C Grade 2013

For what its worth how did Oakleigh beat Monash? What has happened to the Wellers, that scoreline is embarrasing

Wellersand Banyule could be in trouble if Oakleigh maintain similar form to that displayed on Saturday. (Captain Obvious).
Unfortunately NOBS are gawn.

Inconsistent Max

For what its worth how did Oakleigh beat Monash? What has happened to the Wellers, that scoreline is embarrasing

Eight forced changes didn't help but that doesn't excuse the lack of effort from the senior 22 given the importance of the game for the club. Hoers were simply 2 classes above in every department and will be a good chance of getting back to B if they keep their current line-up in tact.

Reckon only 3 or 4 Wellers players weren't totally pantsed by their opponent(s). Now we need to find 2 to 3 wins in the next 7 weeks to stay safe. Six wins should be enough, but 5 with decent percentage could do the trick.

Eight forced changes didn't help but that doesn't excuse the lack of effort from the senior 22 given the importance of the game for the club. Hoers were simply 2 classes above in every department and will be a good chance of getting back to B if they keep their current line-up in tact.

Reckon only 3 or 4 Wellers players weren't totally pantsed by their opponent(s). Now we need to find 2 to 3 wins in the next 7 weeks to stay safe. Six wins should be enough, but 5 with decent percentage could do the trick.

Scribe, tough to lose after the siren?

Not at all Max, happens all the time! :p

Thought both sides had a real crack in the early game and it was absorbing throughout. If your lads had kicked straighter, we wouldn't have got out to a 19 point lead early in the last. Whilst a win would pretty much have us perfectly positioned for a 1st semi spot, the loss by Monash helps us, and hopefully the boys will learn from our last 10 minutes and earn another crack at the Hoers.

Only time will tell. Hope we meet again in a couple of months' time!

Old Ivanhoe don't need to go back to B to get smashed every week with a team weaker than last year, they need to build with school kids for a couple of years.

Camberwell have been on the downward spiral for a couple of years, and from what I have seen of the school side nothing is about to change.

Old Ivanhoe don't need to go back to B to get smashed every week with a team weaker than last year, they need to build with school kids for a couple of years.

Camberwell have been on the downward spiral for a couple of years, and from what I have seen of the school side nothing is about to change.

BS

I really think you are one of the best contributors to Bigfooty. You are well informed, articulate and support your club with two eyes open (here it comes)

BUT

To say this years team is not as good as last year is way off the mark.
Based on form, ability and fitness, this years team would beat last years team by a large margin.

We have added Johnson, D. heta, McKeon, Jessop, Vella, A. Delmonte ( full season), Nagle, Low, Glavas, Hondromatis, Skok and Lee.
This years team would have seen us beat Oakleigh twice, Werribee twice, competitive against OH and AJAX, and we would have most likely stayed in B Grade.
Woulda, coulda, but we didn't. We are were we belong. We are enjoying winning, playing against old school rivalries.
Mazenod are clearly the best team in C Grade, and would be competitive in B Grade.

With the relegation, comes some different thinking. New aggressive approach to recruiting has and will show benefits over the next 2-3.

BS, thank you for your opinions, but on this one I think you are a wee bit off.

Max (defender of all things OI) Leader

Great to see Maxy, BUT, most teams in B are a lot stronger this year and have done what you have just detailed. Realistically it's better for any team who has been relegated to stay down for a couple of years and get that winning feeling back, you can't beat winning, whatever grade you are in.

I look at my club and am for one am happy that we are doing a Melbourne and rebuilding a rebuild in B instead of A, where we would be pantsed most weeks at the current time. Now 12-24 months down the track we will be really strong.

Mazenod
Great to see Maxy, BUT, most teams in B are a lot stronger this year and have done what you have just detailed. Realistically it's better for any team who has been relegated to stay down for a couple of years and get that winning feeling back, you can't beat winning, whatever grade you are in.

I look at my club and am for one am happy that we are doing a Melbourne and rebuilding a rebuild in B instead of A, where we would be pantsed most weeks at the current time. Now 12-24 months down the track we will be really strong.

Mazenod have been rebuilding in C for over a decade haven't they?
How about SKOB in B? Since 2006 or so?

Most ammo careers would be barely half a rebuild at these two clubs!

Banyule wish to mourn the tragic passing of our great Dave "pigga" Williams. 300 game player, 3 time b and f, comp b and f, vafa rep player. He made us all walk taller. Our thoughts are with his family at this tragic time.

Commiserations to the Williams family and the Banyule FC. To lose such a club legend far too early is a terrible tragedy.
Vale Dave Williams.

Sad to hear the news re: Dave Williams at Banyule. Hopefully all are well at the Bear Cave.

This week's predictions:
  • Marcellin can snap Mazenod’s streak and they matched up well on the Nodders in round 1 so look out.
  • 6th plays 7th at Mt Eliza and if the Pirates keep their enthusiasm from their win over NOBS-St Pats they should beat the wellers.
  • Banyule are playing better footy than their ladder spot suggests and I'm tipping them in an upset over Monash Blues who are in shaky form - perhaps the break might have done them some good though.
  • Old Ivanhoe should prevail in a tricky game over Oakleigh who are hungry for another win to lift themselves out of the drop zone
  • The Bombers to continue their winning form against a plucky Nobbers outfit. PEGS FF David Forrest has kicked 17 goals in his last two games so is primed for another bag.

Back to the grind this week with a couple of ripper, and most important, games pointing towards the end of the season deciders. And as we return from the break think all the hosts will get the chocolates:

Old Ivanhoe vs Oakleigh
Monash Blues vs Banyule
Marcellin vs Mazenod
PEGS vs NOBS/St Pats
Peninsula vs Old Camberwell

Old Ivanhoe vs Oakleigh
Monash Blues vs Banyule
Marcellin vs Mazenod
PEGS vs NOBS/St Pats
Peninsula vs Old Camberwell (Especially after the coaches strong words on the OC website)

Terrible news mate. Pig was held in high regard by all at Bulleen Temp. A fierce competitor on the field, he would always be the first to buy you a beer after the game.

We
Fierce is right. If you want to understand what playing against the big boy was like, go outside and run into your car a few times....
Was about '97 Les, and BT went in as underdogs out at Warringal flats. True to form, Banyule were well in front in the 3rd. I picked up the ball and ran head first into Pigs forearm (tucked in- he wasn't a dirty player) and hit the deck seeing stars. I struggled to my feet angry as hell, and charged in to contest the boundary throw in, delivering a round-house to the side of Pigs head. Felt like a sweet connection too. Big Pig just smiled at me and said " 1 all!! And it's my turn next!!" We shared a couple of beers after the game and had a good laugh about it!!
He was a champion bloke, plain and simple!

Geez, it's been bloody disappointing that Marcellin hasn't posted Livescores at any of their home games this year. How hard would it be for a private school based club to provide a mobile phone or ipad for their scorers?
Any news on the Mazenod v Marcellin game?

C Grade 2013