Black Diamond AFL

Swans you are correct DG snr was pres last year not DG jnr, the bar is named after DG snr and Barb for there service to the club which goes back over 30yrs.
I highly doubt the Grants will sponsor the bay considering that they are sponsoring us again this year.
The decision for DG jnr to move on was his alone and he was told that he would be lucky to get a run in seniors this year due to the game plan that the coaching stuff are running. DG still has many friends at the club and it is sad to see him go, he is not a superstar player but he will be a handy pick for the bay

Its interesting to see Liam Gibson from Cardiff named in the Rep squad considering he has been injured for most of the season. And wasn't expected to be back for another few weeks. :confused:

And how can Chris Gordan make it considering his suspension and pending transfer to St George Crows is going to come in the next few weeks.

Its poor form by the selectors to pick and injured played ahead of players who are inform. :thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Come guys reward the guys that have been putting the hard yards on track.

And if anyone is going to go on about Gibson being a class player I will agree YES he is. But to pick an unfit player who is under an injury cloud from the start of the season. Gibson has a good tank on him but i question he abilitly to run out a full game considering he hasn't played a full game in a while and may be lacking match fitness.

One also tells me that the rep coach also has a bit of input in the players selected in the rep squad. Nice one Dugan :thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Also just on the Cardiff website noticed the moderator put something players sharking other players goals. The player that did that not a team player.

BDAFL Annoucment : Cardiff Hawks has decided to change its name named by depoll after last weeks anticts to the Cardiff Seagulls. Please look at the BDAFL website for an updated draw including the Cardiff name change.

If dugan was having that much of an input into who got picked in the squad then why didn't players like ben stewart and quinton davis get picked when they've been cardiffs most consistent players over the past few yrs??

If Dugan has been appointed the Senior Rep squad coach he should have by far and away the most say in the team, not necessarily in the squad selection but definitely team make up.

Naming the squad after a team has only played 2 games leaves the door open for the kind of comment seen here, however, if players still have not played more than 1 game by the time the team is picked then that player should not be eligible under any circumstances. So I guess at the moment I support Gibbo's selection in the squad based on previous form, but he would have to play the next couple of games to qualify for the team, Rep squads are a reward for form in most leagues in Australia....

Fantastic about the Heat and the Nathan Buckley contact. Fantastic system, only one question though and lets not get all carried away with the geographics argument, we continually send out kids to the slaughter in these carnivals against squads that have trained as a TEAM, for sometimes up to 3 months. About time we either
A. Just go with Newcastle and Central Coast allowing us to pile heaps of work into them, leaving the other areas to assemble their own squad North for example or
B. Pick the squads much earlier to give our kids a fighting chance.

I feel that our kids development wise have a fantatsic upside compared to some of the other regions, but are missing out badly. We had a Hunter Academy of Sport idea floated, but the push from NSWACT development is about drafting kids and the RAMS, not grass roots regional development an academy structure has provided for over 40 other sports in the Hunter

From what I heard and experienced, the Hunter Sports Academy was a waste of time and they are not really interested in AFL. I can confirm there is an AFL program at Hunter Sports High in Newcastle and I know there have been talks with the Central Coast Academy of Sport to get a program up down this end of the world.
Just for a bit of an insight in to how the Heat program works, we have 4 satellite areas we train- central coast, newy, bathurst and coffs. The satellite squads train for about 8 weeks then we come together to play a day of footy and pick the squad from that. The full squad of 24 usually only has 1 or 2 sessions as a squad before the carnival.
The other problem we have is our club footy isnt as strong as the other areas we come up against, eg. Riverina, Sydney, Canberra. Some of the kids take what they learn at the carnival and become real good footballers, but some of the others take it for granted, go back to club footy be lazy and dominate, but when they go back to the elite level they get found out again and again.
One more I would love to see but doubt it will ever happen, is coaches in club footy getting their good players to spend more time playing in defence. I know winning is important, but surely there are times when sides can get throw around and kids experience the different aspects of our game. When the kids go to the state carnival they spend 1 quarter in defence, mid and forward with 1 on the bench every game. Our kids seem to go ok on the ball and up front, but struggle massively when they go back and when they play on the ball, they usually only run forward of the footy, but I guess that still happens plenty at most levels!!!!
Anyway enough rambling from me. Tips this weekend if anyone gets on!
Cardiff
City
Warners
Killarney
Who knows what the margins will be, hopefully everyone gets a game but and plays some pretty tough scrappy footy in the wet.

Maybe the Academy was not focussed in the past, but it was the AFL that pulled the pin on it years ago. They are very interested in AFL and are interested in the local area and its development up to 18's. I personally spoke to them.

Its our junior league that needs to rubber stamp it.

Its interesting to see Liam Gibson from Cardiff named in the Rep squad considering he has been injured for most of the season. And wasn't expected to be back for another few weeks. :confused:

And how can Chris Gordan make it considering his suspension and pending transfer to St George Crows is going to come in the next few weeks.

Its poor form by the selectors to pick and injured played ahead of players who are inform. :thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Come guys reward the guys that have been putting the hard yards on track.

And if anyone is going to go on about Gibson being a class player I will agree YES he is. But to pick an unfit player who is under an injury cloud from the start of the season. Gibson has a good tank on him but i question he abilitly to run out a full game considering he hasn't played a full game in a while and may be lacking match fitness.

One also tells me that the rep coach also has a bit of input in the players selected in the rep squad. Nice one Dugan :thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Also just on the Cardiff website noticed the moderator put something players sharking other players goals. The player that did that not a team player.

BDAFL Annoucment : Cardiff Hawks has decided to change its name named by depoll after last weeks anticts to the Cardiff Seagulls. Please look at the BDAFL website for an updated draw including the Cardiff name change.

Sounds like sour grapes to me!

My Guess

FB: Wold C. Clarke Krake
HB: Church Flynn Rawnsley
C: Amidy White* Gibson (if fit or M. Knight)
HF: Molan Ryan Grentell#
FF: A. Clarke^ C. Knight Kemp+
F: J. Van Dam+ Sheldon^ Walford#

B: Orton* Sorrenson Hodge Knight#/Kavanagh#

Unlucky to miss out on this side - Newburn, Hunt, and Bishop

Good luck to all

Saw a few Gossie boys out on sat night lucky buggers enjoyed their anzac wknd off.
Can anyone tell me the score in the Crows v Dogs today??
Deitzy.

FB: Wold Church Krake
HB: White Rawnsley Gibson
C: M. Knight Orton A. Clarke
HF: Molan Flynn Kemp
FF: C. Knight Ryan Kavanagh
F: C. Clarke, Kavanagh, Sheldon

B: P. Van Dam, Amidy, Bartlem, Walford, Edgley, Grentell

FB: Wold Church Krake
HB: White Rawnsley Gibson
C: M. Knight Orton A. Clarke
HF: Molan Flynn Kemp
FF: C. Knight Ryan Kavanagh
F: C. Clarke, Kavanagh, Sheldon

B: P. Van Dam, Amidy, Bartlem, Walford, Edgley, Grentell

Sorry...

Amidy to a forward pocket (cant have Kavanagh named twice!)

Who cares??

Anyway I was sharing a few beers with Dugan in between Valhalla's cracking set at the shaft the other night and from what I gathered the rep side will look something like this:

B A Roxby J Kocon Q Davis
HB L Krake D Flynn B Stewart
C P Knagge T Sheldon A Clarke
HF C Jones M Ryan B Wold
F S Williams B Watters M Olsen
R N Kocon N Haddon (C) L Orton

I/E L Gibson R Roberts A Dugan M Cooke*
Emg T Bayliss, S Simpson, B McMahn, K Saxby, B Philips

* M Cooke's selection depends on whether he posts bail for gang related gun charges. If not I think he has A Fairleigh in mind as a utility

Word on the grapevine is that Cooke is not only in extreme doubt for the rep game but also the entire bdafl season if the charges stick. This will surely put an end to cardiffs premiership credentials.

Here's the challenge, closest to the rep team gets the mst points.

3 points for In the right position
2 points for on the right line (FB, HB, C, HF, FF, F or Bench)
1 point for in the team

Biggest total wins.

Official Referee will be the line up on the day. Post your totals after the game on the 17th.

scooter

braedon is travelling well, he has fitted into the side with no problems and is suited harro's style of play, still has plenty of growing in him aswell. He has been selected in both the seniors and 18s rep squads, he will make the 18s team and is a strong outside chance for the seniors. he and some of the other young blokes have been the target of some rough play but there not taking any backward steps and are giving as good as they get

scooter

braedon is travelling well, he has fitted into the side with no problems and is suited harro's style of play, still has plenty of growing in him aswell. He has been selected in both the seniors and 18s rep squads, he will make the 18s team and is a strong outside chance for the seniors. he and some of the other young blokes have been the target of some rough play but there not taking any backward steps and are giving as good as they get

yea braedon is travelling quite well. I noticed this in citys game against cardiff where he tagged adam clarke. He managed to keep him to a mere 50 possessions and only had to go off for a rest every 10 minutes. great stuff!!

scooter

Thanks for that.

yea braedon is travelling quite well. I noticed this in citys game against cardiff where he tagged adam clarke. He managed to keep him to a mere 50 possessions and only had to go off for a rest every 10 minutes. great stuff!!

Hero !

Nothing like hiding behind a computer and shredding a 16 year old kid.

I would say he has a little more chance than you to make the AFL, which is probably zero.

Who cares??

Anyway I was sharing a few beers with Dugan in between Valhalla's cracking set at the shaft the other night and from what I gathered the rep side will look something like this:

B A Roxby J Kocon Q Davis
HB L Krake D Flynn B Stewart
C P Knagge T Sheldon A Clarke
HF C Jones M Ryan B Wold
F S Williams B Watters M Olsen
R N Kocon N Haddon (C) L Orton

I/E L Gibson R Roberts A Dugan M Cooke*
Emg T Bayliss, S Simpson, B McMahn, K Saxby, B Philips

* M Cooke's selection depends on whether he posts bail for gang related gun charges. If not I think he has A Fairleigh in mind as a utility

Geez u cardiff blokes have tickets on yourself naming your whole side for the repside and if you noticed mate the whole Cardiff side wasnt named in the rep squad.

Apparently last year there were complaints about too many Cardiff players as well....
There's too many players from sub standard clubs like Warners Bay and City. How the hell is the rep squad supposed to be competative with players from a club like the Dogs ( who have played 2 finals series in 10 years ) & Newcastle City players ( who cant produce when it counts and seem to dominate lowly clubs like Wyong ). I would have selected more Killarney Vale, Cardiff and Terrigal players from mind.

Next time your at the footy joel21, perhaps you should open your eyes. That was the young blokes first game of BDAFL ever and the game certainly opened up more through the middle when Braedon was being rested. I don't think I have ever seen Clarkey tackled so much in one match as that one at Bill Elliott.
Perhaps some other scholarship players in a our region should take a look at themselves and if they did half as much as Braedon does on the field, their scholarships wouldn't be considered a waste of time.

swans12 you have a very short memory. If I remember correctly you were bagging Craig Bird after his debut for the Swans back in rd1 against the Saints

Clever piece of computer work there dd on two counts.

Firstly, I unfortunately never witnessed his debut as I was overseas and therefore couldn't pass a comment and

Secondly clever piece of alteration to put my name to that post you invented.

I am not sure what the big footy rules are towards altering/inventing posts, but I usually spend my time encouraging kids not cutting them down as those who know me would I am sure back up.

Actually spoke to an AFL club I did a bit of work for on a number of occassions re Craig Bird and the scholarship scheme so that post is as full of shit as you are, but nice effort with attributing the post to me.

How is Mr Whiteroad these days?

Thought the exact thing when I read it, thought I'd watched the wrong game, impressive would've been my choice of words.

Was hard at it and didn't turn the ball over like some of the other younger ones did. Was rotated a number of times and ran with Sam Mitchell a bit, so all in all I agree, if that was mediocre, the kid has a lot to look forward to.

Perhaps ddsalsher you should find the correct information posted by people on this site. Like the quote above by swans12 (18/02/2008) to be exact.
If you want to create quotes in an attempt to feel better, try doing it elsewhere.

From memory, I believe Swans12 actually had discussions with Geelong when they were in the area in relation to a scholarship for Craig Bird. They didn't rate him, not what they were after, Swans12 indicated that they were fools, the rest is history and a short time after signing with the Swans the same Geelong rep got the a55.

I can understand why some people disagree with my assessment of braedon jones....perhaps you are just comparing his performance to that of citys other "young gun" ben haines. I believe anyone would look good compared to that joker!!!