A year is a long time in footy. People have short memoriesSetterfield is utter useless. He wouldn't be in our best 23 if all were fit
I particularly liked the "I have a thoery that many people won't like" knowing full well it appeals to the masses who want a scapegoat. It has to be someone's fault! Gibbs and Murphy are easy targets and get the pitchforks raised.
Carlton supporters used to treat their champions with a bit of respect. I personally find it disgusting.
I have a theory that many people won't like, I have nothing solid to go on, just a hunch and could be totally wrong.
Murphy, Gibbs were soft sooks, who could cruise on ability and be good AFL players in their prime, they were the messiah's and touted as the chosen ones. However they lacked the drive, desire and hardness to be great.
Simpson and carrazo were part of this clique and although hard workers were snarky and not warm welcoming or encouraging to younger players/leaders of men. I once heard carrots say to Judd "my god he is a mental midget" when Kane Lucas missed a set from 30m at training. The way he said it seemed mean and cold.
Krezuer only gave on field leadership through action and not really part of any leadership/influence off field.
Anyway these guys weren't leaders, yet they were the "cool/alpha group" at the club. They aren't Josh Kennedy, Jude Bolton, Luke Parker types or Hodge, Roughead, Lewis kind of champions/leaders.
I have a feeling with Murphy now gone, there is an ability for some new guys to move into these hard to define social/on field/leader posts of the club and hopefully shake this losing culture that has plagued the club since 2002.
Tbph I don’t know that much about Hill. I think you’ve all persuaded me to back in our young blokesHmmmmm.
I’d prefer one that tackles and kicks goals.............
Weiters seems the obvious captain. Stern, no nonsense, excellent communicator and says it how he is. Big imposing figure, general of our defence, calm and collected. He seems to relish the leadership role.To me the right structure is Cripps captain. Get his head right that he needs to do the hard things and forget the flashy things, and he’ll get back to his best. Cripps is an inspirational, vocal, alpha leader type.
Doc would be a superb VC to me. The perfect 2IC, who brings the calm, sensible-haircut “ok here’s what to do” follow up to something rousing and revving from Cripps. He’s like the military second in command who does the orders after the boss has delivered the spray.
Cripps heart, aggro, excitement… in the thick of it. Doc cool, professional, consistent…. Stepped back and observing.
How I always thought it should be.
Yep, and I also quoted that L. OBRIEN would be delisted by seasons end and got laughed at. And I wasn't wrong on that call. Setterfield, confidence shot doesn't chase, unaccountable what more can I say....A year is a long time in footy. People have short memories
Looked terrible but supposedly his groins were shot. Would explain the huge drop in form over 2020.Yep, and I also quoted that L. OBRIEN would be delisted by seasons end and got laughed at. And I wasn't wrong on that call. Setterfield, confidence shot doesn't chase, unaccountable what more can I say....
Fairly close though. Reckon my market held up pretty well.I can tell you now - Walsh wins it.![]()
Thought it might be worth getting a view on Muprh’s leadership from someone who would actually have some idea. I don’t know about anyone else but these sorts of opinions mean far more to me than any agenda some posters on here may have
I can tell you now - Walsh wins it.![]()
Sure, the onus is on the youngsters to have a crack & outperform him though.Fair enough, that is your opinion.
Im of the opinion that he shouldn’t get games ahead of our youngsters, that’s all.
Ugh, this Gibbons v Newnes kerfuffle was so yesterday dude, we are talking about how it was all Murphy, Gibbs and Simmo’s fault that we had a terrible culture for the last 15 years.Sure, the onus is on the youngsters to have a crack & outperform him though.
Rather than death riding someone that is getting the most of himself, perhaps question why supposedly more talented players cannot dislodge him from the side.
Thought it might be worth getting a view on Muprh’s leadership from someone who would actually have some idea. I don’t know about anyone else but these sorts of opinions mean far more to me than any agenda some posters on here may have
My bad mate! Work has been hectic so I'm playing catch up - but dw, I'm already up to sneering at those who pot Murph.Ugh, this Gibbons v Newnes kerfuffle was so yesterday dude, we are talking about how it was all Murphy, Gibbs and Simmo’s fault that we had a terrible culture for the last 15 years.
Keep up![]()
And the big JuJu atop of the mount is counting all our blessings!My favourite part is the "I have a theory..." bit.
It then evolves into fact and further outrageous posts are made based on it.
That's bigfooty 101, really.My favourite part is the "I have a theory..." bit.
It then evolves into fact and further outrageous posts are made based on it.
Yep, and I also quoted that L. OBRIEN would be delisted by seasons end and got laughed at. And I wasn't wrong on that call. Setterfield, confidence shot doesn't chase, unaccountable what more can I say....
So just to clarify, actual quotes from players at the footy club are less of an indicator of Murphy’s leadership than their body language after a 95 point loss?Where’s the proof of an agenda?
In any case some people aren’t big fans of Marc Murphy, and even the most staunch Murphy fan would concede in some small part he has put his own needs ahead of the club this season.
With all due respect to Stocker he is a young guy who hasn’t had the benefit of some strong leadership and the club as a whole has been bereft of this for a long period. Cripps says similar things about Murph, but realistically they don’t have a lot to compare to. He was captain when Cripps came in and outside of Doc (and himself) is the only skipper he’s worked under. There’s no other point of reference.
On BnF night there is only going to be positive sentiment towards outgoing senior players - especially a former captain and 300 game player. Don’t take Stocker’s complimentary view of Murphy as a true representation of his leadership. Players also have their biases and older guys will choose who they invest in - maybe Stocker is just one of the few Murphy has made an effort with.
The players non-reaction to Murphy following his 300th game was far more telling IMO.
I suspect the players are going to be shocked when they see the kind of leadership Voss, Hamill and co bring to the table.
So just to clarify, actual quotes from players at the footy club are less of an indicator of Murphy’s leadership than their body language after a 95 point loss?
Im going to listen to what his teammates have to say about him, feel free to keep basing your opinion off the “vibe”
You're amazing. What extraordinary insight.I have said more than once on here, that when this rebuild started back at the 2015 draft and trade period, the first thing SOS should have done was put them all up for trade.
Setterfield is utter useless. He wouldn't be in our best 23 if all were fit
Yep a team with no leaders... fun timesI have said more than once on here, that when this rebuild started back at the 2015 draft and trade period, the first thing SOS should have done was put them all up for trade.
Our "supporters" used to go a lot better also........ enough saidOur "champions" used to win Premierships!!