Bluemour Season Blast Off Edition XXXIII

Fair effort. Do you recognise differences between your post and many others with regard to Murph? I do. What about the kids at home? Send a stamped, self-addressed envelope with your answer to:

Murph Is sh*t
Competition
Big Footy
PO Box 9999
In Your Capital City
The olllllldddds please send a stamped self addressed envelope trick hey?

It's a shame his body let him down and he went on a couple of years too long.
I hope in a few years when the dust settles that those with resentment can remember the best of him.
Watch some of this stuff (including his defensive efforts, strength at the contest) and hopefully it helps.

I truly believe in 2011 he was the best player in the comp.
This really reminds me how much zip he had.

Lost that step at the end unfortunately

On SM-A515F using BigFooty.com mobile app

The Murphy stuff is clearly polarising, for mine I feel some are just unwilling to face the uncomfortable truth of what he became in the latter years of his career.

Which, to me, was a symbol of Carlton surrendering to the opposition. Footy is such an incredibly competitive game where every tiny thing is scrutinised to an inch of its life, with clubs desperately striving to gain an edge. If you think selecting a guy who wasn't willing to do the hard stuff, couldn't tackle and didn't chase wasn't offering a free leg-up to the opposition, then you probably don't understand the culture of losing that we have suffered.

This was never more evident than this season. If you don't think opposition clubs were looking at the team sheet and saying "These blokes aren't serious, picking Murphy", and passing that message on to their playing group, then you're doing it wrong. And yes, small things like that are capable of influencing results. Teams feed off it. They love exploiting weaknesses. They "know" that they have it over you (that confidence or belief is enough), and proceed to arrogantly do as they want.

And what greater weakness than knowing one of your opponents isn't going to tackle you properly if you have the ball? "Smash through Murphy if he's near you, don't worry about trying to dish off just back yourself to break the tackle" would have been the directive. It all comes back to mindset. In terms of winning games of football, I don't think we've had the correct, ruthless mindset for a very long time. And this exemplifies it. How he was keeping a savage tackling half-forward like Honey out of the team is all sorts of wrong. That he was considered a leader of the club makes it all the more deflating for the group - and inspiring for the opposition - when he puts in a weak effort.

Is it all Murph's fault? No. The coaches have more to answer for picking him when he couldn't do the basics required to keep the opposition honest. But I think we should be allowed to talk about it. For years now we have been easy to play against, and this again exemplifies it for me. I don't want us to be easy to play against anymore, and I hope that the new regime don't either.

This is an awesome post and I'm so thankful to the mods for not deleting it.

FFS give an opinion on the club instead of whinging about people who do
at it again - you can't help yourself - any fond memories of the club or players? there's a thread for that.............

68kgs - third twice in the brownlow - won the dees b & f only the one time in 77 - he is the utter epitome of a champion...........
I just remember seeing him and thinking how much time he always seemed to have, But damn when he got smashed in that era it was never pretty.

Robbie Flower was and is an absolute champion of the Game.

For all the posters whinging about the Murphy discussion, why don't you raise something else (relevant to the club, not about someones cats) that is more interesting for everyone to talk about?

cats are way more interesting than you crapping on about murph's shortcomings believe me............

You're so far off the mark with your comments that it isn't even funny. Stocker was not asked to make any comment on Murphy at all. He was asked whether he had a mentor at the club who helped him through the tough times that he'd experienced. He had no hesitation in naming Murphy as the person who had taken him under his wing and helped him, not only in a football sense but also outside of football.

I have no doubt that what he said was a 100% true representation, if it wasn't, there was no need to even mention Murphy.

Over the years, there have been a lot of our young players who have said similar things about Murphy without being prompted to or being asked directly about Murphy.
True that, but how do you reconcile that with his last 30 games, and the examples and precedents that set for those same young players.

I don't need to reconcile it at all, Murph was a great of the club and deserves recognition as such. I look back at his career with great memories. I was happy for him to get to 300 after the way he put his body on the line for the jumper, paid the price for it and remained loyal to the club throughout the whole of his career.

If a few of our younger players turn out to be as good a player as Murph was we will be rejoicing in that for years to come. Let's move on to discussing 2022 and beyond.

I don't need to reconcile it at all, Murph was a great of the club and deserves recognition as such. I look back at his career with great memories. I was happy for him to get to 300 after the way he put his body on the line for the jumper, paid the price for it and remained loyal to the club throughout the whole of his career.

If a few of our younger players turn out to be as good a player as Murph was we will be rejoicing in that for years to come. Let's move on to discussing 2022 and beyond.

Give us something to discuss

Yeah after Cripps, Stocker probably plays the most similar style to Voss. Although the same could be said for Teague.

Voss wasn't great at Brisbane, weirdly all the port fans seem to hate Hink
Teague was nowhere near as good as Voss. Was a solid courageous half back flanker and got the most out of himself.
Voss was an absolute Gun!!!
Voss as a coach was green at Lions. Never should have taken that role so soon after playing days and openly admits it.
Got his fingers into list management too when should have left that to others. Sam Mitchell should take note...

Voss a decade on is super good timing for him and us. Would have learned heaps in last decade and could not be better prepared or motivated for such a coaching stint at club he grew up barracking for.

My opinion is Voss is going to be the right coach for us and Stocker going to benefit big time on a better coach.

What make you confident on Voss? I hope to God he is good but we interviewed him last time and went with Teague, plus he was not good at Brisbane, plus all the port fans hate Hinkley (which is weird).

I agree Stocker shows as much heart as any player on the list and has earned more midfield ops vs players like Dow, Obrien and Setterfield. Maybe a new coach will give him that chance, felt Teague made him work harder than others had to.

Even if Stocker doesn't make it as a mid, I reckon he can play 200 games down back and be a heath Scotland type.

Teague was nowhere near as good as Voss. Was a solid courageous half back flanker and got the most out of himself.
Voss was an absolute Gun!!!
Voss as a coach was green at Lions. Never should have taken that role so soon after playing days and openly admits it.
Got his fingers into list management too when should have left that to others. Sam Mitchell should take note...

Voss a decade on is super good timing for him and us. Would have learned heaps in last decade and could not be better prepared or motivated for such a coaching stint at club he grew up barracking for.

Obviously agree on Voss as a player

My bias as **** opinion

Best

Tier 1 - Lockett, Carey, Kouta (his best 5 individual games would be in the top 20 individual games of any player ever)

Tier 2 - SOS, Ablett Senior, Ablett Junior, Judd, Williams

Tier 3 - Voss, Buckley, Hird (yuck)

But Teague was every bit as hard as Voss. On your other Voss points, I like them and hope you are right.

Further, if it's true senior players influenced getting Teague, then when to the board again to complain about a spray Teague gave, then that is a terrible way for the club to run and I hope Sayers cuts all comms with players and the board to give Voss the best chance.

What make you confident on Voss? I hope to God he is good but we interviewed him last time and went with Teague, plus he was not good at Brisbane, plus all the port fans hate Hinkley (which is weird).
Idiots like Liddle that knows next to nothing about football and is marketing type guy was involved in appointing last coach. So never held nothing against Voss for clowns not appointing him. Plus I could not give a rats arse what Port fans think. Generally poor judges of anyone from outside their own club connections. I really just back judgement of character and I have always liked Voss as a player and how determined he's been in football. I always like a coach to have links back to good teachers and he was coached by Matthews and Walls that had their own links back to wonderful coaches like Kennedy and Barassi. Often some of that timeless wisdom can get passed on and used by a generation or two later. Great connections way back. Just so many boxes Voss ticks for me and plus he got the tick of approval from good footy people like Parkin and Williams. He is right age to be a coach that not just here for 3 to 5 years.

My opinion is Voss is going to be the right coach for us and Stocker going to benefit big time on a better coach.

I have the same sneaking suspicion. From the outside, it looks like Stocker took a while to find his place in the team, not just as a player but as a person. Now it's started to click for him, we get guys like Voss in as coach and Diesel lurking around, and Stocker seems a real head-first willing teammate, which looks like it's gonna be the order of the day. Could be the perfect storm for this kid to now find his place in the league.

I have the same sneaking suspicion. From the outside, it looks like Stocker took a while to find his place in the team, not just as a player but as a person. Now it's started to click for him, we get guys like Voss in as coach and Diesel lurking around, and Stocker seems a real head-first willing teammate, which looks like it's gonna be the order of the day. Could be a perfect storm for this kid to now find his place in the league.

Same as Kennedy ...

Obviously agree on Voss as a player

My bias as fu** opinion

Best

Tier 1 - Lockett, Carey, Kouta (his best 5 individual games would be in the top 20 individual games of any player ever)

Tier 2 - SOS, Ablett Senior, Ablett Junior, Judd, Williams

Tier 3 - Voss, Buckley, Hird (yuck)

But Teague was every bit as hard as Voss. On your other Voss points, I like them and hope you are right.
I never rated Teague anywhere near the contested beast Voss was. What he had was courage. You can be courageous without really being a hard player.

As for your tiers. yeah, I have Voss above quite a few you got there.
He top tier, not two or three and as fun as it was to watch Kouta at his heights no chance I have him ahead of Voss.
Voss was an absolute gun.
He's up there with SOS, Plugger, Carey, Dominator, Judd and Williams for mine.