Easy Slips Catch

Jun 10, 2006
Fringe
Melbourne Storm
I am sick of watching these non games so I watched a replay of the Dogs game Round 10.

Going by the commentary we had 34 entries into the F50. We were smashed. Pretty much our forwards were on top they just did not get it enough. Clearances and midfield skill errors killed us.

Clearances - we win the clearances we will beat anybody. Hodge, Lewis, Mitch at least two of these three must be at every bounce.

Skill errors - Having Goo back helps. We also need Sewell and Mitch to kick long less. Neither have strong legs.

Our backs can then match up
Croad - Welsh; Murphy - Hahn; Brown - Murphy; Gilham if the rucks drop back; Laddo on Johnson - not ideal but will free Laddo up. Goo and Birch take whats left.

Re: Bring on the dogs

I think clearances have been the biggest dissapointment in the second half of the season, its an area we need to improve on if we are going to challenge for the flag.

I havnt seen Jordan Lewis' name mentioned much in the last few weeks, but I believe he is lookin in sensational form and is going to get under the guard of our opponenets and help us with our clearances.

I agree that 2 of those need to be in the center bounce.

Last time we played sewell, lewis played with injuries and both missed the next few weeks.
No hodge, no Guerra, no stokes, no crawf, help if there were more missing they were at full strength, so i think next time is going to be a big surprise for the bullies....

The loss of Williams is big. The Dogs really were just on that day and we couldn't get our game going. Can't wait!!

MItchell & Sewell werent fit either & I think both Tuck & Morton were in for their first or second games & both murdered the ball.

Won't happen again.

MItchell & Sewell werent fit either & I think both Tuck & Morton were in for their first or second games & both murdered the ball.

Won't happen again.

Yer Josh Kenney, Jaryrd Morton made their debuts, sewell had shoulder surgery after the game, lewis was carrying an injury and that was who clarko was saying was fine and argued with the tassi reporter and the next week he and sewell didnt play.

I was at and rememeber the dogs v crows PF when they were winning but not particulalry impressive - Libber with his 'premature celebration" and D Jarman taking himself to FF and playing un fuc'n believebly good. I was with all the corporate neutrals and everyone was going mental when Jarman let rip.

Best individual performance in an otherwise forgettable game I ever saw

If our backline break even with there forwards we will smash them. I feel this is the only weakness when playing them.

Same goes for them though, if they break even with our fwds we could be in trouble.

We have a real advantage in the middle despite what they think.

Hudson worries me. I rate this guy very highly. He nearly got Adelaide over the line against us last year. He tired and Robbie Campbell and Hodge stood up in the guts which turned the game.

Robbie has not been in great form. We need our rucks to run Hudson around.

Last time we played sewell, lewis played with injuries and both missed the next few weeks.
No hodge, no Guerra, no stokes, no crawf, help if there were more missing they were at full strength, so i think next time is going to be a big surprise for the bullies....
And if they lose to Adelaide on the week end they will enter the finals winning just 2 of their last 6 not the sort of form you want going into September! Williams gone West not coming back in i feel for the guy has been a champion player won 7 Best & fairest awards & they would of liked to send him of like we do with Crawford!:thumbsu:!

Doggies were banking on Williams to take Buddy. So... with Williams out, does that mean that Lake takes Buddy? If so, who takes Roughead?

Looking forward to this game. Won big the last time the Hawks played the Doggies because of all the players we were missing the Doggies were a good thing. This time around things will be very, very different :thumbsu:

Doggies were banking on Williams to take Buddy. So... with Williams out, does that mean that Lake takes Buddy? If so, who takes Roughead?

Looking forward to this game. Won big the last time the Hawks played the Doggies because of all the players we were missing the Doggies were a good thing. This time around things will be very, very different :thumbsu:
Morris looks likely to go to Buddy and Lake stay on Roughy

Don't worry Hawks sounds like it will be a gimmie. May aswell put in your reserves for a bit of practice.:thumbsu:

yeah it sounds like a few on here are thinking that mate!
I'm personally looking forward to a good game, there's no way we can be as bad as we were last time we met. But if the dogs are as efficient as they were last time then i think it will be a hard day at the office again

I was at and rememeber the dogs v crows PF when they were winning but not particulalry impressive - Libber with his 'premature celebration" and D Jarman taking himself to FF and playing un fuc'n believebly good. I was with all the corporate neutrals and everyone was going mental when Jarman let rip.

So you were at the game !!!!!

Well you must have been sleeping in the toilet; because jarman didn't
let rip; he kicked one goal in the last quarter & 3 for the whole game
It was Smart that went to CHF who ripped the game apart, in the last quarter: kicked two & set up another 2 or 3 !!!!!!

I think your thinking of the GF against St. Kilda!!!

You are a liar

I went to that game and it remains the worst football memory I have. Funny thing is though prior to going I cancelled a conflicting appointment where I was to have my balls kicked so I could go. If only I could have my time again.

In the QF, I don't expect we will be able to use the ball with as much ease as we did in Tasmania. You guys had a lot of injuries that day, and both teams had players not 100%, but really we were the only side that showed up to play and the scoring shots and result showed that.

This time around the midfield will be much tighter. Our foward set up could be a problem for the Hawks, particularly if we are able to move the ball quickly as we have mobile quality in there that can score quickly.

The Hawks forwards are the same for us, albeit with taller options that we will find hard to match up on. The Bulldogs collective have been hanging onto the hope that Williams will play, and at his best he is our obvious option to take Buddy, with Lake going to Roughead. But, the reality is that Williams would have to play a blinder to beat him, after all in Tassie Buddy still kicked five with a limited supply (Williams did win a couple of crucial contests throughout the game), and who is to say that Williams after 20 games wouldn't have been in line for an absolute shocker? So the only way we can curb Buddy's influence is by limiting the supply, and hope that we can rotate a Wight or Morris on him with minimal damage.

Both midfields have the ability to tear games apart, the Bulldogs have dropped off in the contested area in the last two months but have the capability to turn it around. The Hawks midfielders whilst perhaps not as silky cannot be underestimated in their ball using ability and toughness.

Should be a cracker, and a lot closer than our last two encounters. Good luck and I hope the loser finds their way to a GF to meet the other.

We didn't have West or Higgins so we weren't at full strength, these two would be in our best 22, there was one other missing can't remember off the top of my head. I hope we are in for a surprise as I would like to see a closer contest this time around. It should be an exciting qualifying final and we can't wait for it.

Whilst we have the double chance, winning this game is of monumental importance.

Beating the Dogs would mean a probable Doggies vs Cats prelim, with at least some chance that we could play a team we beat in the first week of the finals again in the big one.

I'm personally looking forward to a good game, there's no way we can be as bad as we were last time we met. But if the dogs are as efficient as they were last time then i think it will be a hard day at the office again
We kicked woefully for goal that day and the Hawks kicked 12.2 - Buddy kicked 5 straight. In general play it was actually a massacre. However your mob is quite a bit stronger on paper (especially in the middle) this time around and ours is weaker structurally with the loss of Tom Williams, which balances the scales significantly. Rucks and midfield will have a massive bearing on the result (as they almost always tend to do).

Sorry mate i should have clarified, i was talking in general possession around the ground, had to be one of the best displays of precision footy i've seen in the last match. I think you make very good points though, it will be interesting to see if taylor comes up and which way we will go in the ruck

Bring on the Dogs ....