Black Diamond AFL

whats the latest on the grounds on the coast?? its midweek and showers are expect through to the weekend. i know the councils love slapping a closed sign on them but are games likely to go ahead?

Adcock Park is currently under lock down by the Council because someone sneezed on the grass and dampened it. We havent hardly had rain during the day here and its still closed so not holding out much hope for the weekend. Don't know about the other grounds on the Coast but i am guessing they are the same

When a report is made of a player/incident by the umpire, they report on paper as to what happen. each umpire carries or has available to them a set of rules which he sorry or she has to decide which category it falls into, if its a strike what part of the body, was it intentional or in a contest etc etc. That paperwork then goes off to the league and the GM reads the report and evidence supplied which is usually just the paperwork relating to the report as we very rarely have video evidence. From that the GM has a set of guidelines to follow to assess firstly does it carry a penalty and if so is it at a level of a prescribed penalty which is offered to the player, or if it falls outside those penalties does it have to go direct to the tribunal. The player or club also has the right to appeal a prescribed penalty either for innocence or serverity which is then passed onto and the matter is heard at a tribunal. At the tribunal they hear both side of the story, assess the information at hand and make a decision of guilty or not guilty. They can increase or decrease the penalty. Obviously with Mick Ryans case, the evidence either for or against determined the decision. Would be very hard for a tribunal these days when only replying on word of mouth.

Okay, thanks :)

OK, Lets get a few things clear here.

1. usingtheforce you have way to much time on your hands.

2. I'm agreeing with another (Cardiff Player) blogger that we turned the ball way over to much. We make crap decisions when we have ball in hand and until we begin to rectify that we will continually make our game harder. I also agree with Deitzy that when you have a 5 goal breeze you kick 5 goals not 1. Cardiff were the better team on the day, but I believe they can be beaten. Good luck to city this weekend. Our coach wanted something out of us and we didn't provide.

3. People from our club are quite sick of you coming on here and making the club and ppl in our club look like idiots. Alot of ppl in our club know who your are on here and know what you write and would prefer that you didnt write anything. You really make yourself look stupid. As a member of our committee you should really bite your tounge and stop putting unnecessary pressure on our club.

amen

There are a number of junior umpires already goal and boundary umpiring in the seniors. They all take their roles pretty seriously. They may on ocassions not make the most correct decsion. One junior player has already field umpired a number of Under 18 games. At the moment a number of these junior umpires are only 13 and 14 years old. Whilst they may not have the experience (->knowledge) a number are junior representative players and as "Using the force" mentioned about club umpires they generally attempt to let the game flow whilst protecting the players safety. Whilst I agree with an earlier comment that some of the junior umpires are NOT up to it ,there are a number that "could" be for Under 18's and possibly Reserves. Only those junior umpires assessed to be "capable(??) be considered and On the proviso that players coaches officials spectators resepected their inexperience. Too much to ask? Or is by encouraging this at an early age and possibly of just One bad experience could be detrimental to their development???

On the weekend briefly saw something on TV regarding umpires being clapped onto the field by both teams before a country Victoria game??. Sorry can't find it mentioned on the web but forund this:

SHOWING RESPECT TOWARDS UMPIRES IS CRITICAL

AFL Queensland has sent out a reminder to all clubs and supporters of the game in the State to both respect umpires, and be particularly supportive of umpires who wear green shirts.

The green shirt signifies an inexperienced umpire - one who is club-based, is an AFL Auskick Rules umpire, or is first year junior umpire being mentored.

"It goes without saying that you can't have a game without an umpire, so the fostering of people who are prepared to be umpires simply has to be encouraged," said AFLQ Umpire Development Manager Andrew Cross.

"Please be aware that any umpire in an AFLQ competition who wears a green shirt will be inexperienced.

"Everyone understands that football is an emotional game, but it is important now more than ever that players, officials and supporters avoid directing any negative thoughts or feelings toward the umpires..

"This is especially the case for our club based, Auskick and first year junior umpires."

There is an umpire shortage is several areas, despite the 2007 season having already started.

AFLQ is particularly short of umpires in the Under 18, Women's and lower State Association grades.

"This just reiterates that it is essential that clubs provide as much encouragement and support to the umpire program as possible," Cross said.

He added that AFL Queensland was in the process of ensuring that all club based umpires have undertaken or will undertake a basic umpires course.

And he welcomed any former players, current players or general supporters of the game to contact their Regional Umpires Manager if they wished to take up umpiring. A scale of payments apply for all field, boundary and goal umpires which escalates through the grades.

The above comments generally applies to our competition. With a number of the junior umpires now in their second year they also wear orange shirts just like the senior umpires.

I think it will be fantastic if the current bunch of junior umpires progress. Hopefull they won't be put off or tainted by some of the would be if the could be crowds which seem to be at all grounds at some stage during the season. It is hard enough trying to make split second decisions on the field so the calss aren't late. The crowd needs to understand that their view compared to that of the umpire could and most like is different. Different angles, sometimes the umpire is blind sided or could consider that a player has played for a free. As long as they pay what they see not what they think might of just happened and keep the game safe for the player going the ball, our game should be in good hands. I have even tried to hand my whistle to a crowd member one day who thought they could do a better job. Naturally they declind and were strangely quiet the rest of the game. Anyone seen that little tiny junior umpire with the dark hair. He seems good value?

HOW DARE YOU MAKE FUN OF THAT SUBJECT!!! You are getting worse and totally crossed the line of decency. I used to enjoy the banter with you as thats what a forum is for and to disguss peoples thoughts and passions of the game we all love, but now you are just getting sick and not funny at all. GROW UP WILL YOU THAT IS NOT FUNNY AT ALL!!!!!!

*ON BEHALF OF ALL THE FORUM READERS TO ANYONE WHO HAS SUFFERED A LOSS OF ANYONE DUE TO SUICIDE, THIS IS NOT THE THOUGHTS OF THE FORUM BUT OF ONE INDIVIDUAL AND BY NO MEANS DO WE ACCEPT ANYONE MAKING FUN OF THIS SICKNESS. PLS ACCEPT APPOLIGIES.*

Dear all,

OK, cards on the table time. First apologies to anyone I may have offended with my last post referring to the taboo subject of suicide (herein referred to as the “Salshergate scandal”).

Now before you all nod in agreement with Usingtheforce’s passionate response, please hear me out.

In Australia we have a little thing called the Australian Constitution. And correct me if I’m wrong, but doesn’t the 7th Amendment state “the right to a cooling off period?” With this in mind my original post was posted around 11.55pm on Tuesday night. And in hindsight (regardless of the magnitude of the zinging handed out) I crossed the line of decency. But hindsight is always in 20/20 vision. Now after a 10min cooling off period in which time I had a shower, I decided it would be best to delete the post. Now at that the time Usingtheforce was online, but had yet to reply to aforementioned post. I can only assume at this time he was in the middle of a reply to the now deleted post. And even when I refreshed I saw no reply still and went to bed without guilt, hopeful that 7th Amendment and “the right to a cooling off period” would be upheld.

However by the morning I had checked again before I went to work to ensure that the post did not go out and saw Usingtheforce’s response. Shocked, I sent him a personal message asking if he could delete his reply because it quotes my original post. And because I decided to delete the post within 10mins, I believed it only fair that the Australian Constitution be upheld. However 24hrs later, Usingtheforce has yet to remove the comment.

Now this in no way excuses the post, but if he felt as impassioned about the content, why would he not delete it so no one else would have to see it? Is it because it makes him look like the good guy? That he is upholding some moral high ground that seemed to pass me by? Is it because he is trying to woo Miss BD and that he thinks the chicks dig sensitive, politically correct guys?

Well why else would he feel the need to apologise on my behalf? You don’t know me and you don’t owe anyone on the forum anything. I’m big enough to admit that I’m wrong. If only you were man enough to uphold the Australian Constitution and allow me “the right to a cooling off period” by deleting your response quoting my original post. By not doing so you are merely trying to score cheap political points.

Peace
pp salsher

Dear all,

OK, cards on the table time. First apologies to anyone I may have offended with my last post referring to the taboo subject of suicide (herein referred to as the “Salshergate scandal”).

Now before you all nod in agreement with Usingtheforce’s passionate response, please hear me out.

In Australia we have a little thing called the Australian Constitution. And correct me if I’m wrong, but doesn’t the 7th Amendment state “the right to a cooling off period?” With this in mind my original post was posted around 11.55pm on Tuesday night. And in hindsight (regardless of the magnitude of the zinging handed out) I crossed the line of decency. But hindsight is always in 20/20 vision. Now after a 10min cooling off period in which time I had a shower, I decided it would be best to delete the post. Now at that the time Usingtheforce was online, but had yet to reply to aforementioned post. I can only assume at this time he was in the middle of a reply to the now deleted post. And even when I refreshed I saw no reply still and went to bed without guilt, hopeful that 7th Amendment and “the right to a cooling off period” would be upheld.

However by the morning I had checked again before I went to work to ensure that the post did not go out and saw Usingtheforce’s response. Shocked, I sent him a personal message asking if he could delete his reply because it quotes my original post. And because I decided to delete the post within 10mins, I believed it only fair that the Australian Constitution be upheld. However 24hrs later, Usingtheforce has yet to remove the comment.

Now this in no way excuses the post, but if he felt as impassioned about the content, why would he not delete it so no one else would have to see it? Is it because it makes him look like the good guy? That he is upholding some moral high ground that seemed to pass me by? Is it because he is trying to woo Miss BD and that he thinks the chicks dig sensitive, politically correct guys?

Well why else would he feel the need to apologise on my behalf? You don’t know me and you don’t owe anyone on the forum anything. I’m big enough to admit that I’m wrong. If only you were man enough to uphold the Australian Constitution and allow me “the right to a cooling off period” by deleting your response quoting my original post. By not doing so you are merely trying to score cheap political points.

Peace
pp salsher

Mate,

I would say you are good bloke, just trying top think of something funny to say, but the only posts you have put up since you joined the forum if in paper form, would be suitable for toilet usage.

If you haven't anything constructive to say, then take a walk to another forum or join in the usual crap like the rest of us.

Lets stay on topic and enjoy this for what it is.

I await some childish retort, but hey thats what I think.

I take it you are an umpire? So I'll let you know straight up that the umpires are hopeless! The only good umpire the Black Diamond has got is Ashley Borg....Roger is a complete peanut who has no idea about what footy is about! Just likes to blow his whistle and have the crowd watch him! Every new bloke that comes to the Black Diamond is amazed just how bad the umpires here are...Now I know it's not their fault and they are probably doing their best in most cases, but Roger Crowhurst is a dead set berk...The bloke has no insight and lacks the ability to let a game of footy flow, won't give explanations to players as to why a free kick is given and overall has a bad attitude on the football field...

I guess you are allowed to have your own opinion, however, if Roger is so bad how come: he is 1 of only 2 umpires in the BDAFL with Level 3 accreditation (the highest you can get)? he has umpired over 200 1st grade games in Sydney? he was among the 1st NSW based umpires to go onto the AFL list? he umpired AFL U19's & reserves? he was the 1st NSW based umpire to umpire AFL seniors in 1992? he has umpired the last 3 BDAFL 1st grade grand finals? Why did the BDAFL ask him to coach the other umpires? Not to mention his past umpiring in the SANFL. Not bad for a peanut!!! These achievements speak for themselves. The powers to be at the BDAFL must have a very different opinion to you.

i Guess You Are Allowed To Have Your Own Opinion, However, If Roger Is So Bad How Come: He Is 1 Of Only 2 Umpires In The Bdafl With Level 3 Accreditation (the Highest You Can Get)? He Has Umpired Over 200 1st Grade Games In Sydney? He Was Among The 1st Nsw Based Umpires To Go Onto The Afl List? He Umpired Afl U19's & Reserves? He Was The 1st Nsw Based Umpire To Umpire Afl Seniors In 1992? He Has Umpired The Last 3 Bdafl 1st Grade Grand Finals? Why Did The Bdafl Ask Him To Coach The Other Umpires? Not To Mention His Past Umpiring In The Sanfl. Not Bad For A Peanut!!! These Achievements Speak For Themselves. The Powers To Be At The Bdafl Must Have A Very Different Opinion To You.

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzing!

I guess you are allowed to have your own opinion, however, if Roger is so bad how come: he is 1 of only 2 umpires in the BDAFL with Level 3 accreditation (the highest you can get)? he has umpired over 200 1st grade games in Sydney? he was among the 1st NSW based umpires to go onto the AFL list? he umpired AFL U19's & reserves? he was the 1st NSW based umpire to umpire AFL seniors in 1992? he has umpired the last 3 BDAFL 1st grade grand finals? Why did the BDAFL ask him to coach the other umpires? Not to mention his past umpiring in the SANFL. Not bad for a peanut!!! These achievements speak for themselves. The powers to be at the BDAFL must have a very different opinion to you.

wayne carey:

2 premierships
3 state of origins
4 best and fairests
7 all-australians (4 time captain)

these stats speak for themselves.... but he is still a peanut.... get the message

I take it you are an umpire? So I'll let you know straight up that the umpires are hopeless! The only good umpire the Black Diamond has got is Ashley Borg....Roger is a complete peanut who has no idea about what footy is about! Just likes to blow his whistle and have the crowd watch him! Every new bloke that comes to the Black Diamond is amazed just how bad the umpires here are...Now I know it's not their fault and they are probably doing their best in most cases, but Roger Crowhurst is a dead set berk...The bloke has no insight and lacks the ability to let a game of footy flow, won't give explanations to players as to why a free kick is given and overall has a bad attitude on the football field...

I know we all pick on the umpires with a passion, its the Australian way and is part of footy. You can never please both sides when you make a decision. Don't get me wrong, I am not sticking up for an umpire and i am not degrading them either. We see some strange decisions at times and from a coaching point of view, that is where an issue forms for a coach and the team. A good coach can usually coach around an umpire if that umpires decisions are consistant. They can be good or poor but if they are consistant a coach can deal with it. It is the inconsistant decisions that occur and the problem is made worse when it is from one umpire. Most of (and i say that tongue in cheek) Roger's decisions are consistant so you know where you stand with him. Umpires have bad days and good days, its when decision change during the day the game gets frustrating. As said before there are a lot of outside elements to consider to that cause umpires decision to change or seem to but the biggest one is fatigue. Decisions get worse toward the end of a game as they fatigue so the easiest solution is WIN THE GAME EARLY.

Now Spectators, they are a different kettle of fish all together the way they think of umpires and we will leave that one alone lol.

and u know why he didnt last at AFL standard?

i talk to a fair few of the umpires and they ALL have the same opinion of Roger... im sure you can guess as to what it may be.

I personally dont agree with alot of his decision making, but not everyone can be happy i suppose

and u know why he didnt last at AFL standard?

i talk to a fair few of the umpires and they ALL have the same opinion of Roger... im sure you can guess as to what it may be.

I personally dont agree with alot of his decision making, but not everyone can be happy i suppose
You can say what you like. The fact still remains that the NCCUA and the BDAFL must think he is a good umpire. They would not keep giving him the games that he gets if they thought other wise. The umpire observers must have a very different set of criteria in rateing umpires compared to you people.

Enough with the umpires and the association, leave those poor bastards alone they need all the help thay can get and with out them there is no game. Lets see some interesting posts about players, clubs, results etc. I just want to talk about footy not that other s#=t! Are there going to be any games this weekend after that storm today?

You can say what you like. The fact still remains that the NCCUA and the BDAFL must think he is a good umpire. They would not keep giving him the games that he gets if they thought other wise. The umpire observers must have a very different set of criteria in rateing umpires compared to you people.

i dont wanna call you silly or anything... but do u realise that he is the senior umpire coach?? therefore he decides who gets what games? He remains at this position as no one else will take up the senior coach role as he wont back down.

Well go do some umpiring to fix it up messiah.

i dont wanna call you silly or anything... but do u realise that he is the senior umpire coach?? therefore he decides who gets what games? He remains at this position as no one else will take up the senior coach role as he wont back down.
Please check your facts. The appointments are done by an independant panel. This is made up of 1 member of the BDAFL board, 1 person from the NCCUA and the GM of the BDAFL. He has some input but it is this group that selects umpires for games. As to who else takes the coaches job? Roger steped down at the end of 2007. The BDAFL called for applications. No one else applied so he was asked if he would take the role again in 2008. I know his wife was not happy he took the job again! It might suprise you to know he cares very much about how the group performs and he openly admits "I am not perfect, but I do the best I can". You can't ask for much more.

If Ryan got off at the tribunal then that is the biggest outrage I think I've ever seen! I was there that game when he hit Dean Crotty...Low and Cowardly act. Ryan, the Cardiff Football Club and this League are dirty cheats! Nathan Brennan for Warners is currently serving a 3 match ban for striking...and Steve May earlier in the season was rubbed out for 5 matches for the same grade striking charge as Ryan....Just goes to show how unprofessional this league really is...The Warners Bay boys got 2 -6 weeks for their antics at last years presentation night and Ryan gets nothing for punching a bloke right near the grandstand? Talk about bringing the game into disrepute...Absolutely pathetic Black Diamond! Absolutely pathic Michael Ryan!

Can I suggest you do something else to occupy your mind rather than moan and bitch about Cardiff. Perhaps some meditation in front of a big picture of Ex Cardiff Senior coach Adam Dugan might help beat your fears.

Enough with the umpires and the association, leave those poor bastards alone they need all the help thay can get and with out them there is no game. Lets see some interesting posts about players, clubs, results etc. I just want to talk about footy not that other s#=t! Are there going to be any games this weekend after that storm today?

In my opinion Roger has done ok this year, I reckon he's improved a lot and in all honesty I havent noticed the umpiring too much at all this year. Their only problem is they pay too many free kicks and dont let the game flow on but hey, better them than me doing that umpiring mumbo jumbo.
I'm not sure if there will be a game this weekend, prob depends what tommorow turns out like.