along to see them every week of his life with my uncle. He’d bring us kids home a brown paper bag of squashed jam donuts which we ate cold, and loved. Dad died before the Swans moved to Sydney. He’d tried to get me interested, but I wasn’t having any of it. Now, I so wish I’d gone along with him. The day I finally got what footy was all about was after dad died. I was flicking through the TV channels on that day we lost the 2002 GF to Brisbane. Just caught the end of it, and the aftermath. It was the emotion on the players’ faces that got to me, suddenly I was seeing a different side of footy. The next year I watched from the first game and that was it, I was hooked. Had to go to a wedding on GF day 2003 and for the first time I couldn’t understand why on earth someone would get married when THE FOOTY WAS ON. I sat in the car outside the church, desperate to listen until the end. I haven’t missed a game since – I go along to a few every year but really prefer to watch on TV, it’s a closer experience for me. If I go to the game, I have to watch it again when I get home! Now I have two nephews who are Pies supporters having caught the bug from me. And oh, how desperately I wish there weren’t 6 long months until it all begins again.

27 here - seems to be a pretty popular demographic on this board.

Lifelong supporter but really too young to remember any of our successful era of the early 90's. As such, I didn't really get to follow a finals-bound Collingwood team until 2002.

To go from a lifetime of zero finals football to within a kick and a half of a flag was amazing, and the emotions of that year will likely never be surpassed for me. We've fielded much more talented teams and won a flag in the years since, but the 2002 side will always remain my favourite Collingwood team, I think.

I've honestly never seen any team - Collingwood or otherwise - play with such heart and passion. Almost every player in that lineup would have died to get his team over the line. Buckley, Burns, Clement and Rocca had the talent to back up their incredible attitude, but players like Licuria, Betheras, Steinfort, Presti, Freeborn, Johnson, O'Bree, Molloy - they were all limited in ability but worked as hard for each other as a team as any side ever has. They got everything out of themselves and they got everything out of one another. I remember being especially disappointed when Rupert was delisted - I think even Malthouse admitted a few of those delistings were a mistake and took a bit of the soul out of the club for a few years.

They were desperately unlucky that they were up against arguably the greatest football side ever assembled. Even then, they gave it their all.

I loved 'em. If ever a side truly embodied the spirit of Collingwood, it was the side of 2002.

Lifelong supporter but really too young to remember any of our successful era of the early 90's. As such, I didn't really get to follow a finals-bound Collingwood team until 2002.

To go from a lifetime of zero finals football to within a kick and a half of a flag was amazing, and the emotions of that year will likely never be surpassed for me. We've fielded much more talented teams and won a flag in the years since, but the 2002 side will always remain my favourite Collingwood team, I think.

I've honestly never seen any team - Collingwood or otherwise - play with such heart and passion. Almost every player in that lineup would have died to get his team over the line. Buckley, Burns, Clement and Rocca had the talent to back up their incredible attitude, but players like Licuria, Betheras, Steinfort, Presti, Freeborn, Johnson, O'Bree, Molloy - they were all limited in ability but worked as hard for each other as a team as any side ever has. They got everything out of themselves and they got everything out of one another. I remember being especially disappointed when Rupert was delisted - I think even Malthouse admitted a few of those delistings were a mistake and took a bit of the soul out of the club for a few years.

They were desperately unlucky that they were up against arguably the greatest football side ever assembled. Even then, they gave it their all.

I loved 'em. If ever a side truly embodied the spirit of Collingwood, it was the side of 2002.
Actually the 'dads army' of recycled players was also the case in the late 70's & early 80's (4 GF in 5 seasons). When Hafey took control of the wooden spooners (first ever :() end 76 he started to top up with players with less skills, but big hearts........Ray Byrne, Russell Ohlsen, Ross Brewer, Craig Davis, Allan Edwards, Kevin Morris, Ian Low, Mike Woolnough, David Young, Graeme Allan & Warwick Irwin.
Some of the above were also considered over the hill or were under constant injury clouds (Edwards & Young). Very unlucky not to snag a Premiership in those years, although they sometimes surprised everybody just by making the GF, as on paper not as strong as Carlton, Richmond, Hawthorn or North Melbourne at that time. I think 77 was the one that got away, then again could have won 79 (bloody Wayne Harmes). Where as 80 & 81 just not good enough. We lacked a class CHF & class rover.

Actually the 'dads army' of recycled players was also the case in the late 70's & early 80's (4 GF in 5 seasons). When Hafey took control of the wooden spooners (first ever :() end 76 he started to top up with players with less skills, but big hearts........Ray Byrne, Russell Ohlsen, Ross Brewer, Craig Davis, Allan Edwards, Kevin Morris, Ian Low, Mike Woolnough, David Young, Graeme Allan & Warwick Irwin.
Some of the above were also considered over the hill or were under constant injury clouds (Edwards & Young). Very unlucky not to snag a Premiership in those years, although they sometimes surprised everybody just by making the GF, as on paper not as strong as Carlton, Richmond, Hawthorn or North Melbourne at that time. I think 77 was the one that got away, then again could have won 79 (bloody Wayne Harmes). Where as 80 & 81 just not good enough. We lacked a class CHF & class rover.
My old man swears if Phil Carmen had of played we would have won in 77 .

I had gotten used to us sucking. We were probably comparable in the 90's to Richmond over the last decade. Sometimes close to the top 8 but never quite there. I used to take solace in things like a Micky McGuane running goal or a Rocca 60m bomb. I imagine it's the same pleasure young Melbourne supporters take in a Howe speccy. One of my favourite victories was that 3 point win over Brisbane in the regular season of 02. Betheras kicked that clutch goal. It was the first time I remember feeling we were actually any good.

My old man swears if Phil Carmen had of played we would have won in 77 .
I think he is right. Rubbed out for clocking Tuck in the 2nd semi. That's why Hafey eventually got rid of him. He preferred the workhorse above the show pony. Although Fab Phil was a bloody good show pony.

On the topic of weddings and Grand Finals, one of my daughters announced in March 2010 that she was getting married in early October 2010. While I was thrilled for her and my darling son-in-law, they are Sydney siders and frankly have no clue about AFL. I pondered on this announcement for about 5 minutes, before asking if the date could be moved to mid-October, 'just in case'. Call it a hunch or whatever, but I made the call! I got to see us win the flag (with a broken foot in a moon boot) and then followed up the next week with my daughter's wedding. It was close! Really glad I didn't have to make a choice. Can't really be sure which event would have taken precedence....

27 here.

tiki-download_file.php

Pretty sure I've seen a pic of Alan Wickes taking a screamer once upon a time - maybe you can verify this Wicksy?

OK, I've read every post. Great thread everyone. I'm 53 and have supported the pies since I was 5. My siblings all supported Carlton and I was the youngest - just a stubborn prick I guess. Had to endure so much finals misery in the 60's, 70's, 80's. Favourite memories from the early days were the regular McKenna bags of 7,8 and 9 goals - what a kick! Other favourites over the journey weer Stan the Man Magro, Billy Picken, Micky McGuane, Daics, Bucks and Swanny.

I was at the 1990 GF as an MCC member. After the siren, I raced out of the ground and caught an almost empty train home from Richmond - everyone else was still at the ground. When I reached my station, I jumped out and ran 3kms home on adrenaline to greet my wife and 2YO son who had stayed home and watched it on TV. The little fella didn't really understand what was going on but was stoked anyway :)

Fast forward 20 years and I was at the 2010 GF. My son, now 22 was also there but in another part of the ground. We caught up straight afterwards and it very emotional as I'd watched him endure years of pain just as I did when I was a kid. We drank many beers that night and I'll cherish it forever.

You're right grokq, it is a great thread.
This continues to be one of the most enjoyable things to read

And given that you have written 30 posts in 6 years it's terrific that you shared your story too :)

Pretty sure I've seen a pic of Alan Wickes taking a screamer once upon a time - maybe you can verify this Wicksy?

OK, I've read every post. Great thread everyone. I'm 53 and have supported the pies since I was 5. My siblings all supported Carlton and I was the youngest - just a stubborn prick I guess. Had to endure so much finals misery in the 60's, 70's, 80's. Favourite memories from the early days were the regular McKenna bags of 7,8 and 9 goals - what a kick! Other favourites over the journey weer Stan the Man Magro, Billy Picken, Micky McGuane, Daics, Bucks and Swanny.

I was at the 1990 GF as an MCC member. After the siren, I raced out of the ground and caught an almost empty train home from Richmond - everyone else was still at the ground. When I reached my station, I jumped out and ran 3kms home on adrenaline to greet my wife and 2YO son who had stayed home and watched it on TV. The little fella didn't really understand what was going on but was stoked anyway :)

Fast forward 20 years and I was at the 2010 GF. My son, now 22 was also there but in another part of the ground. We caught up straight afterwards and it very emotional as I'd watched him endure years of pain just as I did when I was a kid. We drank many beers that night and I'll cherish it forever.

You are right.... He was said to have gotten up higher than anyone else at that time but it wasn't for a mark, it was for a throw in :p

I'm trying to find it but not having much luck.

Very unlucky not to snag a Premiership in those years, although they sometimes surprised everybody just by making the GF, as on paper not as strong as Carlton, Richmond, Hawthorn or North Melbourne at that time. I think 77 was the one that got away, then again could have won 79 (bloody Wayne Harmes). Where as 80 & 81 just not good enough. We lacked a class CHF & class rover.

as always, one name.

bernie quinlan :(

I'm 19 and I've been supporting Collingwood since I was about 6, I used to be a Richmond fan before I swayed and followed Collingwood like the majority of my family. It's weird though, couple years back I found out my great great uncle played 170 games for the Tigers and won leading goal kicker three times.

You are another one who has been on here since you were 14 or so. Look at all the posts you have done in that time - twice as many as me since 2008! I would never have taken you to be so young. You have an older head on your young shoulders.

33 and a Collingwood fan all my life. Dad was and still a big fan of the mighty magpies, so I was destined to follow the Black and White from birth.

The Peter Daicos Football Camp at Assumption College was also a week I looked forward to.

We had reserved seats at Vic Park on the wing right near the Collingwood race. Many of my fondest footy memories as a kid happened at Vic Park. I remember clearly the Daicos goal against Richmond from the back row of the members stand. Craig Kelly's hit on a Swan I believe wasn't too far away from me either.

Haven't missed too many games (apart from interstate clashes and when my football clashed) since I was 7 or 8. I was lucky enough to play against the Maggies VFL side when I was younger - that was a great thrill.

These days, I'm probably too emotionally involved and get quite angry and frustrated when we don't play well. I've been to four grand finals that we've been involved in - all loses. Couldn't go to the replay in 2010.

You are another one who has been on here since you were 14 or so. Look at all the posts you have done in that time - twice as many as me since 2008! I would never have taken you to be so young. You have an older head on your young shoulders.

:hearts::rainbow:. I initially just designed jumpers at the start, but I guess as the years went on I become more of a poster then designer.

G'day - Just saw this so I thought I'd enter the conversation.

I've just joined the dirty 30 club. Though try and act about 20 most weekends!!

Been Collingwood all my life. My mum's side have had a long affiliation with the club since the early 1920's with multiple family members having their ashes scattered on Vic Park. Was lucky enough to play a few games on the ground and snag a few goals which gave the family great delight, so it's in the blood.

Very passionate about the club, often the reason for rediculous opinions at times which are said in the heat of the moment which in hindsight look terrible :)

Don't like attending games to be honest. Hate crowds, work too many hours, and I've got the best surround sound/Plasma set up in the universe. Love the smaller crowd sunday games though.

Love talking football with both the educated and reasonable, and the rediculous and biased! Just love footy.

39 and can't remember how I ended up supporting the Pies. My earliest memory was being 5 at the 1979 Grand Final in the standing area, face pushed up against the mesh fence by the over populated crowd, yelling out "Stinks" every time the crowd clapped to the chant 'Carlton'.... 'Carlton' after the game.

My favourite game was the 1990 GrandFinal where i had my first kiss and beer at Victoria Park that night. I also fondly remember (not the game as we got smashed) the last game at Vic Park where my mate and I ran onto the ground after the game and pulled a lump of grass from the centre circle that i kept for ages on my bedside table.

This morning I watched my kids go off to school (7 & 9) dressed in their Pies footy colours for 'school footy day' and it takes me back to the 1979 granny when I was around their age.

I am proud to say despite living in Geelong territory in Torquay and my wife being a Cats supporter the kids are both mad Pies. My son who will end up being some sort of 'greenie' claps both goals and points (hence Cloke being his favourite player) as "they still scored dad".

I have had the opportunity to be involved on the periphery of the game at times and also been involved through my work on the testing of senior people in footy clubs including selection of coaches. I love this game but most of all despite coming from a non footy family, I love the Pies.

Great thread OP.

I am proud to say despite living in Geelong territory in Torquay and my wife being a Cats supporter the kids are both mad Pies. My son who will end up being some sort of 'greenie' claps both goals and points (hence Cloke being his favourite player) as "they still scored dad".

That's fantastic!! And something I can relate to with my nephews who love the game and love Collingwood, Yet can't understand why fully grown adults and men get so worked up about a game. Watching a game with a son, nephew, younger brother pulls you back in a peg or two, that's for sure.
Makes you realise whilst youre in between abusing players, cracking the sads, or screaming at the top of your voice that it is still, just a game.

30 here.

Been a Collingwood fan all my life. I remember asking dad why I barracked for Collingwood around age 4 or 5. He told me that I didn't have to barrack for them, but if I didn't I would have to move out of home. Any doubt I had was gone that day.

Favorite game was the 1990 grand final. I have a mate who is also mad pies fan. Sometimes when we get on the beers we will watch it after a night out.

I don't get a chance to go to as many games as I would like, but I still try to make it to one or two per year.

Love the club, and I think Buckley is putting his stamp on the club and taking us in the right direction.

BF ages and years of support