Black Diamond AFL - 2011

A great example of the expansive divide between the top and bottom of this comp was on display at No 1 Sports Ground on Saturday.

Gosford forfieted 18s, where soundly thumped in reserve grade and were beaten by more than 50 goals in BDAFL.
I know 18s backed up, from a scratch match, for ressies and then again for ones with about 5 fresh players taking the field for the main fixture.
Meanwhile, City had around 10 blokes available for reserve grade who missed a game because of the amazing amount of numbers they have.

There have always been thumpings in bush footy but I cannot see a way for Goss to dig their way out of this after already trying to strengthen their player stocks with a merger with Woy Woy.
I know some teams struggle when they travel but if Gosford players aren't willing to travel to the best ground in the region on a perfect winter's day for a kick then they will never trouble the top end of the comp..

It seems with City's success recently and great facilities, set to improve further after a mooted upgrade, have made them the powerhouse of the comp that will take many years and careful planning to reign in, if at all.

What incentives can the league and the NSWAFL offer players to play for and support the clubs who need players instead of shelling out 200 bucks rego a year to run water in ressies for City?

A great example of the expansive divide between the top and bottom of this comp was on display at No 1 Sports Ground on Saturday.

Gosford forfieted 18s, where soundly thumped in reserve grade and were beaten by more than 50 goals in BDAFL.
I know 18s backed up, from a scratch match, for ressies and then again for ones with about 5 fresh players taking the field for the main fixture.
Meanwhile, City had around 10 blokes available for reserve grade who missed a game because of the amazing amount of numbers they have.

There have always been thumpings in bush footy but I cannot see a way for Goss to dig their way out of this after already trying to strengthen their player stocks with a merger with Woy Woy.
I know some teams struggle when they travel but if Gosford players aren't willing to travel to the best ground in the region on a perfect winter's day for a kick then they will never trouble the top end of the comp..

It seems with City's success recently and great facilities, set to improve further after a mooted upgrade, have made them the powerhouse of the comp that will take many years and careful planning to reign in, if at all.

What incentives can the league and the NSWAFL offer players to play for and support the clubs who need players instead of shelling out 200 bucks rego a year to run water in ressies for City?

I saw this just lookign through some of the around the nation results and that is rediculous. now yous ay the problem si travelling that sort of throws out my suggestion that the BDAFL needs to merge with Sydney AFL. I understand however you have teams a fair way north. What is the longest road trip in your comp?

In QLD ours would be about 4 hours at the most which is Coolengatta to Noosa and Mooroochy/Northshore are up there as well. However as Cooly would only do this trip twice three times at the most if the finals fell that way there isnt to much of an issue. Its Noosa and Maroochy who have the issue travellign to brisbane or the gold coast every second week. However because we cover such an expansive area we have a good spread accross our divisions from NEAFL right down to our lowest divisions. Teams taht only feild one team play in division 3 which is split between north and south comps and all other teams who have two teams play in the graded comps. Maybe this is a way forward for AFLNSW to make a better and fairer comp. And teams like City if they can pick up a few more could feild three sides a seniors and reserves in which ever division they play in and a thirds team in a low one team division we do that at Beenleigh here we have 1's and 2's playing Div 2 SA and a thirds side in Div 3 central SA.

What are the thoughts of the guys in thsi league to how that would work? i am interested to know.

too long... did not read

Agree with you totally. Having watched the competition for the past 5 years and not being involved with any club you have to feel for the Gosford boys on the weekend. The fellows who took the field for them are better than I would be because there is no way I would travel up the highway knowing I was going to get thumped.

It would appear the league needs to stop this ridiculous dribble about a NEAFL side and actually concentrate funding to its clubs. I spoke to a person at a central coast club about this and he said it costs around $25,000 to field 3 grades in the BDAFL where as in Sydney it costs around $10,000. Why is the Black Diamond charging that amount of money when Sydney clubs with much bigger sponsorship and playing bases charge less? What if that money went back into clubs to subsidise fees for Under 18s players so that clubs can build a bigger base?

From what I have seen there would only be a handful of players capable of playing that standard in this competition and how much would it cost in travel and expenses for a side out of Newcastle to exist. Great idea but practically there is no way it will work. The league has much bigger issues than that to focus on so I dont know why they waste their breath talking about it.

As for rep footy a person from the Terrigal club told me that the budget for that is around $15,000. The league surely must be able to run rep footy cheaper than that. Once again something that is aimed at the pointy end of the competition and does absolutely bugger all for clubs down the bottom.

It is sad that the competition is so predictable but watch out for the Panthers come finals I believe. They are well coached, have some very good footballers and Big Maurice is in good form. Not having seen City this year I cant comment on them but I believe Terrigal are the best side I have seen so far. Cardiff appear to have dropped slightly and Warners Bay havent threatened against the other 3 from what I hear so my prediction is a Terrigal vs Newcastle City grand final.

The bdafl is the way it is!! City have got to 'rotate' their players but other clubs field the same blokes in both grades!!
This is not a crack at City,or Cardiff who have great numbers and success and it is about bringing the bottom up rather than the top down.

Gosford will do what is best for their club in the long term;)

Hey mate,the distance prob isnt our problem its the fact they are traveling up to 2 hours knowing the result is a hiding!!
We have 2 really strong clubs, 3 that do ok and the rest make up the numbers(sometimes not even in all the grades!) nothing will change because thats the way it is unfortunately.
There are a handful of dedicated ppl at the 'other' clubs but they cannot compete with the powerful clubs, 3 divisions has been talked about before and despite support for it we prob are a few clubs short to achieve it!

and in my opinion we would prob have newastle blues and the newcastle two's in our 1st div because they are a better quality than the 'others' 1's team!! sad but true

Agree with you totally. Having watched the competition for the past 5 years and not being involved with any club you have to feel for the Gosford boys on the weekend. The fellows who took the field for them are better than I would be because there is no way I would travel up the highway knowing I was going to get thumped.

It would appear the league needs to stop this ridiculous dribble about a NEAFL side and actually concentrate funding to its clubs. I spoke to a person at a central coast club about this and he said it costs around $25,000 to field 3 grades in the BDAFL where as in Sydney it costs around $10,000. Why is the Black Diamond charging that amount of money when Sydney clubs with much bigger sponsorship and playing bases charge less? What if that money went back into clubs to subsidise fees for Under 18s players so that clubs can build a bigger base?

From what I have seen there would only be a handful of players capable of playing that standard in this competition and how much would it cost in travel and expenses for a side out of Newcastle to exist. Great idea but practically there is no way it will work. The league has much bigger issues than that to focus on so I dont know why they waste their breath talking about it.

As for rep footy a person from the Terrigal club told me that the budget for that is around $15,000. The league surely must be able to run rep footy cheaper than that. Once again something that is aimed at the pointy end of the competition and does absolutely bugger all for clubs down the bottom.

It is sad that the competition is so predictable but watch out for the Panthers come finals I believe. They are well coached, have some very good footballers and Big Maurice is in good form. Not having seen City this year I cant comment on them but I believe Terrigal are the best side I have seen so far. Cardiff appear to have dropped slightly and Warners Bay havent threatened against the other 3 from what I hear so my prediction is a Terrigal vs Newcastle City grand final.

Those figures are around the mark,it is heaps cheaper to field teams in sydney afl, you have divisions so yr teams are competitive most weeks,you dont pay extra for umpies fees (pretty sure its included?) there are more options to 'buddy up' with other clubs, whats not to like?
For a long time I have tried to come up with ways to help our league improve,become more stable and competitive but honestly if I were running a club currently I know which comp we would be in!!!

Those figures are around the mark,it is heaps cheaper to field teams in sydney afl, you have divisions so yr teams are competitive most weeks,you dont pay extra for umpies fees (pretty sure its included?) there are more options to 'buddy up' with other clubs, whats not to like?
For a long time I have tried to come up with ways to help our league improve,become more stable and competitive but honestly if I were running a club currently I know which comp we would be in!!!

Some truth here but take City for example you would expect them to compete in PD Div 1 and PD 18s - their affiliation fees in Sydney for 2011 would be around $31,000 - I havnt made any adjustments for umpiring costs associated with finals - those costs are based on 18 home and away rounds.

Take Gosford for example probably Div 2 Div 4 and Challenge cup 18's the costs would be approximately 12,000.

As for umpires fees I have included them in those figues for you - they are not included in your affiliation fees but they are invoiced to you in 6 equal insallments over the season. The reality in Sydney is PD get 3 central 2 bounday and 2 goals, then the same in 1st Div and PD 18s but only 2 centrals.

Div two you see 2 centrals each week, Div 4 occasionally 1 umpire and you must supply a club umpire or you can forfiet and challenge cup 18's you see 1 umpire and again must supply a club umpire. Unfortunately the umpires you see in div 2,3,4,5 and CC18's other than a few are very mediocre (thats being nice).

Some truth here but take City for example you would expect them to compete in PD Div 1 and PD 18s - their affiliation fees in Sydney for 2011 would be around $31,000 - I havnt made any adjustments for umpiring costs associated with finals - those costs are based on 18 home and away rounds.

Take Gosford for example probably Div 2 Div 4 and Challenge cup 18's the costs would be approximately 12,000.

As for umpires fees I have included them in those figues for you - they are not included in your affiliation fees but they are invoiced to you in 6 equal insallments over the season. The reality in Sydney is PD get 3 central 2 bounday and 2 goals, then the same in 1st Div and PD 18s but only 2 centrals.

Div two you see 2 centrals each week, Div 4 occasionally 1 umpire and you must supply a club umpire or you can forfiet and challenge cup 18's you see 1 umpire and again must supply a club umpire. Unfortunately the umpires you see in div 2,3,4,5 and CC18's other than a few are very mediocre (thats being nice).

Umpires will generally be pretty mediocre outside of your top comp though. We have NEAFL umpires they are all pretty good obvisouly then PD umpires who are ok i guess although some backed up in our league on the weekend and they were horrible but then when you get to State Assoiaction they just fall away mostly guys jsut doing it for funa nd without them i couldnt play footy so i just deal with it. I find it poor that you have to supply a club umpire though. I the league should be abel to get two central umpires to each game and then the club provide a boundary and goal club umpire. This just from a QLD perspective. I apologise if you guys think im intruding jsut interested in this league having played my early junior days at Woy Woy before having to move to QLD. Also i wish the best for teh development of the sport.

Cheers magpie, I agree it would cost a fair amount to play in PD,Div1 and P18's, Newcastle 18's currently on the (nearly forfeiting/forfeiting list):D so I dont think they would field a side!! also do you believe they are PD standard? I would of guessed Div1 and Div2?

I suppose my main point was that you can grow in the Sydney comp
ie if you only have 1 side Gossy for example and certainly Wyong in previous years(they not too bad this year) that is all you are required to have!! Then when yr ready you can be promoted,add a second side ie auburn and if you have 18's great!!
The BDAFL as we have said doesnt have that option,wont make 3 div to help out clubs(bring more in) and will continue to struggle!! untill the clubs have had enough and turn their backs on them!!

Umpires will generally be pretty mediocre outside of your top comp though. We have NEAFL umpires they are all pretty good obvisouly then PD umpires who are ok i guess although some backed up in our league on the weekend and they were horrible but then when you get to State Assoiaction they just fall away mostly guys jsut doing it for funa nd without them i couldnt play footy so i just deal with it. I find it poor that you have to supply a club umpire though. I the league should be abel to get two central umpires to each game and then the club provide a boundary and goal club umpire. This just from a QLD perspective. I apologise if you guys think im intruding jsut interested in this league having played my early junior days at Woy Woy before having to move to QLD. Also i wish the best for teh development of the sport.
Hey Buffs, not intruding at all, we are all here for the betterment of the game!
Woy juniors are doing ok,but they have merged with Gossy in seniors and it just not working(not that they were in a strong possy before) They had to try something unforunatley it hasnt helped them.
As for umpies, in our league 1's is umpired by accredited umpies and the same for 18's but 2's is clubies (1 from each side) the standard varies(I am now 1 of them) so feel I can comment honestly. Most of the blokes are just doing it because they have too,no umpies,no game

Cheers magpie, I agree it would cost a fair amount to play in PD,Div1 and P18's, Newcastle 18's currently on the (nearly forfeiting/forfeiting list):D so I dont think they would field a side!! also do you believe they are PD standard? I would of guessed Div1 and Div2?

I suppose my main point was that you can grow in the Sydney comp
ie if you only have 1 side Gossy for example and certainly Wyong in previous years(they not too bad this year) that is all you are required to have!! Then when yr ready you can be promoted,add a second side ie auburn and if you have 18's great!!
The BDAFL as we have said doesnt have that option,wont make 3 div to help out clubs(bring more in) and will continue to struggle!! untill the clubs have had enough and turn their backs on them!!

I honestly dont know what your standard is like other than they are obviously poles apart from the top to the bottom.

I can say that the divisionalisation has worked for us here. Overall the competition in div 2 3 4 5 is pretty even unlike years gone by. It also enabled our club to slowly grow. We nearly folded at the end of 06 and fielded 1 team in 07 and now in 2011 we have 3 senior teams and an 18's.

Magpie that is great news that a club can do that we have a similair way up here Kedron was a powerhouse early in teh 20th century and then around 1990 had to fall back in leagues with the greater number of clubs building around them. They are now in what i call div 3 its called div SA after spending the best part of the last 20years in div (sa div 2) and are building nicely. I think its important to have these avenues and sides in teh BDAFL should get together and discuss the posibility of taking their sides dwon to the Sydney AFL comp. There will be teething problems getting sides into the right division and what not but in 10 years time you will have a strong divsional comp that will better teh development of NSW football and its kids and in turn would also put you in a better position for draft picks and what not. Juniors needs to stay localised to keep kinds and parents interested. But as I said the under 18s administrators a few years back under 18 and seniro football is jsut that senior football these guys choose be there because they love the sport and competeing but many will leave if they get flogged everyweek or their is one dominant side no one can beat. So i think you guys have it right the question now is will the AFLNSW/ACT act on it?

I honestly dont know what your standard is like other than they are obviously poles apart from the top to the bottom.

I can say that the divisionalisation has worked for us here. Overall the competition in div 2 3 4 5 is pretty even unlike years gone by. It also enabled our club to slowly grow. We nearly folded at the end of 06 and fielded 1 team in 07 and now in 2011 we have 3 senior teams and an 18's.

Cheers, 12 grand for say a 3rd div,a 4th and a 18's team would have to be very favourable to our current fees!
Its great to hear how a club can grow,if yuor not getting belted every week it def helps!!

Divisionalisation is something we have considered,and according to online polls (at least) has good support,and I believe is the only way forward for the bdafl,for example we have Nellie bay coming into 1's next year after (maybe) winning the 2's, they will struggle at best(I hope they do ok!) their 2's will be the same,and 18's while good this year are always up and down and if all seniors getting spanked!! they will go!!

Magpie that is great news that a club can do that we have a similair way up here Kedron was a powerhouse early in teh 20th century and then around 1990 had to fall back in leagues with the greater number of clubs building around them. They are now in what i call div 3 its called div SA after spending the best part of the last 20years in div (sa div 2) and are building nicely. I think its important to have these avenues and sides in teh BDAFL should get together and discuss the posibility of taking their sides dwon to the Sydney AFL comp. There will be teething problems getting sides into the right division and what not but in 10 years time you will have a strong divsional comp that will better teh development of NSW football and its kids and in turn would also put you in a better position for draft picks and what not. Juniors needs to stay localised to keep kinds and parents interested. But as I said the under 18s administrators a few years back under 18 and seniro football is jsut that senior football these guys choose be there because they love the sport and competeing but many will leave if they get flogged everyweek or their is one dominant side no one can beat. So i think you guys have it right the question now is will the AFLNSW/ACT act on it?

I dont know that they would go for it,although I also dont know if they would care enough to get involved!!
It prob is a stretch to travel and have Newcastle and Sydney in the same comp! this is coming from a nsw perspective, the coast clubs maybe, Im still interested to see who(if any join the neafl) as this may play a part in restusturing the local leagues.
East coast,Syd uni and Balmain are all contenders,anyways its great to be talkin footy!!

Noodles get ready for 3 divs. With 6, 6 and the rest in 2 years :)

I dont know that I would hold my breath lol but thanks for giving me hope!!
Iv been banging my head about this for years! How do the ppl that run this thing think its going to get better by doing nothing!!

Dont force clubs to field teams if they cant,dont punish others for trying,dont stop other clubs from joining!!
Do encourage growth, look at sydney comp, it is team based not club based,and why not now?
such is? do you know that they are going to implement this? or are you just hopeing?
ps are they finally listening because they are concerned that some of the clubs have had enough!! and will solve their own problems lol

I've been told they want to implement it, just need the backing of all clubs. Which may not happen as this is the first year teams are split up whereas 3 divs will split every one up

True, I believe there will be some resistance because it will mean clubs dont play together all the time.

I see the stronger clubs having a big problem with it (but unless they want to play with themselves!lol)they should at least consider it.
I also believe some of the 'others' may not like it Dockers,Pies come to mind because they may not be in 'the top comp' but surely they should look at the big picture

It will(not maybe) help with growing the comp, it certainly gives the weaker 2's sides a chance each week to build,and new clubs will join over time.

Pull their finger out and do it!! I believe it will challenge the likes of City/Cardiff etc and hopefully for the comp(and themselves)they take the challenge and put 3 teams in(instead of 10 blokes sitting in the sideline) this would make it alot easier to have them playing together if they in all grades the draw(theoretically) should be done around them!

Also gossy have folded from first grade for the rest of the year and the same with singleton ressies for the remainder of the year...

Feel sorry for Singo,but I called it at start of the year!! It wont work,they will get punished now and the comp and the game are worse off!!

No one will travel to get smashed each week,now if they were against Dockers,Wyong,Nellie,Gossy 2's teams and perhaps maybe a new mob like Maitland they would have been competitive and stayed.
It at least would of been more likely,now for all of their build up ie only having 1 team in last couple of years we back to square 1!!

Singo now have no 18's,no 2's and a 1's team that are going to struggle,as the bdafl must put it welcome to the big time and good luck!

Gossy is no surprise and I pretty much knew this since the weekend, I wonder what they will do? Is the bdafl listening yet? because I can tell them this is only the begining and there is lots more to come sooner than they think!!!

Have also noticed alot of players are getting suspended for foul language looks as though the umps are setting a precedent against language, bit of a shit post but it may prove costly to a team towards the end of the season and finals time if a key player gets done for swearing