Buckley can't coach

Nope. He barracks for Collingwood. We got these types at Geelong too. Think panicky loudmouth in those disaster movies. :D:thumbsu:
lol. Maybe but frankly the history suggests a wolf in sheep's clothing. I can't fathom how anyone who knows anything about footy at all let alone anything about Collingwood can post some of this stuff and be surprised that they're seen as a troll.

Agreed.

Most Collingwood supporters on Bigfooty question if this poster is actually a Collingwood supporter.

How do you know? He might not see it through one eye like a lot of teams supporters. If you sat at a footy club Thursday night and listened to them all it would be hard to work out who follows who.

No one can know for sure (except maybe the mods who can check IP addresses etc), but the posting style makes people question this sort of poster.

Trolls are generally pretty easy to pick from the crowd.

This doesnt just go for Buckley either Collingwood supporters where trolling Melbourne in regard to them getting Neeld.:eek:

To be fair, nobody is saying Neeld cant coach (and not many people are saying Buckley cant coach either).

Most of the Neeld comments have been around his demeanour at press conferences and his alleged racism incident, and the general state of disarray Melbourne is in. This has come as a massive surprise to everybody, because Neeld was a person not many people knew much about. Neeld and Melbourne is a perfectly legitimate hot topic to discuss.

I do note however there arent quite as many trolls laughing at Collingwood for losing Neelds services as there were three months ago....;)

To be fair, nobody is saying Neeld cant coach (and not many people are saying Buckley cant coach either).

Most of the Neeld comments have been around his demeanour at press conferences and his alleged racism incident, and the general state of disarray Melbourne is in. This has come as a massive surprise to everybody, because Neeld was a person not many people knew much about. Neeld and Melbourne is a perfectly legitimate hot topic to discuss.

I do note however there arent quite as many trolls laughing at Collingwood for losing Neelds services as there were three months ago....;)

Why because after two games we cant judge Buckley but you can judge Neeld.:eek:

No we cant judge either, but we can talk about them and their demeanour.

Neeld wasnt even on the radar until the bizarre press conferences and the stories about him treeating the aboriginal players differently. Now he is newsworthy. But as a coach, he isnt being judged. Or at least shouldnt be. Its been a baptism of fire though.

Regarding Davis, they lost Davis under Buckley's watch not Malthouse. Davis was playing under Malthouse last year but not playing this year.

Hang on Frank.

Jeez I love it when posters from other clubs come on here claiming the moral high ground.

Lost Davis under Buckley's watch did we?

Leon Davis made it pretty clear early on in 2011 that it would be his final year. He wasnt travelling all that well early and had let the club know of his intentions. It was when he found himself in a rich vein of form, and eventual all-Australian form that he thought about going around again. Mick and the club had already adjusted and signed off on some other contracts and the simple fact is, there just wasnt enough money available, particularly considering the amount Leon wanted.

Unlike some other clubs renowned for it, Collingwood does not pay under the table and cop the rap later. Is it sad that Leon is gone? Probably. Is it the right thing for the club in the long term? Absolutely. So to suggest that we lost him under "Buckley's Watch" is just plain stupid. Nathan Buckley pulled every string he could to keep him. If Leon wanted to continue playing AFL footy with Collingwood, he would have done it for the base rate. It just wasnt possible, all things considered equal!!!

I hope that was sarcasm because Daisy won us the game on saturday
With all due respect, the suggestion that Daisy won us the game might just be gilding the lilly a fraction despite his awesome 3rd quarter. I tend to think that disrespects others in the team who might have something to say about it.

By the same token, the suggestion that his appearance has anything whatsoever to do with his awesome 2011 was a troll absolutely worthy of the almost total lack of response it got until now.

Can't help but wonder if the mods took the view of carding troll posters for a week and those who respond for a day whether trolls would quickly become nothing but a faint memory.

With all due respect, the suggestion that Daisy won us the game might just be gilding the lilly a fraction despite his awesome 3rd quarter. I tend to think that disrespects others in the team who might have something to say about it.

By the same token, the suggestion that his appearance has anything whatsoever to do with his awesome 2011 was a troll absolutely worthy of the almost total lack of response it got until now.

Can't help but wonder if the mods took the view of carding troll posters for a week and those who respond for a day whether trolls would quickly become nothing but a faint memory.

Question PieNSauce not to do with this thread but more to do with your post and your thoughts. Both Daisey and Rioli received votes in the paper for this round. Both where brilliant in a bursts but like you mentioned above there are blokes going for four quarters Lonegan for one yesterday. Howd you see it?

Frankly I doubt anyone believes Daisy's start to 2012 is up to par when compared with his past 18 months. That might just be rustiness from the off-season but at least he showed in Q3 that it's still there. When he starts producing it for 4 quarters again Pies supporters will be very happy.

As far as votes go, well he'd have been lucky to get any from me. I'm much more inclined to reward 4 quarter players than those who have one or two bursts no matter how influential those bursts might seem at face value. The problem with the press is that they are mostly sheep and like to sensationalise to sell papers rather than analyze and talk sense. It's all about what catches attention rather than a realistic view of who has influenced the outcome of a game most.

Frankly I doubt anyone believes Daisy's start to 2012 is up to par when compared with his past 18 months. That might just be rustiness from the off-season but at least he showed in Q3 that it's still there. When he starts producing it for 4 quarters again Pies supporters will be very happy.

As far as votes go, well he'd have been lucky to get any from me. I'm much more inclined to reward 4 quarter players than those who have one or two bursts no matter how influential those bursts might seem at face value. The problem with the press is that they are mostly sheep and like to sensationalise to sell papers rather than analyze and talk sense. It's all about what catches attention rather than a realistic view of who has influenced the outcome of a game most.

Yeah I agree how Rioli got in the votes for yesterday is beyond me. Thomas was brilliant in that patch but until then was down. Im sure the media are drawn to names only not on out put.

Where is the leadership at Collingwood?

I am saying it already.

We are gone!

Non existent.

Don't wanna sound negative but if we continue to put up performances like that we wont make the top 4. We have some star players but also some absolute duds. God forbid if we got a couple of injuries to our gun players. We'd be lucky to make the eight if that happened.

Buckley is really showing his lack of nous.

The change from Malthouse to Buckley has hurt the whole Collingwood empire.

Buckley has shown nothing yet.

Rob Harvey can't coach.

Just cause you were a great player. doesn't mean you can coach. Infact, sometimes it is the exact opposite.

The whole team shows no discipline.

Our coaching staff are all rookies or blokes like Eade who are only in it for the retirement money.

Basically we took our form from last years finals into this year. People were saying after our NAB cup effort to ignore it and only comment once the real season starts.

Well, 2 weeks into the season and we are nowhere near a threat this year.

I simply cant believe our ball movement this year compared to last!!

Apart from Pendles and a couple of the younger guys; our squad looked disinterested!!.

Hopefully it was a one off.

We played 6 minutes of football.

Correct! 6 minutes of football. We developed that lazy habit as season 2011 progressed. By the time Round 24 rolled around Geelong smashed us. We haven't been the same since.

Season 2012 Top Four: Collingwood, Geelong, Hawthorn, Carlton, West Coast. Five into four won't go.

Question: Which team is the odd one out? After today's annihilation in Perth, West Coast is now an absolute monty for top four with all their home games.

Very uninspiring win. Hopefully, we are just pacing ourselves, but at the moment, we look like a 5-8 side, rather than top 4.

Disposal is woeful, and kickouts are a raffle.

We have lost the desperation that we have had in the past.

We miss Leon Daivs. We have no pace. Watch Garlett next week and you will know.

Our kick outs are appalling.

Sidebottom hardly tries. I know he is laconic but geez.

Daisy Thomas played 5 minutes of footy.

Without Maxwell out there, the backline has no one to lead them.

We can't kick goals and Dawes seems lost as he is no ruckman and not now a forward.

Swan seems to have lost a yard and now he has signed the big contract, doesn't care any more.

He must have turned it over 10 times tonight.

Without Pendlebury - we would be lost.

The Pies, without any leadership.

Sinclair would have to be the worst player to get a game in perhaps 10 years. The only thing you can be sure of when he gets his hands on the ball is, that the opposition will have it soon after. Julian Rowe and Ben Davies can consider themselves unlucky in comparison.

Would be nice if some senior players could find it in their overpaid hearts to string together 4 quarters next week, even if we lose.

Robert Walls on SEN, comes out with "right now, I reckon Judd and Murphy are the two most elite and best midfielders in the League "
icon_lol.gif

He could be right!

All the five sides (Collingwood, Geelong, Hawthorn, Carlton and West Coast) currently in the mix for a top four finish have great midfields.

The question is what we can get out of our defense and forwards that will swing the scales in our favour. Right now, I am doubtful we can displace the other four sides.

I don't often agree with Robert Walls, but Carlton and West Coast have as much of a chance of the flag this year as Geelong and Hawthorn.

We don't I'm afraid. Our injury toll mounts from tonight and our kids aren't up to it.

We will be smashed by the Blues on Friday night.

LOL.
Blessed?

More like touched.:D

There was a mention of a major game plan change which is quiet evident when watching them play. Under Malthouse they were very high scoring and that seems to have changed. Buckley was not agreeing with the old game plan and wants his own stamp on it. It could be costly.

Kicked 16 goals against Hawthorn last week. 35 scoring shots.

Had 23 scoring shots against Richmond at 3/4 time when they put the cue in the rack.

Nice try

Why would you even respond to Blessed? He is the guy who thought that people making a few jokes over the sterotypical image of a Collingwood supporter was akin to the Third Reichs treatment of the Jewish people in Europe.

Couldn't stand Buckley when he played but only 2 games into his coaching career he can't be judged. Has a 50% record so far......I actually think he'll make it in the coaching world

What Buckley needs to do is prove he can put a rocket up the players.

Malthouse would be all over them if they played like that!!!

Buckley needs to prove that he is not just a mate but a coach!?!?

Where is the kick out set up.?

Where is the clearance set up?

Where is the intensity from the playing group?!?!?!?

Where is the leadership?

MM recruited a lot of role players for his game plan which is why in his 12 years we never had the class to be a corridor team.

O'brien was thrashed and has been shown up all year.

Maxwell had 1 good quarter (the 1st) then went missing and turned it over when he got it.

Pendles flogged but it is the exception to his game not the norm like others.

Swan looks like a content man on a fat cat contract.

Our quality ball users lack pace and our pacey players lack foot skills.

Trading out of 4 of the last 5 drafts was always going to bite us as with late picks you are going to get solid to ordinary players or role players if you like.

If any of you think we would be doing any better with MM I've got news for you we wouldn't we are mimicking 02- 05 pies side.

MM builds a team to win a flag 2 at most he never built to have a dynasty ala Geelong 07 - current , Brisbane 01-04, Hawks of the late 80s, early 80s bombers ect.

That is a bullshit excuse. We won our premiership in 2010 'without a full team' - Tarks, O'Bree, Fraser, Medhurst all out of the premiership side

What you are saying is that we have no depth - ! And I agree!

What happened to 'Collingwood's Amazing Depth' of 2011????

Neon left, big bad Leroy left, and all of a sudden we can't win a game?

Pound for pound we're not good enough. Have you watched our defense one out? Have you watched the centre square? Have you watched the forward line function when they're one on one? I have.

I've done it LIVE. They are no good. Mick developed a TEAM. Pound for pound, we're not fast, skillful or talented enough. I stand by this comment. The 'swarrm' is a pack mentality. No swarm, no Pies.

Buckley deserves the chance to prove he can turn this around. But now that you bring up the NAB Cup, those losses to Melbourne (
icon_redface.gif
) and Adelaide by 77 points don't look quite so out of character anymore do they?

Everything I've said about our lack of depth (shown up by the hellish run of injuries), our lack of passion (does Dane Swan even care any more?) and overall lack of skill has come back to haunt us.

Buckley can't coach