Black Diamond AFL

I think the scoreboard always tells the true story, I'm not quite sure where your getting this 2 x 15 minute periods of domination??? Cardiff held firm in the first quarter and should have led by more playing against a massive breeze. Then dominated the rest of the game playing in 3rd or 4th gear. You wont beat Cardiff dropping numbers back, That just allowed 3 loose hawk backman to do as they pleased at half back. Having said that if you stuck with one on one footy you would have got beaten by more so its a bit of a catch 22 for your team I guess.

Hey Deitzy sounds like treehugger here is calling you a liar and that you know nothing about footy. Cumon Treehugger reveal who you are so we can all check your footy knowledge. You know who we are, but are you game or do you need to sit behind a computer screen in safety?

Spot on, it was how we beat them in 2006 but this is 2008. We were going well when we were man on man on Saturday but we were nowhere near it when we flooded. Maybe we should have worked on it at training but the ground being closed didnt help us there. I dont think it was us not following the game plan, instead i dont think we understood what Spinky wanted. Usingtheforce, who writes the articles on our website?

I think a few people write the articles mate. Anyone can write one and send it in. If your going to mention the Teralba bit yes the young girl who updates the website got confused on the grounds. When she gets near the computer again she will be fixing it.

I think the scoreboard always tells the true story, I'm not quite sure where your getting this 2 x 15 minute periods of domination??? Cardiff held firm in the first quarter and should have led by more playing against a massive breeze. Then dominated the rest of the game playing in 3rd or 4th gear. You wont beat Cardiff dropping numbers back, That just allowed 3 loose hawk backman to do as they pleased at half back. Having said that if you stuck with one on one footy you would have got beaten by more so its a bit of a catch 22 for your team I guess.
Cardiff had 2 main 15 minute periods where they put the score on the board, one at the end of the 2nd quarter and 1 at the end of the last 1/4. They dominated play after quarter time when Gosford abandoned going man on man and decided to flood. Yes this tactic did work in the past, but personally I thought it was a bad move to make as Cardiff have too many good players who use the footy well to be running around unmarked and have no pressure put on them to make decisions. Gosford may have restricted Cardiff to under 100 points, but didnt really look like putting a score on the board for most of the game as evidenced in the first quarter when they probably had more ball and were kicking with a strong breeze but couldnt hit targets up forward, and we all know what usually happens when you turn the ball over against the Hawks. Cardiff were the better side and if the weather doesnt get in the way Saturdays game against City will be a cracker.
Usingtheforce, I pretty much agree with what Treehugger said about the game. Cardiff were the better side, the 2 15 minute periods I was talking about was when they put the score on the board after having the better of general play for most of the game, but I do think you would have gone better if you backed the guys in to keep going 1 on 1.

Hey Deitzy sounds like treehugger here is calling you a liar and that you know nothing about footy. Cumon Treehugger reveal who you are so we can all check your footy knowledge. You know who we are, but are you game or do you need to sit behind a computer screen in safety?

Is there anyway to get this knob barred from this forum for being annoying?

Anytime someone has a different opinion to you, you go off on this mighty whinging tirade dimissing the others persons "footy knowledge" as though your the number one footy expert. Everytime I read your posts I get a headache from the seriously whinging and whining tone

So people vote with your hearts: Is Usingtheforce annoying the utter sh*t out of you??

It's not a competition on Football Knowledge, It's a forum for views and opinions, what I stated was Treehuggers opinion, If you dont like it that probably shows how true it is cause in all honesty I found yours highly humerous.

Cardiff had 2 main 15 minute periods where they put the score on the board, one at the end of the 2nd quarter and 1 at the end of the last 1/4. They dominated play after quarter time when Gosford abandoned going man on man and decided to flood. Yes this tactic did work in the past, but personally I thought it was a bad move to make as Cardiff have too many good players who use the footy well to be running around unmarked and have no pressure put on them to make decisions. Gosford may have restricted Cardiff to under 100 points, but didnt really look like putting a score on the board for most of the game as evidenced in the first quarter when they probably had more ball and were kicking with a strong breeze but couldnt hit targets up forward, and we all know what usually happens when you turn the ball over against the Hawks. Cardiff were the better side and if the weather doesnt get in the way Saturdays game against City will be a cracker.
Usingtheforce, I pretty much agree with what Treehugger said about the game. Cardiff were the better side, the 2 15 minute periods I was talking about was when they put the score on the board after having the better of general play for most of the game, but I do think you would have gone better if you backed the guys in to keep going 1 on 1.

Good comment

Anytime someone has a different opinion to you, you go off on this mighty whinging tirade dimissing the others persons "footy knowledge" as though your the number one footy expert. Everytime I read your posts I get a headache from the seriously whinging and whining tone

So people vote with your hearts: Is Usingtheforce annoying the utter sh*t out of you??

Hey salsher have you been at it again. Seems when you start posting people either get someone trying to impersonate them with similar usernames. I just got an email from bigfooty telling me that someone has been trying to log into my username, care to elaborate?

Good comment

Hugger, read my posts a numbers of times i have given credit to the Cardiff boys for being the better team on the day. Have not bagged them out at all. If you read the match report on the BDAFL website in the results section which i find strange for it to be there as from what i understand, the clubs weren't supposed to be filling that area in so don't know how that got thru but your own guys reported that Cardiff were not able to shake off a determined Tigers. Be that right or wrong everyone has there own opinion and thats rival teams or it would be very boring. Giving credit where credit is due is the sign of good sportsmanship. I could have said geez the Cardiff guys were real lucky today or they didnt deserve to win but no they did they were the better side and playing a better brand of footy we couldn't match on the day. Next time it could be different and it might not be, but if Cardiff are perfect and play perfect un-surpassed footy. Then it will be lonely at the top and the rest of us should go form our own league and play against ourselves. I enjoyed the game of footy at the weekend, it was good to watch but to bag the other team no matter who it is for trying something different to beat the team who has beaten all comers. What you want the team to walk out for the coin toss say how do you want us to play and heres the win for you? Not the way i'd like to think you would want.

I thought we agreed to play nice and act like grown-ups?

By all means, disagree with the guy but you don't have to be mean about it.

I enjoyed the game of footy at the weekend, it was good to watch but to bag the other team no matter who it is for trying something different to beat the team who has beaten all comers. What you want the team to walk out for the coin toss say how do you want us to play and heres the win for you? Not the way i'd like to think you would want.

Mate you need to be UsingThePunctuation. I still can't fully get my head around what you are trying to say. I know it's nit picky, but it is really bloody hard to read.

Maybe if you used correct punctuation people wouldn't be up you all the time becasue they have misread your posts. On the other hand, sometimes you talk shit and deserve everything you get.

That is all...

I thought we agreed to play nice and act like grown-ups?

By all means, disagree with the guy but you don't have to be mean about it.

Thanks Miss BD but dont stress to much about it. He just has little mans syndrome. The rest of us have been using the forum like it should be. We can agree to disagree and support our teams but in the end footy wins out i hope. Comments like what he brings up is play ground stuff and it makes me laugh. Were you at any games at the weekend?

Mate you need to be UsingThePunctuation. I still can't fully get my head around what you are trying to say. I know it's nit picky, but it is really bloody hard to read.

Maybe if you used correct punctuation people wouldn't be up you all the time becasue they have misread your posts. On the other hand, sometimes you talk shit and deserve everything you get.

That is all...

Hey Cooky, i dont profess to excell in english and to all the forum reader sorry for that. Haven't seen you on here mate so welcome and join in, but we have some real gooses on here that all they want to do is bag everyone or anything. If that makes them feel good, then fantastic it's their right but they have to expect some back. Hey if i give i expect it back but most know who i am and if they dis-agree that much, then they can come visit me at the ground for a chat. We have some real good forum contributors and you will get some interesting thoughts. I will see what i can do with my punctuation, hows that. What team do u follow?

That type of flood works if your on ur game and prepared to run your backside off like we did 18 months ago at home. You were there that game werent u. Just needs everyone committed to the same game plan because one passenger leaves you exposed. You get one player walking and not running or not covering a man and you have undone everything you tried to do.

Usingtheforce you guys need to really forget about that win, i saw both games and can honestly say your 2008 team is 10 times better than back in 2006.

In 2006 cardiff had about 8 regular 1st graders playing that day and only had 16 men playing for the 1st half and 18 for the second half. so although it was a great win for you guys, it wasnt your great flood tactics that won you game.

Where as on the weekend cardiff were at near full strength and the gosford boys pushed cardiff all game, they utilised the boggy conditions pretty well, slowed the game right down and put alot of pressure on the ball, and like everyone else seems to be saying came unstuck when you tried to flood.

Usingtheforce, I have read your constant dribble and crap about the 4 supposed superstars at Gosford over the past few weeks. After playing against you on the weekend I am of the opinion you know absolutely nothing about the game. 2 of them go ok, however one who played in the middle turned the ball over to us so many times he should have been in our best players list, I see it was about the first time ever he hasnt made yours so thats saying something. The other one who played in the forward line spent the game bitching at his team mates for not getting the ball however the way he played I can see why they kicking the ball to us instead of him. If youre going to say something usingtheforce at least make sure it has an element of truth!

Usingtheforce you guys need to really forget about that win, i saw both games and can honestly say your 2008 team is 10 times better than back in 2006.

In 2006 cardiff had about 8 regular 1st graders playing that day and only had 16 men playing for the 1st half and 18 for the second half. so although it was a great win for you guys, it wasnt your great flood tactics that won you game.

Where as on the weekend cardiff were at near full strength and the gosford boys pushed cardiff all game, they utilised the boggy conditions pretty well, slowed the game right down and put alot of pressure on the ball, and like everyone else seems to be saying came unstuck when you tried to flood.

Yeah agree Swan88, they did come unstuck this time where it didn't back then, different game different time. The flood was thought about to try and combat that bloody wind down there. Was there one minute gone the next and the tactic didnt work. It was try some thing different to combat the run and carry from Cardiff which they did well. Those pockets on one side of the ground were like the old days either like glue or a lake. Funny to see guys not used to the ball stopping as it bounces and they run past it.

Usingtheforce, I have read your constant dribble and crap about the 4 supposed superstars at Gosford over the past few weeks. After playing against you on the weekend I am of the opinion you know absolutely nothing about the game. 2 of them go ok, however one who played in the middle turned the ball over to us so many times he should have been in our best players list, I see it was about the first time ever he hasnt made yours so thats saying something. The other one who played in the forward line spent the game bitching at his team mates for not getting the ball however the way he played I can see why they kicking the ball to us instead of him. If youre going to say something usingtheforce at least make sure it has an element of truth!

That's a bit harsh on a day when everyone skills are down with conditions like they were. It like saying your Mike Ryan isn't as good as you say he is because he only kicked 3 goals instead of his usual bag full and he didnt make it into your top 6 players when we all know he is a gun forward so get down off the high horse and look at the game for what the game was. A hard tough encounter in tough conditions. You guys won because you had more guys handle the conditions better on the day and kicked more goals. You can't judge a player on just one game good, bad or indifferent.

You won the game so take it in good sportmanship like you should. Try and judge my footy knowledge just because a player had a bad game that's pathetic. I come from Victoria you idiot where i spent 20 years living and breathing the game, i have played it, umpired and even coached it so you go judge all you like but the day will come when Cardiff does get beaten and it maybe because you had a bad game or you are just not the player you think you are. Give the rest of the Cardiff boys the credit for a good win.

That's a bit harsh on a day when everyone skills are down with conditions like they were. It like saying your Mike Ryan isn't as good as you say he is because he only kicked 3 goals instead of his usual bag full and he didnt make it into your top 6 players when we all know he is a gun forward so get down off the high horse and look at the game for what the game was. A hard tough encounter in tough conditions. You guys won because you had more guys handle the conditions better on the day and kicked more goals. You can't judge a player on just one game good, bad or indifferent.

You won the game so take it in good sportmanship like you should. Try and judge my footy knowledge just because a player had a bad game that's pathetic. I come from Victoria you idiot where i spent 20 years living and breathing the game, i have played it, umpired and even coached it so you go judge all you like but the day will come when Cardiff does get beaten and it maybe because you had a bad game or you are just not the player you think you are. Give the rest of the Cardiff boys the credit for a good win.

you are a confusing individual, & very annoying & boring. Go back to Victoria, Key word in your over sized passage of dribble "umpired", nuff said....

I come from Victoria you idiot

I don't care where you're from. You are boring.

You are also the worst umpire on the planet. No exceptions.
The blatant biasness towards Gosford in your club umpiring performances make Darrel Luck look like King Solomon.
Carrying on like a buffoon while wearing the club umpires coloures is a slap in the face to all the other blokes who do a great job.

Can I just say it was dissapointing to hear Gosford players on the weekend refer to Cardiff tall man Cam Clark as Nate Myles, that is disgusting and not in good footy spirit. He far more resembles Hit Reality TV Star Gordon Ramsay from Hells Kitchen, fair dinkum.

I don't care where you're from. You are boring.

You are also the worst umpire on the planet. No exceptions.
The blatant biasness towards Gosford in your club umpiring performances make Darrel Luck look like King Solomon.
Carrying on like a buffoon while wearing the club umpires coloures is a slap in the face to all the other blokes who do a great job.

Well Mr Dixon you think the club umpiring is the worst on the planet. If that is so then the Clubs themselve have an avenue to complain to the league to have an umpire either offical or club umpire investigated and there is yet to be any. Blatant biasness toward Gosford hmmm thin ice there mate. Being an ex player all i wanted was a fair go from the umpires and if you walked off the field and were beaten, it is because you werent good enough. I am sure if that is the way you feel about club umpires i am sure if any are on here they can accomodate you and your team by being very biased hence ruin the game. I am sure you would then be the most popular person in your club. A lot of club umpires are either ex players or do it for the love of the game and their team and try and call what they see. No worries will remember your comments when we meet again

Can I just say it was dissapointing to hear Gosford players on the weekend refer to Cardiff tall man Cam Clark as Nate Myles, that is disgusting and not in good footy spirit. He far more resembles Hit Reality TV Star Gordon Ramsay from Hells Kitchen, fair dinkum.

Lord of the Burley my source from Cardiff instructed me to remind you "Its not about them!"

That is all.... Go Cooky!

if conditions remain the way they are, the city vs cardiff game will be even closer than anyone predicted. if the grounds dry up, then it'll be a cracker.
speaking of this, i drove passed number one yesterday and saw the sprinklers on... surely the rain has contributed enough the watering of the field?? i do realise that these sprinklers are probably on timers, but still, someone should be there to turn them off in such conditions.

any news on the city squad this week?