Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham

thats was my first thought. Wouldnt put it past lloyd to pump his tires and add a bit of mayo to his claims.
My opinion of Lloyd is that he was an exceptional player. I do think he was a selfish player, not a great leader and he needs to learn to shut his mouth on his opinions of things he isn't privy to because his opinions create unnecessary pressure from the coteries.

However, I do believe he is a true professional, has legitimate sources and wouldn't be adding mayo.

Garry is a flog and nobody likes him from all reports. Maybe Schwarta gets the inside word.
Actually his sidekick Tim Watson would have been a better choice to compare to. He knows a lot of inside stuff but only ever repeats about 1% of it.:cool:

Full organisational overhaul is far, far more important than the coach search despite the coach search being far more high profile.

The coach is a spoke, no matter who we end up picking they are essentially assured of failure if we do not get the house in order and it may mean that the coach after the next coach is the one that really reaps the benefit. The hope was always that Worsfold was that bridging person but because of all the prolonged shithousery Rutten has become collateral damage as well. Hird was doomed to fail last time through no fault of his own, will be doomed to fail again too unless other wrongs are remedied.

As far as I'm concern unless this external review really does the business and the recommendations set us on the path to becoming a model outfit then we're in the wilderness for the next 5 at least. It needs to identify the right key people to take us forward and then those key people need carte blanche.

Whoever the new footy director is probably needs a HR background as much as they need a footy background to examine the lifecycle from pre draft interviews all the way to exit interviews and every step in between with a fine tooth comb before we go out and make a splash on a gun list manager or a gun strength and conditioning guru, which we obviously need but the approach needs to have laser focus.

Full organisational overhaul is far, far more important than the coach search despite the coach search being far more high profile.

The coach is a spoke, no matter who we end up picking they are essentially assured of failure if we do not get the house in order and it may mean that the coach after the next coach is the one that really reaps the benefit. The hope was always that Worsfold was that bridging person but because of all the prolonged shithousery Rutten has become collateral damage as well. Hird was doomed to fail last time through no fault of his own, will be doomed to fail again too unless other wrongs are remedied.

As far as I'm concern unless this external review really does the business and the recommendations set us on the path to becoming a model outfit then we're in the wilderness for the next 5 at least. It needs to identify the right key people to take us forward and then those key people need carte blanche.

Whoever the new footy director is probably needs a HR background as much as they need a footy background to examine the lifecycle from pre draft interviews all the way to exit interviews and every step in between with a fine tooth comb before we go out and make a splash on a gun list manager or a gun strength and conditioning guru, which we obviously need but the approach needs to have laser focus.
I’ve been seriously considering whether I’ll renew my membership. It’s not based on the coach hired, but the rest of the appointments and action taken (if any), including if it becomes clear the coaching selection was a sham.

Reckon the amount of potential coaches pulling away from the gig speaks pretty loudly of how far away from it we really are and how doubtful the review is to be able to clean it up. Normally coaching 'races' bring them out of the woodwork...not this time

I’ve been seriously considering whether I’ll renew my membership. It’s not based on the coach hired, but the rest of the appointments and action taken (if any), including if it becomes clear the coaching selection was a sham.
I'm already there I'm afraid, last straw for me was how they handled Rutten's demise.

Everyone deals with this in their own way. Not judging but I will not be handing the membership back and I will keep going.
My late step dad was a Fitzroy supporter and he went to every game in Melbourne. They sucked pretty much most of the time and never won a flag that he saw. He always said it was more about going to the games. His Saturday outing. I could relate to it because as a young bloke we (my old man and myself) used to come down on the train on Friday night and stay at Grans flat in Napier Street for the Essendon home games at WH and the odd away game during the mid to late 70's and early 80's.
Once the AFL expanded I used to go to some Fitzroy games when they where on different days to ours and a lot of Fitzroy people where the same. It was not just about winning. It was the journey no matter which way it went.

Everyone deals with this in their own way. Not judging but I will not be handing the membership back and I will keep going.
My late step dad was a Fitzroy supporter and he went to every game in Melbourne. They sucked pretty much most of the time and never won a flag that he saw. He always said it was more about going to the games. His Saturday outing. I could relate to it because as a young bloke we (my old man and myself) used to come down on the train on Friday night and stay at Grans flat in Napier Street for the Essendon home games at WH and the odd away game during the mid to late 70's and early 80's.
Once the AFL expanded I used to go to some Fitzroy games when they where on different days to ours and a lot of Fitzroy people where the same. It was not just about winning. It was the journey no matter which way it went.
I was a member from 2007 (the year after I’d finished school) through to 2020; and I’d only let it lapse in 2021-22 as I had one and then two young children so for that reason along with Covid interruptions, I wasn’t going to games.

Until the Rutten business unfolded, I was likely to come back for a four game membership next year.

Fair to say anyone who has been a member in that time has seen a lot more bad than good. I stuck through that; no one enjoys losing and my god there were some particularly nasty patches in there (early 2008, late 2010, late 2012, late 2015; 2016 I curiously enjoyed as there was just no expectation).

So for me it’s not about us losing. I can cop that. It’s the feeling that the club doesn’t take its supporter base seriously, and looks on them as just a cash cow, and that the club just refuses to fundamentally change; they’ve never truly accepted that the old Essendon is no longer something that should be pined for. And I’ve had enough of it.

My respect (and sorrow) for Fitzroy supporters who stuck fat as their club was shat on by all and sundry and then unjustly forced from the game altogether, knows no bounds.

Some may be out but If they bring Hird in I'll join up again. Haven't been a member since since she shit show.

Happy to support this 100% and besides I reckon he will get them going if he gets the job.

For me, I guess the only thing the club listens to is $$$. The only way they pay attention is when they’re trying to convince you to stay.

If I choose not to renew I’ll be carefully, logically and reasonably laying out the reasons why. They probably won’t care, but they don’t listen to much else.

It won’t be easy if I choose not to, I do like going to games, but I also wonder if they’ll never truly change unless there is a real threat to their status of being a big club.

I was a member from 2007 (the year after I’d finished school) through to 2020; and I’d only let it lapse in 2021-22 as I had one and then two young children so for that reason along with Covid interruptions, I wasn’t going to games.

Until the Rutten business unfolded, I was likely to come back for a four game membership next year.

Fair to say anyone who has been a member in that time has seen a lot more bad than good. I stuck through that; no one enjoys losing and my god there were some particularly nasty patches in there (early 2008, late 2010, late 2012, late 2015; 2016 I curiously enjoyed as there was just no expectation).

So for me it’s not about us losing. I can cop that. It’s the feeling that the club doesn’t take its supporter base seriously, and looks on them as just a cash cow, and that the club just refuses to fundamentally change; they’ve never truly accepted that the old Essendon is no longer something that should be pined for. And I’ve had enough of it.

My respect (and sorrow) for Fitzroy supporters who stuck fat as their club was shat on by all and sundry and then unjustly forced from the game altogether, knows no bounds.
I will continue my membership no matter what

I don't have an issue with moving Rutten on if they didn't think he was right but the whole week in limbo they were better to just sack him and have a clean slate no wonder Clarko took one look at his and stuff that.

Had they made the call to cut ties mid season I think it would have been harsh but I get it. But was handled so poorly.

For me, I guess the only thing the club listens to is $$$. The only way they pay attention is when they’re trying to convince you to stay.

If I choose not to renew I’ll be carefully, logically and reasonably laying out the reasons why. They probably won’t care, but they don’t listen to much else.

It won’t be easy if I choose not to, I do like going to games, but I also wonder if they’ll never truly change unless there is a real threat to their status of being a big club.
Some of that gets to the above. I think Campbell was great financial operator. But football dept wise there are questions. More to the above who the CEO and/org setup are more important than the coach.

On a more serious note:

Property tycoon and Essendon powerbroker Mark Casey made a mercy dash to New York after a night out turned to tragedy for his 26-year-old son James.

Melbourne’s next-gen movers and rich-listers have been left reeling at the shock death of the much loved James Casey.
Son of property tycoon and powerbroker Mark Casey, who was once favoured to take on the role of Essendon footy club president, James Casey died in New York earlier this month.

The popular 26-year-old Geelong College graduate was living in the Big Apple working as part of the family’s privately-run Casey Capital.

Friends of the A-lister, including Essendon great James Hird and premiership hero Mark Harvey, group one winning jockey Mark Zahra, rich lister Alex Waislitz, PR doyenne Judy Romano, Bell Potter financial group director Hugh Robertson and cult jewellery designer to the stars Emma Abrahams (not to mention around 500 odd others) were expected at a celebration in his honour on Friday at St Kilda road’s The Commons Collective.

Casey’s father had just embarked on a European trip to oversee a new hotel development on Mykonos in Greece with his wife Samantha and young child when he was delivered the tragic news.

Mark Casey told Page 13 the phone call from New York via James’s good friend Fab Ippoliti, the son of “fertility queen” Dr Lynn Burmeister, was one no father should ever have to receive.

Making a mercy dash to New York, Casey said the family was devastated by his young son’s shock death.

He said James had been diagnosed with type 1 diabetes as a 21-year-old after developing the disease following long term complications from a virus.

Young and carefree, Casey said his son never wanted the disease to rule his life and often went around absent mindedly without his insulin and epi pen.

Out drinking with friends in New York he suffered diabetic ketoacidosis and ultimately died.

Casey said his son’s death should not be in vain and serve as a warning to all diabetes sufferers, especially those diagnosed when young, to be vigilant with their prescribed medicines.

After a private funeral was held this week in Torquay, Casey said Friday’s service at The Commons would be a celebration and the mood upbeat, which is how James would have wanted it.

They would be live streaming to New York from Cipriani where a tribute and wake was to be held in James’s honour.

“We really want to keep it positive, James had so many friends, he had travelled to 21 countries with friends all over the world before he was taken from us too soon and I know he would have wanted us to celebrate,” Casey said.

“James has been laid to rest with a small family funeral in Torquay where he grew up.

“I would like to thank everyone who helped to bring him home so quickly to be with his family and friends,” said his father.

On what basis do you reckon this?
I think he's a great leader and the club, the supporters and most importantly the playing group will respond very well if he is appointed.

In terms of his experience he like all second time coaches will come with the benefits and learning from his first go. And all the derogatory comments in the world won't have stopped a very smart man like Hird from coming back bigger and better than the first time around. Undestimate winners like Hird at your peril IMO.

I think he's a great leader and the club, the supporters and most importantly the playing group will respond very well if he is appointed.

In terms of his experience he like all second time coaches will come with the benefits and learning from his first go. And all the derogatory comments in the world won't have stopped a very smart man like Hird from coming back bigger and better than the first time around. Undestimate winners like Hird at your peril IMO.
I don't doubt his passion for the club at all. Not a bit, actually. But I'm nowhere near as confident as you that he'll have the experience necessary to get us winning again, let alone to change the culture of the club itself.

Rutten had his struggles but it was clear that he came in with a program for a full cultural overhaul. That's obviously still needed, given Rutten's program for change was undermined in the way that it was.

Hird has ability. No question. Will he have the push or the want to continue Rutten's work, or will he be surrounded by sycophants who will treat him like Sheedy 2.0? Will it be more of the same old shitshow at the board/coterie level?

Will he get the buy-in he needs from the players given the careers that were damaged under his previous tenure? Zach's comments may have been "taken out of context" but the truth is usually somewhere in the middle, and interestingly, we still don't know what the 'context' was.

The masochist in me wants Hird to be parachuted in and to fail, just so the board might stop being so insular and recognise there is a cultural problem at the board and coterie level. In reality, if he gets the gig and has gone through the process to get it, I'll still support, but like many others I'm despairing a bit at the moment and I don't see how Hird gives us the fresh restart we need.

Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham