Black Diamond AFL

Ok so the forum is heating up again. May I throw a handgrenade into the mix and ask which team is your most hated?

My list looks like this:

1. Cardiff
2. Daylight
3. Killarney
4. Terrigal

The rest are pretty harmless

nice post

for me its

1. cardiff
2. cardiff
3. cardiff
4. cardiff reserve grade

ADIOS!

Does any body here want to talk about football? and not some absolute school yard tripe like who is hated the most?

Can any one review the City v Kilarney game? Just interested in footy?

Does any body here want to talk about football? and not some absolute school yard tripe like who is hated the most?

Can any one review the City v Kilarney game? Just interested in footy?

I had the pleasure of witnessing this game on the weekend. I beleive it was informally dubbed "the battle of the best facilities" by the two presidents.
Newcastle City came out strong with better club rooms, a grandstand and an their 'ye olde scoreboard'. Killarney Vale were still in the race when they mentioned that their bar could seat 100 people, but were put in their place when City reminded them that "Grants Bar" could seat 150!
City kept pounding the one-percenters when they also mentioned that they had a picket fence and the best playing surface in the league!
I have it on good authority that when Ian Granland was contacted for comment on his clubs woeful facilities, he retorted with "Yeah, well we have a big clock!"

You seem to take an inordinate amount of interest in a club for which you profess to have little respect. I don't really see the problem with the above extract...it seems like a fairly gracious acknowledgement of a defeat. The author was merely noting that, unlike Warners Bay and Newcastle City last week, and other clubs before that, the two clubs were unable to come together after the game and celebrate which is a shame.

Did anybody else find it ironic that Warners Bay would celebrate 'ladies day' by playing like a bunch of girls?

can anyone shed some light on the brawl in the terrigal vs lake macquarie under 18s match?? i heard there were chairs thrown and terrigals coach hit a lake player

Wasnt anyone at the game that can elaborate on the above incident if it did take place? What caused it etc?

Unfortunately the Bulldogs First Grade outfit was always going to be up against it as the squad was decimated through injury, unavailability and suspension during the week. Despite this the team battled gamely all day and never gave in despite being on the wrong end of a large margin. Particularly pleasing for the club was the fact the team finished strongly and didn't fade away completely. The regular first grade players such as Dean Crotty, Josh Molan and Lee Anderson were big participators and showed the way for the ten or so reserve grade regulars who played their part for the club on the day.

It was alarming to see an intentional tripping charge was avoided, for reasons beyond comprehension, by a Cardiff "untouchable". Surely if a player is injured as a result of being tripped , and a free kick is awarded, then the incident should be reported? Best players for Warners Bay were Dean Crotty (who copped a low blow for his efforts), Ben Hodges (plenty of creative flair), Ben Dunlop (finding his feet at his new club), Josh Molan (strong and hardworking), Jack Downing (plenty of run and pace) and Lee Anderson (never stopped as usual). Unfortunately they didn't get to share a drink with their Cardiff foes after the match.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Sorry our boys dont drink with clubs that act like school kids when they have a win.

well i guess u gotta have variation in celebrations when you have that many, honestly. The win was the best of the season. after a few weeks ago, comments made by warners bay fans that they would strike back.. but as they may have tried.. no one can dispute that cardiff controlled the backline, midfield and forward line.

players out with injuries and suspension... have u not seen the cardiff injury list? they are the best players in the team: liam gibson, tim sheldon, SHAUN SMITH, and jez.

mind giving a list of the warners bay players that were out?

I'm of the opinion that if a player stuffs up a kick or has a bad game, and they can acknowledge their mistake, take it on the chin and work on improving for next time, then you can't really hold it against them.

The same should be said for umpires, but unfortunately in our league most criticism (constructive or otherwise) gets taken the wrong way by the whistle-blowers and people get reported.

Here's my deal with players talk back to the umpires over a mistake or controversial decision; if u look at it as the amount of mistakes made in total for the whole game, 4 times out of 5 you'll find the players have made more mistakes than the umpires.

but some might say, an umpire's mistake could cause the game.. well so could a player's.. ie. switching across the goal face, fumbling, opposition forwards getting possession and getting a goal. etc.

so maybe we would make it easier on ourselves if we gave the umpires more confidence by saying "just get the next one" and so forth.

what do you guys think?

Here's my deal with players talk back to the umpires over a mistake or controversial decision; if u look at it as the amount of mistakes made in total for the whole game, 4 times out of 5 you'll find the players have made more mistakes than the umpires.

but some might say, an umpire's mistake could cause the game.. well so could a player's.. ie. switching across the goal face, fumbling, opposition forwards getting possession and getting a goal. etc.

so maybe we would make it easier on ourselves if we gave the umpires more confidence by saying "just get the next one" and so forth.

what do you guys think?

i think the umpires should be educated about the game first and foremost. they seem to know the rules but not understand how to apply/interperate them. if they were taught about the game i believe there would be far fewer controversial calls made and players would be less frustrated.

it would also help if the head umpire wasnt a toss pot

i think the umpires should be educated about the game first and foremost. they seem to know the rules but not understand how to apply/interperate them. if they were taught about the game i believe there would be far fewer controversial calls made and players would be less frustrated.

Some umpires are ex-players that should really know the game and the rules. You cannot please everyone i guess, what decision is right for one team the other team is going to feel hard done by. You have to take into consideration that the umpire should be paying what he sees. Sometimes they get blind-sided by a playing running in front of their vision at the wrong time and they are expected to see it. Your interpretation of what you see compared to what they see from a different angle is or could be totally different. BUT if it happens right infront of them with no interferrence of their vision, you would expect a competant fair decision. Then you have to add into the mix if the players or fans have been giving the umpire a hard time all day or at what point in the game it is. You would hope that if an umpire has had a hard day from players or the crowd that his decision would not be affected and they would be fair but its only human nature. Decisions on average get worse the longer the game goes on as the umpire tires. Remember they are supposed to run all day without coming off for an inter-change or a rest. The players run in short bursts etc. Just think of a game when you have had a good run with the umpires, you probably havent given them a hard time either.

You seem to take an inordinate amount of interest in a club for which you profess to have little respect. I don't really see the problem with the above extract...it seems like a fairly gracious acknowledgement of a defeat. The author was merely noting that, unlike Warners Bay and Newcastle City last week, and other clubs before that, the two clubs were unable to come together after the game and celebrate which is a shame.

Do clubs normally come together after a game to celebrate, or do they go their own way ... back to sponsors watering holes or home to have a decent shower and a big night out?

Well, I've seen it happen at Killarney Vale, Newcastle City and Nelson Bay. Of course, these clubs are lucky enough to have great facilities, but they're also generous enough to share them with visiting teams no matter what the outcome of the game.

well i guess u gotta have variation in celebrations when you have that many, honestly. The win was the best of the season. after a few weeks ago, comments made by warners bay fans that they would strike back.. but as they may have tried.. no one can dispute that cardiff controlled the backline, midfield and forward line.

players out with injuries and suspension... have u not seen the cardiff injury list? they are the best players in the team: liam gibson, tim sheldon, SHAUN SMITH, and jez.

mind giving a list of the warners bay players that were out?

Warners Bay's injury list from the weekend is as follows...
Ryan Sorenson, Scott Bartlem, Nathan Brennan, Daniel Russell, Ben Hunter, Brad Williams, David Kidman, Damien Byrne, Clint Carter, Michael May (playing swans reserve grade), Jake Roach..

All did not play due to injury. All these players are in the Bay's top 22...So that's 11 by my count...No excuses for what happened on the weekend and for the blokes that want to talk rubbish on this forum go ahead...We don't need to explain ourselves to anyone, expecially blokes from Cardiff. it's round 8...You don't win premierships in June...Warners Bay will be right up there when it counts..

Full credit to Cardiff on their win. Definitely were the better side all day and totally blew us away in the 1st half. The most scary thing about Cardiff is their depth with plenty of quality players including Jeremy Kocon running around in the 2s to add to the list of guys they had out. We battled away but were pushing the proverbial uphill from about 5 minutes in.
Other results were a bit interesting with City thumping Killarney, Terrigal blowing the Crows off the park and Gosford holding off Wyongs challenge.
Mick Ryan got reported in the last quarter. Will he get rubbed out or get off?

Ryan Sorenson, Scott Bartlem, Nathan Brennan, Daniel Russell, Ben Hunter, Brad Williams, David Kidman, Damien Byrne, Clint Carter, Michael May (playing swans reserve grade), Jake Roach..

All did not play due to injury. All these players are in the Bay's top 22...So that's 11 by my count...No excuses for what happened on the weekend and for the blokes that want to talk rubbish on this forum go ahead...We don't need to explain ourselves to anyone, expecially blokes from Cardiff. it's round 8...You don't win premierships in June...Warners Bay will be right up there when it counts..

Lets hope they are right up there when it counts and we all can witness a great finals series, that certainly is a lot of players to have out of one team. Your also 110% on the mark, premierships are not won in round 8. Hopefully the dogs can fire up around September.

I respect anyone who walks on a football field but I wouldn't call that a fairly gracious acknowledgement of a defeat??? Full marks for sticking up for your club though, we'd all do that.

So The debate about clubs socialising after a game rages on. Here are some photos Ive taken after matches of various clubs:

633.x600.ft.gayparty.jpg

The Bill Elliot Clubrooms with Cardiff

bong+and++bongs.jpg
1161006986_l.jpg

Seaman Ave Oval with Warners Bay (Must be Miss BD at left)

saban-money-bags.jpg

Adelaide St Oval with Killarney Vale

collRich_wideweb__470x296,0.jpg

Adcock Park with Gosford

first_shot_beverly_hillbillies.jpg

Don Small Oval with Wyong

hughhefner.jpg

No. 1 Sports Ground with City

Full credit to Cardiff on their win. Definitely were the better side all day and totally blew us away in the 1st half. The most scary thing about Cardiff is their depth with plenty of quality players including Jeremy Kocon running around in the 2s to add to the list of guys they had out. We battled away but were pushing the proverbial uphill from about 5 minutes in.
Other results were a bit interesting with City thumping Killarney, Terrigal blowing the Crows off the park and Gosford holding off Wyongs challenge.
Mick Ryan got reported in the last quarter. Will he get rubbed out or get off?

Lets hope both sides are at full strength next time around. I reckon Ryno will get a couple of weeks. Probably should get off, it was just a tap. The Warners player got straight back up once the umpire got the card out but he'll definately get a couple of weeks.

Those outs from the Dogs (including U18 players is hardly an OUT) versus ... Krake, Sheldon, Gibson, Smith, Simpson, Kocon, and Watters ... all First Graders (800+ games experience), Rep players, BDAFL medalists ... bring on September Mr Hopeful .... :p

haha agreed with your last statement there.

perhaps clubs shuld be paying more to umpires? Black diamond pay their first grade umpires $66. tamworth afl pay their umpires $120 + 55c for every km they travel.

should we adapt?

Just wanted to wish all the BDAFL rep squad all the best before the trip to Wagga.
I am looking forward to travelling with all of you, sharing some laughs and enjoying the weekend.

Just on the subject of umpires and education, etc. I have a problem with the comment about education. The problem being we have a very good coach in Roger Crowhurst (ok, he's pedantic and blunt, but I'm sure every club has one) who does his best to coach and "educate" us. I'm quite sure there is NO current club in the BDAFL who has an ex AFL player / umpire in their ranks. If there is, I've never heard of them. We also have three former state league umpires on the list with over 700 games first grade / state league experience between them (Grant Godfrey, Darrel Luck, Myself) so the experience is there. We have six to eight good young umpires who need time to develop (I'm pretty sure you have a few of those too). The young guys have all come out of playing footy, so they have the experience at playing. I played nearly 100 matches across junior and senior footy before taking up the whistle.
The difficulty is the numbers. We need the numbers and we need the opportunity to make them grow and improve. This won't happen when spectators can jump fences and get to within a metre of an umpire and attempt to spit on them (the person involved I won't name nor will I name the club, but he knows who he is and it was a low act). This will not happen in a culture of Australian Rules where umpires are ridiculed for having the courage to pay a decision. This definitely won't happen in an area where 90% of the spectators have not much knowledge of the rules (yes I'm being harsh, get over it.)
If you guys want things to improve, give the umps a break, stick to playing footy instead of running next to the umpire and abusing and questioning every decision made (it doesn't work.... yet again, I won't name the player or club for I don't pot blokes). I have enjoyed going to clubs after games and having a beer and it is definitely something which should be encouraged to all players and umpires after games.

After all, it is ONLY a game at the end of the day, $66 is not much for umpiring first grade football and putting in 10 - 15 hours a week. We do it because we love the game. I'm guessing the players do it for the same reason too.

All the best to everyone over the break and to those not playing, enjoy the break.

Ashley Borg (BDAFL Umpire and PROUD OF IT!)

haha agreed with your last statement there.

perhaps clubs shuld be paying more to umpires? Black diamond pay their first grade umpires $66. tamworth afl pay their umpires $120 + 55c for every km they travel.

should we adapt?

You seem to know a bit about the umpiring. Would love to get even $100 per game. I use to get $125 back home.

Those outs from the Dogs (including U18 players is hardly an OUT) versus ... Krake, Sheldon, Gibson, Smith, Simpson, Kocon, and Watters ... all First Graders (800+ games experience), Rep players, BDAFL medalists ... bring on September Mr Hopeful .... :p

haha too true. september cant come soon enough. till then, i want to see warners bay get a hold on their injuries and have a full strength side.. and see where this fitness they talk about is. good luck:thumbsu:

You seem to know a bit about the umpiring. Would love to get even $100 per game. I use to get $125 back home.

My best mate used to umpire all round the place. i get to listen to the pedantics of it all..

and from what ive heard from alot of umpires.. their general consensus about roger is this; he does nothing but running at training.

SURELY, our umpires should be practicing calls, watching DVDs, analysing etc. running can be done in their own time.