Home & Garden Boo hoo farmers

You don’t know my background but for the record my husbands family were until about 5 or so years ago generational dairy farmers.
And if I relied on MSM for information, I would be ******.

With all due respect, it must be your reading comprehension which is the issue, because what you said was absurd.

Seeing as I’m so stupid why don’t you highlight which part you found absurd

I have been very vocal on this on the SRP board and, still, firmly believe that a well funded SFF nationwide campaign on Saturday would have paid handsome dividends, especially in QLD, WA and western NSW. However, they publicly stated before the election that they were effectively broke due to the investment on the NSW election.

Bush people, as I am sure you are aware, are sick and tired of the Nat's, and first preference votes for ON and UAP of up to 20% in marginal LNP seats proves this. However those preferences then flowed to the Nat's and we saw massive swings their way on the back of this because we simply vote 'anyone but Labor.

People here want change, but there is nothing out there worth voting for at present.

I dunno, I reckon too many couldn't get over their own ideas about the Greens/Independents, despite two people being each of them who went in the hardest over the MDBA management.

They were worth voting for if people really prioritized a healthy and fair river system (and proper respect and involvement by the traditional land owners - as in Aboriginal people) from top to bottom. Labor however people weren't keen on for more legitimate reasons as like you said they aren't innocent either.

People definitely have lost faith in the Nationals out here and the current Liberal incarnation and the ministers within.

Seeing as I’m so stupid why don’t you highlight which part you found absurd

I have never said you were stupid, in fact I believe to the contrary.

However, you did say this...
The same ones that were just returned with a swing toward them. Obviously it really isn’t that big a deal. Watergate is about to disappear altogether - it will be like we all imagined the whole thing

Watergate is NOT going to disappear because Watergate is a real, tangible, ongoing issue that is hurting many, many thousands of people.
As an example, just before the election a $750m class action was launched against the MDMA.
There is NO imagination for the people who are suffering daily.
NONE.

There is this perception that climate change/environmental issues were at the forefront of people's minds during the election.
They clearly were not and saying that people are stupid because they voted otherwise is plainly ignorant.

I am specifically talking about EAA (Clyde and Kia Ora) and Cubbie Station and the links between them and Taylor and Joyce.

If you throw in what’s been happening to the Murray Down and the lack of care from the LNP whose contribution was a drive by in a dinghy, then I’m sure it can’t really be that difficult to understand why “city folk in their hipster jeans” are struggling to understand why a strong message from the community wasn’t sent to the NP - giving a vote to parties where the preferences swing back doesn’t really send a message at all.

A law suit is all well and good but it’s certainly not going to solve the issues surrounding our river systems and if the lack of action to date is anything to go by, then I think the pain has only just begun.

People vote with the intention that preferences won't come in to play in an ideal world. It could be considered naive but that's how it goes.

I am specifically talking about EAA (Clyde and Kia Ora) and Cubbie Station and the links between them and Taylor and Joyce.

If you throw in what’s been happening to the Murray Down and the lack of care from the LNP whose contribution was a drive by in a dinghy, then I’m sure it can’t really be that difficult to understand why “city folk in their hipster jeans” are struggling to understand why a strong message from the community wasn’t sent to the NP - giving a vote to parties where the preferences swing back doesn’t really send a message at all.

A law suit is all well and good but it’s certainly not going to solve the issues surrounding our river systems and if the lack of action to date is anything to go by, then I think the pain has only just begun.

Basically, your point is that people should have voted labor to protest.
Even though, as I have pointed out ad nauseum, Labor are equally culpable on the issue.

Then, when you consider labor and green overall agricultural policies...and you expect country people to cut off their nose to spite their face for absolutely no gain on anything?

What really needs to happen is a Federal Royal Commission, but both sides have way too many skeletons in the cupboard.

Basically, your point is that people should have voted labor to protest.
Even though, as I have pointed out ad nauseum, Labor are equally culpable on the issue.

Then, when you consider labor and green overall agricultural policies...and you expect country people to cut off their nose to spite their face for absolutely no gain on anything?

What really needs to happen is a Federal Royal Commission, but both sides have way too many skeletons in the cupboard.

Labor had already acknowledged its involvement and had agreed to Proudloves request for an investigation.
The National Farmers Federation was generally supportive of Labor policies but did have an issue around the lack of firm policy in regard to the Murray Darling and with them wanting to cap water buyback and return the water directly to the rivers - as you can imagine not all farmers liked that idea. I also have to presume you are also referencing the proposed live sheep ban.

As I said, it came down to “better the devil you know”. Labor bought policies to this election whether you agreed with them or not, the coalition on the other hand did not and you would have to presume there will just be more of the same. The issues are complex and there are no easy solutions but as I’ve said, it really shouldn’t come as a surprise that city folk are annoyed regardless of how much that irks you.

Labor had already acknowledged its involvement and had agreed to Proudloves request for an investigation.
The National Farmers Federation was generally supportive of Labor policies but did have an issue around the lack of firm policy in regard to the Murray Darling and with them wanting to cap water buyback and return the water directly to the rivers - as you can imagine not all farmers liked that idea. I also have to presume you are also referencing the proposed live sheep ban.

As I said, it came down to “better the devil you know”. Labor bought policies to this election whether you agreed with them or not, the coalition on the other hand did not and you would have to presume there will just be more of the same. The issues are complex and there are no easy solutions but as I’ve said, it really shouldn’t come as a surprise that city folk are annoyed regardless of how much that irks you.

Any investigation, instigated by EITHER party at parliamentary level will produce diddly squat. The fact that Labor agreed to it means that the fix is on.
It must be at a Federal Royal Commission level or nothing will be revealed.

I'd like to see where the NFF were 'generally supportive of Labor' because i certainly didn't see it. Nor am I a NFF supporter or member. They swung to the big end of agriculture years ago and smaller farmers have been abandoned, just like the Nat's have done.
Labor's planned national introduction of Qld's utterly ridiculous, unworkable and just plain bloody stupid vegetation management laws was DEEPLY unpopular nationally.
Yes, their stupid live sheep export ban, without a meaningful plan going forward, (just empty words), was also deeply unpopular and an obvious wedge to stop live export in its entirety. Something which would have catastrophic effects for the nation as a whole.
Joel Fitzgibbon knows as much about farming as I do about brain surgery.

Agricultural policy is nothing to do with the Murray Darling fiasco. That is water management policy. Farmers are but one entity who receives the end product. Or don't, as has recently been the case.
Labor capping water buy backs was dressing around the edges, not meaningful and tangible change for the health of the basin.
Until the rorts, corruption, thefts and overall bastardry in the basin is rooted out nothing will change.

Country people really couldn't give a damn if city people are annoyed at them continuing to follow their conservative roots. And being lectured on 'why didn't you vote labor??', only deepens that resentment.
City people only stick their nose into rural affairs when they see a hyperbolic piece on the tv or social media and then most of the comments, rhetoric and reaction is based on zero knowledge and zero practical understanding.
Bigfooty is the perfect example of this.

Any investigation, instigated by EITHER party at parliamentary level will produce diddly squat. The fact that Labor agreed to it means that the fix is on.
It must be at a Federal Royal Commission level or nothing will be revealed.

I'd like to see where the NFF were 'generally supportive of Labor' because i certainly didn't see it. Nor am I a NFF supporter or member. They swung to the big end of agriculture years ago and smaller farmers have been abandoned, just like the Nat's have done.
Labor's planned national introduction of Qld's utterly ridiculous, unworkable and just plain bloody stupid vegetation management laws was DEEPLY unpopular nationally.
Yes, their stupid live sheep export ban, without a meaningful plan going forward, (just empty words), was also deeply unpopular and an obvious wedge to stop live export in its entirety. Something which would have catastrophic effects for the nation as a whole.
Joel Fitzgibbon knows as much about farming as I do about brain surgery.

Agricultural policy is nothing to do with the Murray Darling fiasco. That is water management policy. Farmers are but one entity who receives the end product. Or don't, as has recently been the case.
Labor capping water buy backs was dressing around the edges, not meaningful and tangible change for the health of the basin.
Until the rorts, corruption, thefts and overall bastardry in the basin is rooted out nothing will change.

Country people really couldn't give a damn if city people are annoyed at them continuing to follow their conservative roots. And being lectured on 'why didn't you vote labor??', only deepens that resentment.
City people only stick their nose into rural affairs when they see a hyperbolic piece on the tv or social media and then most of the comments, rhetoric and reaction is based on zero knowledge and zero practical understanding.
Bigfooty is the perfect example of this.
As someone mentioned before, the issue is that how many people do you expect to be knowledgeable on the topic? This goes for every single issue.

The majority see the country people continuing to vote in the same guys who were in charge at the time when the water issues were at the most catastrophic and when ministers were being found to have friends in high places all along the chain who profited millions from it. Of course next time there is an appeal for farmers in that area people are going to think twice about giving a hand out.

Same would go if the Liberal government were in charge and we went into a recession and showed no sign of it being fixed, do you think people would care about the role the Labor party had played in it some 6 years or longer ago? Nope.

Might not be right and just but can guarantee you it's the way most people who are on the outside looking in would feel.

No farmer that I know, and that's plenty, supports anything othet than bastards like this getting fined into oblivion. There are no licenses as such, just allocations.
They'd have to have a license to sell their product (in this case cotton) though wouldn't they?

Certainly not to my knowledge, but I'm not a cotton farmer. There are no licenses to sell product, but plenty of stringent conditions and measures we have abide by.

How lobbyists confected a Four Corners backlash – weeks before the show went to air

The ABC published not one but two lengthy public statements in defence of Monday’s Four Corners program Cash Splash this week amid accusations of bias from lobby groups. ABC communications pumped out no fewer than 1,500 words of rebuttal to complaints from groups including Cotton Australia, National Irrigators’ Council, NSW Farmers, NSW Irrigators and Webster’s Chris Corrigan.

“It is highly disappointing to watch the ABC once again wilfully disregard its own Charter requiring journalistic accuracy, balance and fairness, in order to satisfy its hunger for producing sensationalist television stories,” Cotton Australia said. “We condemn the continued unbalanced reporting from the national broadcaster and call on them to do their job – report balanced, fair and factual pieces of journalism. This is a call we will not back down on.”

The Australian, which published an opinion piece by the National Farmers’ Federation president, Fiona Simson, gleefully reported all the criticism.

But the “backlash” to the program actually began weeks before the story made it to air.

Weekly Beast has seen emails which indicate the industry lobby was denouncing Four Corners well before it saw a single frame of the program, and was also instructing members how to complain about it.

More than a month before Monday night’s broadcast, the chief executive of the National Irrigators’ Council, Steve Whan, wrote to the ABC news chiefs Sally Neighbour, Gaven Morris and John Lyons complaining that he’d heard on the grapevine that the program wasn’t going to be balanced.

Then there was the NSW Irrigators’ Council who wrote to parliamentarians to “provide some balance to the ABC Four Corners’ Show last night” – but sent the email days before the show was aired.

“From the start I would tell you that it was a biased and one sided agenda,” the council said of a show it hadn’t seen. “As elected representatives I know that at various times you have been subjected to unbalanced reporting yourselves and so I ask you to not draw conclusions from what was presented.

“I will try to be concise, but firstly I can tell you that we were not consulted nor interviewed, and more telling, neither were scores of small family business irrigation farmers that have benefitted from these programs.”

Again, before the program was seen, Cotton Australia handed out “tips for being effective advocates” including information to share on social media, hashtags like #ISupportAussieCotton and Facebook pages to comment on.

Sheep 'brutally' slaughtered in Vic shed

Distressing footage of sheep being slaughtered in a Victorian shed has sparked investigations into claims of animal cruelty.

The 20-minute video shows conscious sheep being put upside down on metal cradles, their legs tied and their heads hanging over buckets to catch blood as their throats are cut.

A peacock wanders in while one sheep lays on the cradle and at another point two cats are seen in the slaughter area.

A man also smokes and a young boy is present during the killings.

Victorian Animal Justice Party MP Andy Meddick has complained to the state's meat industry regulator Primesafe, which is investigating after the undercover footage was captured at the Koo Wee Rup facility, southeast of Melbourne.

"We don't know how many of these brutal and unsanitary illegal slaughterhouses operate in and around Melbourne," Mr Meddick said in a statement on Friday.

The property in question has not been identified.

Mr Meddick was handed the footage after an anonymous source provided it to vegan activists.

The animal rights group Aussie Farms previously came under fire for publishing the details and addresses of meat, dairy and egg farms across the country.

Agriculture Victoria and PrimeSafe are investigating the latest slaughterhouse allegations.

PrimeSafe will be the responsible agency if it is found the meat is being sold.

But if the sheep are being killed on farm for personal consumption, Agriculture Victoria may take action for animal cruelty reasons, it is understood.

"All meat produced for human consumption and sale in Australia is required to come from livestock that are slaughtered at a licensed abattoir where compliance with Australian standards for food safety, and animal welfare are monitored by government regulators," PrimeSafe said in a statement.

"Victoria currently has 16 domestic and 23 export red meat abattoirs spread across the State.

"Farmers or community groups interested in having livestock slaughtered for sale for human consumption, or hygienically for their own use should contact an abattoir."

Home & Garden Boo hoo farmers