Boyle & Kennedy: Should they have been selected?

SA HAWK

Aug 13, 2006
I thought we stuffed up at selection playing these 2 tonight. Should have played Murphy and Whitecross instead.

I don't think Boyle fits into our forward line any more and Kennedy looks a bit slow and heavy at the moment but has shown a few good signs.

Re: Boyle & Kennedy

Id like to see whitecross get a run but i dont think we made an error in selection not picking him tonight

Kennedy's disposal was still awry but he was pretty good in general and he looks pretty big already

Boyle's been out for ages, think he should be given more than one night to shine returning from injury, he looked very hungry at the start of the year

Kennedy showed great improvement tonight from his first two games. It was enough improvement for me to be happy he was in the team.

Only agree on Boyle... Kennedy is tough and will get better with experienced. Unfortunately him and Morton still look like they are playing in the reserves.. very slow and get caught every time they get the ball.

Boyle- embarassing performance- slow, did not take a single mark on the lead, and did not chase- looked like an 80 year old. For the ones who will come out backing him up, you have NO EXCUSE tonight- all you can say is "he hasn't played in 8 weeks, he isn;t match fit"- THEN WHY TH HELL IS HE PLAYING IN THE SENIORS?????

It is a disgrace that he played tonight, especially against Eseendon. Would have been a great time to give one of the younger guys a shot. A player that would actually want to be out there.

Hawthorn will NOT win a premiership with Boyle in their forward

Let the excuses begin.....

I believe Boyle SHOULD be in the side.

A break in the reserves would be ok but i dont think we should ever think of trade / delist him.

boylers first game back. can anybody tell me what Willo did that was much better?

Boyler a couple of weeks to have a chance, Dowler to get a run, Willo to the magoos. He is not a flanker, he is not a runner, he is a 6 kick a game leading forward to kick 4 goals and he is not doing that.
Nobody looked for him tonight when going inside 50.Nobody!!

Dowler to kick 7 on Monday at city oval and earn his gig:thumbsu:

im gonna give boyle another chance but if he attacks the ball the way he did tonight he will become my most hated player. kennedy is the slowest person to have ever played afl and omg sooooooooooo soft you would think his attack would be hard as anyone as he would be trying to impress i dont think ive seen him lay a tackle maybe thats because he cant catch anyone. morton has played 3 games thus far and hasnt shown me anything except for lack of awareness and speed.

boylers first game back. can anybody tell me what Willo did that was much better?

Boyler a couple of weeks to have a chance, Dowler to get a run, Willo to the magoos. He is not a flanker, he is not a runner, he is a 6 kick a game leading forward to kick 4 goals and he is not doing that.
Nobody looked for him tonight when going inside 50.Nobody!!

Dowler to kick 7 on Monday at city oval and earn his gig:thumbsu:

Willo played more up the ground, and set up a few goals if i recall correctly.

Boyle's not going to play any better at Box Hill, the standard there is attrocious. Game time in the seniors will see him gain match condition much quicker than at VFL level. Willo is doing enough, we can afford to keep him as a rotating flanker, he made space a few times tonight and is probably not at his best, he to would be no better at Box Hill either.

I would like to know who everyone actually thinks is playing good enough at Box Hill to be promoted to the seniors.....nobody. Dowler is no good. Big Renouf is learning and still not up to Senior standard, Whitecross is a mile of being a senior player...Thorp is constantly injured, Murphy jumped out of the way last week and the week before and deserved to be dropped, not in our best 26...I can go on an on if you like but the team on the park tonight was the best 22 we have available right now. As we regain more running players the side will sort itself out, I would say that Williams and Boyle would retain their spots in our best 22.

Boyle hasn't played well since the first few rounds LAST season- have a look at his stats over his last 15 or games- supporters that consistently defend must be blind-

a forward is meant to a) lead b) mark the ball c) kick goals d) put on forward pressure- Please can someone on this thread tell me which one of the above Boyle does??

We have drafted Thorp and Dowler over recent years as key position forwards, the latter who has shown some decent form in the reserves lately- tonight would have been perfect to give him a run...

im gonna give boyle another chance but if he attacks the ball the way he did tonight he will become my most hated player. kennedy is the slowest person to have ever played afl and omg sooooooooooo soft you would think his attack would be hard as anyone as he would be trying to impress i dont think ive seen him lay a tackle maybe thats because he cant catch anyone. morton has played 3 games thus far and hasnt shown me anything except for lack of awareness and speed.

No worries "coach".

Morton has show heaps. Hard running link man. Better version of Clarke.
Kennedy broke a few tackles tonight. No sign of softness.
Willo did OK up the ground 2nd half tonight.
Boyle is not what we need IMO.

In: McGlynn
Out: Boyle.

Anyone else notice that buddy was one out for most of the game????

The mere presence of the third tall forward allows Buddy alot more chances.

When Buddy is on fire like he was tonight, the other options are not going to get much of a look in, and I would daresay Clarko would have said to Boyle

"Keep your man as far from the contest as possible."

Give Boiler a few more weeks I am sure you will see his value. He doesn't have to kick 5. 1 or 2 is all you need from a third rung forward.

I thought we stuffed up at selection playing these 2 tonight. Should have played Murphy and Whitecross instead.

I don't think Boyle fits into our forward line any more and Kennedy looks a bit slow and heavy at the moment but has shown a few good signs.

Where you at the game tonight? If you were you would have seen the excellent decoy leading of Boyle and the wonderful inside work Kennedy did tonight in the absence of Sewell. Pull your head in.

Umm ok...Who would have Murphy played on? Or are we suggesting lets leave him up forward to show nothing like last week? Boyle got it kicked to him about 2 or 3 times today, there was nothing he couldve done. Even Roughie got less disposal his way, and thats what happeneds when you have a star like Buddy murdering a backline single handedly.

I cant see Boyle getting dropped unless, Dew and Crawf are ready to go.

I would like to see dowler given a chance. We need to see if he can play at this level. If boyle had played a few vfl games to get his fitness back then fair enough but after not playing for 8 weeks i think they got it wrong.

Where you at the game tonight? If you were you would have seen the excellent decoy leading of Boyle and the wonderful inside work Kennedy did tonight in the absence of Sewell. Pull your head in.

Have to agree

no selection mistakes for this game

Boyle not up to it IMO- To slow- With Buddy, Roughy and Willo clearly ahead of him- Can be used as depth to cover any injuries to these three.

Kennedy not ready yet needs to find some speed over the next couple of years.

Boyle had one chance at goal tonight, kicked it. 100% efficiency as far as I am concerned.

Kennedy, yeah didn't always attack the ball 100%, but what, his third game?

Give the kid a break.

Broke two head high tackles to dish off to a team mate and set up a goal.

Good signs for the future as far as I am concerned

Only agree on Boyle... Kennedy is tough and will get better with experienced. Unfortunately him and Morton still look like they are playing in the reserves.. very slow and get caught every time they get the ball.

Boyle- embarassing performance- slow, did not take a single mark on the lead, and did not chase- looked like an 80 year old. For the ones who will come out backing him up, you have NO EXCUSE tonight- all you can say is "he hasn't played in 8 weeks, he isn;t match fit"- THEN WHY TH HELL IS HE PLAYING IN THE SENIORS?????

It is a disgrace that he played tonight, especially against Eseendon. Would have been a great time to give one of the younger guys a shot. A player that would actually want to be out there.

Hawthorn will NOT win a premiership with Boyle in their forward

Let the excuses begin.....

I reckon your opinion is worth three-fifths of five-eighths of faark all to tell you the truth.

Whilst you post as Unlisted your opinion will not be noted squib. :thumbsdown:

A couple of points for those that think they know better than AC or our match selection panel.

1. We have a preferred forward set-up, 3 leading/marking forwards. Willo/Boyle the 3rd.
2. We're short of midfielders
3. Willo played in the midfield when Boyle was on the ground and reverted back to his normal forward role when Boyle was off the ground
4. Willo gave us a fair bit of run and set up a few goals, won a fair bit of contested ball and tackled to keep the ball in our forward line. He played ok
5. Boyle was not on his game but did a job, he will improve and is a very good 3rd forward on is day.
6. AC and the match committee got it spot on.

Boyle & Kennedy: Should they have been selected?