Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham

Im not one to deny development has been bad. It has been.

But to stick your head in the sand and say the recruitment hasnt been an issue is dumb.
I’d say we’d had a 4 part issue for the past 15 years
1. Poor recruitment
2. Poor development
3. Poor list structure
4. Players on said list who arent overally professional and a playing group as a whole that have just been content of being in the afl system rather than striving for success.

Robbo oddly quiet on us

Scott doing well
Players did good
His boy's s**t stirring starting to cop heat.
I saw a thread on Twitter last week that completely debunked Robbos horseshit take about how no one talks down their clubs fortunes preseason except Essendon. Was a great takedown. I actually hate the way we get pumped up every preseason when we always sit somewhere between shit and average.

I’d say we’d had a 4 part issue for the past 15 years
1. Poor recruitment
2. Poor development
3. Poor list structure
4. Players on said list who arent overally professional and a playing group as a whole that have just been content of being in the afl system rather than striving for success.
Point 4 is worth more discussion. I have questions about how many we have had that are just happy to be playing AFL .
Same for the next level down at times. We have had VFL players who have just been happy to play VFL.

Robbo oddly quiet on us

Scott doing well
Players did good
His boy's s**t stirring starting to cop heat.
Caro mentioned that when she asked Dodoro for comment most of what he said was asking them to stop talking about him. So if Robbo is refusing to talk about him then he’s probably just doing what he’s told

Which i think you need to assess your constant within the team when you review.
Is it fluke that some clubs nail these drafts, or bring in culture builders (i.e. leaders), or game changers....all of this we seem to fall short of.

It is very hindsight. But that's the nature of this part of the business.
You aren't necessarily assessed in the moment. It should be your tenure.

that period you highlight above, the top-up post 2016, the left field picks, the lack of some AFL basics (bigger mids, KP depth).

I'm surprised it hasn't had more light focused on it.
So far, all i can tell is Dodoro has had his boss changed because they were clashing. And Merv is back. but i reckon that was more getting him back to work and doing the right thing than us being proactive in beefing up the recruitment team.
And it looks like Mahoney still has oversight but Dodoro doesn't report to him.
I wouldn't be surprised if Dodoro having to now report to Vozzo is simply a way of taking the personality clash with Mahoney out of the equation. Ie., with Mahoney still addressing his concerns with Vozzo who as CEO ostensibly plays the role of messenger, albeit now with the authority to put Dodoro back in his box.

That's what I hope anyway, otherwise what is the review worth? At least the fifth estate seems to be starting to exert some pressure to grease the wheels of change.

Hard not to conclude the same old nuffies, the Coteries, the Sheeds/Dodo axis of old timers, whatever we label 'em, are proving too powerful to dislodge, otherwise you'd think the axe would have fallen in the off-season.

It reeks a bit of the Aus politics factionalism within the major parties. If you have to throw an election (sacrifice on-field performance) to maintain control over the party (or club), then that's a price worth paying for some. All about feeling like top dogs, no matter how small the kennel.

i have zero loyalty to anyone anymore, including Hird or Sheedy.

i dont give a **** what you need to do to win games of footy. Just do it. If heads need to roll, than get on with it and roll them.

i doubt anyone on this forum has much more patience for Essendon club politics. its been almost 20 years ffs.

Caro and Hutchy spot on. Lloyd a total embarrassment

Lloyd showing his colours a little there. He doesn't seem to have much of an issue with dodoro involved and Harvey who deals with coteries involved with match committee.

The fact Harvey is even close to those meetings is a disaster.

i have zero loyalty to anyone anymore, including Hird or Sheedy.

i dont give a * what you need to do to win games of footy. Just do it. If heads need to roll, than get on with it and roll them.

i doubt anyone on this forum has much more patience for Essendon club politics. its been almost 20 years ffs.

I think loyalty is earned when through your service, work for the betterment of the club.
These individuals did for many years, they are great names.

What has occurred as it so often does is that individuals are now putting themselves before the club.
It starts as "oh I know what I'm doing" which is totally normal, if you have the ego and believe you can fix it that's natural.
That mindset however more and more becomes about shafting those who are brought in to help, it becomes about being done your way and only your way.
We are and have been at this point for awhile.

I think loyalty is earned when through your service, work for the betterment of the club.
These individuals did for many years, they are great names.

What has occurred as it so often does is that individuals are now putting themselves before the club.
It starts as "oh I know what I'm doing" which is totally normal, if you have the ego and believe you can fix it that's natural.
That mindset however more and more becomes about shafting those who are brought in to help, it becomes about being done your way and only your way.
We are and have been at this point for awhile.
It doesn’t help that old Essendon represents our only real link to success- they’ll simply point to the fact that everyone who has come after them has failed to reach the heights they did and insist they steer the ship because of that. Never mind that the league has changed immensely since their time and looking to club legends from the premiership era to fix things is essentially a cargo cult.

I wouldn't be surprised if Dodoro having to now report to Vozzo is simply a way of taking the personality clash with Mahoney out of the equation. Ie., with Mahoney still addressing his concerns with Vozzo who as CEO ostensibly plays the role of messenger, albeit now with the authority to put Dodoro back in his box.

That's what I hope anyway, otherwise what is the review worth? At least the fifth estate seems to be starting to exert some pressure to grease the wheels of change.
The review is clearly worth nothing at all. What is important is Vozzo analysing the goings on and dropping the hammer when he's assessed the entire picture.

They also didn’t have an entire playing group suspended, churn through coaches and have the soul of the club destroyed for the best part of the decade though.

It’s not all just about the draft sanctions.

Perennial apologist. You did the same with Truck, the last admin, Heppell's captaincy, etc.

25 years has been generous enough as it is. It's time to go.

Perennial apologist. You did the same with Truck, and the last admin.

24 years has been generous enough as it is. It's time to go.

Much better to be a perennial sook that goes off half-cocked and is almost always wrong when they do so, right?

God forbid there's some level of balance in commentary on things, not everything is all good or all bad. Not everything Dodoro has done is a disaster, he's well ahead of plenty of other list managers that have come and gone. Of course, recognising that would require a modicum of thought....

Caro and Hutchy spot on. Lloyd a total embarrassment

Lloyd is becoming the AFL equivalent of Michael Jordan. Amazing player, terrible at everything else.

Dodoro still being employed and having so much power is genuinely the most perplexing thing in the entire football industry.

No one else to my knowledge has under achieved anywhere close to this for 25 years in their role and not only retained it, but expanded on it.

He has to have dirt about the drugs saga it’s the only thing that makes sense at this point.

Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham