Bluemour Melting Pot XX - Snark Free Zone

Suns want a future 1st for Martin?

What about Future 1st + future 3rd for Martin and 2020 pick 11? Let the death riding begin lol

I’d take no pleasure in destroying GC in a trade as I would Adelaide.

djw1952 ,I’m responding to your post in here without quoting your original post; because the previous thread has since been closed.

I share your frustration.

After writing my rant, I thought about the idea of 17 member elected commissioners, only to realise that’s somewhat similar to the involvement that club presidents currently have with the AFL commission; just not in an executive capacity. Perhaps there’s a need for better communication, between club presidents and members, affirming how such decisions by the AFL benefit the others?

I also have to keep pinching myself, to remember that the AFL commission is not a government agency; and so doesn’t have to operate with freedom of bias that public positions typically require. The AFL is a business, and can reasonably, similar to other businesses, do what it pleases.

Not wet though, AFL players don't seem to like playing in the rain.

Sponsorship? Industry? Not sure. Interesting proposition and games are being played there already so, not an unknown entity.

It’s the dry season that time of year, perfect weather day in/day out and barely a drop of rain in sight. Late afternoon/ night games would be perfect (they could own the Sunday twilight game for the early years until they became competitive enough to be considered for night games) as during the middle of the day every second week in 28 degrees plus would take it out of you

Would love to see a team in the top end but I reckon they are 20-30 years behind Tassie with business/population etc

djw1952 ,I’m responding to your post in here without quoting your original post; because the previous thread has since been closed.

I share your frustration.

After writing my rant, I thought about the idea of 17 member elected commissioners, only to realise that’s somewhat similar to the involvement that club presidents currently have with the AFL commission; just not in an executive capacity. Perhaps there’s a need for better communication, between club presidents and members, affirming how such decisions by the AFL benefit the others?

I also have to keep pinching myself, to remember that the AFL commission is not a government agency; and so doesn’t have to operate with freedom of bias that public positions typically require. The AFL is a business, and can reasonably, similar to other businesses, do what it pleases.

Locked because it had reached the 10K post limit.

I’d like to know what his definition of a long way away is? The trade period opens October 7th and closes the 16th. If Papley comes to Carlton it will happen within the next 15 days. Basically Pickering has NFI.

Agree with you, it’s the media stirring again the pot, which serves them well, print, electronic, TV it’s a frezny and they gotta keep grinding it out.
We’ll make the deals we need to make and we’ll pay a fair price, no more or less.
Just relax and let’s see it play out.
Of course the anomaly can happen, but most deal pretty well sorted out,
The hurly burly of the momentum may affect details but the crux is done.

I'd love to see a team in Tassie, I'm just pointing out that Green Bay isn't really a great example as it is close to a fairly big city and has an entire state with a solid population behind them.

Tassie's population had been stagnant for a number of years (with regression even), a fact that would have been holding them back as a chance to have a team. That has changed in recent years with some solid growth, it's now getting to the stage where the numbers are stacking up more and more and in my opinion it is inevitable that they will be granted a team, it's a question of when not if.

A potential Tas team would be more comparable to Geelong IMO. There is 250k ppl there and the interest in footy is high, proximity to Melb also helps. Tas has a population of around 500k and I'd argue the interest in footy would be the same as the Geelong area. Flight is 50 mins to Launnie and 1hr to Hobart so proximity to Melb also is good, albeit by plane. I'd rather fly to Hobart than drive or train to Geelong. That's just me though.

We might not have a say in it. If he doesn't accept that extra year from the trigger I believe he might be an unrestricted free agent, although I could be wrong there.

Unless they've changes the rules, we'd still get compensation wouldn't we?*

*In before someone mentions Jarrad Waite.

The comment was made on the basis that he has investigated a move to the club because he's not getting games where he is.
No matter the reason for the move nor how strong the club of origin, if he is half hearted about the move then he should stay put.
Well, yes. Any employer should ensure as much as they can that a potential emoyee has the right motivations for moving. But of course there would be enormous pull to remain at Richmond...they are, sadly, a benchmark organisation on and off the field. Would be naive of us not to acknowledge that.

And I wouldn't put too much stock in media sound bites one way or the other. I'm sure it wouldn't be hard to dig up comments from Bugg and Fasolo making all the right noises about buying in.

Casboult suddenly has too much value for the club, to trade? He was reasonable down back when we were without Jones, and handy at times up forward.. i'm not sure he is irreplaceable now

Agreed....posters are saying we can’t trade our young talent and now we can’t trade our older talent either !!!
However, we want everyone’s talent to come to Carlton. C’mon guys, let’s get real for just a minute....
Give up something good for something better....if something better is not available then keep what you already have. Nobody is suggesting we trade Cas for donuts

Casboult suddenly has too much value for the club, to trade? He was reasonable down back when we were without Jones, and handy at times up forward.. i'm not sure he is irreplaceable now

Agreed....posters are saying we can’t trade our young talent and now we can’t trade our older talent either !!!
However, we want everyone’s talent to come to Carlton. C’mon guys, let’s get real for just a minute....
Give up something good for something better....if something better is not available then keep what you already have. Nobody is suggesting we trade Cas for donuts

Most players are gettable if the price is right...except Crippa and Charlie. They have to nominate or agree. Haven't heard any players wanting out yet.

Out of contract 2019.
Ok good. Then given that the only team between us and Martin is the Demons, why don’t we utilise threat of putting a price on his head to turn D’s off him and pick him up in preseason draft for zero? Does preseason draft still exist to enable us to do that?