Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham

Just occurred to me…and haven’t seen this mentioned…..Mahoney and Scott would have known each other for the best part of 30 years and I imagine are long-standing mates.

I see this as plus re unity and alignment of the footy department. Hopefully enough to save the club from the madness of our board and coteries.

Distinct lack of firing Dodoro.....so far.
So far. Makes sense he'd see us through the trade period though. I think ordinarily you'd get Mahoney to step in and do it if you wanted to let Dodoro go early, but he only has so many hours in his week and he's been the senior coach and head of the coach recruitment sub-committee for the last several. Also a fair bit of IP walking out the door.

Although the fact they're not desperate enough to throw him out anyway at least indicates that whatever role he's playing in the politics it's not completely dire – or perhaps that keeping him around kept Sheedy out of the way for a while, so effectively a useful pawn.

The addition of a GM of Performance to report to Mahoney is the strongest indication so far I think.

I’ve come to the view that Barham has half a clue re what needs to happen but very little clue re smooth and clean execution. I think he should be allowed to clean the joint out - he knows what change is needed and has the stomach for the fight.

Three jobs left for him from my perspective:
  • Fire Dodo
  • Get Sheedy off the board
  • Reduce the size of the board to a number less Likely to produce factional rifts.

And then let someone better take over and deliver on the review.

Just occurred to me…and haven’t seen this mentioned…..Mahoney and Scott would have known each other for the best part of 30 years and I imagine are long-standing mates.

I see this as plus re unity and alignment of the footy department. Hopefully enough to save the club from the madness of our board and coteries.
They would've played against each other a few times including a grand final but different draft years, different U18 clubs, played and worked for different clubs during their careers, and were even in different states for a long time. Both been in the industry and it's a small one though. Is there something else?

‘Hello, Truck? Yeah Dave Barham here mate I just wanted to let you know that we’ve just received the external review back and we’re committing millions to more high performance staff, a new senior player development role and refunding the VFL program, reckon this gives us a massive leg up going forward into 2023, we want our coach armed with as many resources as possible, neat, don’t you think?’

Click

‘Hmm, maybe I’ll just shoot him a text?’

hasn't ant555 always said that, basically, this is similar to what we did during Knights to Hird? under-resourced during knights time then when everyone chucked a huge dummy spit, sacked knights and gave hird a blank cheque

My vote is with Barham for now.
Even though he has made errors im far more confident in his intentions to want to actually improve essendon on field than anyone in the chair since evans. Little would be 10 steps backwards. I’d say the members will riot if little gets back in and it’ll be another thorburn situation.

hasn't ant555 always said that, basically, this is similar to what we did during Knights to Hird? under-resourced during knights time then when everyone chucked a huge dummy spit, sacked knights and gave hird a blank cheque
for reference from ant's recent postings

And then remember how the screwed him with a low budget , 1 average senior assistant along with a bunch or rookies and not following through with all the recommended changes that Knights outlined in his presentation. There was more to it than him being a "s**t " coach. If they had of given him an experienced senior assistant and spent some of their precious budget it may have been different. In the end he simply burnt himself out buy trying to do everything.

The thing that let Knights down the most was we had 1 senior assistant and he was not a great assistant and more a football admin guy. The rest where rookie coaches and in the end Knights tried to micro manage everything and it went to s**t.

Actually it was more Knights had a full of club plan including recruiting and VFL program compared to Hardwicke having just a team presentation.

It is the desperation move. We did the same after Knights. Under Knights we gave him * all budget and a bunch of rookie coaches. He fails so we are so desperate to get back to where we where we bring in the dream team with no budget limits and no checks and balances. We get so desperate for that hit of success we will do the most stupid things to try and get it.

Who would our GM of Performance be? Why not just a manager of performance, why a GM? Someone who wouldn't take the job without the fancier title?

And who would we line up for a Head of Development role?

Room in the budget for Yze, Choco, or any of the others we were thinking about as senior coaches? 🤔

So far. Makes sense he'd see us through the trade period though. I think ordinarily you'd get Mahoney to step in and do it if you wanted to let Dodoro go early, but he only has so many hours in his week and he's been the senior coach and head of the coach recruitment sub-committee for the last several. Also a fair bit of IP walking out the door.

Although the fact they're not desperate enough to throw him out anyway at least indicates that whatever role he's playing in the politics it's not completely dire – or perhaps that keeping him around kept Sheedy out of the way for a while, so effectively a useful pawn.

The addition of a GM of Performance to report to Mahoney is the strongest indication so far I think.

I’m sort of with you.

In my mind it’s a matter of doing a, b, c, d, etc in order, with Dodo being less senior than the other gigs from board down and hence still a couple of heads away from the block. So while I reckon it’s a done deal (to chop him (source: trust me bro)), there’s no urgency this month to do it.

They would've played against each other a few times including a grand final but different draft years, different U18 clubs, played and worked for different clubs during their careers, and were even in different states for a long time. Both been in the industry and it's a small one though. Is there something else?
Went to same school, same vintage. Josh’s older brother would have been good mates with Scott’s.

100% they have been mates for a long time.

please don’t say laser focus 🤞🤞

goddamnit.
1665477059205.png

barrettdamian reports there are calls for Essendon to bring Paul Little back to the club.

And there we have it, the destabilizing faction presents
On Little, the factional puppet; it's interesting to note the EY's external review has identified the need for strong governance. Was not strong governance an identified need from the Switkowski review? Wasn't Little the prez who should have overseen the implementation of processes, checks and balances to ensure that we developed strong governance after the drugs debacle? Honest question. Reacting angrily right now...

Edit: quick angry google search reveals, yes, Little was responsible after the previous review that found we had governance issues. Clearly not dealt with adequately during his tenure.

Hey Paul Little. F*** off.

Feels like a lifetime ago but I believe I said if the findings of this review is that the footy department is a shitshow and woefully under resourced then culpability as far as Rutten goes lands somewhere between ‘he was a problem but not the problem’ and ‘completely and utterly shafted’. I don’t think the review would have recommended Rutten’s removal had he stayed, I don’t see how, with good conscience, it possibly could have.

Provided Barham can stave off this bizarre fresh attack I’m a little bit more hopeful now that we’re throwing a combination of big money and best practise at this which will hopefully yield a better result.

Not opposed to Barham just flat out murdering anyone who stands in his way at this point to be honest.

I get the distinct feeling that the coterie and old boys network may be realising the potentially-scathing outcome of this external review, paired with a brawler of a President and a coach who gives literally zero shits about them means their influence is under threat.

So what do they do? Mobilise the old boys puppet of a president that buried the last scathing external review, and prepare for a board coup.

Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham