Bluemour Melting Pot XXVII

pretty obvious

lazarus.jpg
Patrick Cripps? 🤣

Does anyone have any Intel on Curnow or just going by the odds of how long he has been out vs others that return with similar time out?

I would prefer the club under promise and over deliver on this front.
Not a medical expert, but things aren't looking good in my opinion.

Negatives - Players rarely recover from multiple knee injuries across several years, Teague said they expect him to play again (which does not sound convincing at all)

Positives - New surgeon who wants to take a different and hopefully more successful approach, only been out for about 18 months so far (others have been out for longer and then returned e.g. Doc)

Like mentioned I'm not a doctor, but to me it seems like a 30% chance he will play again at AFL level, and about a 5% chance he'll be back to his previous best. BUT, NEVER LOSE HOPE!

I have no idea at all what to expect on Charlie but I will listen to the club before any doom laden rumour.
What I am confident about is we are going up the ladder anyway.
Go Blues !
[mg]
giphy.gif

Not a medical expert, but things aren't looking good in my opinion.

Negatives - Players rarely recover from multiple knee injuries across several years, Teague said they expect him to play again (which does not sound convincing at all)

Positives - New surgeon who wants to take a different and hopefully more successful approach, only been out for about 18 months so far (others have been out for longer and then returned e.g. Doc)

Like mentioned I'm not a doctor, but to me it seems like a 30% chance he will play again at AFL level, and about a 5% chance he'll be back to his previous best. BUT, NEVER LOSE HOPE!
30% ? You are a bit of a prophet of doom there. Probably the best to compare against with similar injuries are clooney and o'meara. Both came back o.k. but probably not as good as previous.

I would rate Charlie about a 90% chance of coming back just how well his knee allows him to function is the key part of the story. He is an absolute specemin with great aerobic capacity which will clearly help.

30% ? You are a bit of a prophet of doom there. Probably the best to compare against with similar injuries are clooney and o'meara. Both came back o.k. but probably not as good as previous.

I would rate Charlie about a 90% chance of coming back just how well his knee allows him to function is the key part of the story. He is an absolute specemin with great aerobic capacity which will clearly help.

Aerobic capacity BF ?
It’s like having a fighter jet without wings dude.....I’ll happily take the whack next year when all this plays out....he is in more shite than a Werribee duck....for those not in Melbourne, Werribee is the shite farm

Aerobic capacity BF ?
It’s like having a fighter jet without wings dude.....I’ll happily take the whack next year when all this plays out....he is in more sh*te than a Werribee duck....for those not in Melbourne, Werribee is the sh*te farm

we like to think of it more as a world famous wetland and bird breeding sanctuary...........

This is an internet forum, we should be reading into everything, sometimes we will be right, sometimes we will be wrong and sometimes inconclusive.

For example

I was smashing out some interval training on new year's eve (morning) at an oval in Ocean Grove.

In between sets I see some young buck approaching the oval in a Messi soccer jersey, assuming he would be a flog because soccer sucks and not as cool as me in my Zach Lavine jersey, I thought I would be burning him off with my sprint power.

Turned out it was Sam Walsh and instead of standing still between sets of sprints/battling a spew, he glided past in a jog that was as fast as my sprints.

I got that one wrong.

After the experience of sharing an oval with Walsh (one I would compare the excitement to seeing a whale in wild), I took the dog down to the beach and none other than Matt Cottrell said "g'day mate, nice dog"....

Most would think, what a nice young man....not me, I read into it.

What is Matt Cotrell, a mornington local doing in Ocean Grove? And if he is here, why is he not catching up with Walshy (and me) to do some training?

Is there a rift between the two young match winners?

I think we should consider that the most logical scenario is yes.

Great post!👍

one question though, so when you say 'you took the dog to the beach' is that a euphemism for something else? Or did you actually take your dog to the beach..

.. i can't tell these days, with all this 'young person's' speak.

An unidentified Carlton player which seems to be Matthew Kennedy, has elected to stay in NSW with his family, rather than coming back to Victoria before border closures. Carlton will now work on getting him back to the state, with clubs set to resume training on Wednesday.

According to the Vic Govt. Wagga Wagga (where Kennedy's family live) is in the border bubble so I'd say there was no hurry for him to hurry back early.

Interestingly Narrandera (Zac Williams I believe) is not listed in that bubble.

Does anyone have any Intel on Curnow or just going by the odds of how long he has been out vs others that return with similar time out?

I would prefer the club under promise and over deliver on this front.
Scroll down and read the heading under clinical outcome. Patella is serious and it is hard to optimistic. Maybe being in a high performance program delivers better recovery

Pretty sure we all realise how serious this injury is for an athlete.