Bluemour Melting Pot XXVII

Yep. Prefer to wait for the outcomes from his latest surgery. While at risk, it is not inconceivable that can be almost completely resolved.

I have a broken patella. Cracked early teens and degenerated from there. Told early 20’s was degenerative and would require surgery. Break was like 80/20 though, not in half or fragmented. Was getting spasmodic grief late teens / early 20’s as a bit more separation occurred, could last a couple of days to a couple of weeks inflamed and sore to point of hobbling. Soft tissue inflammation was the prime issue. My sporting activities were largely curtailed by other injuries and it settled. Admittedly I no longer “stress” it. Two distinct pieces remain (60 in a fortnight)without significant issue. Clearly a more central break, with possible fragmentation would expose/compromise more “soft tissue” and produce debilitating pain.

Fair to say with multiple attempts to stabilise the patella, it is last chance saloon if this one fails. Bear in mind it is possible to go through life without a knee cap, but wouldn’t recommend contact sport with exposed soft tissue. None of us know the extent of any soft tissue dramas Charlie has to accompany the broken patella, but I like to think that the optimism voiced by the club suggest that successful stabilisation of the patella may just have Charlie ready to go.

Sounds pretty horrible for you Coona!
I guess I'm thinking with the progresss in techology and global knowledge, plus open chequebook , Charlie's chances are good.
I wonder why they can't replace the patella with an artificial one?
Doesn't exist, or not flexible enough maybe?

He fixed my knee, now it's good as new.
giphy.gif

I guess I'm thinking with the progresss in techology and global knowledge, plus open chequebook , Charlie's chances are good.
Didn't get surgery so not au fait with all of the ins and outs. Like you my expectation is that technological advancement should be able to address adequately. Have plenty of history with dodgy surgeons so can relate to the failure of his first reco. Like all very perplexed that we went with a "dud" surgeon with all the resources seemingly at out disposal.

While the patella flared periodically, I played reasonable level footy and cricket for many years as well as running a marathon and quite a few half marathons or similar. Bloody painful when flared but manageable enough that didn't miss much. I was ridiculously fanatical with sport when younger and was very reluctant to miss a game/event, deep forward when flared was the go. Tip of the iceberg with my issues.

If I may indulge a little.
Been waiting on action to see what they are going to do with my unstable pelvis. One of my pins broke and the bone has now let go, obviously not fully or would be in emergency. Wake up with a different ache each morning as it moves about. Can still get around and trying to exercise in water, supposed to lose weight for op, cut back heaps and little loss yet. Was expecting they would just re do pin, but yet to be told action. Got appointment advice yesterday. Literally the one day I have a commitment that couldn't be altered. (4 1/2 yo's first day of prep) was my allocated day. Rang to change and caused a stir as very specialised, only one doc addresses that field, lovely lady after much to and fro found a suitable date a couple of weeks later. Was on my back for 7 weeks last time, (when found and joined Big Footy) so not looking forward to it. With little one at school 350km from hospital going to be some stresses when they do whatever they deem the procedure to be. Bit daunting when paperwork reads category "Ortho Limb Reconstruction New". Better be some bloody footy to watch during rehab period. Relying on you lot to keep me somewhere near sane.

Didn't get surgery so not au fait with all of the ins and outs. Like you my expectation is that technological advancement should be able to address adequately. Have plenty of history with dodgy surgeons so can relate to the failure of his first reco. Like all very perplexed that we went with a "dud" surgeon with all the resources seemingly at out disposal.

While the patella flared periodically, I played reasonable level footy and cricket for many years as well as running a marathon and quite a few half marathons or similar. Bloody painful when flared but manageable enough that didn't miss much. I was ridiculously fanatical with sport when younger and was very reluctant to miss a game/event, deep forward when flared was the go. Tip of the iceberg with my issues.

Been waiting on action to see what they are going to do with my unstable pelvis. One of my pins broke and the bone has now let go, obviously not fully or would be in emergency. Wake up with a different ache each morning as it moves about. Can still get around and trying to exercise in water, supposed to lose weight for op, cut back heaps and little loss yet. Was expecting they would just re do pin, but yet to be told action. Got appointment advice yesterday. Literally the one day I have a commitment that couldn't be altered. (4 1/2 yo's first day of prep) was my allocated day. Rang to change and caused a stir as very specialised, only one doc addresses that field, lovely lady after much to and fro found a suitable date a couple of weeks later. Was on my back for 7 weeks last time, (when found and joined Big Footy) so not looking forward to it. With little one at school 350km from hospital going to be some stresses when they do whatever they deem the procedure to be. Bit daunting when paperwork reads category "Ortho Limb Reconstruction New". Better be some bloody footy to watch during rehab period. Relying on you lot to keep me somewhere near sane.
You should probably just say goodbye to your sanity in advance.

Will probably just save later disappointment.

Gee whizz ol'bean! That is a massive amount on your plate.
Wish you a successful appt and future outcomes.
Warrior! :thumbsupv1:

Hang in there mate.

Stupid comment is a stupid comment...............................

Pain is only physical...geez ...Barassi would not be impressed ...... :D

seriously, feel for you mate ...what Metalcrusher said

Not specifically related to AFl .. but worth a read I guess.

Patella Injuries in NBA History (And Other Sports) - Blazer's Edge
Fascinating read MC, for me some great intel on successful careers on many types of patella injuries, what it does provide is many different variations of the injury itself tied around the same area, players recovery looks so individually based around the type and severity of damage to the the exact area effected that the type of surgery, rehab or any major or multiple setbacks take a path of their own on how well you may come back... The slightly or severely torn patella tendon read as something being very concerning though...

I'm surprised with today's technology they couldn't scan the original kneecap (glued together outside of the knee) and replace it with a 3D printed version. Surely that would be better than no kneecap (shivers at the thought).

EDIT: Looks like 3D printing can be done, though not sure if a Patella is an option...

I'm surprised with today's technology they couldn't scan the original kneecap (glued together outside of the knee) and replace it with a 3D printed version.
Surely that would be better than no kneecap (shivers at the thought).

You take a photo, and I'll go to my local library and print one out for him.
simples!!

People hate uncertainty. It's just how our brains are wired. Sometimes feeling certain about a bad outcome can be less distressing / uncomfortable than being uncertain about an outcome that might be good or bad. The longer the rumour chain, the greater the chances that someone along the line has upped the certainty level (intentionally or not) for their own comfort.

We see it all the time around here in trade season, and Charlie's injury is just another example.

I don't know if Charlie will recover. I hope he will, but time will tell. And if some would prefer to assume the worst for now until the full picture becomes clear, I'm not going to criticise.

The problem with your type is you get presented science which lists multiple complications with patella injuries and instead of acknowledging facts-you play the man
How is he playing the man? He is taking a fairly neutral stance methinks. Hopeful, without a sense of optimism. See saw Michael. You hover between worthwhile, palatable analysis and negativity for the sake of it. I much prefer the former...

The problem with your type is you get presented science which lists multiple complications with patella injuries and instead of acknowledging facts-you play the man

Who does?