Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham

Call me sexist, whatever. Sonia Hood, class. Peggy O’neal, class. The bulldogs old girl, she’s a ripper . Melbournes prez, you’d have a beer with her, she carries on like me. We need a female in charge, so obvious it hurts.
Lore I’m looking at you
Can we poach Christina Holgate from the Pies board? The men aren't cutting it anymore.

I reckon most of you know now that I'm involved in St Mary's Salesian footy club. And for those that don't follow the VAFA, we've endured a season where the club has won 1 game in our men's and women's program combined. One of the worst in the club's 90 year history.

I say this without a shadow of a doubt. SMS is better placed than Essendon. We are the worst run "professional" sporting organisation in the world. We have to fix it.

Who is Vice President ? Can he speak in front of the camera ? Because poor old Barham has shown it’s not his strong point. That presser was *ed up and did not fill me with confidence. But then again, he did make more sense than “ the back pocket plumberS” inane ramblings.

There isn't a Vice President

Call me sexist, whatever. Sonia Hood, class. Peggy O’neal, class. The bulldogs old girl, she’s a ripper . Melbournes prez, you’d have a beer with her, she carries on like me. We need a female in charge, so obvious it hurts.
Lore I’m looking at you

There would be many excellent candidates for Essendon's first women president, and If I had to choose from the three women currently on the board, I would probably go with Melissa Green, she is a Bomber tragic and is approachable. Dorothy Hisgrove is approachable, although she is new to supporting the club which could work for or against her being president then there is Kate O`Sullivan, however I don't know as much about her as the other two.

Just re-watched Jobe teeing off on the club with Carey and Darcy earlier.
Very well put "looking outwards instead of inwards" and you could tell it was hard for him to keep all his emotion in check while on National TV no less.

Yep, probably should make Jobe president. Also get Carey on in some sort of coaching role, I genuinely felt he had a lot of sympathy for us.

No to Jobe. As much as I love him, he’s still far too “Essendon”, given his links to the players, board, and I’m sure even some passive links with shady back room figures due to Tim.

Carey, just no. The domestic abuser shouldn’t even be on TV anymore, but Channel 7 and the AFL media, just like Essendon… boys will be boys.

Lore I’m looking at you
Agree, go the Icelandic approach - tear the place down and boot the boys.

I would fear for a female leader at Essendon though. Or any female, if the rumours are to be believed.

Industry groundswell for Rutten is palpable and there are very pointed (and justified) criticisms coming for the board and the exec. Trust levels in the club are probably lower right now than mid saga.

It doesn’t fix any of the backroom stuff but I think backing Rutten in no uncertain terms tomorrow at least until a full external review is complete will go some way to restoring a level of trust and credibility after what they have done.

I don’t see how we possibly attract or retain players, appeal to draftees or even attract the best coaching and footy ops applicants without doing this. Leon Cameron this evening said there is no way he would consider applying on the basis of what happened this week. We’ve just demonstrated in the worst way that we don’t give two shits about our people.

Add to this there’s footage going around of Truck in the rooms looking close to tears hugging I’d presume family and Madden is swanning around 2-3 metres away from him with a big, dumb grin on his face not acknowledging him at all. Get him the **** out of the joint.
I think that’s a bit unfair to say Simon didn’t acknowledge him. It was stated on the featured news on the AFL site that Brasher, Wellman and Madden all spoke to him in the rooms after the game.

We don't have the cattle to play Truck's game plan. Although I'm not sure we have the cattle to implement any finals-worthy game plan at the moment, to be honest...
We also don’t even have any cattle to my knowledge whatsoever, only humans.

FML this ****ing club.

Just re-watched Jobe teeing off on the club with Carey and Darcy earlier.
Very well put "looking outwards instead of inwards" and you could tell it was hard for him to keep all his emotion in check while on National TV no less.
was shocking to see that we went and got one of the best reviewers in world sport for our internal review and then we dished up the shit we had in the last week shows where we are at as a club really.

Person x says this, Essendon fc says nuh, we'll do this thanks.

Another piece of evidence how pathetic we have become

was shocking to see that we went and got one of the best reviewers in world sport for our internal review and then we dished up the s**t we had in the last week shows where we are at as a club really.

Person x says this, Essendon fc says nuh, we'll do this thanks.

Another piece of evidence how pathetic we have become
Who?

lol

No.

No wonder our hierarchy is ****ed. Give an absolute shit bloke a gig because he felt bas for us.

That's probably why half the dickheads at this club still have jobs.

A genuine external review will likely suggest turfing the likes of X, Jackets and overhauling the footy department. Too many protected species get sniped in that scenario: which is why I hold out very little hope of there being a genuinely robust external review. Whoever they call on will have very targeted, deliberate terms of reference.

The only real pathway to change is a board spill that clears out most of if not all of the incumbents. Are signatures being gathered somewhere for a requisitioned general meeting?
Where do we sign?

I think from his press conference he said it was the whole club, he mentioned one of the big 4 consulting firms and some footy people and Dorothy Hisgrove.

I doubt you would have just an admin review if you were including 'footy people'
I swear he said the word “administrative” but I can’t find it in the clip. This is what I did find about the review specifically in the PC (times based on club website video):

7:00 speaking more broadly about being an agent of change and how the club had to rebuild its finances after the saga and sort out the hangar, but now it’s time to pour time energy resources and money into footy (“focus on footy”?)

8:20 review is not just the footy department, the board will be externally reviewed as well. Didn’t seem keen on the idea of a smaller board of directors.

8:50 Campbell is contracted will be here next year.

10:25 can’t wait for review to decide the coach, will have to do both at once if we decide to pursue a new coach

10:45 specifically asked about whether footy department positions are under review and responded with “no positions are under review”. Wants a direct comparison with what Geelong, Collingwood, Richmond, etc and what are they doing. Thinks our list is okay but wants someone else to look at it and say whether it really is good.

12:50 one of the big 4 like PWC or something to help us structure it, Dorothy Hisgrove will run it from the boards point of view and we’ll bring some football people in with her. (Hisgrove is from PWC, so is Brasher, that’s why he brought her on to Essendon’s board).
Jobe talks about it here

I think he’s referring to an earlier review “it doesn’t look like the club has improved” implies that they’ve had time since then to action reccomrndations.

“Over my 14 years, I looked at other clubs who were quite stable and seemed to never have things go wrong and I was envious of that,” he said.

“I look at the young group of guys we have at the moment and I just hope this footy club can provide that sort of (settled) environment that is stable so they have every chance to succeed on the footy field.”

This from Hurley sums it up really.

“Over my 14 years, I looked at other clubs who were quite stable and seemed to never have things go wrong and I was envious of that,” he said.

“I look at the young group of guys we have at the moment and I just hope this footy club can provide that sort of (settled) environment that is stable so they have every chance to succeed on the footy field.”

This from Hurley sums it up really.
And it is up to the board to create and ensure stability. At the moment it seems determined to tear down any semblance of it

Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham