Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham

Much better to be a perennial sook that goes off half-cocked and is almost always wrong when they do so, right?

God forbid there's some level of balance in commentary on things, not everything is all good or all bad. Not everything Dodoro has done is a disaster, he's well ahead of plenty of other list managers that have come and gone. Of course, recognising that would require a modicum of thought....

i think you are right about giving context to a discussion.

but at the end of the day dodo has been there for 25 years, 18 of which we havent won finals and looking very likely to to continue to 20 years...No other admin person has been given this much time to achieve success.

The club needs a full refresh and dodo has not done anything IMO that cements himself to stay.

Dodoro still being employed and having so much power is genuinely the most perplexing thing in the entire football industry.

No one else to my knowledge has under achieved anywhere close to this for 25 years in their role and not only retained it, but expanded on it.

He has to have dirt about the drugs saga it’s the only thing that makes sense at this point.

Well the club and players have already been tried, found guilty and punished for the saga. Who cares what he has to say, who in a position of power is left from that time that would be scared of anything he has to say?

i think you are right about giving context to a discussion.

but at the end of the day dodo has been there for 25 years, 18 of which we havent won finals and looking very likely to to continue to 20 years...No other admin person has been given this much time to achieve success.

The club needs a full refresh and dodo has not done anything IMO that cements himself to stay.

I've said quite a few times now that whatever good he brings isn't enough to offset the damage he appears to be doing internally.

His record is 'ok' as far as drafting goes - there's been plenty worse in the AFL - and he appears to do a good job of player retention and getting favourable outcomes at the trade table. With all the other ways this club has been poor over the past 20 years I'd have said drafting was the least-bad element for much of it, with RFK already doing the bulk of the draft work now it shouldn't be too disruptive to move Dodoro on and look for some outside influence (I'd be plucking someone from Sydney or the Bulldogs personally, as both have great success with finding midfielders basically anywhere in the draft).

Dodoro not happy with Mahoney's internal report - highlighting the recruitment team for change. Dodoro should have been gone by now, no surprise to see them both on bad terms. Professionally they should put emotion aside, but clearly they can't.

Vozzo needs to remove Dodoro ASAP (now that Dodoro is his subordinate), base it on performance (or bad/inappropriate behaviour if there is any) FFS. Sheedy can go with his good mate too.

I've said quite a few times now that whatever good he brings isn't enough to offset the damage he appears to be doing internally.

His record is 'ok' as far as drafting goes - there's been plenty worse in the AFL - and he appears to do a good job of player retention and getting favourable outcomes at the trade table. With all the other ways this club has been poor over the past 20 years I'd have said drafting was the least-bad element for much of it, with RFK already doing the bulk of the draft work now it shouldn't be too disruptive to move Dodoro on and look for some outside influence (I'd be plucking someone from Sydney or the Bulldogs personally, as both have great success with finding midfielders basically anywhere in the draft).

its a fair call but i dont think "ok" is good enough anymore.

we need fresh eyes and a fresh approach IMO.

Vozzo needs to stamp his authority now, the worst thing is letting it fester and let it impact the teams performance this year.

Dodoro not happy with Mahoney's internal report - highlighting the recruitment team for change. Dodoro should have been gone by now, no surprise to see them both on bad terms. Professionally they should put emotion aside, but clearly they can't.

Vozzo needs to remove Dodoro ASAP (now that Dodoro is his subordinate), base it on performance (or bad/inappropriate behaviour if there is any) FFS. Sheedy can go with his good mate too.

The potential hold up here may be finding someone to fill the role, particularly in season.

I would argue that RFK, the rest of the team and now Merv Keane back in the fold is enough but Vozzo may be teeing up a name brand replacement for the GM role.

i have zero loyalty to anyone anymore, including Hird or Sheedy.

i dont give a * what you need to do to win games of footy. Just do it. If heads need to roll, than get on with it and roll them.

i doubt anyone on this forum has much more patience for Essendon club politics. its been almost 20 years ffs.
Excellent!
The time to play nice is over.
I joined as a member to repay the great times the club gave me as a kid.
That sentimentality has been over ridden with frustration after 15 or 16 years as the place is seemingly run as a boys club and not a footy club.
I don't care which names have to go - the more the better IMO. Sheedy & Dodoro top of the list!
C'mon Vozzo! More strength to yours & Brad Scott's arms.

The potential hold up here may be finding someone to fill the role, particularly in season.

I would argue that RFK, the rest of the team and now Merv Keane back in the fold is enough but Vozzo may be teeing up a name brand replacement for the GM role.
Have NFI of course, but reading between the lines, I would say this is exactly what is happening.

Everything has a “you even tell me when you’re going for lunch, so I know where you are” type of feel to it. Wishful thinking, but I think Dodo is on borrowed time.

Have NFI of course, but reading between the lines, I would say this is exactly what is happening.

Everything has a “you even tell me when you’re going for lunch, so I know where you are” type of feel to it. Wishful thinking, but I think Dodo is on borrowed time.

Would say this is pretty spot on. The old guard were never going to go easily and quietly, so I fully expect more and more leaks until Him, Sheedy & Harvey are asked to pack their belongings into a box.

Lloyd is becoming the AFL equivalent of Michael Jordan. Amazing player, terrible at everything else.
He's not that bad. He's obviously just got a bit of a conflict of interest here in that he won't sling mud at his mates or doesn't want to compromise his sources inside EFC. Happens a lot in footy media - it's a boys club after all. I generally find Lloydy pretty reasonable if not a bit conservative in his takes.

Dodo seems to be so deeply ingrained in the club that it'd have some sort of domino effect if he got sacked. He's clearly got his nose out of joint cos Mahoney's put forward a review that more or less recommends he be sacked - that'd probably make any professional relationship unworkable. Vozzo seems to have undermined Mahoney and Dodo with his actions so far? He should give Scott the reins to put his own team together, like what StK's done with Lyon. It's obviously a work in progress - we'll see where it goes I guess.

His record is 'ok' as far as drafting goes

Ok is your opinion, but even if we roll with that, is 'ok' good enough to warrant 25 years? No. That's the point.

- there's been plenty worse in the AFL -

Which is exactly the attitude that's held us back as a club. "It's okay because it's not the worst." How about not seeing it like that and demanding the best at all times. That's the attitude that breeds success.

getting favourable outcomes at the trade table.

Saad and Wright in 25 years. I think it's fair to say that 85% of the trades we've had, have not worked out either immediately or in the long run. But equally bad isn't just the trades that do happen and fall flat - it's the trades that don't happen, either due to a learned/inherent/well-known stubbornness or pure inactivity.

You're trying to excuse him for his performance by veiling it behind internal instability, when the truth is, his performance has not warranted the time he's been given, and that needs to be clear. The instability is just an add-on to his already poor resume. And if you knew you were doing great you wouldn't be causing instability anyway so it's time to pack it up.

Ok is your opinion, but even if we roll with that, is 'ok' good enough to warrant 25 years? No. That's the point.

Which is exactly the attitude that's held us back as a club. "It's okay because it's not the worst." How about not seeing it like that and demanding the best at all times. That's the attitude that breeds success.

Saad and Wright in 25 years. I think it's fair to say that 85% of the trades we've had, have not worked out either immediately or in the long run. But equally bad isn't just the trades that do happen and fall flat - it's the trades that don't happen, either due to a learned/inherent/well-known stubbornness or pure inactivity.

You're trying to excuse him for his performance by veiling it behind internal instability, when the truth is, his performance has not warranted the time he's been given, and that needs to be clear. The instability is just an add-on to his already poor resume. And if you knew you were doing great you wouldn't be causing instability anyway so it's time to pack it up.

Much more level headed.

Demanding the best sounds great, but when every other aspect of the club is terrible it makes the bits that are 'OK' seem good by comparison. Now that we're fully investing in coaching and development, we can start to go 'hey, our drafting has been OK but we need to find a way to improve that'.

It's more than Saad and Wright, but you know that and just choose to make stupid arguments.

As for the final sentence there's quite a bit of hyperbole there. His resume is average, as is easy to see when you look at the games played by players drafted during Dodoro's time being about average. As is evident from the team's performance being about average. Essendon has spent 20 years being average or poor. Most of the time they've been poor has been for factors other than recruitment, given we've pretty much had a mid-table quality list the entire time. 7 - 12 placed finishes except for when the coaching implodes.

If it's somehow true Dodo has cracked it cause he's been outed from the selection committee meetings it would be an all time low... Seriously what list manager guy should be anywhere near those places? Oh but he picked the boys, he knows them.. pls.

Kick him to the curb. Stat. If he cared about anything other than his own tv time he'd have already gracefully handed in his jackets by now

If it's somehow true Dodo has cracked it cause he's been outed from the selection committee meetings it would be an all time low... Seriously what list manager guy should be anywhere near those places? Oh but he picked the boys, he knows them.. pls.

Kick him to the curb. Stat. If he cared about anything other than his own tv time he'd have already gracefully handed in his jackets by now
Where has that been said?

Wasn't it alluded to on classified?
I didn't think so. They said he has been removed from match committee only recently and he shouldn't be on match committee because no other club does?
Alluded to that he’s not longer in match committee, where he has been a regular in the past. Knowing dodoro’s ego he wouldn’t be happy about it.
So we are just projecting, again.

I thought what was more scandalous/revealing was Lloyd's comments about Harves and some sort of soft-cap bypass. Which was totally let theough to the keeper. Is he being paid?

I didn't think so. They said he has been removed from match committee only recently and he shouldn't be on match committee because no other club does?

So we are just projecting, again.

I thought what was more scandalous/revealing was Lloyd's comments about Harves and some sort of soft-cap bypass. Which was totally let theough to the keeper. Is he being paid?
Projected what? You said it yourself he’s been removed recently from match committee..

Soft cap bypass? I don’t think that’s what they were talking about at all, rather why does Harvey need an off is near the coaches if he is just running a powerful coterie, and it would be one that expects inside track on information coming from within the footy department.

Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham