Bluemour 'Silly Season' Edition XXXIV

I don't get the negativity over our trade period. Setterfield was a little disappointing but looking over the board there were plenty of players who could play a little going to other clubs for bugger all.

We have replaced Setterfield on a wing with Acres on a wing. A player who is below average in that position with a player who this year was one of the best in the league in that position.

We did not need to replenish our onball group! We did that last year. We have Docherty who is able to go in there. If Martin and/or Williams get fit then they can go through there. Durdin and Fisher were going through there a bit at times. We have Dow who is as good a reserve for that position as any going around. We have Carroll coming on in that position who will be hard to keep out of the side. Kemp is likely to start playing on the ball next year at some level. Cuningham should be able to play a bit in the middle next year. Philp is likely to develop there then we have our top end. Cripps, Walsh, Cerra, Hewett, Kennedy are on par with the best going around. We also have a number of prime draft picks we are yet to use, it's not an area we need to go out and blow money on. Oh and the forgotten man Ed Curnow, if he can get fit is no slouch. Heaps of quality, heaps of depth.

Backline, there is no need to spend money on that. Weitering, Young, Durdin, McGovern, Marchbank, Docherty, Saad, Williams, Boyd, Newman, Kemp and Plowman. It's stacked with depth and talent.

Our forward line is the weak area of the ground. Curnow and McKay with DeKoning as backup or 3rd tall is strong. Motlop, Durdin, Silvagni, Owies, Martin, and Honey are a bit young, raw and inconsistent. It's a big group but it could add more talent. Or could it? Young guys tend to have a habit of improving and coming on.

The wings were one of our weakest areas. Can't deny Acres, his season this year, he was one of the best and he stood up in big games. Ticks a lot of boxes. Will the player on the other wing be good enough? Hopefully, there is young talent to chose from with O'Brien and Cottrell. Williams played there in the last round and was good. Cuningham back from injury and Carroll a good chance on a wing as well.

Ruck is fine if Mirkov is AFL ready. If he's not then this is just poor recruiting. 3 ruckmen on a list that's as small as it is is fine.

We have topped up a lot from other clubs over the last few years, we have also invested in youth, we just need both of these things to come together.

Quite happy to fill our biggest hole with one of the best available, back our list and youth in and hit the draft with some premium picks. We still have expected improvement that should come from all areas next year.

I think we needed one more experienced ruckman. TDK and Mirkov still unproven at the level which just leaves us with Pitto again.

I think having no available experienced ruck cost us finals last season.

Not sure how you're so confident on Mirkov given he's still too skinny.

I think we needed one more experienced ruckman. TDK and Mirkov still unproven at the level which just leaves us with Pitto again.

2 years at the club now, hopefully he's added a bit of weight/strength now. At 210cm he has a decent advantage against most, hope they play him this year if the other two have to miss

We certainly do need another Ruckman preferably experienced & mature, next year Pitto & TDK both will be OOC , as for Mirkov the lad has a long way to go.

I don't get the negativity over our trade period. Setterfield was a little disappointing but looking over the board there were plenty of players who could play a little going to other clubs for bugger all.

We have replaced Setterfield on a wing with Acres on a wing. A player who is below average in that position with a player who this year was one of the best in the league in that position.

We did not need to replenish our onball group! We did that last year. We have Docherty who is able to go in there. If Martin and/or Williams get fit then they can go through there. Durdin and Fisher were going through there a bit at times. We have Dow who is as good a reserve for that position as any going around. We have Carroll coming on in that position who will be hard to keep out of the side. Kemp is likely to start playing on the ball next year at some level. Cuningham should be able to play a bit in the middle next year. Philp is likely to develop there then we have our top end. Cripps, Walsh, Cerra, Hewett, Kennedy are on par with the best going around. We also have a number of prime draft picks we are yet to use, it's not an area we need to go out and blow money on. Oh and the forgotten man Ed Curnow, if he can get fit is no slouch. Heaps of quality, heaps of depth.

Backline, there is no need to spend money on that. Weitering, Young, Durdin, McGovern, Marchbank, Docherty, Saad, Williams, Boyd, Newman, Kemp and Plowman. It's stacked with depth and talent.

Our forward line is the weak area of the ground. Curnow and McKay with DeKoning as backup or 3rd tall is strong. Motlop, Durdin, Silvagni, Owies, Martin, and Honey are a bit young, raw and inconsistent. It's a big group but it could add more talent. Or could it? Young guys tend to have a habit of improving and coming on.

The wings were one of our weakest areas. Can't deny Acres, his season this year, he was one of the best and he stood up in big games. Ticks a lot of boxes. Will the player on the other wing be good enough? Hopefully, there is young talent to chose from with O'Brien and Cottrell. Williams played there in the last round and was good. Cuningham back from injury and Carroll a good chance on a wing as well.

Ruck is fine if Mirkov is AFL ready. If he's not then this is just poor recruiting. 3 ruckmen on a list that's as small as it is is fine.

We have topped up a lot from other clubs over the last few years, we have also invested in youth, we just need both of these things to come together.

Quite happy to fill our biggest hole with one of the best available, back our list and youth in and hit the draft with some premium picks. We still have expected improvement that should come from all areas next year.
Its been a little deflating considering 36 players moved and several teams have improved significantly suppose the greater plan , vision will prevail. However the mystery, remains, why trade Setters for Zilch and retain Fogarty,Dow and Ed Curnow ? all of whom have had very little to no impact throughout the year

Think you answered you own question. Two of those players were not highly regarded by the league. But what's wrong with Ed? He had an injury-ravaged year, many players do, but his last year was very good. I reckon he would have been top 10 in the b and f, just because someones over 30 we should not dismiss them. And with some better mids at the club now, perhaps that may even help his impact, or he will support the VFL team. It's win win for us with him, glad they kept him. Been a great club man for a long time and there hasn't been many times I've seen him sherk a contest, if ever.

Agree with most of this - unless we recruit another Key Forward then Kemp will have to pinch hit as one, and another back up ruck is needed, because Mirkov is still way off.

Love your work B, but jeez man.. this has been done to death..

Fogarty contracted..
Dow contacted..
Ed injured all year.
How is bringing in a best 22 player like Acres, and letting go a fringe depth player like Setterfield not improving our list?

Also at a time where it seems we are bringing 4 young un's into the Club via the draft, I couldn't think of a better player to model preparation and application than Ed. Surely that's worth 1 year on minimum chips.

I really don't think there's any mystery...

Not confident on Mirkov, been sceptical of that one. IMO long term project players on lists which have been shrunk when you are in your window is a no for mine.

Then again let's see if they are right and whether he is AFL ready next year.

4 rucks on the list is a no from me, though we can probably get away with it with TDK doubling as a forward.

Setterfield wanted to go, the others weren't wanted and are contracted. We were happy to let Setterfield go.

Ed Stays to meet our mid depth quota, trust me he will contribute.

You need to look at it as a whole, yes a lot moved but how many have we brought in the last 5 years. We had a big haul last year and the years before have brought in really good players. We've brought in a lot of good players.

It's a good sign we don't need to go out and bring in a heap of mature players.

Setterfield wanted to go, the others weren't wanted and are contracted. We were happy to let Setterfield go.

Ed Stays to meet our mid depth quota, trust me he will contribute.

You need to look at it as a whole, yes a lot moved but how many have we brought in the last 5 years. We had a big haul last year and the years before have brought in really good players. We've brought in a lot of good players.

It's a good sign we don't need to go out and bring in a heap of mature players.
Setterfield is replaceable.
The question is why the likes of Grundy or Dunkley weren't pursued. They add to our list.

It's important to be nice but nicer to be important.

We continue to be irrelevant. 9th again next year and the Tiger supporters can come at us.

Unfortunately it came down to Dow and Setters.

Club wanted to move Dow but not give him away for nothing.

The only interest he had was of that nature.

We weren't going to run it back with Setters at 350k+ that he was on so when Essendon came calling at about that price tag the choice was taken out of our hands.

The value we got for him was the perceived value we had offered him much like Freo got for Acres.

We'll probably parlay the picks/points we got for Will to 2024 points in 12 months.

We weren't going to run it back with Setters at 350k+ that he was on so when Essendon came calling at about that price tag the choice was taken out of our hands.

The value we got for him was the perceived value we had offered him much like Freo got for Acres.

We'll probably parlay the picks/points we got for Will to 2024 points in 12 months.
We're dealing at the bottom of the barrel.

Dow, Setterfield are not CFC currency. Remember we are the CHAMPS, 16 of them.

Can we get our arrogance back?

Not confident on Mirkov, been sceptical of that one. IMO long term project players on lists which have been shrunk when you are in your window is a no for mine.

Then again let's see if they are right and whether he is AFL ready next year.

4 rucks on the list is a no from me, though we can probably get away with it with TDK doubling as a forward.
When Harry Madden Came over from Essendon I was seriously considering investing my savings to pay for a hit on him. He was Sh*thouse in his first to seasons with us. He then turned into a beauty. Big men Take time to develop. And Mirkov is more athletic and Coordinated than Madden.

Time will tell.

2 years at the club now, hopefully he's added a bit of weight/strength now. At 210cm he has a decent advantage against most, hope they play him this year if the other two have to miss
You’ve not watched our VFL team play have you?

So we keep an under-performer because we don't want to lose the trade?

Win footy games. improve the list.

When Harry Madden Came over from Essendon I was seriously considering investing my savings to pay for a hit on him. He was Sh*thouse in his first to seasons with us. He then turned into a beauty. Big men Take time to develop. And Mirkov is more athletic and Coordinated than Madden.

Time will tell.

Justin Madden had played 45 games for Essendon and was 22 years old when he transferred to Carlton- he also played junior football.

Mirkov is 22 now, hasn’t played senior football yet and hardly played any junior football/ he’s coming from a long way back.

We need to trust and hope that Mirkov’s superior athleticism and coordination coupled with our player development may result in a competent senior player.

So we keep an under-performer because we don't want to lose the trade?

Win footy games. improve the list.

Dow this year, and likely next is a break glass option.

So, what does that have to do with us winning games?

Plus, we weren't getting a decent pick for Dow, nor was anyone willing to take on his contract

We're dealing at the bottom of the barrel.

Dow, Setterfield are not CFC currency. Remember we are the CHAMPS, 16 of them.

Can we get our arrogance back?
If it takes us the same amount of time to get our arrogance back as it takes for you to post something that resembles common sense, footy nous and critical thinking, we're doomed.🤣

What experienced ruckman of note, is available in the drafts or supplemental selection period?

Justin Madden had played 45 games for Essendon and was 22 years old when he transferred to Carlton- he also played junior football.

Mirkov is 22 now, hasn’t played senior football yet and hardly played any junior football/ he’s coming from a long way back.

We need to trust and hope that Mirkov’s superior athleticism and coordination coupled with our player development may result in a competent senior player.
He is a quick learner - it is all about his body size - that needs to be made a fair bit bigger snd stronger...right now he is a twig.

Time will tell.
In todays game we don’t have the time. Better training, better diets, higher standard all around, fine to develop in the 2s but if your named in the afl u need to perform at a “good” standard at the very least.

Setterfield is replaceable.
The question is why the likes of Grundy or Dunkley weren't pursued. They add to our list.

It's important to be nice but nicer to be important.

We continue to be irrelevant. 9th again next year and the Tiger supporters can come at us.
Can you let us know how we could of got Grundy or Dunkley in the trade period real interested in your thoughts of how it could have been achieved ?

Unpopular opinion incoming: I’d very seriously consider signing Josh Walker as a DFA.

Mature tall who can fill a role at either end. Strong pair of hands.

Have always liked him as a footballer.

Each to their own.

I always thought he was a massive potato who only stayed on lists because he was tall...

Both our Rucks will be OOC by end 2023, should Cats lure TDK a real possibility , pretty attractive destination for youngster and obvious brother connection , we’ll be in deep poo.