Boyd for Captain?

Libba39

Mar 10, 2008
Murrumbeena
If you could plot a graph of Mathew Boyd's performance over the last few years I guessing it would show a steady and consistent rise from bit-part player through to the gun midfielder that he is today. I always thought Daniel Cross would be our next captain but I'm starting to think that Boydy might be the man. He's tough, focused, uncompromising and extremely consistent and seems to be taking a stronger leadership role on-field. Once he refines his goal-kicking I think he will be the complete package and an ideal leader for our club in the future. It would also be great for a rookie to have made it to AFL captain. thoughts?

I like it.

Our last 4 captains have been our highest profile players- Johnno, Darce, Grant, West and even Wynd. Higgins and Guido would seem to be in a similar vein.

The Boyd model could work quite nicely. Kinda like Harley and the cats.

I think Boyd would be a terrific captain, have heard him speak on TV before and presents extremelly well.

There are a number of guys at the Club that would make excellent choices as captain, Boyd is amongst them. A toss up between Cross, Boyd, Higgins, Gia, Coons and even Murph.

Bob Murphy is our next captain. He's got the game, the media savvy and respect among his peers.
How any of you could suggest Gia is beyond me. He needs to go much harder at the ball and stop being a squib.

I think Boyd would be a terrific captain, have heard him speak on TV before and presents extremelly well.

There are a number of guys at the Club that would make excellent choices as captain, Boyd is amongst them. A toss up between Cross, Boyd, Higgins, Gia, Coons and even Murph.

Cooney will definately not be captain, best player yes, leader no.

Bob Murphy is our next captain. He's got the game, the media savvy and respect among his peers.
How any of you could suggest Gia is beyond me. He needs to go much harder at the ball and stop being a squib.
More of this crap? :mad: Obviously you don't watch much footy. Apart from NOT being a squib, Gia is extremely smart and is popular around the club for his total commitment and leadership ability. Boyd is also a fine leader, a much-liked person and would be more than capable of captaining the club. Others prefer Crossy, Griffen, Murphy and Higgins. How lucky are we that there is such a wealth of prospective leaders in our team?

After seeing Cross dive head first for the ball Friday night he has the G&D, it was scary but in reality Murphy, all CLASS and has the media skills

Griffin's name never gets brought up in these type of discussions? Would he be in the mix? I remember that one of the reasons that Clayton ranked him number 1 in his draft year was of his leadership skills; he was captain of SA at the time.

I think captaincy is one of those things that unless you are at the club on a daily basis, you would find it hard to know who is captain material and who isn't. I could take wild guesses at who I think might be good captain material but I am not in the pre or post game or at training etc, so I wouldn't have a clue if they would be suitable or not.

Yeh surely if he can manage captain of my dream team he deserves a go as skipper of the dogs.

In all seriousness, he is so underrated and is one of your unsung heros.
Honestly, without him my dream team would be:thumbsdown:

Keep going Boyd you star!

I think Boyd should be the captain as well and I've been thinking like that for a while now. He's like a whole package of everything required for captaincy. He gets the contestant and uncontestant possessions and he's like a go-to man on field who makes the right descision a lot, not to mention, I've seen him do a lot of after-game interviews.

As for the other options, I don't think Robert Murphy gets enough contestant possessions, Gia is too inconsistant for my tastes, Cross has brain-fades, Cooney's too monotone for the interviews in my opinion (Don't even mention Lloyd), Griffen is too young, Higgins is WAY too young (39 games for christ sake! Would be a slap in the face for all the veterens) and last but definitely not least, I think Morris would make a good captain... But I still rate Boyd better.

Nonetheless, I still think all our options should be considered because if Lloyd, Newman, Maxwell and whoever the hell is the captain at Sydney, then so can Wayde Skipper.

I was at the Dogs Blues match this year, the passion and commitment that Boyd showed, while a few others fell asleep was fantastic. I kept thinking to myself this fella shows great leadership.

I've been to a few Dogs matches this year as my dad has been a life long supporter and Boyd seems to address the team/midfield group during the huddles a fair bit. Is he in your leadership group?

Off-field is another matter, no idea how he is thought of at the club and throughout the playing group. This is just as an important part as on-field.

From what i've i think he'd be a very respectable leader.

I think Boyd should be the captain as well and I've been thinking like that for a while now. He's like a whole package of everything required for captaincy. He gets the contestant and uncontestant possessions and he's like a go-to man on field who makes the right descision a lot, not to mention, I've seen him do a lot of after-game interviews.

As for the other options, I don't think Robert Murphy gets enough contestant possessions, Gia is too inconsistant for my tastes, Cross has brain-fades, Cooney's too monotone for the interviews in my opinion (Don't even mention Lloyd), Griffen is too young, Higgins is WAY too young (39 games for christ sake! Would be a slap in the face for all the veterens) and last but definitely not least, I think Morris would make a good captain... But I still rate Boyd better.

Nonetheless, I still think all our options should be considered because if Lloyd, Newman, Maxwell and whoever the hell is the captain at Sydney, then so can Wayde Skipper.

Sydney actually have 3 captain, Goodes, Craig Bolton and Brett Kirk. The latter i think is the best leader in the competition, you'd be hard pressed to find someone who plays with more passion than Kirk.

I think Gia or Higgins.

Boyd is good. But he doesn't have another gear. He plays consistent footy, but I think Higgins in particular will have another gear where he can dominate a quarter when the team needs.

Either way, we'll probably be looking for a new captain next year. I think it's time Johno handed it over, not saying he shouldn't play on, but that he should hand over the reigns.

mate im sure if one of your mob could kick 900 odd goals you would put him captain aswel.

Pretty unfair comment

True that was a little unfair, Maxwell has been in great form this year and Lloyd is a champion of the game. Brett Kirk is definately the best leader of the Sydney trio and could possibly be the best in the comp, he's difinately the most passionate. Newman is a dud, and should never have even been considered as captain at richmond (not worth the capital letter...:p) just kidding!!! But other than Richo don't know who would.

But anyways back to the most important club and the matter at hand. Boyd would make a great captain, he is a fantastic leader on the field and plays very consistent footy. He is a great example for the younger pups because of the way he doesn't dominate the contest and yet manages to get heaps of contested footy and use it well. My other choice would have to be Crossy, just because he works so hard every game, well most games anyway, and he seems to lead people on the field like Boyd does as well.

I'd love to see Higgins as captain one day but not until hes played at least 100 games, he is way too young at the moment and needs to reach his potential before he can be considered for captain. Would love to see it happen one day though. Murph and Gia just don't give the right image I think with Gia's form to inconsistent and Murph to busy being a champ and with the Hun (what a journalist, much better than the overly opinionated Caro!). Coons would be great just for making all the press conferences a comedy gig but again maybe not the best image for the club we can muster. :D

True that was a little unfair, Maxwell has been in great form this year and Lloyd is a champion of the game. Brett Kirk is definately the best leader of the Sydney trio and could possibly be the best in the comp, he's difinately the most passionate. Newman is a dud, and should never have even been considered as captain at richmond (not worth the capital letter...:p) just kidding!!! But other than Richo don't know who would.

But anyways back to the most important club and the matter at hand. Boyd would make a great captain, he is a fantastic leader on the field and plays very consistent footy. He is a great example for the younger pups because of the way he doesn't dominate the contest and yet manages to get heaps of contested footy and use it well. My other choice would have to be Crossy, just because he works so hard every game, well most games anyway, and he seems to lead people on the field like Boyd does as well.

I'd love to see Higgins as captain one day but not until hes played at least 100 games, he is way too young at the moment and needs to reach his potential before he can be considered for captain. Would love to see it happen one day though. Murph and Gia just don't give the right image I think with Gia's form to inconsistent and Murph to busy being a champ and with the Hun (what a journalist, much better than the overly opinionated Caro!). Coons would be great just for making all the press conferences a comedy gig but again maybe not the best image for the club we can muster. :D

thats the way mate. I do not understand the Newman captain situation but i don't think there is much better at the club. Richo is a champ but a terrible terrible leader i reckon. They are probably waiting on foley/delidio/tuck/cotchin etc to really rise before they make a long term captain choice.

Coming from a neutral point of view, there are sometimes where cross does not have his head in it and at moments where a captain needs to lead, it could be pretty hard to see your captain do something like that.

I really really rate Boyd and i don't hear many non bulldogs supporters who do in all honestly. His work ethic and his attitude is deffinitely what you require from a leading midfielder. look in all honesty, i don't know why Boyds not already your captain!

thats the way mate. I do not understand the Newman captain situation but i don't think there is much better at the club. Richo is a champ but a terrible terrible leader i reckon. They are probably waiting on foley/delidio/tuck/cotchin etc to really rise before they make a long term captain choice.

Coming from a neutral point of view, there are sometimes where cross does not have his head in it and at moments where a captain needs to lead, it could be pretty hard to see your captain do something like that.

I really really rate Boyd and i don't hear many non bulldogs supporters who do in all honestly. His work ethic and his attitude is deffinitely what you require from a leading midfielder. look in all honesty, i don't know why Boyds not already your captain!

Because we already have the right guy doing that job.

Good call chef, but I think come the end of the year, if we want Johnno playing on and playing more good footy in year/s (I reckon hel retire at 53), to come he should pass on the role, much the same as Treadre did and its worked for him. Just a little less pressure on him in general and he can then have more focus on the game.

I can see him standing down at the end of the year and playing on for one more season(injuries and form permitting).

Boyd for Captain?