Black Diamond AFL

Any truth to the rumour that the Black Diamond AFL are getting rid of the Reserve (hacks) competition and the Under 18's and replacing them with one Under 23's competition similar to the Colts competition in Rugby?

BTW, I don't support Cardiff.... Why would I want to do that?

Would think the BDAFL will continue to follow the pathway as per the AFL, which at present is the Under 18's which are set up around the draft age.

As for the reserves, I felt the comp finals were the closest series I'd seen for many a year and the Minor premiership was decided in the last round, so it should be kept the same.

With the continued growth of AFL, the numbers should continue to be OK going forward, with most 18's from this year having at least 6 to 10 upper age players going up.
Cardiff, Warners Bay for example have good stocks moving up to the Ressies or Seniors, so they should be sweet for numbers, the drama is for the bottom clubs who again not only struggle in Seniors, but its also interesting that their 18's were also a concern this year.

Dont know what the answer is, but like other discussions, it's about improving the strugglers, not dragging back the stronger clubs to their level.

What's your Source Man at Work ???

I believe the current format is the way to go, and the 2's comp was prob the closest with any of the top 4 or 5 teams capable of winning it on the day.
The 18's comp seems to always have some teams struggle for numbers but at least it varies from year to year eg Gosford at the top for a few years, now on the bottom

Just looked on the web site and they are talking bout 1st grade for next year. They have got 7 confirmed with Nelsons and Wyong looking somewhat doubtful?
Anyone care to comment if in the know, would of thought the Crows in trouble as well, getting pumped and no momentum, think the league should worry bout the top grade before fiddling with the others!!!

Just looked on the web site and they are talking bout 1st grade for next year. They have got 7 confirmed with Nelsons and Wyong looking somewhat doubtful?
Anyone care to comment if in the know, would of thought the Crows in trouble as well, getting pumped and no momentum, think the league should worry bout the top grade before fiddling with the others!!!

I think the 8 teams would be good, with Nelson Bay having a stabilising year in the two's if they want it a good idea.

Any losses or recruits for clubs at this stage, any coaches announced or reappointed yet? Wyong had some reasonable players and should field a Senior team as option One in my opinion as with some good juniors, they will walk if the club doesn't offer them a 1st grade pathway.

That would be a really daft decision, even more so than Netball!

If that were to come to the fore, we would have a situation where kids who are 16, fresh out of Juniors playing against grown men, some of who are only just out of first grade. While young guns could handle themselves pretty well (the guys that WB have blooded over the last few years as an example), how are young guys who are just out for a bit of a kick going to fare?

Obviously the intention, if this is in fact true, is to try to keep those just out of 18's in the game. Perhaps instead of doing this they could increase the under age comp to U/19 (which I think RL has done), and/or implement a rule where there must be X number of U/23 players in the Reserve Grade match squad (i'd suggest 5 as most clubs would find that an easily achievable task)

But then again, the Board will probably do whatever suits Cardiff best right? :rolleyes:
Would certainly prefer to see an U19 comp in 09 as most of the reserve grade sides seem to have good numbers, where as all the U18 teams seem to struggle for numbers in 08 ... the good U18's will always push for First Grade selection and get it ...

by upping the age limit to 19 it keeps more kids in Senior footy and allows clubs to put pressure on players to train regularly in order to get selected each week.

we need to promote the under age comp in seniors and make a big effort to keep these kids at the clubs ... it would be far better to have full U19 squads (22-24 players) each week and competitive games rather than 13-14 players running on the ground and having walk overs ...

... I would also propose extended interchange bench (up to 6) for the U19 comp to ensure all get a run ...

Moving from an Under 18's to Under 19's competition is something that should be considered, it is a make or break period some younger players.

I have seen some good players in Under 18's struggle in their first year playing fulltime senior football and be lost to the game over the years, by extending the age limit from 18 to 19, it will encourage these players to stick around and play on for longer and develop into better footballers. For some clubs it will also help their player development and long term survival, especially Nelson Bay, Lake Macquarie and Wyong Lakes.

The idea of an Under 23's competition is a misguided premonition of massive proportions. When a competition has struggling clubs to field a competitive first grade team, one would think that time and energy would be put into assisting clubs formulate a long term plan rather than potentially placing even more pressure on the volunteer resources of essentially amateur clubs.

The existing competition structure of the league is solid and needs to all clubs fielding 3 competitive grades before tinkering with anything. The netball competition is a classic example of trying to over complicate the league.

With some clubs players already in pre-preseason training, off field club and league officials should already be strategising on the 2009 season.

I believe the current format is the way to go, and the 2's comp was prob the closest with any of the top 4 or 5 teams capable of winning it on the day.
The 18's comp seems to always have some teams struggle for numbers but at least it varies from year to year eg Gosford at the top for a few years, now on the bottom

Mate as if we are gonna take any notice of what some Wyong Nufty says. Especially some tall spaz who is possibly the worst player to ever put on a football jumper. Your a disgrace.

Stop whinging about the Warners Bay Supporters. I was there yesterday and the crowd on the hill were behaved. Why not have a shot at the Cardiff supporters all set up in their tents. They were filthy at the end of the game because their prescious little boys were duped out of a Grand Final premiership how could that be they were supposed to win (boo hoo)the Warners Bay supporters celebrating copped an earfull off the ferals under the tents, why don't you talk about that. Your just so one sided that where there's trouble the Warners Bay supporters must be around. Its amazing you didn't blame them for the Cronulla riots

and

Dont talk about bad sportsmanship. How disgusting was it that Cardiff decided to run onto the field the same time it was medal presentation to the Warners Bay Players at least City waited thats a team that shows RESPECT, but Im sorry its all about Cardiff....NOT

Pull your head out the Warners Bay supporters have the passion to support their team win or loose. they may be loud but its footy mate so for once in your life get over it or get a hobby

Lucky for you the season is over but Warners Bay supporters will be back next year bigger, better and hell of alot louder....Cheers everyone...Well done to the Warners Bay Ressies and to City.....You beat Cardiff...hehehe.

Yep Warners Bay Bogans think like Warners Bay Bogans, I understand your point.

Just like to say it was awesome to see warners win ressies today and it was awesome to see Cardiff have their pants pulled down and get absolutely walloped in just that 2nd quarter. Both Clarkes were terrible, especially Adam, fitness doesn't make you a good Footballer. Flynn was his usual overated self, Ryan was kept well quiet. Orton had that massive GONE MISSING tag next to his name all day Oh and Wold - what a hack. If it wasn't for Gibson the margin would have been far greater. All credit to city they took all their chances, especially in that first half. The 1st quarter against the hurricane was a solid effort and every player gave something big, not much can be said about their opposition I wouldn't hold my head very high after a performance like that.

One Word: coward

Mate as if we are gonna take any notice of what some Wyong Nufty says. Especially some tall spaz who is possibly the worst player to ever put on a football jumper. Your a disgrace.

Hey Dumbo, do you have anything constructive to say? you clown!!
Looks like yr tryin to pick a few fights in here, well sorry mate i'm not some nerd on a computer hiding behind an alias, so either put up or shut up:rolleyes:

Dumbo, would you like a step or ladder? would that take away your short man complex sorry if i'v been dominating against yr rucks i promise to take it easy on you next time, Im noodles on the field , we know dietzy, barto, summers and spinksy so please let me know who we should be afraid off?

Not sure what all that was about but anyway, back to the footy.

I hear both City and Cardiff are expecting a fair turn over of players for next season.
Do those in the know think this will put an end to the two-horse race we saw this year?
WB seem to be the next cab off the rank in terms of this year's form do you think they have/will have the cattle to challenge for the flag?
What other teams showed form to challenge for a spot in the finals?
Have any sides set a date to return to training yet?

I know it's early to make premiership predictions but I am just wondering how teams left last season and whether that gives an indication of numbers and form for next.
Plus getting a bit tired of the pot-shotting that has consumed this forum since the GF.

Cheers.

Spot on mate, let's concentrate on the positives and think about how we can grow the game, the pot shots are not what this site is all about.

No predictions from me but I would be looking at the Clubs with a good Junior contingent, that seems to be the strengths now, not just relying on recruits.

Let's hope 2009 sees a better spread of teams and a closer competition, that is what we all want to see.

Good point wanderer.
I think city showed that a few good recruits coupled with a good core of solid players moving up from juniors can create a formidable force on the field.
Pity for City is that their juniors are now trying to make up ground and take back the ascendancy they had a few years ago.
Just shows how it moves in cycles I suppose.
The good juniors who were terrific for City 3-4 years ago are now performing well in the seniors, leaving the juniors to rebuild their stocks.

Any word on the Cardiff side?
Heard Dave Flynn may have pulled the pin.
Great player for their club and the league for many years, well done to him!!
What about the other senior players like Ryan etc are they going round again?

Good point wanderer.
I think city showed that a few good recruits coupled with a good core of solid players moving up from juniors can create a formidable force on the field.
Pity for City is that their juniors are now trying to make up ground and take back the ascendancy they had a few years ago.
The good juniors who were terrific for City 3-4 years ago are now performing well in the seniors, leaving the juniors to rebuild their stocks.

Mate to be honest I think every Newcastle club are behind Cardiff in the juniors, with Warners Bay closest.

Cardiff have had football people in charge of every side and this is where I think their strength has partly come from, coupled with some good players obviously.

Every junior team Cardiff included rely on a small core to provide the quality and the others tend to tag along, its a matter of recruiting and keeping those top prospects at your club. Like the Central Coast clubs, the Sydney clubs are now recruiting our juniors from Newcastle.

This will impact on whatever team loses their kids.

Mate to be honest I think every Newcastle club are behind Cardiff in the juniors, with Warners Bay closest.

Cardiff have had football people in charge of every side and this is where I think their strength has partly come from, coupled with some good players obviously.

Every junior team Cardiff included rely on a small core to provide the quality and the others tend to tag along, its a matter of recruiting and keeping those top prospects at your club. Like the Central Coast clubs, the Sydney clubs are now recruiting our juniors from Newcastle.

This will impact on whatever team loses their kids.

Agree in part with this post. The point I have is why cant we put more time and development into the kids who arent the 5 or 6 guns in every junior side and develop them as footballers as well. I work pretty closely with talent squads and see what kids need to do to get to the next levels and some of the stuff i see come through our programs is frightening. For example, out of a squad of 24 kids at a sattelite training centre, only 3 knew what front and centre was! Kids going to the next level have little idea about what to do when they dont have the ball or what is a good starting point in defence. Stuff that should be taught to kids at junior level but obviously isnt in alot of places. I know a lot of junior coaches are volunteers, however it is obvious that the clubs with football people coaching are a fair way ahead.
It might cost a club a few games, but surely you can throw your players around, teach them how to actually play the game rather than do lane work and the like for an hour at training or leaving a kid in a back pocket all year, and you would find that the overall standard of the group will lift, the kids will enjoy it a bit more and keep coming back. That is how you judge a successful junior side. Do you really want a 13 year old kid playing full back all year? What if he doesnt grow and ends up having to play in the midfield when hes 18 or 19? I have been involved with a club first hand that has had kids do well at junior level, but had no idea when it came to senior footy because they hadnt been taught how to play the game. Winning junior premierships is great, but when its all said and done in junior sport we need to put our competitiveness and egos aside to get the best out of every kid and teach them the game. After all, what would bring more exposure to a club? Winning an Under 12s flag, or having a player come through the club and get drafted? I reckon the latter option might be a better result.

The other point I have is why would a kid go and play in Sydney between Under 16s and 18s. I think kids would learn more about footy and be better prepared to try give themselves the best opportunity to go further if they stayed here and played senior footy week in, week out, in a decent comp, rather than going and playing Under 18s footy at a much lower standard than BDAFL seniors. Seems a bit odd to me with the pathway in place now and recruiters taking a fair bit of interest in this area.

Agree whole heartedly, but we had two Newcastle 16 year olds this season at Pennant Hills and East Coast and there are more being hunted for the future, under the old better standard of comp and what development are you getting up there comments. Obviously the line they are spun, seems to get a few in.

Personally I haven't seen too many of these promises ever eventuate to anything much. Over the years I've heard things like Jobs, scholarships, inside running into programs etc, but they have all seemed to amount to little in most cases, just a large fuel bill.

As we both stated, getting more football people at a club's junior level and the obvious development that goes with that is step one.

I also agree with you that basic termanology and footskills are lacking and again with more exposure to senior footballers and coaches this should improve.

As for the pathway, lets hope the emphasis is on the footballer and not the athlete, who to be honest for every 30 they trial, one or two only might make it and in many cases it's their passion for the game that is lacking.

There has also been overtures for the Hunter Academy of Sport to include AFL. The stumbling block seems to be we have a pathway already, it doesnt seem to stop All other sports including the Knights and the NRL both having their own programs running parallel to that of the academy. This would allow continued development including the 2nd tier kids which can only strengthen our local comps Junior and Senior.

Good point wanderer.

I hear that Cardiff are now adopting a youth policy and one of the first casualties was Flynn. Also rumoured the club is leaning very heavily on Ryan to hang up the boots so more youth can be promoted.

I hear around the traps that a certain young key position player at City is possibily looking for a new team after a falling out with a senior member of the first grade side. Also Kempy may be lured to Nelson Bay if they guaurentee a first grade side next year.

At Gosford I think they are possibly losing 2 or 3 key players who are keen for greener pastures and are following Deitzy to Warners. However my sources tell me that their search for a new coach is almost complete and it is down to 2. Adam Dugan is apperntly very short odds to be given role, however I beleive that a former QAFL captain coach from Morningside is hot in the running. Might be interesting to see if he can lure any of his Cardiff mates down the F3 with him, and if his appointment stops the potential loss of players