Brendan Fevola admits gambling addiction

It was interesting the emphasis that he was " not betting on football".
The danger that can arise when a player is owing a heap of big ones to a bookie, is that the bookie may have other gambling interests and can be in a position to pressure such a player to influence the outcome of a game in return for a debt reduction.

To be honest, I don't think it applies to Fev, by all reports he doesn't owe that much money ( compared to his income ), and I doubt that it would be in his nature. But when he was with Carlton he was certainly in a position to influence games.

Anyway its great that he's going down the path to get away from this problem, while he still has a career that will allow him to recover from it.
Could have been much more serious for him if he had been forced to retire for some reason, leaving him with much less income and a huge debt.

Complete media beat up.
Jesus it shits me when self-indulgent halfwits spill their guts to the media and then the apologists start blaming the media.

So what if the guys getting help for a problem. Let him do it in bloody peace
He's had a 'problem' for quite a while - hell even Dick Pratt tried to help him.

It's been well known but he's been left alone.

For 10 weeks he's been in rehad - not a word in the press.

Stop being an apologist for these self-indulgent w***ers.

Personally, I think Fev is a knob.

As much as I have enjoyed watching him over the years, there are only so many things that one person can be involved in that display his idiocy before we have to realise, he is just an idiot.

Having said that, I don't hate him. He does not appear to be a malicious person, just a man-child.

The issue of problem gambling is a major one and it irks me just how much gambling is pushed now. The advertising of gambling is now so in your face, it is inescapable. In the past, if you watched horse racing (which I don't), you would see the odds on the race. That is part of the sport.

Now, I see the updated odds come up on the big screen at quarter and half at AFL games with the announcer bringing it to our attention. We are invited to visit the on site TAB to part with our money. Watching the footy this season on tele, we see an ad for some betting agency that involves a man dancing around with a bag of money that he has just won.

Gambling is insidious and it's ready acceptance in society bothers me greatly. For every Fev that is in a bad position, but still has massive earning potential to recover, there are thousands of people in Australia that have their lives ruined by gambling.

Very good post Jim.:thumbsu:

Jesus it shits me when self-indulgent halfwits spill their guts to the media and then the apologists start blaming the media.

He's had a 'problem' for quite a while - hell even Dick Pratt tried to help him.

From what I understand the story was going to be leaked regardless, so he came forward before it hit the papers and "spilled his guts" to clear the air. He was backed into a corner and didn't have a choice Jeff.

For the Herald Sun to run it on the front page just goes to show what a scumbag newspaper they are

Not malicious?

Try telling that to Lara Bingle.

Seem to recall him teeing off on his former club recently, remember him assulting a barman, then there was this lady in the womens toilets at Crown . . .

Pffft, the guy is pure filth and dumb to boot.

From what I understand the story was going to be leaked regardless, so he came forward before it hit the papers and "spilled his guts" to clear the air. He didn't have a choice.
So the sympathy AndyD is asking for from football supporters is misplaced?

Personally I hope he dies a poor and lonely man. He's earnt it.

Have to agree! I have no doubt he and his mrs will end up selling their story to the magazines, just like they did when they porned their newborn :rolleyes:

Not malicious?

Try telling that to Lara Bingle.

Seem to recall him teeing off on his former club recently, remember him assulting a barman, then there was this lady in the womens toilets at Crown . . .

Pffft, the guy is pure filth and dumb to boot.

I don't condone or nor would I tolerate that kind of behaviour from friends and family but to say he is pure filth and dumb to boot is a bit harsh.

He has made mistakes and made plenty of them, but from all reports he is now doing the right thing and trying to get his life together. So I say good luck to the guy

So the sympathy AndyD is asking for from football supporters is misplaced?

Personally I hope he dies a poor and lonely man. He's earnt it.

Why do you dislike the bloke so much? Do you even know him? I have never understood as to why people get so pent up and angry over the behaviour of celebrities.

You get fed one side from the media about the bad things Brendan does and most of them are embelished anyhow. You surely can't be basing your over emotive opinions about the bloke on that can you?

If you are, then it seems like you have some serious misdirected anger, as wishing someone who you have never met or don't know to "die poor and lonley" is more a reflection on yourself than Brendan Jeff

Anger?

Indignation would be a better word.

TBH I couldn't really care what that buffoon says, it's when w***ers like AndyD starts telling me I should be sympathetic I start getting my back up.

There's billions of people that would get my sympathy long before some self-indulgent, over-paid ******** like Fev.

Once again Judd proves himself a poor, poor captain. Was he not gambling with Fev from 2pm before the Brownlow? Judd is a great player and leader on the ground but I think that off the ground he is pretty poor and could not lead at West Coast and as we have seen since the Brownlow and over the summer cannot lead at Carlton.

Anger?

TBH I couldn't really care what that buffoon says, it's when w***ers like AndyD starts telling me I should be sympathetic I start getting my back up.

There's billions of people that would get my sympathy long before some self-indulgent, over-paid ******** like Fev.

I tend to agree with some of what you say and I agree that there are far more deserving people of your sympathy than Brendan Fevola.

I have never said otherwise

Anger?

Umm - Hoping he dies poor and lonely tends to sound like anger rather than indifference.
Fev seems to be socially ******ed to an extent, not quite out of the schoolyard yet, and not quite able to determine for himself what is socially acceptable and when he has crossed the line.
I also don't doubt that he could be one of those people who suddenly become uncomfortable to be around when they've had a few.

But come on - he was not malevolent to Bingle. If it wasn't for the BIngle publicity machine you wouldn't even know about it.

In a world that allows Idi Amin to die comfortably, after a retirement in an Arabian Palace, I'm not going to wish an unpleasant end to Fev.

Worst kept secret but hardly "breaking news" IMO.

Overseas in Europe, it is well known that "gambling" among players (soccer) is massive. Players punt hundreds of thousands weekly on team buses on the way to the stadiums.

John Arne Riise even declared bankrupcy a few years ago because of this.

I told Fev he wouldn't be able to kick the habit.
He bet me a hundred bucks he could.

Well you'd better pull out your chequebook SS because he might just call you on that bet,wait hang on is'nt that still.....:rolleyes:

A lot of Fev hate in this thread and its very unjustified

A lot of people will jump on his back for no reason though, the guy is a public figure and some people need to direct anger in their lives to people which is pretty unpleasant but thats some peoples nature

He obviously has an addiction problem, and I think you wouldnt have to look very far to find somebody close to you with problems of a similiar nature

Good luck to him, this doesnt need to be a media story but of course it will be. I hope he can sort out his issues

In reference to him having the courage to admit his problems at Brisbane and not Carlton. Everyone at Carlton was aware, it wouldnt as much been an admittance, rather more of a search for help which obviously at the time he didnt feel he needed. Fev was king at Carlton which wouldve made it all the more harder for him to admit to everyone he has a problem. The move to Brisbane wouldve moved him down the pecking order quite a lot, which couldve given him the courage to speak up

Umm - Hoping he dies poor and lonely tends to sound like anger rather than indifference.
'Hope' should have read 'couldn't care less'.

But come on - he was not malevolent to Bingle. If it wasn't for the BIngle publicity machine you wouldn't even know about it.
That really isn't the point.

Had Fev fessed up to it rather than lying about it you might have a point (I mean really, did anyone believe his bullshit excuse?)

In a world that allows Idi Amin to die comfortably, after a retirement in an Arabian Palace, I'm not going to wish an unpleasant end to Fev.

Who is wishing an unpleasant end? I'm just saying I have no sympathy for someone in his position. If he ends up broke and lonely then it would be his doing.

Personally I have no respect for a bloke that's out shagging and gambling rather than looking out for his kids. Even more so when that bloke is being paid a fortune to perform at an elite sport.

If he falls flat on his face as a result of that then I reckon it's a fitting result.

Man, is it just me or is this story a snooze? Who cares???!!!
Not saying it's not serious for Fev personally but I mean, pretty common sort of thing and I wouldn't have thought worthy of such hype?

Voss came out and said the following

We were aware of things going on," Voss said in Brisbane today.
"But it is pointless unless someone comes to you and says 'I want to do something about it'

I dont think it mattered if Fev played for Carlton, Sydney or Geelong, until he admits he has a problem then there is only so much help you give.

So maybe its taken his sacking from the blues to make him realise that he needs to sort his life out or like others have said maybe he has a few heavies chasing him for the money.

Was it melbournes fault that schwartz and trav johnstone were gambling addicts or adelaides fault that goodwin couldn't stop going to the TAB?

Once again Judd proves himself a poor, poor captain. Was he not gambling with Fev from 2pm before the Brownlow? Judd is a great player and leader on the ground but I think that off the ground he is pretty poor and could not lead at West Coast and as we have seen since the Brownlow and over the summer cannot lead at Carlton.

How can you blame Judd or Carlton??? Fev is an adult. I'd bet he was getting better support at Carlton then the average gambling addict at the TAB but the bloke just didn't care, he has been given great opportunities in life but he has done he's best to piss it all away. I find it difficult to feel sorry for someone who has been so stupid time and time again.
I hope anyone can deal with their problems but I'm sure once fev retires or gets fired and a club isn't there to baby him anymore he will stuff it up all over again and then probably sell his story about it.

How can you blame Judd or Carlton??? Fev is an adult. I'd bet he was getting better support at Carlton then the average gambling addict at the TAB but the bloke just didn't care, he has been given great opportunities in life but he has done he's best to piss it all away. I find it difficult to feel sorry for someone who has been so stupid time and time again.
I hope anyone can deal with their problems but I'm sure once fev retires or gets fired and a club isn't there to baby him anymore he will stuff it up all over again and then probably sell his story about it.

Would you really, maybe you have a gambling problem.:D

It took 7 posts before someone decided that they could lay blame on Carlton.
The most important thing about this issue is that the lad gets himself together. No blaming needs to be done and no discrediting anyone’s character needs to be done. The lad just needs to get the help that he needs to work through his problems.
As for sticking the boots into Carlton.
I think that this is a very ignorant view of the proceedings.
From my position, Carlton moved him on because he was not responding to the assistance that he was being given. Carlton realized that they were not helping him and decided that the lad needed a good wakeup call. Hence his being dumped from a club that he loves, loved him AND is not in a position to lose any of its key position players. To me that looks as if the club were looking out for the interest of the PERSON not the interests of FOOTBALL.
Summation of the proceedings, Fev is being a tosser for a long time, Fev needs a wakeup call, Fev gets numerous warnings, Fev gets dumped (wakeup call), 2 months after getting dumped Fev admits to problems, Fev gets help for his problems, Fev goes public about his problems.

Good luck to the Fevola family!

What impact does this have on anyone in football other than it gives scum of the earth journalists fodder for an exclusive? He needs to sort this out with his family and support of his friends if he wants to involve them and that's it.

There is no justifiable public interest in this whatsoever other than ugly voyeurism in the failings of a celebrity.

This...

Wasnt there a journalist the other week who crashed his car into a pizza shop pissed as a newt? How much media coverage did that get? These journalists never learn that they are ****ing scumbags aswell.... let him get help privately we dont need a running commentary of peoples personal problems. Gambling addictions are like crack cocaine addictions.. this ones gonna be hard for the bloke.

Brendan Fevola admits gambling addiction