Bigman’s Training Reports

White line fever is hard to turn off.

I'd rather they train on the line rather than go easy on each other.

He's not king hitting anyone but making them earn their contests.

All the talk on this form is we are too nice and need to gain a competitive streak but everyone is getting their knickers in a knot.

It might be the ‘non-contact’ hat bit. But how stupid, it’s match sim, your eyes should be on the ball, so how are you expected to notice a hat? The onus should be on the non-contact player to exit contests that put themselves at risk. A bit like he did with the grab over him, he clearly didn’t compete and instead protected his shoulders as best he could. But he’s not far away from having to bin that mindset.

He got hurt with the non contact hat a couple of weeks ago at Norwood.
The hat ain’t working

The problem with Keane is this habit of his overdoing the aggression after the incident has and will result in goals against us given the position he plays, it's one thing to be hard at it but he has shown an inclination to many times to want to go on with it...needs to temper it or else it will be costly.
His aggression will save more goals than it costs,
About time this mob had some go in them.

Fog certainly stays in, but he didn't have a good performance as skipper in the 2nd Hawks game. Also wilted big-time under pressure in the 2nd Showdown last year

But you have to let someone like him grow
Agree. Fog stays in leadership group, but for mine he's too young and developing his own craft to be vice. It's not like when they chose Tex with his established position and experience. For me if you need a vice to captain on GameDay, ANB would be ideal. His understanding of what's required and experience would suit the huddle. Not all bluster. ROB, Milera, Laird and Murph can all come out of that group. Keep Hinge and add ANB.

So that makes, Dawson, Keays, Fog, ANB, and Hinge the leadership group?

His aggression will save more goals than it costs,
About time this mob had some go in them.
I’m tipping his confidence and aggression will translate to his game by way of leaving his man and getting even
more intercept marks this year. Him and Wazz will bring great transition from half back, I see it as a strength of ours.

Absolutely. An aggressive mongrel defender who can win his position who takes the game on is worth their weight in gold.

For the others in the team on the end of it... Toughen up princesses.
We have more than enough "gentlemen" players. Keane is a ripper and his aggression is very refreshing. I'm hoping he, Worrell and Murray command their half of the ground like battle tanks.

With Butts likely to be in reserve, I'm even happy with a short suspension or two. Let the comp know that Adelaide is a physically tough match up and start planting seeds of doubt into each oppo forward line. It won't work with some forwards but there are always players who falter under physical duress.

Or they get angry which is usually just as effective as a performance inhibitor. Either way, Mark Keane getting under the skin of players in matches is good. And also at training as it helps our guys be better prepared for the real deal in round 1.

Use aggression as a weapon. MAGA... Make aggression great again.

Oh...and stop shaking hands with your opponent before the first bounce. Replace it with an unfriendly shove and a sledge.

We have more than enough "gentlemen" players. Keane is a ripper and his aggression is very refreshing. I'm hoping he, Worrell and Murray command their half of the ground like battle tanks.

With Butts likely to be in reserve, I'm even happy with a short suspension or two. Let the comp know that Adelaide is a physically tough match up and start planting seeds of doubt into each oppo forward line. It won't work with some forwards but there are always players who falter under physical duress.

Or they get angry which is usually just as effective as a performance inhibitor. Either way, Mark Keane getting under the skin of players in matches is good. And also at training as it helps our guys be better prepared for the real deal in round 1.

Oh...and stop shaking hands with your opponent before the first bounce. Replace it with an unfriendly shove and a sledge.
Unsociable Hawks anyone?

Wingman need to have massive tanks. We've seen Sholl develop his fitness to conk out later and later in seasons. Last year he made it all the way through. I just can't see a year one or two player being given lots of minutes on a wing.
I would generally agree but Darcy Wilson and Caleb Windsor played a bit of wing and did pretty well...both well known for their fitness...I think Draper could do similar...in place of who, that I don't know...

You reckon they arent told these things in private before they get said in public. You dont think Dowling and/or knew what he needed to do to get into the side ?? Nankervis was a load management thing, all young players get that.

People are looking for things that just aren't there. It goes to show you how long off season really is.

Absolutely. You continue to ignore the stuff that was publicly said.

Rachele actually said this.

"We didn’t get a lot of inside-50s on the weekend, and I didn’t play a lot (in the) midfield again, (instead) playing mainly up the ground" - "It’s something that I probably don’t really know what’s going on"

Rachele had no idea why he wasn't playing midfield.

Big believer in players really excelling if they start the season in that 40-60's games played range.

A big group of those to start 2025 - with Peatling, Max, TT, Murray, Rachele, Berry, Soligo, Schoenberg, Hinge in that group.

Still surprising to see that Keane is still 24 with only 31 games of AFL footy. Hopefully he can continue to improve

Agreed Keane is great, Hawthorn were pricks for years and won 4 flags in that time.

He should give it a go on Tex though, just for our entertainment.

I think Worrell might have a bit of edge but Murray seems too nice.

Agreed Keane is great, Hawthorn were pricks for years and won 4 flags in that time.

He should give it a go on Tex though, just for our entertainment.

I think Worrell might have a bit of edge but Murray seems too nice.
I reckon Max has a bit of white line fever about him too, can always see him mouthing off to oppo players. My favourite was the clear **** you to Toby Greene post a gws game

Bigman’s Training Reports

Write your reply...