Bluemour Melting Pot XXXII - Reaching fever pitch! 🔥 🔥 🔥

How does it discredit it?

He was right, they took Boak out and only put him back in again when injury meant they were forced too.
He said a new coach moved him back in. truth be told theres no documentatin anywhere on who made the decision to move boak out of the middle and who wanted him back in.

There is documentation on how much the Power players liked Voss and credited him with their growth as players.

No PP necessary.

However the only thing people seem to say about him is "he builds good relationships". Which is fine, but that doesn't help you when you're up against coaches who are tactically very good at producing game plans and getting teams to execute them.

What is he credited with at Port football wise for implementing?

You do hear of assistant coaches who are credited with such things, so Voss?

I was interested to read this from a Port fan from their perspective...

Thus I ask what does he bring football strategy and tactics wise?

Honestly, I think you hear of more "strategic" assistants than you do senior coaches. Probably because the way the game is coached these days, it's seen as more valuable to have a charismatic and engaging senior coach who can draw on the expertise of multiple assistants, rather than a coach savant who dictates everything to his underlings.

This is a genuine question & part of my lukewarm reaction to Voss.

Is there any evidence anywhere to suggest that either highly regarded assistant coaches or talented players would actively try to get to Carlton now to be under Voss?

That is my main reservation.

Is there any evidence anywhere to suggest that either highly regarded assistant coaches or talented players would actively try to get to Carlton now to be under Voss?

None - but we also have Cook. This is part of the fun. Wait and see what happens.

That's not an unreasonable question, but one we could ask of just about anyone else we might've appointed today, too.

We might have some idea of what Lyon might've brought to the table tactically (but the game has changed a little since he last coached - I reckon that will have served as a loose guide only), and even with Clarkson there's no definitive way to answer this question, as what worked with one group may not work with ours - I'd expect he will have adapted to fit, to a certain extent. Kingsley is a lauded tactician, but in his case, I'm not sure the answer to this question would've been any clearer, either.

For now, I reckon we just need to trust that those in a position to know and influence, have well and truly broached this topic, and have as many answers as one can have at this stage. The rest of us will find out next year.

I'm afraid I can't trust those in positions of power. Not yet.

Trust is earned, not given. Fair enough plenty on here just give it away freely, others not so easy.
Sayers may be seen to be making moves however he was still around when a lot of the stuff that's lead us to the position we're in now was happening.

As you say, it's a waiting game now.

Didn't stop us chasing Clarkson desperately like a deprived schoolboy and Sayers thought Lyon was an excellent idea. He was overruled by the board.
Didn't stop us approaching Scott, Pyke, Buckley, even Fagan ... before Voss was on the scene. Our coaching selection panel was such a farce that involved the membership of a CEO who was on the way out.
We couldn't have wished for a better opportunity and we've picked the fish John West rejected when Teague was appointed.
I have no problem with Voss btw - just the suggested in some way this was how Sayers and the board planned it. In the end, it was the only palatable option to save some face after his proclamation that we would get an experienced coach.
Not how I see it at all mate. All good though......

I cannot believe the club didn't consult me!

After the hours I put in to the proposal for a revolutionary new coaching structure they ignored me and appointed some other bloke.

Will Voss follow through on my plan? I don't know, but if we win the premiership I will claim he did

On SM-A515F using BigFooty.com mobile app

It took me a while to warm to it, but excited by the appointment.

Cook, Voss and Sayers made for a very impressive trio. A level of authenticity and presence that wasn't there with Liddle, MLo and Teague.

Re Voss, I wonder if he went into his first job trying to emulate Lethal's hard-arse style. It works for a grizzled and respected Lethal - probably not so much for a 33 year old Voss leading former teammates.

He comes to Carlton more rounded, but also older. Most of our list would barely remember Voss the player. Makes for a very different dynamic when you're ~20 years older from a previous generation.

Why would Cook have any power at all in appointing assistants? He's not football department.

Didn't we just have the whole Liddle over stepping his CEO role saga?
Those 2 things are different and I feel like I've said this to you specifically before. The CEO should definitely be involved in all hirings and firings. As should anyone who runs a company or department. AFTER that is where they need to 'stay in their lane'. Liddle hired and then got involved with the day to day stuff he hired other people to do. Thats a completely different thing.

I don’t understand all the hate re: Voss. I rated him at brissy if you put the first couple of years of “crazy Vossy” aside. I thought he was coaching fairly well in his last year or two and was stiff to miss on another contract.

He was made aware of where he fell short at Brisbane and has actively tried to better himself since - namely in leadership & empathy. Where he was seen to have shortfalls originally, he’s now touted as being incredibly good in those same areas by Port players & staff.

Either way, he’s now the Carlton coach and so I back him all the way. Bring us #17, Vossy!
Haters are gunna hate.

The good thing is that we are not paying Voss an elite coach wage so there is more to go around for the assistants.

Why would Cook have any power at all in appointing assistants? He's not football department.

Didn't we just have the whole Liddle over stepping his CEO role saga?
You're really not happy are you, bud? My advice - take a break and come back when you're a little less testy. Coming across as trying to pick a fight when we're all in a good mood.

Cook had final say on Voss and would have had more if he were here earlier. Appointments of key people would definitely be under his purview. Not that we've given him carte blanche but we've head-hunted him for a very good reason and knows better than just about anyone in the industry how to build a successful team (off field) and culture.

Not really relevant.

Not often you see a player move clubs solely to play under a particular coach. There are plenty of other factors that they consider - opportunity, position, location, money, length of contract, chances of success. Recruiting a player just because they like the coach is fraught with issues anyway (see Gov).

He said a new coach moved him back in. truth be told theres no documentatin anywhere on who made the decision to move boak out of the middle and who wanted him back in.

There is documentation on how much the Power players liked Voss and credited him with their growth as players.

I bet you would have heard that about Bolton and Teague too from players.

Now with Scarlett gone and Lappin being offered a five year deal at Geelong, who are the available assistant coaches? Are we still able to attract quality staff with Voss at the helm?

It took me a while to warm to it, but excited by the appointment.

Cook, Voss and Sayers made for a very impressive trio. A level of authenticity and presence that wasn't there with Liddle, MLo and Teague.

Re Voss, I wonder if he went into his first job trying to emulate Lethal's hard-arse style. It works for a grizzled and respected Lethal - probably not so much for a 33 year old Voss leading former teammates.

He comes to Carlton more rounded, but also older. Most of our list would barely remember Voss the player. Makes for a very different dynamic when you're ~20 years older from a previous generation.
He had a strong emphasis on the people piece in his press conference. It's a different ball game from playing to coaching and people management is the most difficult part of that transition.

He said all the right things but let's see how it pans out over the next 12 to 18 months.

I bet you would have heard that about Bolton and Teague too from players.
Thats not the point, you want a balanced argument you can't latch on to the bits you want and ignore the others.

Besides wrt Bolton it depends on which players you ask. Teague there are very few and not at the end of his tenure really.

Voss at the end of his tenure is still being spoken about as a great influence and coach. just a tad different yeah?

Or you can keep picking small things here and there to try to feed the clear distaste you have for Voss. I suggest you just take some time and look forward to footy season starting again in a few months. Maybe get excited by the potential assistants and trade period coming up?