Biased/incompetent media coverage

Can't believe he still gets paid to give his opinions, to be honest.

I cant believe they have put such a massive publicity campaign behind this campaigner after what he did to his best mates missus, and they way they are doing it like we're just supposed to forget what he did and think he's cool. Pretty disgraceful i reckon.

By the looks of things it only works on Foxtel now not normal IQ foxtel with a box.
Once again they would prefer you to buy another multiroom box.

Same sort of thing as comedy and SyFy being in the Lifestyle package instead of entertainment package, they want you to buy and spend more. It sux but if you want the best experience and picture you have to go with it.
BTW foxtel now only displays in 720p not 1080p as with the normal Foxtel box. Oh and also Foxtel now doesn't support CC or subtitles for those that need it.

I signed up for a two week trial of Foxtel now last night. Downloaded the app to my smart TV (can run it via xbox also if you don't have a smart TV) and was up and watching Fox within minutes.

Unfortunately you need a basics package to access the sport, which makes it $44/mth versus their current dish and box basics and sports offer of $39/mth (price goes up after 12 months)

I did notice the CC button on the Foxtel now stream so perhaps they've integrated that now.

WCE_phil you can sign up for the free trial and watch it at your families place any number of ways. Directly off your phone, sharing to TV from phone, via app on smart TV, xbox or PS3, or connecting PC or laptop to TV via HDMI.

I cant believe they have put such a massive publicity campaign behind this campaigner after what he did to his best mates missus, and they way they are doing it like we're just supposed to forget what he did and think he's cool. Pretty disgraceful i reckon.

Even putting his private life aside, his opinions on footy are pretty weak in general.

The AFL app is designed not to work with Chomecast. If some people have go it to work then that's great, but don't buy the AFL Live app expecting to cast it to a TV.

Foxtel now can cast with Chromecast I believe, but not the Foxtel App.

Despite the number of Foxtel haters that there are, the special that they have now (Full HD, Entertainment and Sport for $39.00 per month for 12 months) seems like really good value to me.

I can't quite comprehend people's rational who say that Foxtel is too expensive and that they will go to the pub and watch. The cost of 4 pints will pay for a month of Foxtel.

The AFL app is designed not to work with Chomecast. If some people have go it to work then that's great, but don't buy the AFL Live app expecting to cast it to a TV.

Despite the number of Foxtel haters that there are, the special that they have now (Full HD, Entertainment and Sport for $39.00 per month for 12 months) seems like really good value to me.

I can't quite comprehend people's rational who say that Foxtel is too expensive and that they will go to the pub and watch. The cost of 4 pints will pay for a month of Foxtel.
Because i get netflix, stan, amazon prime for less than the price of foxtel - ie $30 for all 3 services

A lot of their content is 4k - streamed fox is a mix between 720p and 1080p

Netflix, stan and ap NEVER stutter - im on a rock solid 100/40 connection - there is no reason to stutter - unless of course you dont have enough server capacity for demand.... fox stutters

Theres no ads on netflix, stan or amazon.

And each one of them allows multiple screens

But yeah - fox is a bargain dude - what does ruperts chode taste like as a matter of interest?

Yep its a bargain. I couldn't get a straight answer on whether we would get a free install wanting it on the bottom storey of our house (but house is accessed from second storey, driveway is up on second storey etc) so I went with Foxtel now. It's a bit clunky using the TV remote to search for stuff, plus live content like footy only seems to be accessible for a month with no way to save games / shows (unless to xbox which I haven't explored). Better than nothing.

I may end up getting an electrician family member to run in the cable exactly where I want it and the Fox man can connect the satellite to that for free. Have heard the risk otherwise is the contractor hooking up the box to the easiest spot possible and leaving.

Because i get netflix, stan, amazon prime for less than the price of foxtel - ie $30 for all 3 services

Netflix, stan and ap NEVER stutter - im on a rock solid 100/40 connection - there is no reason to stutter - unless of course you dont have enough server capacity for demand.... fox stutters

But yeah - fox is a bargain dude - what does ruperts chode taste like as a matter of interest?
Not sure I agree with you completely but I liked for the solid rant.

Feel free to point out where i am remiss
71b.jpg

Mate, if you don't think it's good value then don't get it, which your obviously not - good for you.

How many of your subscribed services stream live sport?

Foxtel (not Foxtel Now) is via satellite, so I don't know what internet speed has to do with it or what this stuttering is that you are talking about. Having said that you can also stream on up to 5 devices as well as your box, and I have no trouble with stuttering there.

I'm not suggesting that all is fantastic with Foxtel, but I still reckon that to get all games live as well as all their footy shows, other sport and shows for less than $10 a week is Ok. If you don't, fine.

Mate, if you don't think it's good value then don't get it, which your obviously not - good for you.

How many of your subscribed services stream live sport?

Foxtel (not Foxtel Now) is via satellite, so I don't know what internet speed has to do with it or what this stuttering is that you are talking about. Having said that you can also stream on up to 5 devices as well as your box, and I have no trouble with stuttering there.

I'm not suggesting that all is fantastic with Foxtel, but I still reckon that to get all games live as well as all their footy shows, other sport and shows for less than $10 a week is Ok. If you don't, fine.
If it were $10 a week it would be a good deal.

You cant get it without the basic subscription though.

And that + sport is a hell of a lot more than netflix, stan and ap.

Which between them have gawd knows how many times the titles to watch

ON DEMAND

Than foxtel does.

People like you saying its a bargain when it quite clearly isnt - and supporting this absolutely vile piece of tax dodging, corruption enabling, government meddling piece of excrement give me the shiites.

This dog turd has manipulated the country into wasting 50 billion or so on a 3rd rate nbn just so he can eke out a few more years of exorbitant profit extraction from his non tax paying foxtel.

The sooner his business model and hopefully him as well die the better.

If it were $10 a week it would be a good deal.

You cant get it without the basic subscription though.

And that + sport is a hell of a lot more than netflix, stan and ap.

Which between them have gawd knows how many times the titles to watch

ON DEMAND

Than foxtel does.

People like you saying its a bargain when it quite clearly isnt - and supporting this absolutely vile piece of tax dodging, corruption enabling, government meddling piece of excrement give me the shiites.

This dog turd has manipulated the country into wasting 50 billion or so on a 3rd rate nbn just so he can eke out a few more years of exorbitant profit extraction from his non tax paying foxtel.

The sooner his business model and hopefully him as well die the better.
I have no problems with your contempt for Murdoch or the Foxtel organisation.

What you are saying would make perfect sense if it was true. As my original post said you can get the basic entertainment pack plus sport for $39 per month. Free install, no cancellation fees, etc. Using my calculations that is less than $10 per week. I have no intentions of making any comment or judgement on anything else, just that their current deal is reasonable value for money imo.

Well it is a bargain because, unless I am mistaken, none of those other services offer live sport. I have never been to a live sporting match - AFL, cricket, athletics, rugby union etc, etc. and spent less than $39. Yet, here I can sit in my loungeroom and have someone else cook for me and not have to move a muscle or listen to morons in the crowd continually yell, 'kick it'.

Regardless of what other service you get, you can't get the range of sport Foxtel offers live and I think it is value for money.

Well it is a bargain because, unless I am mistaken, none of those other services offer live sport. I have never been to a live sporting match - AFL, cricket, athletics, rugby union etc, etc. and spent less than $39. Yet, here I can sit in my loungeroom and have someone else cook for me and not have to move a muscle or listen to morons in the crowd continually yell, 'kick it'.

Regardless of what other service you get, you can't get the range of sport Foxtel offers live and I think it is value for money.
Well put it this way.

If netflix took the rights you would be paying around $25 a month.

Well put it this way.

If netflix took the rights you would be paying around $25 a month.
Then I would subscribe to them and say that I thought that was good value for money.

Thing is, they don't have the rights, I have no idea if they have any intentions of bidding for them, and if they did whether the price that they did charge would be anything like that $25 a month that you plucked out of thin air.

Then I would subscribe to them and say that I thought that was good value for money.

Thing is, they don't have the rights, I have no idea if they have any intentions of bidding for them, and if they did whether the price that they did charge would be anything like that $25 a month that you plucked out of thin air.
I added foxes $10 a month sport pack to their $15 5 screens pack

I think its reasonable to add a charge the same as fox seeing as they charge a lot less for everything than fox.

Their model is to get as many people as possible via reasonable pricing and massive servers

Fox’s is somewhat the opposite.

In reality it would likely be less than fox and you would see the uptake be almost universal amongst serious footy fans.

I cant wait - i pray they take the rights off fox

But they haven't and probably never will so your post is purely speculative.
It would be amazon prime id look to in reality

Ive used netflix as a name as everyone knows what it is

Amazon prime are starting to buy rights to us football - they have nfl thursday nights rights now.

I have had Fox for many years. Put it on hold over summer and was not going to renew.
After Thursdays game watching on free to air I almost caved in. Watching on SD did my head in, I really don't know how people can watch sport like that. The ads didn't help.
After Fridays game I did cave. Rang them on Saturday and got it connected again.

I added foxes $10 a month sport pack to their $15 5 screens pack

I think its reasonable to add a charge the same as fox seeing as they charge a lot less for everything than fox.

Their model is to get as many people as possible via reasonable pricing and massive servers

Fox’s is somewhat the opposite.

In reality it would likely be less than fox and you would see the uptake be almost universal amongst serious footy fans.

I cant wait - i pray they take the rights off fox
OK I get it, you despise Murdoch and Fox. Good for you.

I couldn't give a stuff either way. However, like any business, if they provide a service that I want at I what I consider fair value for money then I will consider using them. I'm sorry that this is such a problem for you.

I have had Fox for many years. Put it on hold over summer and was not going to renew.
After Thursdays game watching on free to air I almost caved in. Watching on SD did my head in, I really don't know how people can watch sport like that. The ads didn't help.
After Fridays game I did cave. Rang them on Saturday and got it connected again.
Thats what kills me

Last year i had a mate with fox bring his box over and watched on my 4k tv

Looked mad

Sd is potatovision (tm)

I signed up for watch afl international - trial

And it goes to worse than potato vision when you try to cast it to a tv - i suspect my budget vpn might be crippling it

Im happy to pay for footy - just not interested in a damn thing otherwise