Black Diamond AFL

Swans12, Spot on mate I would be the same and look for a more competieytive team, got a young family now so dont to enjoy the social side as much as i did! I have actually played for all the remaining coast teams at 1 point in my playing days(Wyong folded before) so its not that hard to leave(a lot of good blokes tho) i feel sorry for the blokes who are up there and have the talent but have hacks like me filling in after alreadyplaying 2's it would be very frustrating cos some1 just didn't turn up! happens a lot!!!

Mate i would be happy playing in a decent 2's team with 22 on 22 have a beer afterwards, win a few games would be a bonus!!!:D

Swans12 agree that there would be excess players if we had 6 team comp, but disagree with the amount. I know at our club there at least 12 ppl playing 2 games or more, with some including that Sain bloke from the Crows- against us he played in all three!!!

I also believe some are just playing to try and keep their clubs afloat, we got 1 who i think can get his pension card;)
Possibly as mentioned before if numbers were there then the remaining clubs could field a 3's team or maybe an over 35's.
I just believe that some clubs are delaying the obvious

Agreed there are some clubs with guys backing up, but some others are seriously sitting guys out as they have plenty of numbers.

Numbers wise, Nelson Bay would have 30 guys at least Singleton are only backing up a few 18's, so there are say 40 guys and Macquaire would certainly have 50 guys over 3 grades, giving you around 120 that would be available, but where do they head.

4 clubs in Newcastle is the perfect answer, the question, how do we get the others to that club, as I concur with you, say Nelson Bay folded, which I personally dont want, I bet some of their guys would go to City, Cardiff and Warners Bay before revisiting floggings at Lake Macquarie.

I have palyed with premiership clubs and also clubs that have been winless for years, so I do feel for those struggling.

Swans12 agree that there would be excess players if we had 6 team comp, but disagree with the amount. I know at our club there at least 12 ppl playing 2 games or more, with some including that Sain bloke from the Crows- against us he played in all three!!!

I also believe some are just playing to try and keep their clubs afloat, we got 1 who i think can get his pension card;)
Possibly as mentioned before if numbers were there then the remaining clubs could field a 3's team or maybe an over 35's.
I just believe that some clubs are delaying the obvious

Agree with the idea of a 3 teir comp in the seniors with the extra numbers. Not an over 35's but first, Reserves & dunno the name for the third. But with the third grade you could have unlimited interchange so everyone who just wants a run on a saturday get one.

The only prob would be if a side is short in the thirds, what would they do then? Maybe an intra club or training run to make up for the match I guess. I dont think that fining a club for failing to field a third grade team would be the way to go. No doubt some bonehead board member does seeing they make people pay $8+ to go and watch a game of footy at number 1.

This is a true non #hit Stirring opinion.

Hawks V Tiges........ I'll go with Cardiff to win the game, not sure by how many but it'll be a hard ask to come to Billy Elliott and take the points, A couple of players who may be back in the Hawks line up this weekend, Gibson and Kocon maybe for firsts and Shawn Smith will likely be coming back through the ressies. Ryan maybe out for the Hawks, has the tribunal been done yet?

Panthers V Blues.........City by 40 points, they are looking good at the moment the Blues but Terrigal will make a game of it.

Bombers V Dogs......... Dogs by 40 points, Killarney are struggling a bit at the moment and abviously have a bit of a injury problem, from what I hear the Dogs do too but I think there may be a bit more depth at the Dogs.

Tribunal hasnt been held yet so unsure if it will before the weekend. I doubt it though as the people attending the tribunal have to have 48hours notice and i have to attend and i havent been notified as yet and its 3.30 on Wednesday afternoon.

Miss BD, I know that at least 2 clubs in the Tamworth afl have an annual "girls" match which would be a change from the sidelines, now thats a better idea than that netball comp!!:thumbsdown:

I beleive the day raises money, so its a win/win situation and something different that could spark all new rivalries!!;)

What an awesome idea! Do any of you know of any wives/gfs/sisters/friends who would be interested in playing?

Also, about the weaker clubs. I think the face of the league will change in the next few years as different population centres emerge. Am I right in thinking that Maitland used to have a club which folded? Since last year they've reformed and have been running a few junior sides. From the sounds of it (I know one of the families who were involved in reestablishing the club) there's been a surprising level of interest. With luck, they'll eventually be able to field teams across all grades. I guess with this natural process of evolution some teams might be forced to fold.

Been out all day and came back to read all the posts about how we could fix the league by making the bottom struggling teams stronger etc. If you read the posts everyone seems to have the same thought or gripe whichever the way you want to put it. It seems that the flaw in our league is the junior development. Some clubs have it some clubs don't. Some clubs do it well and others don't. Is it down to dollars available in the club???
I know some clubs either have or seem to have better facilities hence give the impression of money available to the club over some of the others. Maybe if the AFL is serious about injecting that obscene amount of money into AFL in NSW for a second team. Maybe they should re-direct some of the money. Maybe create a junior fund for each club which they regulate to allow clubs to bring up the standard of junior development and facilities at the clubs themselves. The clubs apply for a budget/ grant each year from the AFL to solely run the junior side of the club. This could either keep of attract new juniors that would come and enjoy the game and flow thru into the seniors. Ban any type of incentive scheme to lure juniors away from other league clubs until they are to old for under 18's. If your caught, the club looses funding for 12 months or preimership points or something to deter it.

Not a quick fix idea but maybe a long term one to keep the clubs afloat. I know the AFL has junior development squads around but i don't think it helps a club directly, sure it develops kids but they just seem to migrate to the strong clubs. If clubs don't or can't survive then there is no comp.

Noone wants to play in a league of 6 teams where you play a team 3 or 4 times a year. Twice is good enough.

I dont know if the standard of footy is good I dont see a problem playing teams 3 or 4 times a year. The region cant support 8 senior teams.

But that was what it was like pre-Black Diamond era. You had your Newcastle league and your Central Coast league. I was playing for Woy Woy back then and it wasnt real good either. Geez now i sound old, that was some 20 years ago.
I agree with the thought in principle of a Central Coast team folding or merging to bring up the standard but they shouldn't have to.
On the Central Coast, we have to many teams pulling players from the same geographical area, Gosford, Killarney and stuck in the middle Terrigal. With Woy Woy folding it has freed up some of those players to spread to other teams on the Coast. I believe Terrigal got John Spillard, Darren Edmonson and Shane Higgins and we at Gosford got a few. Don't know about Killarney. Wyong is a little further up the road so they should not have the same trouble of pulling players from the same areas, so not sure why they aren't stronger? Newcastle teams i think are more reasonably spread out arent they?
I think the issue is we can quick fix it now by having teams fold to strengthen sides in their area but i see the knock on effect in years to come of players leaving the code and not coming back because they can't get a game or a regular game because of to many plays in the area for a smaller number of clubs. This would then place the clubs back in the situation they are in now.
We need more players in the code but have the current amount of teams. You would hope out of more players you would find a number of talented ones that would be spread across the clubs. To offset that, if we have a good genuine junior comp with huge numbers, this should generate the next generation of talent hence survival. If you look thru the team sheets so far this year, i don't think there is a side who have regulary put 22 players on the ground in under 18's and that includes front runners Cardiff. Cardiff seem to have a side most of the weeks with the most players on average around 18, where most other sides are below that. So there is a shortage in the junior development coming thru hence junior talent. This is and will have effects as the oldies get older and retire and the talent coming thru or numbers coming thru is not great to re-stock sides. Deitzy you have worked with the juniors, any reason you can see about the dwindling stocks of Juniors, are they going to other codes or just not playing sports?

Working with AFL development the process is that we go into schools and do 30-40 minute clinics with each class k-6. We promote the local club and hand out generic Play AFL flyers to the kids and if the local club wants we will hand out specific information, however not many clubs on the central coast do this. The other thing we do is the after school auskick where we have 5 clinics a week in term 1 with a different club area every day. The junior clubs seem more supportive of this and promoting their clubs to people who are already paying to do the program.
I also think the success of the Jets and the Mariners would have had an affect on our numbers. The hype around the a-league went into late Feburary, exactly the time all 4 codes are trying to get kids to sign up. To put things in perspective one of the blokes at work plays for a soccer club that has 34 teams, 750 players and this is the 3rd smallest club on the central coast. The entire central coast junior AFL have about 550 registered kids so we're up against it.
The code is making progress. In my opinion in order to be taken really seriously we need to have a strong 8-10 team BDAFL comp. Over time I think this can happen. Needs a lot of work put in, but if the right people got on board it could be a reality. Id hate to see it go back to a 6 team comp because having played in the old CCAFL days, it was crap with 5 teams compared to what we have now. In 99 we won 2 games and played finals so that felt pretty hollow.
Usingtheforce, I hear you have a new role at the Tigers now?

Working with AFL development the process is that we go into schools and do 30-40 minute clinics with each class k-6. We promote the local club and hand out generic Play AFL flyers to the kids and if the local club wants we will hand out specific information, however not many clubs on the central coast do this. The other thing we do is the after school auskick where we have 5 clinics a week in term 1 with a different club area every day. The junior clubs seem more supportive of this and promoting their clubs to people who are already paying to do the program.
I also think the success of the Jets and the Mariners would have had an affect on our numbers. The hype around the a-league went into late Feburary, exactly the time all 4 codes are trying to get kids to sign up. To put things in perspective one of the blokes at work plays for a soccer club that has 34 teams, 750 players and this is the 3rd smallest club on the central coast. The entire central coast junior AFL have about 550 registered kids so we're up against it.
The code is making progress. In my opinion in order to be taken really seriously we need to have a strong 8-10 team BDAFL comp. Over time I think this can happen. Needs a lot of work put in, but if the right people got on board it could be a reality. Id hate to see it go back to a 6 team comp because having played in the old CCAFL days, it was crap with 5 teams compared to what we have now. In 99 we won 2 games and played finals so that felt pretty hollow.
Usingtheforce, I hear you have a new role at the Tigers now?

Yes mate not by choice but won't let the club down. Will be chatting to you i think

Tips for this week forum;

Cardiff vs Gos........Have to pick Gosford cos its my team
Wyong vs Nelson.... Wyong 10 goals
Terrigal vs City....... City 8 goals dependant if any injuries to any rep guys
Killarney vs Warners..... Killarney 4 goals. Its at home so they may have
players playing that won't play away

Cardiff vs Gosford ......... Cardiff by 10, Gosford will give it to Cardiff but will prob fall away towards the end
Wyong vs Nelson Bay ....... Will be closer then most people think,Wyong by 2 goals
Terrigal vs City ........ Will also be close, We are missing 8 blokes due to injury and work commitments, City by 5 goals
Killarney vs Warners ........ Hard to pick, ill take Warners by a point with the last kick of the game.

Reading over the posts regarding player numbers, over the past 5 weeks we have had 7 to 10 players sitting out because of the amount of players we have at the club, this week with 8 blokes missing from the 1s and a hand full from the magoo's we are going to struggle to field a full 22 in the magoo's. I know most clubs struggle to field a full 22 in the magoo's every week and this will probably be the only time this year we have this problem but it is hard, i would just hate to be one of those clubs that struggle with it week in week out.

Interesting to see last night at training former Newcastle Knights player Stephen Crowe was down for a run, he has filled out a rego formed and is good to go for the weekend.

In regards to selection for the rep side each year, As a prelude to the naming of the squad they could bring back the Central Coast V Newcastle representative clash. This would give the selectors an opportunity to witness most players from each area at a higher standard than club footy before naming the squad.

I know at the moment it may be a one sided game but at least all players will be givin an opportunity to get selected.

In regards to selection for the rep side each year, As a prelude to the naming of the squad they could bring back the Central Coast V Newcastle representative clash. This would give the selectors an opportunity to witness most players from each area at a higher standard than club footy before naming the squad.

I know at the moment it may be a one sided game but at least all players will be givin an opportunity to get selected.

Similar to the NRL City vs Country match is that what you mean?

What a bloody awesome idea!!!

It showcases the talent from the entire region.

Yeah good thought. Would make for an interesting game. Bit of rivalry between the areas. VOTE 1 for that idea

Good to see the discussion turning to developing the local comp.

Seems to me up to now the growth has been pretty random depending on what individuals were keeping teams afloat. The comp should have a plan and work toward it.

Suggestions:

1. A 10 team comp with 1s, ressies & 18s. 18 rounds, play each other twice, keep it simple and professional.
2. Work out where you want teams and MAKE IT HAPPEN. Maitland and Nelson Bay/Port Stephens should have teams.
3. The league's charter is to develop AFL. Nothing else matters compared to A. Develop juniors - this keeps the comp alive and growing.
B. Develop Club infrastructure. Two years of low level commitment destroys clubs - Maitland, Bateau Bay, Wallsend, Woy Woy, Wests.

Great to see passion for the game. If we have 10 strong clubs with 10 -20 junior clubs feeding the great AUSSIE game will grow and we will all have 9 other teams to really hate.

Interested in talk about the gap between sides in the BDAFL. I think Deitzy is spot on with the need to develop the league with a strong 8-10 team comp. Reducing the number of teams is going to bore players who have to front up agains the same opposition every 3 or 4 weeks. Sounding old now but in the NAFL and CCFL days there were a lot of clubs going around and the comp seemed fairly even but we can't do that with pressure from soccer and league now. There are some clubs, and one in particular in Newcastle, who leave players out every week. These players have, I assume, payed rego and are therefore wasting their money by paying and not playing. I have nothing against people who want to have a crack and get a kick in the side but maybe the BDAFL could offer incentives in the form of rego subsidy (maybe provided by AFLNSW and their huge F***ING coffers) to players who want to go to a bottom four side? I admit this would not give struggling clubs first grade players or the like but it would stop players, be they 18s or not, having to back up and running out to play first grade already buggered and sore. What does everyone think?

My first post, and probably a stupid one, cheers

I reckon thats a fantastic idea. I know the juniors play the challenge shield from 10s to 16s, could be a massive day on the footy calendar if they went 10s to 18s in the morning/day and played the senior game under lights at No 1 or Killarney.
In response to Cityinsider with regards to player numbers, I cant believe the numbers we have been getting to training this year at Warners Bay. With over 50 blokes rocking up to training it makes competition for spots fierce in both grades, which then should improve performance on the weekend. I believe that City and Cardiff get similar numbers.Why is this the case in Newcastle and not the Central Coast? Have no doubt that blokes playing in Newcastle would more than likely be working in the area and alot of blokes on the Coast commute to Sydney and couldnt be stuffed going to training after dealing with the F3 and working all day. I know when I was at Gosford if we had 35 blokes at training we would be cheering and that only really happened from the time Spinksy took over in 2006. I can speak from experience the difficulties we had at Gosford at the end of 2004 when we had 30 blokes available to play the last game of the year across 3 grades out at Terrigal. I think everyone played at least 2 games that day including a 53 year old bloke who had never played before getting a run in the ressies and seniors!

I reckon thats a fantastic idea. I know the juniors play the challenge shield from 10s to 16s, could be a massive day on the footy calendar if they went 10s to 18s in the morning/day and played the senior game under lights at No 1 or Killarney.
In response to Cityinsider with regards to player numbers, I cant believe the numbers we have been getting to training this year at Warners Bay. With over 50 blokes rocking up to training it makes competition for spots fierce in both grades, which then should improve performance on the weekend. I believe that City and Cardiff get similar numbers.Why is this the case in Newcastle and not the Central Coast? Have no doubt that blokes playing in Newcastle would more than likely be working in the area and alot of blokes on the Coast commute to Sydney and couldnt be stuffed going to training after dealing with the F3 and working all day. I know when I was at Gosford if we had 35 blokes at training we would be cheering and that only really happened from the time Spinksy took over in 2006. I can speak from experience the difficulties we had at Gosford at the end of 2004 when we had 30 blokes available to play the last game of the year across 3 grades out at Terrigal. I think everyone played at least 2 games that day including a 53 year old bloke who had never played before getting a run in the ressies and seniors!

Hey deitzy who the hell was that, maybe we could get him back for another game or 2 haha. This year mate we have a regular turn up of about 30ish. Mainly all 1st graders 1 or 2 ressies and 1 or 2 18's. Ressies are having the best year they have had in a while and are in the hunt so hopefully some of those guys may start turning up again. Its so hard when we play a winter sport and we have a ******* of a council who close the grounds just because a bird leaked on the grass. Can't get on the ground early in the season cos its to hot, can't get on the ground if to wet. Next it will be if it's to cold so to try and keep the motivation up for guys to get to training is hard as you know. I know No1 gets closed when it becomes an inland lake but whats the councils like up there. Do they close it at the first sign of rain?

Agree Gosford council goes overboard with ground closures. The fact there is a cricket pitch there wouldnt help matters either. I cant speak for other clubs but I know we get on the oval more often than not in the wet. Thank god it rained last week but because the ground was like concrete before that. The excuse for it being too cold is pisspoor and will always be that way. Im sure the successful clubs dont have that issue.
Couldnt tell ya the old blokes name who played. I just remember walking out at 3/4 time in the 2s and asking who could back up for 1s, he put his hand up so it was welcome aboard.

Agree Gosford council goes overboard with ground closures. The fact there is a cricket pitch there wouldnt help matters either. I cant speak for other clubs but I know we get on the oval more often than not in the wet. Thank god it rained last week but because the ground was like concrete before that. The excuse for it being too cold is pisspoor and will always be that way. Im sure the successful clubs dont have that issue.
Couldnt tell ya the old blokes name who played. I just remember walking out at 3/4 time in the 2s and asking who could back up for 1s, he put his hand up so it was welcome aboard.

No No mate i meant the "its to cold" as a tongue in cheek comment for the next excuse the council will use to keep clubs off the grounds. It is getting bloody ridiculous. I think our guys would win the BDAFL swimming carnival with the amount of time they have to spend at the pool to try and stay fit. I found out last week that the excuse the council gave was a load of the preverbial to not let us on the ground to train before the 1st game of the season was that they wanted the grass to have one months rest between the cricket season and the footy season to regenerate. Well the cricket finished 4-6 weeks early this year so the ground had nearly 2 1/2 months of no sport. It sucks, says something for finding a rich benefactor that has unused land in your area and lease it to build a ground and stuff the council hey?

Anyone heard how Gordo and Gooligong are doing in the sydney league?

Heard news that Aron Monk is doing very well over in Perth league for East Freo. Has had a call up into the higher ranks of the league over there and got 1 weeks suspension for the 1st time in his life for a raised forearm or something like that. I guy came at him he put his arm up to protect himself and another guy running past ran into his elbow. Never been reported before from what i understand and got a week first time appearence so the reports said.

:thumbsdown:usingtheforce, stop dribbling u are letting us down STILL, Your bad news on here and u have to much time on your hands. Pull ya head in. And dont come talk to me at training about it either.

Anyone heard how Gordo and Gooligong are doing in the sydney league?

Heard news that Aron Monk is doing very well over in Perth league for East Freo. Has had a call up into the higher ranks of the league over there and got 1 weeks suspension for the 1st time in his life for a raised forearm or something like that. I guy came at him he put his arm up to protect himself and another guy running past ran into his elbow. Never been reported before from what i understand and got a week first time appearence so the reports said.

Seen some results, Goolagongs kicking a few goals havnt seen much of Gordo's name thrown around but,

Its not the perth League Its the WAFL, I wish he came back to Gossie his humour is sadly missed by all.

I hear Murch Is carving up down South, kicked a load of goals, love to se him back one day.