Black Diamond AFL - 2011

I have seen you mention the Maitland thing a number of times, but to be honest I haven't heard anything re that info. I live in the area and have some interest in the Newcastle Junior comp and agree that expanding into a new area is good, but cant see where the numbers would come from.
They would need 40 guys to field a reserves team and probably 25 for an 18's team for the season which is a big build from nothing.
Many of their 14's palyed in the 16's so they may be too young to play 18's.

Just an observation.
Cheers swans12, Yeah I have mentioned it a few times but only going on the mail I get (usually on the money!) It is on their web which is why I originally asked, and has been backed up by 2 blokes I talk to from diff clubs (1 is president) just curious what other news is out there!!

I knew Gossy were going and that in 2013 we will finally have 3 grades with the 18's looking like going back to their own regions(18's not confirmed but likely)
as I said happy for more info or be proven wrong as I am not in the meetings just second hand info

just interested to know how all the clubs awards nights went. who were the best and fairest winners. all the usual suspects or some suprises

Most of you will be aware of what happened to former Cardiff Player, Tom Biviano just on two years ago now. Those of you who don't can read about it here. It has come to Tom's family's attention that his attacker has been released from prison 6 months into a 6 year sentance, because of a change in the law known as the Blackwell decision.

While Tom lives a life sentance of his own, this "person" is out around Maitland gloating to his friends and anyone else who will listen about his "achievements".

Fortunately, there has been a great number of people who have assisted Tom, and this week he was handed the keys to his new home (NBN Story)

If you would like to help in any way, you can join this facebook page and sign this e-petition.

Cheers

2012 Coaches Announced
The Lake Macquarie Dockers are pleased to announce the appointment of David Beauchamp to the position of Senior Coach and Tony Kibler to the position of Under 18’s Coach for the 2012 season.
David Beauchamp is one of the few coaches nationally that has worked for a level 3 coaching accreditationand has coached in the Sydney AFL league since 2000 being involved with the East Coast Eagles, Macquarie University and the Balmain Dockers, all clubs that play at the top level of the competition. David has worked with the AFL as the Talented Player Program Manager for the Northern Heat, Starz and Pigeons and during this time also worked for the Western Bulldogs running their NSW Player Scholarship program. David has been active coaching the AFL program in Sydney’s private schools and for the past 2 seasons has been the assistant coach to the Sydney Umpiring group.
David has said “that he has been looking for the right opportunity to get back into senior coaching and the role at Lake Macquarie suits him perfectly”,
"Working with a young, hungry group of players who are keen to improve and develop their footy and backed up by a dedicated and enthusiastic committee has all the right ingredients to create something special. I am looking forward to getting to know everyone and being involved with the Dockers.”
Tony Kibler joins the Lake Macquarie Dockers after spending 12 months coaching Under 18’s in the Sydney competition and was fortunate to have former Sydney Swans player and Balmain coach Nick Fosdike as a mentor. Tony is an accredited level 2 and AFL NSW/ACT Coaching Co-ordinator and in 2009 was the assistant coach of the NSW Central Coast Academy of Sport for AFL. Tony has also worked with our Talented Players having held the position as assistant coach in both the Under 14’s and 18’s Northern Heat Teams in 2010 and 2011.

Good move for one of the developing clubs. If they can gat a few more cattle it wont hurt their cause either.

Quiet on here. Any news for any clubs?

How many clubs have coaches confirmed for next year? I know Lake Mac do, looks promising for them. I also heard Nelson Bay have their coach locked in and will be moving up to Cup next year. Can only be good for the comp if these two teams develop. Singo in their second year should be building and hopefully they can get 18's and ressies up to develop their depth.

Haven't heard much on the other clubs. Can any team challenge City and Cardiff next year?

Bishy is doing terrigal again
Warners, kv and wyong haven't appointed anyone yet
Lake macq signed beachy as stated earlier..

Bishy is doing terrigal again
Warners, kv and wyong haven't appointed anyone yet
Lake macq signed beachy as stated earlier..

Yeah Bishy has Terr and Beauchamp to Dockers, KV odds on to have new coach from what I hear, Wyong is down to the last 2 so should announce soon, Nelsons is their 18's coach from this year and Singo have a number of quality applying apparently

I find it hard to fathom that clubs are still finalising coaching appointments. With Cardiff and City being so far out infront over the past couple of years I would have thought that all clubs would have got on the front foot and secured coaches by the end of October in order to set up fitness programs, game styles etc rather than just have a group of players running the show as seems to be the case at the moment then have a new coach come in and try and make sense of it all before he starts his role.

Until the professionalism picks up at clubs nobody will get within a bulls roar of Newcastle City again as they seem to do it better than anyone over a long period of time.

Any news on any player movement or players not going on yet. Would have to be question marks on a few players continuing on in 2012.

Yeah Bishy has Terr and Beauchamp to Dockers, KV odds on to have new coach from what I hear, Wyong is down to the last 2 so should announce soon, Nelsons is their 18's coach from this year and Singo have a number of quality applying apparently

A few whispers here up north are:

Cardiff - Bailey again
KV - Todd Clarke (2011 u18s) & Corey Shackleton will be co-coaching

to add to the already confirmed appointments at LM, NB and Terrigal.

There's also a few CC youngsters been seen around up here - the likes of Jay Lewis & James Webster to add to Rick White last year.

I'm glad I made the move when I did, won't be able to get into the fine sunny piece of paradise soon.

A few whispers here up north are:

Cardiff - Bailey again
KV - Todd Clarke (2011 u18s) & Corey Shackleton will be co-coaching

to add to the already confirmed appointments at LM, NB and Terrigal.

There's also a few CC youngsters been seen around up here - the likes of Jay Lewis & James Webster to add to Rick White last year.

I'm glad I made the move when I did, won't be able to get into the fine sunny piece of paradise soon.

Cheers Whisper, Had heard that Clarke was in the running so him and capt Shack makes sense (anyone know of poss fallout between players and former coach Clarke?) Heard it was heated!
You would think that City would stay the same unless ppl were moving on out of the area(if it aint broke dont fix it)

Look out for the coast boys!! lol good to see they are trying there luck, not a bad comp the neafl

other coaching gigs? Checking with Wyong but it down to a former Nellie coach and one with a 'big' cardiff background

Singo have appointed Tim Hare who guided them to their last flag in '10'

Warners? still searching but prob announce soon you would think

Don't know where you got that info about the any fall out, you're way off the money..m.Clarke isn't coach due to work commitments

Gee interesting Singleton went back to a fellow from
a few years ago after spruiking the quality of applications. Wyong obviously looking at Hawkins I take it noodles? Have heard a number of players are leaving the league and trying their luck elsewhere. What does this mean for the standard of the competition going forward

Gee interesting Singleton went back to a fellow from
a few years ago after spruiking the quality of applications. Wyong obviously looking at Hawkins I take it noodles? Have heard a number of players are leaving the league and trying their luck elsewhere. What does this mean for the standard of the competition going forward

I guess they feel he is the right bloke for the job at Singo, hopefully they stick together and have a crack this year after a good 1st season.

I suppose its hard with coaches from outside the league (poss moving,jobs,family,renumeration etc.

Correct big Lonny, who I think has a lot of knowledge and the other is Collins from the Bay.
Either way you can only get the best of what you have (cattle wise) and with players moving on it will be interesting the standard for next year!

I guess they feel he is the right bloke for the job at Singo, hopefully they stick together and have a crack this year after a good 1st season.

I suppose its hard with coaches from outside the league (poss moving,jobs,family,renumeration etc.

Correct big Lonny, who I think has a lot of knowledge and the other is Collins from the Bay.
Either way you can only get the best of what you have (cattle wise) and with players moving on it will be interesting the standard for next year!

I know that Singo really wanted Tim Hare. He is good tactically and the I am sure their players really wanted to play for him which to a developing club is absolutley crucial. Really came on towards the end of the season under Roser and if could pick up a few more cattle, to go with their youth, they could surprise a few.

Good Get IMO

Thought it was 18's players and not seniors (only pub talk so only 50/50 at best I guess) if wrong apologies mate

Was more to do with do the kids only play 1st and not 18s on the same day..Same as alot of clubs..far from a fall out :)

Any news out there?

Former bdafl club Gosford (now in sydney and called Wildcats) are set to compete in Div 4 next year, you would think with a full squad should do very well!
It will give us an insight for 2013 divisionalisation, on how a team/club struggling can have success and be rebuilt!

Any news out there?

Former bdafl club Gosford (now in sydney and called Wildcats) are set to compete in Div 4 next year, you would think with a full squad should do very well!
It will give us an insight for 2013 divisionalisation, on how a team/club struggling can have success and be rebuilt!

The team I coach will be in D4. We played Gosford last year in a trial, they were reasonably competitive against our twos but got hammered by our ones. Having said that, if they can get a decent squad of 30 they'll go a long way.Looking forward to the trip north!

A bit of out there thinking, imagine the BDAFL was absorbed by Sydney AFL? Newcastle City could go Prems or D1, same for Cardiff, the rest filter down to the D2/D3 area.......now I'll get my head bitten off for saying that, but if your comp is struggling, why not?

The team I coach will be in D4. We played Gosford last year in a trial, they were reasonably competitive against our twos but got hammered by our ones. Having said that, if they can get a decent squad of 30 they'll go a long way.Looking forward to the trip north!

A bit of out there thinking, imagine the BDAFL was absorbed by Sydney AFL? Newcastle City could go Prems or D1, same for Cardiff, the rest filter down to the D2/D3 area.......now I'll get my head bitten off for saying that, but if your comp is struggling, why not?

Would not surprise me one bit pk... I think you'll find central coast clubs are looking at this due to the high cost of affiliation fees in the BDAFL

Whether necastle teams would travel that's up for debate I guess

The whole scene appears to have dropped away in the BDAFL. I have read some of their recent news items on their website and whoever is writing them appears to struggle.

If Gosford couldn't hack it in the league who says they will succeed in Sydney. Its just a cop out. People should be more fairdinkum with themselves.

I have also read that 'someone' wants to put a team in the NEAFL, like, get your hand off it. Look after your own before people start getting carried away with pipe dreams.

We need more people to say how it is. Stop the crapp and concentrate on the core issue.

Must say I have to agree with Practice22 on the standard in the competition. I watched about 4 under 18s games last year and was appalled at the poor standard of play, lack of skill as players couldn't kick to teammates only 20 metres away and the amount of dropped marks was amazing.

I am one who feels that the competition standard has dropped over the 5 years I have been up here. The talk about NEAFL is surely a pipedream as we would have to get 40 players from outside the area as I can only think of 4 in this league who would be capable at that level, and nothing under 18.

I have found when I have raised this people get ultradefensive and say the league has never been better. I believe the football community here is blinkered to an extent and unwilling to change. I'm yet to see a coach in the league be super innovative on game day or drop a name player who isn't performing.

Just out of interests sake I hear the affiliation fees are high? What would it cost for a team to participate.