Caption this

i was there watching you were not anywhere near the MCG when hawks won !

Well, you're right - I don't go for the Hawks nor do I go for the Cats.
I am interested to find the point in your post, however?

Well, you're right - I don't go for the Hawks nor do I go for the Cats.
I am interested to find the point in your post, however?
you said i was crying while i was posting originally !

if any tears came out it was of joy for winning the GF other wise why would i have been crying for idiot !!

i wasn't so you know anyway !

you said i was crying while i was posting originally !

if any tears came out it was of joy for winning the GF other wise why would i have been crying for idiot !!

i wasn't so you know anyway !

I think you'll find that it wasn't me that said you were crying. Get your facts straight.

:rolleyes:

Care to explain to me what "Clarkos Cluster" is?

The fact is that all sides push numbers up the ground now.

It assisted Carey somewhat. The Paddock wasn't even around when Carey was splitting packs and taking overhead marks. It was as much devised to deal withy that fact that Carey wasn't holding as many marks due to having bung shoulders and three opponents hanging off him.

Yes and No. I don't think it's any easier for crumbing or outside forwards due to the flooding, rolling defences closing speeds of modern defenders. However, the rule changes of the modern era would have made life for power forwards like Carey an absolute dream and this is where the real difference lies for me. Franklin is not a true power forward, and this is why I always question any comparison between he and Carey.

Wayne Carey prior to 1997 would have completely destroyed the competition under todays rulings and interpretations. He would easily have bagged 150 plus goals a year over multiple years.
One of your more thought out posts Mario.
Ok, Clarkson Cluster, yep, thats fine for teams playing Hawthorn or teams playing teams copying Hawthorn, but most teams still drop numbers into the backline (see St.Kilda). And even that makes it harder for the forwards because the ball only gets down to the forward line about 40 times, usually under pressure. Once its down there, yeah, easier to score against, but not every team uses this tactic.
Even when teams have used this against us (richmond), they still drop zone out in front of buddy (although if he kicked straight he would have destroyed them twice).

I agree buddy isn't and out and out power forward and his main strengths are speed and agility, but that said, he is one of the more powerful fowards in today's game. The comparisons come from a few places. Both tall forwards, both exciting to watch, both appear arrogant onfield, both hated by opposition. Not really from being the same type of player, but similar in many ways.

I maintain that Carey may have been able to get a bit more ball under the new rules, but also would have given plenty more free kicks away.

To a similiar extent, yes. Playing on the SCG didn't hurt either.

Williams?

Now and then. Dunstall was hardly a power forward, so under todays rules, and lacking Franklins pace, it would be hard to see Dunstall achieving that feat more than a handful of times a year. Dunstall also had to contend with a much more talented, multi faceted forward line whereas 80% of the current Hawthorn sides forward entries are funnelled through Franklin.

You are an embarrassment to yourself for ever thinking this forum had lofty standards to live up to in the first place. Just how ****ing stupid are you?

Clearly I'm referring to Mark Williams, the small hit-up forward that kicked 60 goals consecutively in a poor Hawthorn side.

Er, point nicely avoided though. Just goes to show you're talking out of your arse again.

Clearly I'm referring to Mark Williams, the small hit-up forward that kicked 60 goals consecutively in a poor Hawthorn side.

Er, point nicely avoided though. Just goes to show you're talking out of your arse again.

That soft conceited maggot?

FFS, could you possibly be any more vague?

How can you place that piece of shit in a post talking about Lockett, Carey and Dunstall?

That soft conceited maggot?

FFS, could you possibly be any more vague?

How can you place that piece of shit in a post talking about Lockett, Carey and Dunstall?

Vague?

Jesus you obviously don't pay any attention as to what you actually type on here, do you?

You claimed Dunstall would struggle in today's footballing climate because he's not a 'power forward,' but a lead up forward. I pointed out that a smaller, weaker Williams was able to succeed, playing the same role, in a very poor Hawthorn side.

Thus defeating your flogtard point, emphatically.

This is another broad misconception. Pagans Paddock wasn't so much about advantaging Carey as it was about creating space for Allison, Abraham, Bell, Grant, Welsh, Schwass, Stevens etc. to run in to and score.

Pagan could not garauntee that Carey would mark the ball every time it went in to the forward line, but what he could virtually garauntee is that the opposition defenders were not going to be marking the ball against Carey. By pushing his quicker players up the ground, he gave them the advantage of streaming goalwards in open space when the ball hit the deck.

This would be obvious to you, if you knew the slightest thing about football.

Yep. Pagan's Paddock was basically about using Carey as a decoy to create the contest.

Also, it helped that Carey had an unbelievable understanding of what was happening around him.

Back to my point, it isn't any easier for forwards now that 10-15 years ago.

LOL.

10.15 years ago defenders could chop the arms, they could use certain holds, they could combine with other defenders to put in blocks, they could put hands in the back.

Mate, I watched footy then, and I watch it now, and key forwards get such an easy ride.

Which makes it particularly sickening that Buddy STILL plays for frees.

Vague?

Jesus you obviously don't pay any attention as to what you actually type on here, do you?

You claimed Dunstall would struggle in today's footballing climate because he's not a 'power forward,' but a lead up forward. I pointed out that a smaller, weaker Williams was able to succeed, playing the same role, in a very poor Hawthorn side.

Thus defeating your flogtard point, emphatically.

Dunstall is a far better player than Williams, but he wouldn't be as dominant in today's game as tactics have developed in such a way as to stymie lots of his opportunities.

That said, he'd still be a good player. His overhead marking is under-rated - he wasn't a leaper but he mastered the art of the falling back mark in a contest, and he was certainly smart enough to work out how to exploit the new rules.

My only question would be on his pace on the chase in a defensve situation.

LOL.

10.15 years ago defenders could chop the arms, they could use certain holds, they could combine with other defenders to put in blocks, they could put hands in the back.

Mate, I watched footy then, and I watch it now, and key forwards get such an easy ride.

Which makes it particularly sickening that Buddy STILL plays for frees.
Yes, but forwards could also throw backmen away and seeing as in most cases they were larger than the backmen. They could put their hands in the back (that rule has worked against forwards more than backmen) Buddy gets scragged week in week out (st.kilda are the best at it) and if he played under the old rules would be doing just aswell seeing as they backmen still couldn't get close enough, too big, too quick, too bloody good.
You should have given up on this when Mario did.

Yes, but forwards could also throw backmen away and seeing as in most cases they were larger than the backmen. They could put their hands in the back (that rule has worked against forwards more than backmen) Buddy gets scragged week in week out (st.kilda are the best at it) and if he played under the old rules would be doing just aswell seeing as they backmen still couldn't get close enough, too big, too quick, too bloody good.
dead right Buddy doesn't get the free's that ARE there when he cops in the back chop of the arms and all that somehow the ups just don't see it yet if the other way around touch a opp in the back with a finger and it is a free ! yes may be he does some times play for them but that will be after 10 free's he should have got and didn't and the umps sometimes will pay but that is when his back is nearly broken and they see the fans are wanting to jump the fence to knock the umps block off !

and just to show i am fair it is not just Buddy that cops that just have to see a tiger game and see what Richo cops too ! and the free's he doesn't get ! it is all around but some cop the scragging and no free's worse then others !

Another Hawk flog who can't admit Hudghton has clearly outpointed Franklin 1 on 1 twice in 2008.

2nd time beat him. 1st time Buddy had 6 scoring shots in the 1st half and the ball never got down there in the 2nd half due to your midfield destroying us. That close enough to the real story?

Um, he kicked 3 straight for the night and 1 OOF. Not sure where you're getting 6 scoring shots from.

no that was a ploy to take hudghton away from the action so our other goal kickers could get into the action !

Not the famous "DON'T TRY" tactic.

Caption this