Bring Footy Back to Whitten Oval Petition

A few years ago we asked and they said no, then only recently Geelong offered, and we said we want to, but haven't heard a single word about it since, so I assume the answer was still no.

It would be great for us. Not happy with the AFL not letting us.

If the AFL refuses to let Footscray & North play at Geelong because of THEIR contracts with Docklands/MCG then for each game that would have been played at KP the AFL should reimburse the clubs the lost revenue. It is a disgrace that they can't play their home games at the ground of their choice.

As for the OP love the idea of home grounds for each club but unless the clubs have enough money to fund a stadium for themselves it is simply not feasible.

There are enough carparks to get about 500-1000 people to work everyday. Thats all.
It doesn't matter how much they do it up there is still only one line coming in and out.
There is little to no other car parking in the area.
The joint has already been redeveloped as a community oval.

Lovely idea. Completely and utterly no chance of it happening.

Looks a lot more than just 500-1000 car parks mate
http://www.regionalraillink.vic.gov.au/about/stations/west-footscray-railway-station

A decent idea. By the time any redevelopments were done, the AFL would be in a position to renegotiate the amount of games they play at Etihad, which I think is around 2015. If they drop it down by say 12 games, thats 4 for the Dogs 4 for North and 4 to be used by any other Dome tenants to be played at the new ground. Might even make financial sense to do that if the cost to buy out Etihad early is around $70 m and the cost to redevelop any of the options is $40m. They are gonna be able to take games back in 2015 anyways so building the new ground to be open by then, or making the appearance that they are going to do it, may make the Dome people a little more anxious come negotiating time.

For the AFL the fact they will eventually own the Dome shouldn't really deter them. They shouldn't really focus on the profits during footy season anyways. When the AFL own the Dome, they get final say for anyone who wants to use it during the off-season, and get a healthy payday out of it for nothing. The AFL don't really have a down side to having the clubs keeping the majority of the profits when they play there when they own the Dome because that is money neither the AFL or the clubs (apart from Essendon) have ever received in the life of the Dome. You don't reckon my namsake gets a hard-on at the thought of the NRL, ARU & FFA (Let alone all the other events) having to pay him to use his building? Or the clubs for having a greater say in who can use the building (in theory at least) during football season.

Shit ground. Shit place to get to. Shit place to park.

That ship has sailed my friend.

I'd be worried about a lot of other stuff if I was you.
Petition "get irene back"

Yep I was in the area yesterday and the ground would have to have millions spent on it to bring it back up to AFL standard The parking would be a major problem as there isnt any = not going to happen.

It may sound like the end of the earth to many but I think Highgate Reserve in Craigieburn would not be impossible as a short-term boutique venue fix until AFL Etihad ownership happens.

MCG size and in a relatively uncluttered part of the suburb where necessary overhauls to access, temporary seating (10,000 capacity?) and parking could be made.

Maybe a bridge too far, even for a Bulldogs-GWS game.

Highgate Reserve, an interesting idea

A couple of negatives

20 minutes by bus from the train station - at the end of the line - and seating for 500 people.

A couple of positives

There's a reject shop in the small shopping square across the road to pick up some plastic chair's before the game and a choice of Subway and Domino's for lunch or if you want to go up market a Nando's.

There are some real positives about Western Oval as an AFL ground.

It has plenty of room for development. The only area chastised is the Gordon St flank, meaning the rest of the ground could fit plenty of seats and comfortable punters. You could expand West Footscray and build a bridge, and although there'll be some congestion after games, it'd probably be no worse than the footbridge after Etihad games. Then there's the relatively central location (it's probably just as easy for me to visit my scungey mates in Footscray than it was for me to go to Subi) and the fact it's in a growth corrider.

Unfortunately, every single one of those is irrelevant because of one thing: money.

Maybe if the AFL was never going to buy Etihad; maybe if the money was sitting there; maybe if there was a real demand that was seriously threatening the clubs and leagues... but there isn't.

I can also guarantee the novelty of a suburban ground will wear off. Only so many times will you put up with the negatives for the "corrr, this is like the old days!" sentiment. Sooner or later, the shit trains, piss-soaked toilets, and cheap seats will just annoy you.

There are some real positives about Western Oval as an AFL ground.

It has plenty of room for development. The only area chastised is the Gordon St flank, meaning the rest of the ground could fit plenty of seats and comfortable punters. You could expand West Footscray and build a bridge, and although there'll be some congestion after games, it'd probably be no worse than the footbridge after Etihad games. Then there's the relatively central location (it's probably just as easy for me to visit my scungey mates in Footscray than it was for me to go to Subi) and the fact it's in a growth corrider.

Unfortunately, every single one of those is irrelevant because of one thing: money.

Maybe if the AFL was never going to buy Etihad; maybe if the money was sitting there; maybe if there was a real demand that was seriously threatening the clubs and leagues... but there isn't.

I can also guarantee the novelty of a suburban ground will wear off. Only so many times will you put up with the negatives for the "corrr, this is like the old days!" sentiment. Sooner or later, the shit trains, piss-soaked toilets, and cheap seats will just annoy you.

If the AFL is willing to spend 260-270 Million on Buying Eithad surely there is money to rebuild a Suburban Ground

I'm not sure the Western Oval would work these days with transport, parking & attendance issues taken into account.

If it was going to cost a few hundred mill to bring it up to speed, wouldn't it be smarter to go and build an all-new stadium just down the freeway towards Geelong whilst there is still vacant land ?? With a dedicated freeway from the Westgate plus a train-line next to the freeway, it would make it easier to get to & from plus parking would be covered too.

Added to that, it would be purpose built with modern facilities which would help the Doggies out too !!

Just a thought ............

In 2025 the afl will own etihad, the amount that clubs like dogs and Roos will get as revenue will increase and people will stop complaining.

Upgrading a suburban ground has sentimental appeal but considering in 10 years time it will be pointless, and lock many fans out or turn people off as the facilities will pail in comparison to Etihad and the MCG.

The afl also has a contract with Etihad stadium requiring a certain amount of games to be played there, so shipping WB games to skilled just wouldn't work.

Plus, I think a move to skilled, or PP or WO would severely diminish crowds for these clubs giving them very little room to grow. If it wasn't for the 18 team guarantee the afl has to broadcasters, a move like this could spell doom for these clubs.

I'm not sure the Western Oval would work these days with transport, parking & attendance issues taken into account.

If it was going to cost a few hundred mill to bring it up to speed, wouldn't it be smarter to go and build an all-new stadium just down the freeway towards Geelong whilst there is still vacant land ?? With a dedicated freeway from the Westgate plus a train-line next to the freeway, it would make it easier to get to & from plus parking would be covered too.

Added to that, it would be purpose built with modern facilities which would help the Doggies out too !!

Just a thought ............

If you're going to build a stadium down the highway towards Geelong you might as well just use Kardinia Park instead. Bit pointless spending $200m on a whole new stadium only 50 mins away when KP sits idle for 12-13 weeks of the season.

Would be great, a packed out small stadium would bring a much much better atmosphere than a 3qtr empty Etihad stadium. We would actually make a lot of money from it rather than losing money at Etihad. Its in the West so if the AFL really wants us to develop the west then surely its a possibility.

A decent idea. By the time any redevelopments were done, the AFL would be in a position to renegotiate the amount of games they play at Etihad, which I think is around 2015. If they drop it down by say 12 games, thats 4 for the Dogs 4 for North and 4 to be used by any other Dome tenants to be played at the new ground. Might even make financial sense to do that if the cost to buy out Etihad early is around $70 m and the cost to redevelop any of the options is $40m. They are gonna be able to take games back in 2015 anyways so building the new ground to be open by then, or making the appearance that they are going to do it, may make the Dome people a little more anxious come negotiating time.

I might be mistaken but I think the minimum games guarantee for Etihad was extended past 2015 for the extra $100k a game that each club "apparently" gets

Ground "rationalisation" was always going to fail. Spectators go to the footy for fun, not because we have to. I definitely won't go to Etihad, and neither will a large portion of Hawthorn fans; I'd rather just watch on TV because the experience is exactly the same, with the only difference being that you can eat your own food at home. Now that the AFL has realised that ground "rationalisation" was a mistake, there's a small chance of something like this actually happening. Make it happen, Andy."

Hawthorn has been averaging over 50,000 per game in Melbourne this year. Collingwood somewhere near 70,000. Without ground rationalisation, these attendances (and resultant membership numbers) wouldn't have been achievable. Ground rationalisation also helped save clubs. Look at the EPL - the vast majority of clubs are in debt to their eyeballs due to constantly having to upgrade their stadiums. Clubs get into the Premier League and then borrow on projected future earnings to increase the capacity of their home ground - clubs gets relegated, attendances drop and the clubs' debt spirals out of control.

I love the romanticism of the Bulldogs returning to the Western Oval (I always had a great time there - VB cans and hamburgers) but in practical terms I can't see it happening. Capacity is too small, no parking (remember the ground worked when there was no Saturday afternoon trading, it would be a nightmare there on a Saturday or Sunday, facilities would need a major overhaul). I do like the idea of a third ground in Melbourne though.

In 2025 the afl will own etihad, the amount that clubs like dogs and Roos will get as revenue will increase and people will stop complaining.

LOL, yeah no they won't. 20k paying $20 a pop isn't going to make massive profits no matter where you play it. The AFL arent just going to absorb all the match day expenses either.

but because the AFL own the ground they will be able to create better deals for those clubs through match day reciepts rather than end of year handouts.
The revenue will increase, how much relies on the clubs getting more bums on seats.

ironic.
AFL never do what the fans want.
So if you want footy back at Whitten Oval, then you should probably show as minimal interest to the idea as possible.

You mean Demetriou will never do what the fans want. I'm growing tired of him TBH.

I think it would be great to see a few games that don't normally attract large numbers back at the old grounds during the season. Will sign. :thumbsu:

Would be great, a packed out small stadium would bring a much much better atmosphere than a 3qtr empty Etihad stadium. We would actually make a lot of money from it rather than losing money at Etihad. Its in the West so if the AFL really wants us to develop the west then surely its a possibility.
and the money to build a small stadium, or refurbish the witten oval or visy park? its a short option but pointless in the long term. at the AFL will own Etihad in 2025 & teams will get a much better deal.

with the growth of the game to build a 30k seat stadium, limits the growth of teams that would play there eg dogs & roos. so its pointless to go a small stadium.

If you're going to build a stadium down the highway towards Geelong you might as well just use Kardinia Park instead. Bit pointless spending $200m on a whole new stadium only 50 mins away when KP sits idle for 12-13 weeks of the season.

Bit pointless spending $200m on the Western Oval too so what's the best option ??

A new stadium well within the greater Melbourne municipality is the right thing to do for the Dogs. Besides, why would they want to go and play at YOUR ground and tip money into YOUR coffers anyway ?? They need their own ground & operations so they could hopefully become self-sufficient with an ongoing profitable business behind them.

Bring Footy Back to Whitten Oval Petition