Blues vs Hawthorn a sellout will it be a record?

They will get easy 55,000

When last i heard there was only standing room available and that was on sunday so im guessing they wouldve sold a couple of thousand more since then

Considering that the corresponding match last year drew 53,459, I simply cannot see the crowd being below 50,000.

We'll go very close to matching last years figure, if not beating it.

It won't touch last year.

Last year was a walk up match, because of this the Telstra Dome oversold the capacity of seats on the top deck.

This year, the Dome will be turning people below to keep it within capacity

We are talking about the AFL record not the 56,800 Rugby Test numbers where there were extra seats with the wings fence moved forward

moving the seats in takes away 8,000 seats.
There was just insane demand for the tickets for the British Lions game.
A mate got offered $600 at the pub before the game for his standing room ticket.

This ground record will never be broken.

Will the AFL keep bending over the Hawthorn fans, or will they think about elevating us to MCG Blockbuster status?
Originally we were told that Dome sell-outs would be transferred to the MCG (a big, fat lie)

Every season, they keep scheduling Carlton vs Hawthorn games at the Dome, even though it's a ley-down misere that these two (improving) clubs will draw in excess of 50,000. They were drawing close to 50,000 to the Dome, even when both clubs were struggling. The game last year was high farce when 53,000 attended and people were forced to sit in the stairwells (while the Medallion Club seats were empty)

In 2008, Carlton played MCG home games against Collingwood, Essendon, Richmond, St Kilda and Adelaide (att: 41,000)
Why not have Carlton play their MCG home games against the biggest-drawing Victorian clubs?

Why don't the AFL boys use their heads, learn from their past mistakes and stop scheduling Hawthorn to play the Big 3 at the Dome?

North vs Port this weekend at the MCG. :rolleyes:
When the AFL does the fixtures, why wouldn't they schedule this game at the smaller venue?

Whoever would have thought that Carlton would just finish outside the 8, Hawthorn 2nd and Buddy and Fevola shooting off for the 100.

That said, too Melbourne clubs with large membership bases and supporter groups= play the game at the G regardless.

Telstra Dome regually sells out. Doesnt mean its going to be a record crowd.

Personally I cant see all Carlton reserve seat members rocking up given their season is over.

56 at the Dome > 75 at the G

That would be $$$$

That might be the short term view.

The long term view would be to encourage extra people to get along to the game and keep attending AFL games into the future, as opposed to turning customers (and potential customers) away and letting them find other ways to spend their entertainment dollar.

Will the AFL keep bending over the Hawthorn fans, or will they think about elevating us to MCG Blockbuster status?
Originally we were told that Dome sell-outs would be transferred to the MCG (a big, fat lie)

Every season, they keep scheduling Carlton vs Hawthorn games at the Dome, even though it's a ley-down misere that these two (improving) clubs will draw in excess of 50,000. They were drawing close to 50,000 to the Dome, even when both clubs were struggling. The game last year was high farce when 53,000 attended and people were forced to sit in the stairwells (while the Medallion Club seats were empty)

In 2008, Carlton played MCG home games against Collingwood, Essendon, Richmond, St Kilda and Adelaide (att: 41,000)
Why not have Carlton play their MCG home games against the biggest-drawing Victorian clubs?

Why don't the AFL boys use their heads, learn from their past mistakes and stop scheduling Hawthorn to play the Big 3 at the Dome?

North vs Port this weekend at the MCG. :rolleyes:
When the AFL does the fixtures, why wouldn't they schedule this game at the smaller venue?
Every team has to play at the dump, plenty of other games that reguarly get 50k+ crowds are drawn there, just live with it, if Hawthorn had a poor year it would struggle to get 45k

Besides it would be unfair to the Roos, Dogs and Interstate sides if they never got to play at the MCG

That might be the short term view.

The long term view would be to encourage extra people to get along to the game and keep attending AFL games into the future, as opposed to turning customers (and potential customers) away and letting them find other ways to spend their entertainment dollar.

Guess that explains why Hawthorn elects to play home games interstate.

Which is of course the main reason Hawthorn play potential high drawing games at the Dump, they sell their low drawing ones

Go whinge to your board not the AFL

So to paraphrase, we play high drawing away games at Telstra Dome because we play low drawing (which evidently aren't always low drawing ala Bulldogs, Adelaide and Brisbane games this year) in Tasmania.

The AFL punish us for trying to be financially successful, playing games in Tasmania and spreading our brand - remember we're the only Victorian club that hasn't hosted a home game at the TD over the last 2 years

Makes perfect sense :rolleyes:

Guess that explains why Hawthorn elects to play home games interstate.

Actually it does, exposing the brand to another population base.

Every team has to play at the dump, plenty of other games that reguarly get 50k+ crowds are drawn there, just live with it, if Hawthorn had a poor year it would struggle to get 45k

In 2004, 2005 and 2006 (when both clubs struggled) the fixture drew 47,302 and 49,018 and 45,102.

In 2007 (when Hawthorn were 2nd, but Carlton was still 13th) the game smashed the previous record crowd at the ground with 53,549 attending.

In every year since Carlton moved to the TD/MCG (bar this year) despite being at the Dome and Carlton playing 5 home games a year at the MCG, the fixture has either been Carlton's 3rd or 4th largest gate of the year, despite the form of both clubs.

Besides it would be unfair to the Roos, Dogs and Interstate sides if they never got to play at the MCG

For the integrity of the game, no doubt

The integrity of the game went out of favour years ago when the AFL promised to move high drawing games from the venue to the MCG, or when Geelong hosted Brisbane in the 2004 Preliminary Final or the 1996 Semi Final between West Coast and Essendon

if Hawthorn had a poor year it would struggle to get 45k

bulls..., i suggest you check what the attendances have been for Haw v Carl at the dome for the last 3-4 years, when both Hawthorn and Carlton have been ordinary

Last years crowd was a record for the ground for an AFL game, and Carlton where no world beaters, and Buddy missed because of injury

These two clubs ALWAYS draw well, why its not at the MCG and why we only get to play each other once, and in rd 22 for that matter is a mystery

I'm attending and have no intention of watching the game. I'll concentrate on stretching my hosts credit limit instead. Why bother posting this? Because hopefully it will be a sell out and I'll be depriving a Hawks or Blues fan a much wanted spot.

Just like you have been deprived of a finals spot...... yet again
;)

So to paraphrase, we play high drawing away games at Telstra Dome because we play low drawing (which evidently aren't always low drawing ala Bulldogs, Adelaide and Brisbane games this year) in Tasmania.

The AFL punish us for trying to be financially successful, playing games in Tasmania and spreading our brand - remember we're the only Victorian club that hasn't hosted a home game at the TD over the last 2 years

Makes perfect sense :rolleyes:

Yes it does, every team has to play a few games at the dump, so if you send 4 of your lowest drawing games to Tassie then it only makes sense you will end up with a high drawing game at the Dump.

Its not the AFL punishing you, its the AFL fullfilling its contracts and if they cant schedule Hawks v Interstate side at the Dump then the games will be against other Victorian sides which have the potential to draw big crowds

Plus Collo demands some decent games, thats why Collingwood has to keep playing 4 games there every year as well even though every one of those games would draw 60k+ at the G

Just like you have been deprived of a finals spot...... yet again
;)

It's okay, I'm used to it.

I'll toast to all the Hawks fans sitting at home while I enjoy the hospitality. Keep an eye out for the happy fella raising a glass of full strength on your 3" B&W screen in the Jayco.

moving the seats in takes away 8,000 seats.
There was just insane demand for the tickets for the British Lions game.
A mate got offered $600 at the pub before the game for his standing room ticket.

This ground record will never be broken.

Hasn't it already been broken by the WWF a few years back when they had thousands of seats on the playing surface?

Yes it does, every team has to play a few games at the dump, so if you send 4 of your lowest drawing games to Tassie then it only makes sense you will end up with a high drawing game at the Dump.

That works in theory if they were switching our MCG home games to the Dome, however the only games we play there are away games.

Like I said, if Carlton are contracted to play 5 home games a year at the MCG, you'd imagine they'd perfer to play their highest drawing home games at the MCG

For that reason alone, its disappointing for both sets of fans the game is at the venue

Sorta depends on how many medallion club and access 1 members turn up. You'd think they would all turn up (why wouldn't you its Buddys glory game and Fev might get 100 as well) but some people who have these awesome seats take them for granted and never go to the footy. I know all club members, AFL members and the general public areas will all be full with no seat to spare.

They could break the record. The one they set last time was pretty impressive, pretty hard to squeeze more than 53k into the dome. They might break it, they might not. Either way the Telstra Dome are gonna make a shitload of money.

Blues vs Hawthorn a sellout will it be a record?