Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham

Without being to tinfoil hatty. I believe when Sheeds crossed the floor he knew full well that it was the worst time to look for candidates and that it would be the best chance of getting Hird back in the door. If Brad Scott didn’t throw his hat in the ring he would have been close to realising his wish imo.

Sub committee must have come back with Hird or Scott would be suitable. Hird the most suitable.
Don’t think so, Yze got the second interview, Scott the most impressive by some way by the sounds of it and was clear recommendation. They did Hird a favour by interviewing him. Sheeds was out of line even voting for him.

Sub committee must have come back with Hird or Scott would be suitable. Hird the most suitable. Board took a vote on Hird which didn't pass, so they moved on to the next agenda item Brad.

Barham lied, as he has done since his appointment, and Sheedy set things straight. We'll be in a better place when the truth comes out.
Surely this is a parody comment.

I couldn't think of such delusion

I'm an older fan. We weren't a nice club in the 70's, we were an irrelevant club, just as we are now.

Say what you want about Sheeds in the present day, but if it wasn't for him, who else was going to take us from where we were in the 70's, to where we ended up in 2000's?

In reality, we should have won more flags, 96/99/01. They are hard to win though.

Sheeds survived many challenges as coach, thats because he learnt how to play the game. Do you think Barry Davis or Bill Stephen would have achieved the same results if given time? (I cant remember any further back than that).

Sheeds wasn't just a good coach, he learnt to be a manipulator, thats why he lasted through the poor years.

He tried it one last time to get Jimmy back in the box, I dont begrudge him for that. Having said that, it's probably time for him to just move on and enjoy his legacy.
I think I used the words worship. Early days. Transformed us ,turned us into a powerhouse. Lost focus.

Truck knew as soon as Barham had power that he was a dead man walking.

Your insiders would have told you the same.
So what. You still just sack the guy and not have the circus. It is called good leadership. Blunt and to the point.
There would have been 90% less crap if we just fronted up on Monday morning and sacked him. That is how you operate if you are a strong leader.
It was a circus. It was poor.
He has been okay as he has gone along but that week was average and they had to walk back a few comments. He did not have to say in the media we sacked him as we thought we needed an experienced coach either. All that did was allow conjecture over the selection process the whole way through.
If he just says we did not think the side was playing to a level we want and sack him on the Monday it looks a lot smoother and not like a monkey trying to **** a football.

Without being to tinfoil hatty. I believe when Sheeds crossed the floor he knew full well that it was the worst time to look for candidates and that it would be the best chance of getting Hird back in the door. If Brad Scott didn’t throw his hat in the ring he would have been close to realising his wish imo.
I am not so sure. I get the feeling Barahm was anyone but Hird as he really wanted as much experience as possible.
Sheedy thinks he is playing a great political game but he has limit power now and his stunts are just making him look like a stupid old man. It is pretty clear he is / has been the one in Robbo's ear as well.

I am not so sure. I get the feeling Barahm was anyone but Hird as he really wanted as much experience as possible.
Sheedy thinks he is playing a great political game but he has limit power now and his stunts are just making him look like a stupid old man. It is pretty clear he is / has been the one in Robbo's ear as well.
No I don’t think Barahm wanted Hird in particular but his group did want Rutten out. It was pretty obvious from the outset Sheeds did not want Clarkson and I think he was another reason why Lyon was staying away from us even though he said he didn’t want to go through a process.

I don’t think the process made Sheeds select Hird I believe he had made up his mind beforehand.

I agree with your earlier point that they should have sacked Rutten straight away though.

Just echoing a few of the older fans on here in regards to sheedy and his early days. He really did transform us from a nice club to a nasty premiership winning powerhouse. Dad and I worshipped him in the early 80’s. His only focus was us. It then went to his head. First it was edelesten and his massive offer to coach sydney. Then he would threaten to leave every three or four years to richmond , where again he would get massive pay rises to stay.
He lost me around the 95/96 period, I call these the lunatic years. We were no longer his no.1 focus, it was all about him, self promoting, the books, the videos, Kevin time. Cash in time. The 2000 flag was the ideal time to go to richmond but it bought him more time ( thank the bullfrog mcmahon for that)
He went kicking and screaming in 2007, thank god, outstayed his welcome. It’s as if he is now on some stupid revenge mission. Who the * invited him onto the board ? Himself probably. Sinking copious amounts of red at game day functions and waving his bloody scarf clearly not enough to sate his ego. “ I’m Kevin sheedy, multi millionaire blue collar plumber, Essendon power broker” Saw through his schtick years ago.
Untenable. Dick Reynolds , your idol, would never act in this way.
Go away.
I was a child of the 80’s and grew up with Sheeds and my views are very similar. I reckon I’ll find it easier to forgive him then to stay angry but 100% agree that we need to push him out.

I'm in a similar boat. Sheedy was Essendon to me growing up, and I'll always have a fondness for that time and everything he did for the club. But his actions yesterday were really disappointing, and he really shouldn't be able to stay on the board if that's how he's going to behave. Especially considering that as a board member he should understand the importance of presenting a united front

There's no 'i' in team, but there really is in 'Kevin'...

So, what, he sobered up enough from 96 to 2000 to deliver ANOTHER flag while cashing in on his success? The devious bastard!!
Won one flag when he should have won three
won two flags in the 80s when he should have won more
if Allan Jeans was coach of Essendon in the 80s we would have been more successful- no doubt
hawthorn missed one grand final from 83 to 91- Joyce was coach during this time as well
sheedy often got ahead of himself

Unfortunately for Sheeds i think it will get to the stage that he almost has no option but to walk away with his tail between his legs. He is being completely outplayed by Barham and co and they arent showing him any respect as the clever mastermind he thinks he is/once was. He is too easy for them to just brush aside that I don't think they'll even feel the need to sack him. He is the drunk uncle in the corner that is there but no one listens to

Two times he has spoken out of line now with the selection process. It is unfortunate as he does look unaligned with the rest of the club now. It’s not so much that he has his opinion more the fact he is telling the rest of the world about it. It’s rogue like behaviour really. If he can’t stop throwing hand grenades he needs to get out.

I'm an older fan. We weren't a nice club in the 70's, we were an irrelevant club, just as we are now.

Say what you want about Sheeds in the present day, but if it wasn't for him, who else was going to take us from where we were in the 70's, to where we ended up in 2000's?

In reality, we should have won more flags, 96/99/01. They are hard to win though.

Sheeds survived many challenges as coach, thats because he learnt how to play the game. Do you think Barry Davis or Bill Stephen would have achieved the same results if given time? (I cant remember any further back than that).

Sheeds wasn't just a good coach, he learnt to be a manipulator, thats why he lasted through the poor years.

He tried it one last time to get Jimmy back in the box, I dont begrudge him for that. Having said that, it's probably time for him to just move on and enjoy his legacy.
Yeah nah, sorry. I do begrudge him that. He’s tried to impose a fairytale will on the club and acted like something uncomfortably close to a fifth column in the process. He didn’t just magically decide he wanted Hird back when Rutten was fired; he’d been planning this before he was even invited back on the board and to hell with anyone, for example Ben Rutten, who was in the way.

Not because there was any real tangible evidence that path was the best course for us (and there was plenty to suggest it wasn’t), but because Kevin thought he knew better.

Once a CEO is appointed the whole board pretty much becomes as irrelevant as Sheedy, and hopefully they are irrelevant for a while because it means we are going well on field. The board put a process in place and they selected the coach the panel recommended. Who cares if Sheeds didn't get his love child installed again.

Its being blown way out of proportion. Its 5months from round 1 or whatever and we are complaining about sheedy taking the gloss off the new coach announcement because we want to say hiring a new coach is a good day for the club.

You know what a good day for a footy club is, the Sunday, the Monday, the Tuesday, the Wednesday, the Thursday and the Friday that Geelong just had. Hiring a new coach is not a good day, it means you had a shit year and you hope that next year is better but you have NFI if it actually will be.

I'm over just hanging onto hope, I want the club to win games and Sheedy has no impact on that happening so I don't give a **** what he says, nor should anyone else.

Once a CEO is appointed the whole board pretty much becomes as irrelevant as Sheedy, and hopefully they are irrelevant for a while because it means we are going well on field. The board put a process in place and they selected the coach the panel recommended. Who cares if Sheeds didn't get his love child installed again.

Its being blown way out of proportion. Its 5months from round 1 or whatever and we are complaining about sheedy taking the gloss off the new coach announcement because we want to say hiring a new coach is a good day for the club.

You know what a good day for a footy club is, the Sunday, the Monday, the Tuesday, the Wednesday, the Thursday and the Friday that Geelong just had. Hiring a new coach is not a good day, it means you had a s**t year and you hope that next year is better but you have NFI if it actually will be.

I'm over just hanging onto hope, I want the club to win games and Sheedy has no impact on that happening so I don't give a * what he says, nor should anyone else.
In the context of the mire the club has put itself in over the last decade, it was a good day. A new era, with a coach who has demonstrated he can coach pretty well. A no-nonsense operator, which is plainly something we need very badly.

Yes, obviously we'd all love to be a Geelong fan right now, but this is our lot right now.

So regardless of whether you believe Rutten deserved to lose his job (I still don't, but what's done is done; it can't be reversed), it was a day where you could potentially hope. A new coach always brings the possibility of a new era.

And then Sheedy waited about 12 hours to take a big old giant shit all over it.

Contextualise this with Barham in the presser this morning talking about how great it was that there was no leaks and he’s spoken to all these people and none of it got out.

No leaks? It's been reported that Brad Scott would be appointed yesterday for a week.

Leaks are what the faction in power doesn't want out there.

No leaks? It's been reported that Brad Scott would be appointed yesterday for a week.

Leaks are what the faction is power doesn't want out there.
Reported. Not told.
It was not hard to say experienced coach plus Brad Scott = Essendon coach.
Even Tom Browne nailed it after his 4th shot.

Just echoing a few of the older fans on here in regards to sheedy and his early days. He really did transform us from a nice club to a nasty premiership winning powerhouse. Dad and I worshipped him in the early 80’s. His only focus was us. It then went to his head. First it was edelesten and his massive offer to coach sydney. Then he would threaten to leave every three or four years to richmond , where again he would get massive pay rises to stay.
He lost me around the 95/96 period, I call these the lunatic years. We were no longer his no.1 focus, it was all about him, self promoting, the books, the videos, Kevin time. Cash in time. The 2000 flag was the ideal time to go to richmond but it bought him more time ( thank the bullfrog mcmahon for that)
He went kicking and screaming in 2007, thank god, outstayed his welcome. It’s as if he is now on some stupid revenge mission. Who the * invited him onto the board ? Himself probably. Sinking copious amounts of red at game day functions and waving his bloody scarf clearly not enough to sate his ego. “ I’m Kevin sheedy, multi millionaire blue collar plumber, Essendon power broker” Saw through his schtick years ago.
Untenable. Dick Reynolds , your idol, would never act in this way.
Go away.
Yep. Some of the stories around 94-96 were interesting. He would call meetings & not show up...over-rule Judkins etc on draft day.. I think the club got to the point of calling meetings & telling him the wrong time so that he'd at least be in the ballpark of turning up on time. One official was left sitting until 8.30-9pm a couple of times because Sheedy asked to meet with him & never showed up.

Even earlier than that - there's a group of key players from the 80's that are adamant that a couple of premierships were left on the table because of his training (including 1990). It took him years to work out that sometimes less is more. Not to mention how he treated a couple of absolute legends of the club, who we nearly lost because of his pig-headedness.

Don't get me wrong - he did transform the club & was exactly what we needed after Bill Stephen & Barry Davis, but he only knew one way & wouldn't listen to anyone early on.

He needs to get out, now. I wouldn't be surprised if it comes out that he was tanked when he spoke to Robbo.

Leaks are what the faction in power doesn't want out there.
I only saw it reported that Brad Scott was the favourite, with media-educated guesswork. Do you have a link from last week, where it was stated he categorically would be coach? I may have missed it, but I'm pretty sure nothing was getting out.

I'm over just hanging onto hope, I want the club to win games and Sheedy has no impact on that happening so I don't give a * what he says, nor should anyone else.
If he wasn't on the board you would be right. Fact is you simply cannot conduct yourself in the manner Kevin has and expect things to go as planned. He is now at a point where he is sabotaging the club and doing anything he can to either get a point across, make himself heard or try to influence in one way or another. We need to be united as a club both on and off the field to be successful and he can't be trusted any longer.

It's time for Kevin to let go and step away, we need to head in a new direction and can't have old fossils holding us back.

Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham