Bluemour Melting Pot XXIX

Is it fanciful to hope for Clarkson as director of coaching and Buckley as head coach for 3 years each? Would probably cost a bomb but would certainly build a strong culture/ethics for all AFL and reserves listed players.

Would also probably be too many chiefs but Bucks would be humble enough I think to learn from Clarkson for a year or two I would have thought so maybe there could be something there? Anyway, pipe dream I guess.

Is it fanciful to hope for Clarkson as director of coaching and Buckley as head coach for 3 years each? Would probably cost a bomb but would certainly build a strong culture/ethics for all AFL and reserves listed players.

Would also probably be too many chiefs but Bucks would be humble enough I think to learn from Clarkson for a year or two I would have thought so maybe there could be something there? Anyway, pipe dream I guess.

If you were going that way, I'd rather keep DT & let him learn from Clarkson with better assistants. I can't see either scenario playing out though.

Milburn had to get a police escort out of the ground because there were dead set a large group of supporters waiting to line him up.

Love that tribalism part of the game. He took out our favourite son, then drew the rage of the crowd by clapping to us.

I was 11 years old at the time but dead set can't remember another time I've been at a sporting match and thought a full blown riot was about to occur
Didnt help himself when he walked along the boundary line with a silly smirk. Coach shouldnt have subbed him and make him walk towards the supporters behind the interchange bench. Dont think the hit was premeditated but we had lost a few to injury and our season was unravelling which made the situation very tense. The irony was the fact he was a carlton supporter. Couple of supporters stood along the social club gate on top of the players race pointing their fingers but no one jumped the fence.

1. Review discussed on Thursday (even though writing is on the wall)
2. Announcement mid next week it will be Teague’s last game
3. After the game against GWS, Clarkson announced
4. Carlton faithful don’t burn PP down and look forward to next year
Probably why the club announced Murphs 300th game and retirement today? Its all about the timing i guess.

If you were going that way, I'd rather keep DT & let him learn from Clarkson with better assistants. I can't see either scenario playing out though.
We’re not a football academy, we’re not in the business of training coaches on the job either , our objective is wining games of footy and hopefully premierships or at least participating in the process.
The drought & shame has gone on for far too long.
We need radica change to our structures and to approach to football more importantly.
So players need to get on board and wake up their ideas , or their off the list simple.

Didnt help himself when he walked along the boundary line with a silly smirk. Coach shouldnt have subbed him and make him walk towards the supporters behind the interchange bench. Dont think the hit was premeditated but we had lost a few to injury and our season was unravelling which made the situation very tense. The irony was the fact he was a carlton supporter. Couple of supporters stood along the social club gate on top of the players race pointing their fingers but no one jumped the fence.
The season was unravelling..
We'd beaten Essendon twice that season and they were the raging favourites.
Then a few weeks later Kouta did his knee in a semi final. Heartbreaking.
2000 was similar when we had the huge winning streak, but went into the finals without Silvagni and Koutoufides (who was playing the best football I've ever seen anybody play, ever).
The curse on this club pre-dates 2002!

We’re not a football academy, we’re not in the business of training coaches on the job either , our objective is wining games of footy and hopefully premierships or at least participating in the process.
The drought & shame has gone on for far too long.
We need radica change to our structures and to approach to football more importantly.
So players need to get on board and wake up their ideas , or their off the list simple.

Agree 100%. That's why I don't see it happening.

I’m not so sure as everyone else seems to be about prospect of clarko. Yes he did extremely well at hawks but they had a lot of things going well at the time. They got a lot of genuine stars in around that time. Very well run club.

Is it going to magically translate to success at blues? I’m not so sure.

We’ve just done a review so how about we allow time for the review outputs to be corrected first. Ie fix whatever footy department issues there may be first. Maybe better to chase a very good HoF first and go from there.

IMO it is our culture that needs surgery and AC has proven that he has what it takes. FWIW Bolton brought some of AC's philosophy with him but was thwarted by the existing club structure and his perceived lack of experience. If I was AC, I wouldnt accept the position unless it comes with guarantees that some changes to culture will be facilitated . Whether that is accepted by the people that need to hear some home truths is another matter. Perhaps Sayers is prepared to break some eggs to make an omelette. Time will tell.

Is AC the best on field coach of all time? Perhaps not. There is merit to the argument that the Hawks era was one of over performance. Never were they minor premiers. They scraped through some very close prelims and could easily not have got to the GF's that they ended up winning. They were very lucky with their drafting leading up to the golden run. They were protected by the AFL expansion side draft concessions, that effectively stalled any rebuilding for many clubs for 4-5 years. But he is a very competant game day coach as a minimum.

What is more important having the very best game day coach( possibly Lyon) or having someone that can completely turn the club around culturally? IMO the answer is obvious. Some of the best coaches of all time have failed to deliver under the current Blues culture- Pagan and Malthouse the obvious examples. But they were never given the scope to broadly act to improve the clubs culture. If the clubs external review was fair dinkum then AC is walking into a gold mine of extended success. if not then he may just be walking into the coach wrecking club that Malthouse and Pagan fell victim to.

That smile after they pulled milburn to the bench. I’ll never forget it.

deadest flog of the highest order and deserved every boo from the bottom of blues supporters lungs after every wretched possession her got against us thereafter.
**** Milburn. Will never forgive that prick.

Hope he steps on a Lego barefoot every day for the rest of his life.

Malthouses method was a debacle and solely rested on his shoulders
I’m hoping Clarkson doesn’t come in with an outdated prehistoric game plan
Then use the need to express ego and dominance to sack talented players
I don’t think we will lose players due to arrogance and unrealistic expectations
Some will be traded I expect the rest including McGovern to be excited and rise to the expectations
The players will be trying there best to impress if they don’t fit the coaches game plan they will get traded or delisted
Some seeing a clear role and game plan that works will see many flourish and others inspired

The excuses we make for this club! Players couldn't hack discipline and having their control taken away, apart from Gibbs who took to it. Malthouse went to a poorly ran club run into the ground, made some mistakes but the club did the rest. I'm sure if Clarkson fails we'll make some poor excuse while the footy department gets off Scott free. Malthouse was a massive scapegoat for the mistakes our board and footy department had been making for years as well as our culture and list quality. It's easier and more satisfying to blame the outgoing old coach than what was really rotten at Carlton.

Trust me, if what needs to come comes, a few won't like it, they will go. I'm hoping it's none but I know better, at least this group is young enough that bad culture won't be fully ingrained, Rattens former list were too far gone, too old to change mostly.

New coach effect is always a thing, it's what got Teague selected. McGovern desperately needs a run of luck.

Yeah, if he's coming it'll be for a flag or two or three. ;)

Good to see Josh Kelly stay loyal to the Giants...
$8m for 8 years :eekv1:

Very strange for GWS to agree to 8 years at 8 million, he's good but he's not that good.

DoC beside Teague is my preference. 17 years of senior coaching isn't it? I'd feel like taking a lower pressure role for a year or two, but still keeping a foot in the door.

That would be interesting, still convinced Teague's got it? Imo if he's coming it'll be for coach on a mega-deal of 3-4 years.