Black Diamond AFL

Just on Kyall being on the Swans top up list, how has that worked? I was led to believe that the top up players this year would be coming from guys who made the Zone Under 18s TPP squads due to the restrictions on top up players. A few of those guys have been down there this year and played well apparently- Ben Jones, Rawson, Nesbitt, Manley, May, Dawes, Brassington was there last year and youd say the way hes been playing will get a run at some stage again this year. Braedon Jones is ineligible because he is listed at the Dogs. I know they only pick Canberra blokes when they play in Canberra and Sydney/Newcastle when in Sydney

Not sure Deitz the in and outs of how that selection works with Kyall. I am guessing it was something similar to Monky last year maybe. Will see if i can sus it out and let you know. Maybe its got something to do with the old Balmain days or something.

How the junior stuff goin?

I just get sick of the rubbish that gets posted on here by usingtheforce.
You arent alone there in thinking that! I wonder what his football experience is as his opinion seems to be holier than thou and noone else can have an opinion different to him on the stuff he sprouts. You are making your club look stupid by the stuff you post on here and while everyone should be talking up their players at their and telling us how good they are, you are going way over the top.
Ive got nothing against the players and know they all can play but if they get on here Im sure they would get sick of you pumping up their tyres all the time and basically putting a target on their backs.

Mate the rep team's done and dusted, no one from Gosford made the team and No i dont think no one from Gosford deserved to make it. As I said before if you can talk the talk Lets see you walk the walk. Yet to see it Force, yet to see it Miss BD, and also if you can give it you gotta learn to take it. If people like yourselves and your players can sit on the sidelines and bag Cardiff players out like in last years finals, why cant you take it back??? what did you think we would shut up shop when the shoe is on the other foot? As the famous old saying goes " What comes around goes around! " I remember the theme from the Dogs and City last year when they beat our boys, yelling &*%K Cardiff, That's grace isn't it Miss BD.... Yeah well we're gunning for you all this year.

Well when you get your facts right i may listen. 2 Players from Gosford were selected not lets see if you can work it out who.
Oh yeah and just for your own record so you don't sprout the preverbial again, you can actually read back thru all the posts i have put up and nowhere do i bag out an opposition team. I maybe passionate for the team i support but i have never bagged out an oppostion team, so when you stop spreading the untruths maybe we can chat about the real game

Mate the rep team's done and dusted,

Totally agree with you here Treehugger, lets find something new to discuss we've just about done this one to death! I have heard from my source at Cardiff that Shaun Smith is back at training and is about 2 weeks away, Jeremy Kocon is making his way back in the ressies along with Liam Gibson. I haven't seen any of these guys play but apparently they all can????????

You arent alone there in thinking that! I wonder what his football experience is as his opinion seems to be holier than thou and noone else can have an opinion different to him on the stuff he sprouts. You are making your club look stupid by the stuff you post on here and while everyone should be talking up their players at their and telling us how good they are, you are going way over the top.
Ive got nothing against the players and know they all can play but if they get on here Im sure they would get sick of you pumping up their tyres all the time and basically putting a target on their backs.

Weagles, Read back thru the post i have already revealed who i am so come talk to me directly

lol you're funny Tree Hugger...make no mistake though. You might be gunning for everyone else, but EVERYONE is gunning for you. Cardiff can win as many games as they like through the season beacuse guess wat? You only need to lose once.

I actually deleted that post cause I'm over all this bickering and I was way out of line, thats good that EVERYONE is gunning for us Milky, EXCELLENT in fact, MAKE no mistake about that, IT actually does make a lot of sense for teams to be gunning for each other And everything you said above is 100% correct.

Mate the rep team's done and dusted,

Totally agree with you here Treehugger, lets find something new to discuss we've just about done this one to death! I have heard from my source at Cardiff that Shaun Smith is back at training and is about 2 weeks away, Jeremy Kocon is making his way back in the ressies along with Liam Gibson. I haven't seen any of these guys play but apparently they all can????????

Shaun Smith is a quality player, mind you so is Liam Gibson and Jeremy Kocon is a very versitile and a consitant performer. Cardiff will be a very strong (i mean stronger) outfit when all these boys get fit and back on the park.

I dont think anyone can deny that at full strength they ooze class across all lines.

I actually deleted that post cause I'm over all this bickering and I was way out of line, thats good that EVERYONE is gunning for us Milky, EXCELLENT in fact, MAKE no mistake about that, IT actually does make a lot of sense for teams to be gunning for each other And everything you said above is 100% correct.

I'm glad I saw that quoted in another post. Believe me, if I could 'walk the walk' I would, because I'd love to play. I don't imagine any of you guys have an idea how frustrating it is to sit on the sidelines every week, because of course, everyone knows sideline critics know the most about the game ;)

At the Cardiff v WB match a few weeks ago there was some suggestion of a tug-of-war between the ladies from each club. Alas, I didn't have the appropriate attire but it would have been great fun I imagine.

I agree TreeHugger, let's all agree to be grown-ups now and stop bickering, shall we?

Go getum Miss BD, i think its great. Have you any suggestions on players that didnt make it that should of for unknown reasons.

I have to ask to Miss BD, you obviously follow some team in the BDAFL or get out to some of the games?

Unfortunately I have no life so am able to make it to most of the games of a particular club...I'm fairly sure you could work out which one.
If I revealed who I thought was missing from the rep team I'd be showing my personal bias ;)

Tips for this week forum;

Cardiff vs Gos........Have to pick Gosford cos its my team
Wyong vs Nelson.... Wyong 10 goals
Terrigal vs City....... City 8 goals dependant if any injuries to any rep guys
Killarney vs Warners..... Killarney 4 goals. Its at home so they may have
players playing that won't play away

This is a true non #hit Stirring opinion.

Hawks V Tiges........ I'll go with Cardiff to win the game, not sure by how many but it'll be a hard ask to come to Billy Elliott and take the points, A couple of players who may be back in the Hawks line up this weekend, Gibson and Kocon maybe for firsts and Shawn Smith will likely be coming back through the ressies. Ryan maybe out for the Hawks, has the tribunal been done yet?

Panthers V Blues.........City by 40 points, they are looking good at the moment the Blues but Terrigal will make a game of it.

Bombers V Dogs......... Dogs by 40 points, Killarney are struggling a bit at the moment and abviously have a bit of a injury problem, from what I hear the Dogs do too but I think there may be a bit more depth at the Dogs.

I'm glad I saw that quoted in another post. Believe me, if I could 'walk the walk' I would, because I'd love to play. I don't imagine any of you guys have an idea how frustrating it is to sit on the sidelines every week, because of course, everyone knows sideline critics know the most about the game ;)

At the Cardiff v WB match a few weeks ago there was some suggestion of a tug-of-war between the ladies from each club. Alas, I didn't have the appropriate attire but it would have been great fun I imagine.

I agree TreeHugger, let's all agree to be grown-ups now and stop bickering, shall we?

Yes we shall, lets face it with all these on line persona's, there all prob good blokes in real life just looking for a bit of a stir up. We are all watching and playing this Great Australian Game in a Rugby League dominated area. It's high time we started sticking together as an Australian Football League. Sure rip into each other on the field, play hard but lets support Football off it otherwise its never going to grow in this area. The potential is there. We all just have to believe in it.

I have heard from my source at Cardiff that Shaun Smith is back at training and is about 2 weeks away, Jeremy Kocon is making his way back in the ressies along with Liam Gibson. I haven't seen any of these guys play but apparently they all can????????

yeah that sounds pretty right from what i've heard.
Gibson and Kocon along with Lee Krake and Shawn Simpson should all be playing this week, not sure what grades though.

yeah that sounds pretty right from what i've heard.
Gibson and Kocon along with Lee Krake and Shawn Simpson should all be playing this week, not sure what grades though.

Cardiff only going to get stronger as the year goes on,cant see anybody beating them but you never no. What about the clubs at the other end, how can we stop the thrashings and strengthen the comp?
Do we still have too many teams? Mergers or some clubs folding ie I know Singleton have discussed merging with Muswellbrook(although they have gone from premiers 2 bottom in 3 years!) maybe Nelsons as well;)Upper hunter team?

Wyong fold and strengthen other coast teams? As some quality, just not the quantity!!

Miss BD, I know that at least 2 clubs in the Tamworth afl have an annual "girls" match which would be a change from the sidelines, now thats a better idea than that netball comp!!:thumbsdown:

I beleive the day raises money, so its a win/win situation and something different that could spark all new rivalries!!;)

Cardiff only going to get stronger as the year goes on,cant see anybody beating them but you never no. What about the clubs at the other end, how can we stop the thrashings and strengthen the comp?
Do we still have too many teams? Mergers or some clubs folding ie I know Singleton have discussed merging with Muswellbrook(although they have gone from premiers 2 bottom in 3 years!) maybe Nelsons as well;)Upper hunter team?

Wyong fold and strengthen other coast teams? As some quality, just not the quantity!!

hard question,

Biggest problem here in the BD is that our top 2 sides in cardiff and city are stronger than they really should be. Both these sides would hold there own in the sydney comp, where they would be competing against other senior clubs who are fed by a number of junior clubs each. where as here in the BD every senior clubs is fed from just a single junior club.

in terms of how do we make the weaker clubs stronger well. I know that the majority of players from both cardiff and city do additional training. (This shows becasue you often hear match reports where a weaker clubs was in it till half or 3/4 time before they were run over.)

Other thing to is to keep the quality players at your club, everyone winges about cardiff but they have been pretty much the same team for the last 5 years or so.

hard question,

Biggest problem here in the BD is that our top 2 sides in cardiff and city are stronger than they really should be. Both these sides would hold there own in the sydney comp, where they would be competing against other senior clubs who are fed by a number of junior clubs each. where as here in the BD every senior clubs is fed from just a single junior club.

in terms of how do we make the weaker clubs stronger well. I know that the majority of players from both cardiff and city do additional training. (This shows becasue you often hear match reports where a weaker clubs was in it till half or 3/4 time before they were run over.)

Other thing to is to keep the quality players at your club, everyone winges about cardiff but they have been pretty much the same team for the last 5 years or so.

Yeah I think there are probably a few to many teams in the comp, I reckon they should try a comp with 3 teams from Newcastle ( Dogs, Blues & Hawks ) & 3 teams from the coast ( Bombers, Terrigal, Tigers ) either that or possibly merge some clubs together. I know Wyong, The Crows and Nelson Bay would not want to fold and its nothing personal but the only way the competitions standard will improve is with less teams which should provide more depth to say a Gosford and Terrigal.

I think the junior comp can still hold many clubs but at first & reserve grade level there's perhaps too many clubs. Less is more so to speak.

What do you guys think, Is it feasible?

hard question,

Just wondering which junior clubs feed Cardiff or City, besides their own?

As far as how to make the weaker clubs stronger, they have to recruit some quality in the short term, supplemented by serious junior development in the longer term.

This league is about recruitment. If Wyong recruited say 6 quality guys, they would become a competitive force I think you would find. They have some good kids coming through and this would simply top them up nicely.

Using Cardiff for example, if a younger player is blooded into an already strong team, with a winning culture, he will settle in at a quicker rate than a kid who is getting smashed all day and always under pressure on the few occassions he actually gets the pill.

The challenge without the open cheque book is how to get the recruits in the first place.

Some degree of professionalism is what a guy looking for a new club is looking for as well. If he is thinks the club isn't heading anywhere, then he probably will be looking at the next club down the road.

Yeah I think there are probably a few to many teams in the comp, I reckon they should try a comp with 3 teams from Newcastle ( Dogs, Blues & Hawks ) & 3 teams from the coast ( Bombers, Terrigal, Tigers ) either that or possibly merge some clubs together. I know Wyong, The Crows and Nelson Bay would not want to fold and its nothing personal but the only way the competitions standard will improve is with less teams which should provide more depth to say a Gosford and Terrigal.

I think the junior comp can still hold many clubs but at first & reserve grade level there's perhaps too many clubs. Less is more so to speak.

What do you guys think, Is it feasible?

The problem with this system and at least you are giving it some thought, so not having a go, but City, Cardiff and the Bay for example, all have heaps of players this year, so unless like some other leagues, where there is thirds, where do the 100 + players from Lake 3 grades, Nelson 1 Grade, Singleton 2 Grades end up.

Just wondering which junior clubs feed Cardiff or City, besides their own?

That was kind of my point, cardiff and city are stronger than they really should be considering there both only feed from 1 junior club each.

main reasons for this i think aside from both clubs having sucessfull juniors over the years is, city haveing No1 sportsground and RAAF players and cardiff's success and Army player in recent years.

Agree with all of you and i believe there is a solution in there, possibly a mixture of both culling the team numbers and the lower teams recruiting more!!
As a wyong junior i know 1st hand how hard it is to recruit players to a lower team. Here is an example of the players i have either trained with at wyong or the club held talks to get them to play... Cutler,Page,Smith and Bushy... all rep players at 1 time or another!! and all trained at wyong with Bushy playing the odd game. Darling of terrigal was in talks as was fellow league B&F Austerberry (Bubbles) and i believe that Kolb bloke from a year or 2 ago. I am not whinging as i myself will be moving on next year(sick of the infighting) just showing the rest of you an insight of how hard it is to get them to sigh when your at the bottom...wish we had a draft:D
The club did get big Pete (7 foot ruck) last year but that was biggest waste of money!!! Dont know exact amount but could of bought half the rep team!!! cheers

That was kind of my point, cardiff and city are stronger than they really should be considering there both only feed from 1 junior club each.

main reasons for this i think aside from both clubs having sucessfull juniors over the years is, city haveing No1 sportsground and RAAF players and cardiff's success and Army player in recent years.

In past years the clubs with RAAF contingents have definitely benefited, but with the recent dramas around the place, you rely on these guys at your peril as they are away all the time.

Ask Nelson Bay and Wallsend who both had heaps, City and Cardiff no longer rely on these instead have heaps of juniors coming through, so are on the right track.

Cardiff a little ahead on that track as well, with a heap of developed Juniors topped up with the likes of Ryan etc.

Success will attract recruits, so its hard for the cellar dwellers to paint a picture that will cause a guy to choose them over a so called top club.

Its a cycle, but the wheel only turns with the right strategy.

If the bottom clubs aren't proactive then they may well fall on their own sword.

The hardest thing Noodles, is I bet you dont head to Macquarie for example.

If you have had to leave the club you love, I bet you will go for a club that is up there, not a fellow struggler, although you would probably enjoy the social side of things more at a more relaxed club 9 times out of 10.

Swans12 agree that there would be excess players if we had 6 team comp, but disagree with the amount. I know at our club there at least 12 ppl playing 2 games or more, with some including that Sain bloke from the Crows- against us he played in all three!!!

I also believe some are just playing to try and keep their clubs afloat, we got 1 who i think can get his pension card;)
Possibly as mentioned before if numbers were there then the remaining clubs could field a 3's team or maybe an over 35's.
I just believe that some clubs are delaying the obvious